Donegal Football Championships

I found the weekends matches very interesting
Eventhough I'm not sure he's at full tilt thought michael langan was excellent. He completely controlled the game, hitting the line for points and the goal in the first half. He was lying deeper in the second half and every decision he made was the right one. I loved his free kick over the aodh ruadh press for the last goal. Their fb line was also very good.

Kilcar were excellent. If ever a match showed why donegal are well known for running football this was it. Miserable night with wind and rain and no bother to kilcar. The running ability and their control of the ball was super in the conditions. Poor aul mccumhaills didn't stood a chance. I don't think Andrew mcclean ever bouces the ball so he won't be losing the ball bouncing it in the soft conditions.

Eunan's are probably the least satisfied of the semi finalists. St nauls completely negated pattons kickout apart from one near the end. They marshalled niall odonnell well and did very well on the breaking ball on their own kickouts. Rory kavanagh referenced this and is something eunans have to improve upon. Whether it's deliberate coaching or not they should have kicked for points more. Shane o'donnell had a fine game though he should kick for the point more himself. So what if you hit the odd wide, it's better than a turnover that came about from some of the overplay thet were doing.

Naomh conaill have to be very pleased. They completely controlled the game. They are really disciplined and very well coached. Their weakest players are all very good and it's a credit to them. They probably planned to free up mckelvey in the first half. Gweedore would not have seen that coming and it worked a treat. He's filling out too and had a very decent skillset. An all round very good performance. Gweedore just don't have the same player depth.

Doherty very good for naomh columba and so to Eric carr. To me they are the most impressive intermediate team. Cloughaneely look to be carrying too many injuries though still think they'll beat buncrana.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 19/10/2021 19:02:25    2386345

I was badly wrong on the Ardara v Glenswilly match, didn't see any match report so not sure what the story was,
The quarter finals were tame enough, even the GD v NC game was one sided, Mac Niallas kept GD in it on his own,
vital for the county that Mac Niallas stays with us.
I can't see anyone beating NC they are looking good for 3 in a row, I see TG4 are covering the NC v KIlcar semi final so I think I'll put the feet up and watch that one from the couch.
Think this semi final is in fact the final, not that confident Eunans or St Michaels will bother NC or KIlcar. but I have been wrong before!!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2737 - 19/10/2021 19:13:01    2386349

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah St. Nauls are tough. Losing Stephen Griffin early on was a disaster for them. But they stuck at it and certainly did not disgrace themselves in what was their first ever senior Championship QF appearance.

Marty Boyle is a tough operator surely. Serious hunger still there, along with the likes of Waide & McDyer too.

Young Harkin had a tough day at the office. He was finding space but had two attempts in a row that he put wide so maybe the head was starting to drop a little? He'll have better days, a great prospect."
Hi Lockjaw: St Nauls sideline seemed very perplexed with the referee. One member of management in particular was fairly losing it.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 647 - 19/10/2021 20:23:46    2386355

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Eunans are stuttering but I suppose it's all about winning games. The only thing is if it is put up to them by St. Michaels can they just turn it on? Time will tell. If he is fit to play a part, what a difference Colm Anthony could make if even sprung from the bench. I wouldn't rule out a win for the Cresslough/Dunfanaghy men.

Kilcar/Glenties will be an epic battle and the grudge match of all grudge matches. A lot will depend on whether Matthew McClean is fit enough to play a part. Stephen McBrearty is hitting form at the right time.

As far as the intermediate goes, I think the two teams burnt most badly in the past few years will draw on that hurt and make the 2021 Final.

In the Junior you would expect Downings and Gaels with home advantage will make amends for their surprise defeats in the group stages. Although, Moville might get closer than a lot of people expect."
Hi peiledoir20: What about Dungloe for the intermediate? Manus Boyle training them supposedly. Word going they fancy their chances of winning it and returning to Senior.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 647 - 19/10/2021 20:29:27    2386357

