Galway Hurling thread

Joe Cannings Laochra Geal was very good but 1 criticism is he could have done a 2 hour programme instead of 1,there was a lot of interesting stuff left out or just skimmed over.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 29/01/2023 12:50:02    2454913

Joe's hurling spoke for itself both as a club, college and county hurler. Off the field he spoke openly and honestly, unlike many others in the GAA who hide behind cliches and cute hoorism. His brother Ollie always acknowledges his brilliance but Ollie himself was brilliant and probably more consistent than his youngest brother. There's talk during the programme about Joe scoring 2-12 against Cork in 2008. I was at that game. Ger Loughnane, their manager, slated the Galway players afterwards for losing. Dónall Óg was sent off in the first half so Loughnane had time to set out how to use the extra man. Ollie Canning was given that role but not once during the second half was the Galway keeper instructed to pass the sliotar to Ollie - one of the finest backs or forwards in the country! Instead of passing to the extra man it was driven down on top of the best half-back line in the country at the time! No marks for Loughnane's managerial know-how that day!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1794 - 29/01/2023 13:25:20    2454924

Is Wexford game being shown on tg4?

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 487 - 29/01/2023 16:28:50    2454984

Replying To CillTormoir:  "Is Wexford game being shown on tg4?"
No, We will tune into GBFM

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 29/01/2023 17:03:57    2454996

Replying To katser:  "No, We will tune into GBFM"
Tg4 schedule has a game live at 430 Saturday, too lazy to check all fixtures but I assume Galway Wexford is the only live game this Saturday at 5 :D

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 487 - 29/01/2023 18:17:33    2455034

Replying To baire:  "Joe's hurling spoke for itself both as a club, college and county hurler. Off the field he spoke openly and honestly, unlike many others in the GAA who hide behind cliches and cute hoorism. His brother Ollie always acknowledges his brilliance but Ollie himself was brilliant and probably more consistent than his youngest brother. There's talk during the programme about Joe scoring 2-12 against Cork in 2008. I was at that game. Ger Loughnane, their manager, slated the Galway players afterwards for losing. Dónall Óg was sent off in the first half so Loughnane had time to set out how to use the extra man. Ollie Canning was given that role but not once during the second half was the Galway keeper instructed to pass the sliotar to Ollie - one of the finest backs or forwards in the country! Instead of passing to the extra man it was driven down on top of the best half-back line in the country at the time! No marks for Loughnane's managerial know-how that day!"
Fair enough to some drgree , but my god, what was the keeper doing? Did he leave his brain in the dressing room? Players on the field always need to be able to read the game, it was a thing that Galway players seemed to lack a lot back in those days imo -- no onfield leadership. Crazy that a young lad in his first championship match was the only one to bring the game to them. Loughnane might deserve flak but I wouldn't leave all the blame at his door.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 29/01/2023 18:20:47    2455037

Replying To CillTormoir:  "Tg4 schedule has a game live at 430 Saturday, too lazy to check all fixtures but I assume Galway Wexford is the only live game this Saturday at 5 :D"
Oh they must have put up that schedule recently.........ah well then of course TG4 will show Galway win the Walsh Cup and get 2pts in our first League match!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 29/01/2023 18:57:02    2455056

Replying To CillTormoir:  "Tg4 schedule has a game live at 430 Saturday, too lazy to check all fixtures but I assume Galway Wexford is the only live game this Saturday at 5 :D"
https://www.tg4.ie/ga/sceideal/sceideal-spoirt/
Wex v G will be shown live on Saturday.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1794 - 30/01/2023 08:20:29    2455155

Replying To katser:  "Oh they must have put up that schedule recently.........ah well then of course TG4 will show Galway win the Walsh Cup and get 2pts in our first League match!"
Positive as usual Katser! Tbh I'd rather we stuck with some of the newer lads that played in the Walsh Cup for Saturday and have a couple of them able to start or come on and make a difference in Salthill than beat you in a February game.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11841 - 30/01/2023 10:08:44    2455182

