Galway Hurling thread

Ha,ha..very blinkered..we have had to accept that most outside of limerick don't like us,as a football in England said no one likes us we don't care..we are at the top now we know it won't last forever so it's a great position to be in..ye lost a player last week to a wreckless pull and could have lost two yesterday..can I ask if limerick players did those two challenges yesterday,how would it have gone down?yes we have had some players who have been lucky but I don't think we are reffed the same as others,my opinion only..I think o brien will learn from what happened him..it's going to be a very hard and physical championship,bring it on..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2217 - 17/03/2024 20:28:54    2531783

Replying To tommy k:  "Like Wexford "bottled it" against Cork at home yesterday and v Tipp in 2019 against 14 men in the AI semifinal? Oh I see now! lol"
We were never really in the game yesterday so not really the same.

That's a fair assessment of tipp in 19.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2661 - 17/03/2024 20:33:26    2531786

Replying To tommy k:  "There were a couple of more things that could have swung the game in Galway's favour. Niland missed 3 scoreable frees that Cooney would probably have scored (on current form) and there was a last minute foul on Concannon by English in a scoreable position that wasn't given."
You can't say that with the conditions lad besides Conor was anonymous and struggled in the game. We know there is a miss in Conor at times. If you look at Limerick Cian Lynch is at 11 distributing ball and setting up every one. He is the conductor of the orchestra. We on the other hand have Tom Monaghan who will shoot all day and will distribute to nobody. We have to get a no 11 who doesn't put himself first. Concannon is a man that could be an option at 11. Monaghan must have had 6 or 7 wides. Niland seemed to be inside yesterday he usually distributes. We can learn from Limerick

Pointblankshot (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 17/03/2024 20:33:37    2531787

Replying To tommy k:  "No but there should be a concern about Limerick "indiscipline" if you know what I mean!"
I don't Tommy to be honest

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 17/03/2024 22:13:02    2531819

Replying To Pointblankshot:  "You can't say that with the conditions lad besides Conor was anonymous and struggled in the game. We know there is a miss in Conor at times. If you look at Limerick Cian Lynch is at 11 distributing ball and setting up every one. He is the conductor of the orchestra. We on the other hand have Tom Monaghan who will shoot all day and will distribute to nobody. We have to get a no 11 who doesn't put himself first. Concannon is a man that could be an option at 11. Monaghan must have had 6 or 7 wides. Niland seemed to be inside yesterday he usually distributes. We can learn from Limerick"
Tom Monaghan does distribute when there is a better option. He had 4 wides not 6 or 7 as stated, stick to the facts. 1 wide in the 1st half and 3 in the 2nd half. Lesser mentality players would not have taken on the shots after missing a couple and that type of player is what every team needs. Back in 2017 and early part of 2018, Limerick forwards were very poor shooters and probably had the worst ratio shots to scores of any team over that period but John Kiely did not replace these guys, he stuck with them cause they had the right mentality and were brave to stay shooting. The player you don't want is one that goes hiding and who after a couple of misses is 'head in hands' and deflates his team mates and supporters.

OhIWouldYa (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 17/03/2024 23:34:15    2531831

Replying To Shocs07:  "I don't Tommy to be honest"
I'm guessing there trying to suggest off field matters.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1724 - 18/03/2024 00:03:03    2531835

Replying To OhIWouldYa:  "Tom Monaghan does distribute when there is a better option. He had 4 wides not 6 or 7 as stated, stick to the facts. 1 wide in the 1st half and 3 in the 2nd half. Lesser mentality players would not have taken on the shots after missing a couple and that type of player is what every team needs. Back in 2017 and early part of 2018, Limerick forwards were very poor shooters and probably had the worst ratio shots to scores of any team over that period but John Kiely did not replace these guys, he stuck with them cause they had the right mentality and were brave to stay shooting. The player you don't want is one that goes hiding and who after a couple of misses is 'head in hands' and deflates his team mates and supporters."
Good post and you're right. If the raw material is there, with good coaching and a lot of hard work a decent player can become a great player..At the start of his career Diarmaid Byrnes would miss far more long range shots than he'd put over.

