Galway Hurling thread

Replying To baire:  "I will tell you what's laughable, if not disengenous, to claim that referees or officials don't have a say in the final outcome of a tight game.
I never said or suggested that the push on Canning was a yellow card. Canning was pushed in the back, fell and was injured in the fall. It was a free, in a scorable position, but the ref didn't give it.
You're casting aspersions on Micheál Donoghue now, suggesting he picked an injured player to play an AISF. He may not have been playing as well that year but Canning had the ability to change the course of a game in an instant.
You're great with your sweeping statements i.e "its Cannings injury that won Tipp the AI in 2016". Cop on, it was an AISF. As for the objective observer, objectivity is the fruit of honest subjectivity. I try to recall these incidents as honestly as I can but I don't expect a Tipp man to believe me!"
You managed to turn that into me suggesting something negative against micheal Donoughue when all I done was say exactly what Joe said himself! Unreal

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 26/05/2023 08:59:01    2481645

Replying To tiobraid:  "You managed to turn that into me suggesting something negative against micheal Donoughue when all I done was say exactly what Joe said himself! Unreal"
I was simply responding to yours and OTM's assertion that refs don't influence the outcome of a game in any shape or form. I gave examples of instances where a ref's decision or indecision could have a bearing on the final result. There were other instances in that particular AISF that would have influenced the final outcome but we won't go there!
You diverted in your response, bringing up Cody's character, Tipp's AI win in 2016 and other issues in a very aggressive manner saying my response was laughable and that I knew nothing about hurling. I'm not interested in having a spat with you. Those games are in the past and I don't see the point in arguing over the result but the issue of reffing and officiating will always be a relevant one and needs to be debated.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 26/05/2023 10:47:05    2481677

Replying To baire:  "I was simply responding to yours and OTM's assertion that refs don't influence the outcome of a game in any shape or form. I gave examples of instances where a ref's decision or indecision could have a bearing on the final result. There were other instances in that particular AISF that would have influenced the final outcome but we won't go there!
You diverted in your response, bringing up Cody's character, Tipp's AI win in 2016 and other issues in a very aggressive manner saying my response was laughable and that I knew nothing about hurling. I'm not interested in having a spat with you. Those games are in the past and I don't see the point in arguing over the result but the issue of reffing and officiating will always be a relevant one and needs to be debated."
Fair enough. Will draw a line under it and move on.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 26/05/2023 11:37:06    2481698

Long may this Weather continue......hope is like this Sunday.
Fast ball, super scores open space in Croke Park will we hit over 30pts v the Dubs!!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 26/05/2023 11:41:25    2481699

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Galway aren't that 'seasoned' at all. They've relatively young inexperienced players on every line of their team."
Looking through their team again maybe I over stated that but I'd still say they have 8-9 very experienced players in their starting line up which is probably above or at least equal with that of any other team with the exception of probably Limerick.
I take your point though when I go through that team again. The age profile of the team too is probably younger than I prob thought. If some of the younger subs can continue to have an impact this year it could be a good year for ye

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 26/05/2023 11:46:31    2481700

Replying To tiobraid:  "Looking through their team again maybe I over stated that but I'd still say they have 8-9 very experienced players in their starting line up which is probably above or at least equal with that of any other team with the exception of probably Limerick.
I take your point though when I go through that team again. The age profile of the team too is probably younger than I prob thought. If some of the younger subs can continue to have an impact this year it could be a good year for ye"
Watch out for Collins. He could be the next great player if he keeps going the way he has been.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 26/05/2023 15:04:00    2481760

Replying To Viking66:  "Watch out for Collins. He could be the next great player if he keeps going the way he has been."
The only other young lad I've seen play this year with the same hurling flair is Screeney. And I've watched a load of minor and u20 games the last few months.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 26/05/2023 15:30:02    2481765

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Look Ben, refs make mistakes and they will always be highlighted. However if you look at the players performance and those of Management it is often easy to be seen that their mistakes often play a huge part in losing games that might otherwise have been won if those Parties had done their job right. For example in 01 some Galway People blamed Pat O.Connor as if an Ahane Man would ever go out of his way to favour Tipp. However the question that should have been asked was 'how the hell did Mark O'Leary, a player who did so little before or since that game get 2.2 from Wing Forward, when the Marquee Forwards of the the Tipp were all reasonably well contained?"
Look OT, I find it irritating to the point of frustration, that you cannot acknowledge that biased referees sometimes directly impact the outcome of games. I've attended numerous matches in that last 50years that biased referees impacted the result of. It's beyond my comprehension that you flatly deny that this is the case, so we'll layve it at that.

I'm not talking about referees making mistakes at all by the way. Biased calls, and mistakes, are two completely different things. Mentioning mistakes by referees is a total red herring in any discussion about biased refs. Mistakes are mistakes. In complete contrast, bias is wilful decision making of an unfair nature.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 26/05/2023 16:03:08    2481780

Replying To tiobraid:  "Looking through their team again maybe I over stated that but I'd still say they have 8-9 very experienced players in their starting line up which is probably above or at least equal with that of any other team with the exception of probably Limerick.
I take your point though when I go through that team again. The age profile of the team too is probably younger than I prob thought. If some of the younger subs can continue to have an impact this year it could be a good year for ye"
Just 6 of the 2017 champs named. 6 of the 2018 Leinster u21 title winning team also named, and this would be a quite remarkable 8, if Concannon and Fahy were fit or selected respectively, at the expense of two oldies.