Replying To Viking66:  "Positive as usual Katser! Tbh I'd rather we stuck with some of the newer lads that played in the Walsh Cup for Saturday and have a couple of them able to start or come on and make a difference in Salthill than beat you in a February game."
Predictable rather than positive!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1794 - 30/01/2023 13:49:34    2455274

Ah you have Limerick and Cork on Saturday night too

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 30/01/2023 15:13:43    2455304

Replying To katser:  "Oh they must have put up that schedule recently.........ah well then of course TG4 will show Galway win the Walsh Cup and get 2pts in our first League match!"
I hope we win but the BIGGER PICTURE is to find some talent that will make us a DEEPER TEAM this summer. Galway Abu!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 30/01/2023 17:06:40    2455347

Replying To Trump2020:  "I hope we win but the BIGGER PICTURE is to find some talent that will make us a DEEPER TEAM this summer. Galway Abu!"
No doubt about it the talent is there....I want them to take every match as a Championship game and approach the ("Jack O Connor Kerry last year system ") where strongest 15 possible used in every game.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 30/01/2023 21:05:57    2455415

Replying To Viking66:  "Positive as usual Katser! Tbh I'd rather we stuck with some of the newer lads that played in the Walsh Cup for Saturday and have a couple of them able to start or come on and make a difference in Salthill than beat you in a February game."
I'd rather get our strongest 15 out on the field and get a good win. The Championship is obviously a different tempo!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 30/01/2023 21:25:00    2455419

Replying To katser:  "No, We will tune into GBFM"
Yes it is been shown on TG4 limerick cork on rte 2 at 7.30. Is Conor whelan fit or will he be around this weekend. What's the narrative around Galway this year? Are ye confident of going far

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 260 - 31/01/2023 07:11:06    2455424

Replying To katser:  "No doubt about it the talent is there....I want them to take every match as a Championship game and approach the ("Jack O Connor Kerry last year system ") where strongest 15 possible used in every game."
That didn't work out too well for Waterford last year?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11841 - 31/01/2023 10:05:11    2455439

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Fair enough to some drgree , but my god, what was the keeper doing? Did he leave his brain in the dressing room? Players on the field always need to be able to read the game, it was a thing that Galway players seemed to lack a lot back in those days imo -- no onfield leadership. Crazy that a young lad in his first championship match was the only one to bring the game to them. Loughnane might deserve flak but I wouldn't leave all the blame at his door."
that keeper you refer to while a good shot stopper, having a calm head to assess situations was definitely not one of his strong points. Makes you think how Crazy it is that Colm Callanan got so few starts throughout his career really. He was one of the best goalies we ever had. Should have got way more starts for Galway.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 425 - 31/01/2023 10:50:49    2455453

Replying To katser:  "No doubt about it the talent is there....I want them to take every match as a Championship game and approach the ("Jack O Connor Kerry last year system ") where strongest 15 possible used in every game."
Amen to that. It's frustrating when you know your county is loaded with talent but not getting the results. Bad enough when you've no talent or you have a few down years but when you're loaded at every level it gets sickening.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 31/01/2023 11:26:25    2455462

Replying To Viking66:  "That didn't work out too well for Waterford last year?"
I was surprised they had a poor MHC because they were flying it!
As I said...I prefer using the strongest 15 possible, there are 5 subs that can come on and see how they go in every match,but for me it's get your team organised as early as possible and get the feel of winning. I've always felt it makes the subs and younger lads more determined to get onto the team when you don't start them.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 31/01/2023 14:55:30    2455572

Replying To Trump2020:  "Amen to that. It's frustrating when you know your county is loaded with talent but not getting the results. Bad enough when you've no talent or you have a few down years but when you're loaded at every level it gets sickening."
Absolutely the talent is there........Galway are right up there in my opinion....'20 All Ireland Semi Final (should have won), '21 League Champions, '22 All Ireland Semi Final (should have won)

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 31/01/2023 14:59:51    2455573