Good to see some of our regular insightful posters here despite the change to the forums here. I myself probably won't be posting as much and am certainly not as frequent a visitor without our county forum but it is what it is. Got to see a couple of club games over the weekend. Very impressed with Kilcar and NC. I thought McCools might test Kilcar more but it was a non event in terms of a contest. Interesting to see Ryan playing more forward which I think many of us would like to see more of with the county. NC also very impressive. As pointed out already they are extremely well coached and once the goal went in they never looked back. They obviously identified a weakness down Gweedores right hand side of the pitch and fully exploited it. Speaking of Gweedore they were really disappointing. Not having Cassidy as a fulcrum point inside really weakens them without having a worthy replacement. They played right into NC's hands with their predictable pedestrian build up play and lack of variation. Bar Odhran they offered little threat and have really regressed which is worrying also from a county perspective. I got to see 3 of the intermediate games with Dungloe winning at a canter with little challenge. Buncrana deserved their win but really should have been closer with Fanad taking on multiple questionable shot selections and also having some really bad wides. Cloughaneely won with plenty in hand with Sean Maguire impressing from a deeper role. Good to see Jason getting game time, there will be more than a few eyes on his battle with Caolan McGonigle next weekend. Again though as pointed out already the injury to John Fitzgerald is a worry. At full tilt he is a game changer for Cloughaneely who I still fancy to get to another final.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 20/10/2021 11:42:20    2386400

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I was badly wrong on the Ardara v Glenswilly match, didn't see any match report so not sure what the story was,
The quarter finals were tame enough, even the GD v NC game was one sided, Mac Niallas kept GD in it on his own,
vital for the county that Mac Niallas stays with us.
I can't see anyone beating NC they are looking good for 3 in a row, I see TG4 are covering the NC v KIlcar semi final so I think I'll put the feet up and watch that one from the couch.
Think this semi final is in fact the final, not that confident Eunans or St Michaels will bother NC or KIlcar. but I have been wrong before!!"
You have been wrong before (Glenswilly and Gweedore at the weekend for example).. I think we should all lump it on Eunans based on your past predictions :)

I actually think this will suit Eunans down to the ground.. Let Kilcar or NC come into the final feeling over confident. They still have to make the final but I think they will make it. A tough game against St. Michaels is what they want as well.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 223 - 20/10/2021 12:11:22    2386405

A lot of talk online and in the media of the NC vs Kilcar game being feisty to the point it could boil over. I really don't see this happening at all I think both teams will have a clear and structured plan for the game and try to stick to that as best as possible. At the end of the day as mentioned here people have mention this basically being the final which i don't buy into at all cause on any given day you can be beating just look at Glenswilly vs kilcar and NC vs eunans all those years ago

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 481 - 20/10/2021 14:30:35    2386443

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "A lot of talk online and in the media of the NC vs Kilcar game being feisty to the point it could boil over. I really don't see this happening at all I think both teams will have a clear and structured plan for the game and try to stick to that as best as possible. At the end of the day as mentioned here people have mention this basically being the final which i don't buy into at all cause on any given day you can be beating just look at Glenswilly vs kilcar and NC vs eunans all those years ago"
Agreed 100%. If players from either team were to go into this game with a hot headed mentality then they would be letting their team mates down. Both teams have good management who will not allow this to happen. As for it being the final that is nonsense and very disrespectful to St Eunans & St Michaels both fine teams.
I personally don't think there will be much in it, both teams are playing well. Naomh Conaill are superbly well drilled with a system that suits their players down to the ground. They have been there and done that.
Kilcar have maybe a bit more to prove but they have improved their defence hugely, conceding only five points in the last two games. Pundits seem to favour Naomh Conaill slightly while Paddy Power have Kilcar slight favourites.
Really looking forward to it.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/10/2021 18:55:41    2386528

Declan Bonner has finally come out of the shadows and is concerned only about what he terms 'nameless and faceless ' posters on social media that did not agree with his re appointment as Donegal manager. Really Bonner! Nothing about the Donegal plan going forward, the donegal championship or anyone that has come to the fore to help the ailing Donegal show going forward.The big four supposedly in the county might not be as such, with Gweedore gone, 14 man st Nauls running st Eunan's close. St Michael's can take Eunan's scalp, with Kilcar to beat N Conal and take it all.Naomh Columba to prevail at intermediate where Aaron Doherty continues to light it up , oh of course Bonner doesn't want to know about him.

thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 21/10/2021 09:04:34    2386562