Hegarty was a converted half back in 2017/8. He was substituted plenty of times.
Don't think anyone saw him as a future hurler of the year and an 8 points from play in 3 All Ireland finals kind of man..
Galway have plenty of raw material, just need the right man to put it together. Whether that will be Shefflin is any ones guess.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 18/03/2024 09:41:47    2531862

Replying To tommy k:  "Like Wexford "bottled it" against Cork at home yesterday and v Tipp in 2019 against 14 men in the AI semifinal? Oh I see now! lol"
I wouldn't say we bottled it. We rested some of our 2nd string and gave some of the squad members a start, including a Senior debut to one of last years u20s. In the 2nd half we gave a first decent number of minutes to 3 of the more experienced lads who looked rusty as you would expect.
Off last years starting team in our last Championship game against Kilkenny we only started 4 lads against Cork, and out of the regular League teams we had out of this year we didn't start Chin, Jacko, Niall Murphy, Tucker, Richie Lawlor, Molloy, James Byrne and tried some of the others in different positions to see can they play there as they likely won't be playing where they were during the League when Championship starts. Conor Foley and Shane Reck both spent alot of time at midfield for example.
I don't think any Wexford supporter there thought we were going to beat Corks 1st team with the team we had out.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 18/03/2024 09:55:44    2531868

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Of course Baire, you not see the fine dirty pull across Lynch which started the Fracas after which L'Brien was put off. And no yellow card either for the culprit."
That dirty pull as you call it was a response to an earlier dirty pull that the ref ignored. My point was that if refs don't set the tone of the game from the start, players from all counties, not saying it's right, will lay down their own law. For a Limerick poster to come on here asking if Galway have a problem with discipline is laughable. We all know the game he's playing!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1803 - 18/03/2024 10:26:50    2531878

Replying To Viking66:  "I wouldn't say we bottled it. We rested some of our 2nd string and gave some of the squad members a start, including a Senior debut to one of last years u20s. In the 2nd half we gave a first decent number of minutes to 3 of the more experienced lads who looked rusty as you would expect.
Off last years starting team in our last Championship game against Kilkenny we only started 4 lads against Cork, and out of the regular League teams we had out of this year we didn't start Chin, Jacko, Niall Murphy, Tucker, Richie Lawlor, Molloy, James Byrne and tried some of the others in different positions to see can they play there as they likely won't be playing where they were during the League when Championship starts. Conor Foley and Shane Reck both spent alot of time at midfield for example.
I don't think any Wexford supporter there thought we were going to beat Corks 1st team with the team we had out."
We didn't start Corey Byrne Dunbar either

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 18/03/2024 12:00:32    2531892

Replying To skillet:  "Good post and you're right. If the raw material is there, with good coaching and a lot of hard work a decent player can become a great player..At the start of his career Diarmaid Byrnes would miss far more long range shots than he'd put over.

Hegarty was a converted half back in 2017/8. He was substituted plenty of times.
Don't think anyone saw him as a future hurler of the year and an 8 points from play in 3 All Ireland finals kind of man..
Galway have plenty of raw material, just need the right man to put it together. Whether that will be Shefflin is any ones guess."
Some people love to prod about Shefflin's 'failure' here, but I'm afraid there's a very long list of 'internal' and 'external' Galway managers in the last 50 years, who failed 'to put it together'. So there's no point in titillating hard-core Galway fans with the notion that there's some sort of 'John Kiely type Galway man' just waiting in the wings to lead us to the promised land, if only Sheff would head back to KK asap.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 18/03/2024 12:22:43    2531901

Replying To baire:  "That dirty pull as you call it was a response to an earlier dirty pull that the ref ignored. My point was that if refs don't set the tone of the game from the start, players from all counties, not saying it's right, will lay down their own law. For a Limerick poster to come on here asking if Galway have a problem with discipline is laughable. We all know the game he's playing!"
More likely he was pulled across because he was Lynch.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 18/03/2024 12:42:39    2531908

Replying To Oldtourman:  "More likely he was pulled across because he was Lynch."
It didn't take much out of him all the same, unlike the belt JC got in Croker.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1803 - 18/03/2024 12:58:39    2531916

Replying To Shocs07:  "Is their a concern in Galway that indiscipline will catch them out later in the year?"
Not really, most of the top teams play close to the line on fouling. KK in their hey day were masters of it and Limerick do a good job too. What's more concerning I think for Galway is that the majority of the top players are over 30 with a lot of miles on the clock. Limerick are still in their prime mid to late 20's but its the players they are able to bring in over the last 2-3 years thats impressive. They lost Lynch, Hannon Casey in successive years and it didn't matter because of their depth of a bench.

BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 111 - 18/03/2024 13:11:08    2531917

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Some people love to prod about Shefflin's 'failure' here, but I'm afraid there's a very long list of 'internal' and 'external' Galway managers in the last 50 years, who failed 'to put it together'. So there's no point in titillating hard-core Galway fans with the notion that there's some sort of 'John Kiely type Galway man' just waiting in the wings to lead us to the promised land, if only Sheff would head back to KK asap."
Wasn't my intention to prod about anything.. We were in the wilderness for long enough to know what it's like... I
I'd be delighted to see you win an all Ireland soon (obviously not this year) but I don't think you're too far off..

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 18/03/2024 13:11:35    2531918

Replying To Oldtourman:  "More likely he was pulled across because he was Lynch."
This is turning into a "He pulled first" situation. TBH both sides were at it last weekend. Players are targeted in today's game pure and simple and the lines men, umpires and refs need to do a better job communicating with each other; the technology is there. I would also like to see accumulation of yellow cards resulting in a match ban. Many players pick up yellows in every game and then walk away ready to play the next day. If we want to see a more free flowing game and protect the skillful players we need to change the psychology of "taking a yellow" for the team.

BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 111 - 18/03/2024 13:20:50    2531919

Replying To OhIWouldYa:  "Tom Monaghan does distribute when there is a better option. He had 4 wides not 6 or 7 as stated, stick to the facts. 1 wide in the 1st half and 3 in the 2nd half. Lesser mentality players would not have taken on the shots after missing a couple and that type of player is what every team needs. Back in 2017 and early part of 2018, Limerick forwards were very poor shooters and probably had the worst ratio shots to scores of any team over that period but John Kiely did not replace these guys, he stuck with them cause they had the right mentality and were brave to stay shooting. The player you don't want is one that goes hiding and who after a couple of misses is 'head in hands' and deflates his team mates and supporters."
If Tom Monaghan did right then no he wouldn't of shot. Why? Because they were on the sideline and low percentage shots. Twice under the stand and once on the terrace. On two occasions he had a runner on his shoulder but opted to shoot.

Brian Concannon came on and did the same.

Jamie Ryan on seeing this must of presumed going alone was the game plan and decided to shoot on sight no matter how difficult the opportunity.

Monaghan was one of the better Galway players but hopefully when the video analysis is done he'll be shown the improvements required.

Galway struck me in that second half as that felt no matter what happened they would win. Led to a very lazy approach to the second half with a litany of wides and poor decisions.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 18/03/2024 15:37:12    2531931

I seem to have offended you but the facts are and I seen it with my own eyes he had a player off the shoulder many times on Saturday but he shoots. He may be ok on the wing or midfield but as I said we need a no 11 who distributes the ball. Monaghan simply does not do that. Lynch on the other hand is an out and out team player.

Pointblankshot (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 18/03/2024 15:57:18    2531937

I seem to have offended you but the facts are it's a weakness to his game his lack of distribution. I seen it with my own eyes on Saturday with a player off his shoulder in a better position many times but he shot himself. He may work on the wing or midfield but a no 11 in the modern game has to to be a team player. Your point of sticking with a player with the courage to stay shoot even when they are going wide doesn't add up on the scoreboard.
If it was Jason that was guilty of this he would be called out on this forum very quickly.

Pointblankshot (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 18/03/2024 16:23:31    2531943

Replying To Pointblankshot:  "I seem to have offended you but the facts are it's a weakness to his game his lack of distribution. I seen it with my own eyes on Saturday with a player off his shoulder in a better position many times but he shot himself. He may work on the wing or midfield but a no 11 in the modern game has to to be a team player. Your point of sticking with a player with the courage to stay shoot even when they are going wide doesn't add up on the scoreboard.
If it was Jason that was guilty of this he would be called out on this forum very quickly."
Is it a Brendan Lynskey no.11 type you want!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 18/03/2024 16:50:11    2531949