Galway Hurling thread

Replying To katser:  "Absolutely the talent is there........Galway are right up there in my opinion....'20 All Ireland Semi Final (should have won), '21 League Champions, '22 All Ireland Semi Final (should have won)"
Less said about 21 the better Katser

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11727 - 31/01/2023 18:11:57    2455643

Replying To katser:  "I was surprised they had a poor MHC because they were flying it!
As I said...I prefer using the strongest 15 possible, there are 5 subs that can come on and see how they go in every match,but for me it's get your team organised as early as possible and get the feel of winning. I've always felt it makes the subs and younger lads more determined to get onto the team when you don't start them."
Or more out of their depth and underexposed.....
Would have agreed with you in pre Round Robin days though Katser.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11727 - 31/01/2023 18:13:25    2455644

Replying To Viking66:  "Or more out of their depth and underexposed.....
Would have agreed with you in pre Round Robin days though Katser."
If a young fellow is good enough and confident enough....he won't give a toss about been out of their depth or exposed, he'd be raring to get on the field of play to prove himself.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 31/01/2023 21:18:45    2455694

Replying To Viking66:  "Less said about 21 the better Katser"
'Should have won'-nonsense. I have heard this old line from different losing sides several times over my seventy+ years. It is all a load of codology. Teams lose, as Limerick did for Forty four Years, because they are not good enough.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 01/02/2023 09:26:43    2455712

Replying To katser:  "Absolutely the talent is there........Galway are right up there in my opinion....'20 All Ireland Semi Final (should have won), '21 League Champions, '22 All Ireland Semi Final (should have won)"
I can't bring myself to watch last year's semi. Game we should have won, I was at it at the wides on the day just seemed cruel. Conor Cooney dropping a 30m free into keepers hand. Conor Whelan should have rattled the onion bag but took his point. I will say though, I am excited for this year ahead. I think we are probably the only team closest to Limerick in an knockout game.

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 485 - 01/02/2023 09:48:41    2455716

Replying To katser:  "If a young fellow is good enough and confident enough....he won't give a toss about been out of their depth or exposed, he'd be raring to get on the field of play to prove himself."
That's why he should be on the field of play isn't it? How can you know what he has to offer the team if you never pick him?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11727 - 01/02/2023 10:08:53    2455721

Replying To Oldtourman:  "'Should have won'-nonsense. I have heard this old line from different losing sides several times over my seventy+ years. It is all a load of codology. Teams lose, as Limerick did for Forty four Years, because they are not good enough."
What if the officials weren't good enough?
What if the GAA allowed a review of important incidents by monitor? Your trope of 'not good enough' is a cop out.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 01/02/2023 11:16:43    2455743

Replying To Oldtourman:  "'Should have won'-nonsense. I have heard this old line from different losing sides several times over my seventy+ years. It is all a load of codology. Teams lose, as Limerick did for Forty four Years, because they are not good enough."
Small typo there re Lmerick - should read 45 years.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 01/02/2023 11:48:17    2455752

Talent was there and ultimately they under achieved. Physically they aren't at it anymore. Should have been destroyed by Cork. Hurled out of their skin against Limerick and still lost by 3 when Limerick were at 80%.

Lot of lads in their 30s or very very close to it. Lads who have broken onto the team such as Jack Grealish, Ronan Glennon, Tom Mon are grand hurlers but nothing that will win you an All Ireland. Expectations should be the same as last year - a good year would be a Leinster title and an AI semi loss.

Dermot_Desmond_96 (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 01/02/2023 11:52:16    2455754

Replying To tommy k:  "Small typo there re Lmerick - should read 45 years."
They won in the 45th year?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11727 - 01/02/2023 12:40:29    2455770

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "Talent was there and ultimately they under achieved. Physically they aren't at it anymore. Should have been destroyed by Cork. Hurled out of their skin against Limerick and still lost by 3 when Limerick were at 80%.

Lot of lads in their 30s or very very close to it. Lads who have broken onto the team such as Jack Grealish, Ronan Glennon, Tom Mon are grand hurlers but nothing that will win you an All Ireland. Expectations should be the same as last year - a good year would be a Leinster title and an AI semi loss."
I hate this thing of saying teams were only going 80% of whatever. Doesn't happen in All-Ireland semi-finals. Maybe the league granted but not in knock out championship games. Limerick were going full pelt that day. They might not have played as well as they wanted to but they were going flat out. Galway to be fair played very well. Just lacked a bit of composure in the last few minutes when the game was there to be won.

Getting consistency into Galway will be Shefflin's biggest challenge this year. Pretty good against Kilkenny in the Leinster championship. Dreadful in the Leinster final against Kilkenny. Not great against Cork but sneaked the win. And then very good against Limerick. The performance levels were all over the shop.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2208 - 01/02/2023 12:40:52    2455771

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Fair enough to some drgree , but my god, what was the keeper doing? Did he leave his brain in the dressing room? Players on the field always need to be able to read the game, it was a thing that Galway players seemed to lack a lot back in those days imo -- no onfield leadership. Crazy that a young lad in his first championship match was the only one to bring the game to them. Loughnane might deserve flak but I wouldn't leave all the blame at his door."
I agree that players on the field need to be able to read the game and adapt to changing circumstances, ditto the management team. When Canning was asked in an interview what was different with Micheál Donoghue's management style he said that Donoghue put the onus on the team and also gave them the freedom to express themselves on the field of play. Canning wasn't the only hurler to 'bring the game to them' that day. He was full forward and stayed there, he scored 2-12 which means he got plenty of supply from out field. They were playing in Thurles, virtually home ground for Cork, a seasoned team that won an All Ireland in 2005 with a huge Cork support to boot. They had Cork on the ropes but needed to play smartly with the extra man in the second half but unfortunately they got sucked into the noise and the occasion. I still think Loughnane's performance that day was woeful. He should have instructed the 19 year old Galway keeper, in the dressing room at half time, to find the extra man with his puck outs. Simple stuff!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 01/02/2023 12:54:36    2455772

A lot of talent coming through, not sure how ready it is yet.