EIGHT off a team that didn't win an All Ireland u21, losing to Tipp in a semi, the night the bus broke down (NCT again!!), doesn't strike one as a recipe for senior intercounty success, but I'm looking forwarded to being surprised on that one.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 26/05/2023 16:23:42    2481789

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Just 6 of the 2017 champs named. 6 of the 2018 Leinster u21 title winning team also named, and this would be a quite remarkable 8, if Concannon and Fahy were fit or selected respectively, at the expense of two oldies.

EIGHT off a team that didn't win an All Ireland u21, losing to Tipp in a semi, the night the bus broke down (NCT again!!), doesn't strike one as a recipe for senior intercounty success, but I'm looking forwarded to being surprised on that one."
Ye won't be far away at all. Plenty of quality throughout that team. They may have more silverware if whelan and Concannon received better quality ball the last couple of years. Regardless of what happens in Leinster Galway won't be far off in the AI series

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 26/05/2023 20:55:51    2481822

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Look OT, I find it irritating to the point of frustration, that you cannot acknowledge that biased referees sometimes directly impact the outcome of games. I've attended numerous matches in that last 50years that biased referees impacted the result of. It's beyond my comprehension that you flatly deny that this is the case, so we'll layve it at that.

I'm not talking about referees making mistakes at all by the way. Biased calls, and mistakes, are two completely different things. Mentioning mistakes by referees is a total red herring in any discussion about biased refs. Mistakes are mistakes. In complete contrast, bias is wilful decision making of an unfair nature."
Get over yourself Ben, this is just Galway conspiracy theorising at its worse. A really biased ref would be found out long before he was given charge of an All Ireland Final
We played in four Munster Footballs in six or seven years and each game was reffed by a Connacht ref and we drew one and narrowly lost three. In each game we could say we were hard done by but on closer examination we were just not good enough when we were up against stronger Kerry and Cork teams. No good comes. from claiming bias when it's often problems in ones own camp that needs rectifying

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 26/05/2023 23:11:37    2481833

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Look OT, I find it irritating to the point of frustration, that you cannot acknowledge that biased referees sometimes directly impact the outcome of games. I've attended numerous matches in that last 50years that biased referees impacted the result of. It's beyond my comprehension that you flatly deny that this is the case, so we'll layve it at that.

I'm not talking about referees making mistakes at all by the way. Biased calls, and mistakes, are two completely different things. Mentioning mistakes by referees is a total red herring in any discussion about biased refs. Mistakes are mistakes. In complete contrast, bias is wilful decision making of an unfair nature."
Name all these biased decisions by all these biased refs in all these biased games, over all these biased years!

Oh! Hang on! No need to name the all, dope. Just name all the ones AGAINST GALWAY! We're all holding our breath!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 27/05/2023 02:44:06    2481840

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Get over yourself Ben, this is just Galway conspiracy theorising at its worse. A really biased ref would be found out long before he was given charge of an All Ireland Final
We played in four Munster Footballs in six or seven years and each game was reffed by a Connacht ref and we drew one and narrowly lost three. In each game we could say we were hard done by but on closer examination we were just not good enough when we were up against stronger Kerry and Cork teams. No good comes. from claiming bias when it's often problems in ones own camp that needs rectifying"
Found out me hole, some of these fellas did ref all ireland finals.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 27/05/2023 13:50:30    2481905

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Name all these biased decisions by all these biased refs in all these biased games, over all these biased years!

Oh! Hang on! No need to name the all, dope. Just name all the ones AGAINST GALWAY! We're all holding our breath!"
You're clearly the dope, if you haven't spotted biased refereeing in your time.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 27/05/2023 13:51:58    2481906

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Found out me hole, some of these fellas did ref all ireland finals."
An té nach trua leis do chás ná déan do ghearán leis, a dheartháir!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 27/05/2023 14:27:55    2481919

Replying To Viking66:  "Watch out for Collins. He could be the next great player if he keeps going the way he has been."
Oh I'm watching him ......he is some man to have

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 27/05/2023 17:36:25    2481959

As an East Galway man would say....... "its high time Galway put this aul Dublin hoo doo to bed once and for all, go out and bate the s####e out of em"!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 27/05/2023 18:57:13    2481970

Win by any margin. Then move on. That's all we need, really.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 829 - 27/05/2023 23:06:03    2482053

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Name all these biased decisions by all these biased refs in all these biased games, over all these biased years!

Oh! Hang on! No need to name the all, dope. Just name all the ones AGAINST GALWAY! We're all holding our breath!"
This ain't the gotcha! you appear to think it is, son

But you can hold your breath for as long as you want, if that's what you want to do

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 829 - 27/05/2023 23:07:48    2482054

Replying To katser:  "As an East Galway man would say....... "its high time Galway put this aul Dublin hoo doo to bed once and for all, go out and bate the s####e out of em"!"
Looking forward to this match. Galway Abu.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 28/05/2023 00:15:38    2482064