OShea, McManus, John Cooney, Killeen and Lee should be good options this year. Niland needs to play and be on frees, think he's more reliable and has the accuracy over distance.
Collins is a fantastic talent, maybe leave him with the U20s. Kennedy is another who will thrive in good weather.

Galwayspur (Offaly) - Posts: 230 - 01/02/2023 13:06:31    2455778

Replying To Viking66:  "That's why he should be on the field of play isn't it? How can you know what he has to offer the team if you never pick him?"
I'm talking about for the first match....put out strongest 15 possible, then at half time give the young guns their chance and if they impress then start them for next game

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 01/02/2023 13:26:26    2455785

Replying To CillTormoir:  "I can't bring myself to watch last year's semi. Game we should have won, I was at it at the wides on the day just seemed cruel. Conor Cooney dropping a 30m free into keepers hand. Conor Whelan should have rattled the onion bag but took his point. I will say though, I am excited for this year ahead. I think we are probably the only team closest to Limerick in an knockout game."
I'm very excited about this year......fingers crossed, League, Leinster and All Ireland Winners!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 01/02/2023 13:48:03    2455791

Replying To baire:  "I agree that players on the field need to be able to read the game and adapt to changing circumstances, ditto the management team. When Canning was asked in an interview what was different with Micheál Donoghue's management style he said that Donoghue put the onus on the team and also gave them the freedom to express themselves on the field of play. Canning wasn't the only hurler to 'bring the game to them' that day. He was full forward and stayed there, he scored 2-12 which means he got plenty of supply from out field. They were playing in Thurles, virtually home ground for Cork, a seasoned team that won an All Ireland in 2005 with a huge Cork support to boot. They had Cork on the ropes but needed to play smartly with the extra man in the second half but unfortunately they got sucked into the noise and the occasion. I still think Loughnane's performance that day was woeful. He should have instructed the 19 year old Galway keeper, in the dressing room at half time, to find the extra man with his puck outs. Simple stuff!"
Baire. You make a good point here with regard to a Manager making a mistake. It is far better to go back and critically assess your own performance, on and off the field than be too quick to press the 'oh we were robbed' button. You can also handle a thing wrongly and get away with it, but you should learn from it, even in victory. In the '18 Semi Final LK took far too slow to bring in subs and subsequently got with it. They did not learn and repeated the same mistake V KK the following year and it probably cost them the game, in much the same way the game was lost that you mention here.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 01/02/2023 19:24:15    2455865

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "Talent was there and ultimately they under achieved. Physically they aren't at it anymore. Should have been destroyed by Cork. Hurled out of their skin against Limerick and still lost by 3 when Limerick were at 80%.

Lot of lads in their 30s or very very close to it. Lads who have broken onto the team such as Jack Grealish, Ronan Glennon, Tom Mon are grand hurlers but nothing that will win you an All Ireland. Expectations should be the same as last year - a good year would be a Leinster title and an AI semi loss."
Finally a Galway poster talking sense, I always knew there was 1 out there.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 816 - 01/02/2023 19:28:42    2455866

Replying To Marooned:  "I hate this thing of saying teams were only going 80% of whatever. Doesn't happen in All-Ireland semi-finals. Maybe the league granted but not in knock out championship games. Limerick were going full pelt that day. They might not have played as well as they wanted to but they were going flat out. Galway to be fair played very well. Just lacked a bit of composure in the last few minutes when the game was there to be won.

Getting consistency into Galway will be Shefflin's biggest challenge this year. Pretty good against Kilkenny in the Leinster championship. Dreadful in the Leinster final against Kilkenny. Not great against Cork but sneaked the win. And then very good against Limerick. The performance levels were all over the shop."
Very good assessment Maroon. We owe a huge debt to Reidy. He has been a bit player for the past four years, with little or no chance of starting on the big day. He could easily have walked away with three All Ireland Medals in his pocket last year, but he kept giving the huge commitment necessary, and played a vital sub role against Clare and we definitely would not have beaten Galway without him.
Galway are there or thereabouts, but with Lynch and Casey out last year we were there for the taking.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 01/02/2023 19:32:19    2455868

Replying To tommy k:  "Small typo there re Lmerick - should read 45 years."
No actually. We were forty years years without winning at the end of '13. '14,'15.'16 and '17 made it forty four. '18 does not come into the equation.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 01/02/2023 19:42:05    2455871

Replying To CillTormoir:  "I can't bring myself to watch last year's semi. Game we should have won, I was at it at the wides on the day just seemed cruel. Conor Cooney dropping a 30m free into keepers hand. Conor Whelan should have rattled the onion bag but took his point. I will say though, I am excited for this year ahead. I think we are probably the only team closest to Limerick in an knockout game."
Well ye got a goal at a critical stage and ye should have kicked on from there, especially with P Casey and Lynch off. Galway gave us by far the toughest game of the year as we were under serious pressure against KK, from the start, due to other injuries, with Hayes not expected to finish, Gillane playing though he was clearly less than 100% and Reidy's effectiveness, when he came on, was also reduced due to an injury. In fact LK had a far bigger injury going into the Final than KK had in '73.
As I have said before, if we beat us this year we will be the first to congratulate ye.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 01/02/2023 19:52:23    2455872