Replying To thelowball:  "Declan Bonner has finally come out of the shadows and is concerned only about what he terms 'nameless and faceless ' posters on social media that did not agree with his re appointment as Donegal manager. Really Bonner! Nothing about the Donegal plan going forward, the donegal championship or anyone that has come to the fore to help the ailing Donegal show going forward.The big four supposedly in the county might not be as such, with Gweedore gone, 14 man st Nauls running st Eunan's close. St Michael's can take Eunan's scalp, with Kilcar to beat N Conal and take it all.Naomh Columba to prevail at intermediate where Aaron Doherty continues to light it up , oh of course Bonner doesn't want to know about him."
Bonner must have been on about keyboard warriors like your self. Get your facts right about Aaron Doherty . He was on the county squad two years ago and from what I gather left on his own accord . By the way I don't see many of your saviours doing it for there clubs at championship level. The best players I have seen are all on the squad and by the way Brendan Mc Cole and eoin Mc Hugh are definitely the most impressive defenders on show. From the players not on the squad I would say Barry griffin maybe deserves a chance.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2389 - 21/10/2021 11:31:05    2386599

Replying To rorysboys:  "Bonner must have been on about keyboard warriors like your self. Get your facts right about Aaron Doherty . He was on the county squad two years ago and from what I gather left on his own accord . By the way I don't see many of your saviours doing it for there clubs at championship level. The best players I have seen are all on the squad and by the way Brendan Mc Cole and eoin Mc Hugh are definitely the most impressive defenders on show. From the players not on the squad I would say Barry griffin maybe deserves a chance."
Remember about a month ago (before they deleted all the county forums) you mentioned you were hearing exciting rumours about who Bonner was for adding to the backroom team. We know now that Rochford is to stay and Paul McGonigle is stepping away and won't be replaced. So not only no additions but actually a reduction.

Have you heard any more word since, or do ye think Bonner will be happy enough to work with whats there.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 21/10/2021 14:23:16    2386650

There's definitely a new coach coming in but the word is that's he's involved with a club still in championship so he won't be named till his club business is over. As for who it is I don't know. He mightn't even be a Donegal man.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2389 - 21/10/2021 14:46:32    2386657

More rubbish from u Rory, whose comin Peter Keane, Jim Gavin Jim McGuinness. Hold on these guys not involved I'd say in any champ. Stop the suspense and tell us , u that knows all Donegal football matters!

thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 21/10/2021 15:08:19    2386665

Replying To thelowball:  "Declan Bonner has finally come out of the shadows and is concerned only about what he terms 'nameless and faceless ' posters on social media that did not agree with his re appointment as Donegal manager. Really Bonner! Nothing about the Donegal plan going forward, the donegal championship or anyone that has come to the fore to help the ailing Donegal show going forward.The big four supposedly in the county might not be as such, with Gweedore gone, 14 man st Nauls running st Eunan's close. St Michael's can take Eunan's scalp, with Kilcar to beat N Conal and take it all.Naomh Columba to prevail at intermediate where Aaron Doherty continues to light it up , oh of course Bonner doesn't want to know about him."
What a silly post!!

1Declan Bonner has not been "in the shadows" whatever they are.

2 He is quite right about the hateful nature of some of the social media posts from gutless wonders who wouldn't kick snow off a rope. The fact that these cowards didn't agree with Declan's reappointment is neither here nor there as gurriers that engage in abuse have no voice at the table. Besides which Declan was the only applicant, if he hadn't put his name forward where would Donegal football be?

3 Aaron Doherty left the Donegal pane of his own volition to play for Finn Harps I think. If he is back full time with Naomh Columba then I'm sure Declan will be very interested.

4 The big four are still head and shoulders above the rest with only St Michaels anywhere close
I thought it was a very good interview with a decent GAA man who is optimistic about Donegal's future. I would take one of him over 100 of the social media gobdaws any day of the week.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/10/2021 17:47:07    2386707

Replying To rorysboys:  "Bonner must have been on about keyboard warriors like your self. Get your facts right about Aaron Doherty . He was on the county squad two years ago and from what I gather left on his own accord . By the way I don't see many of your saviours doing it for there clubs at championship level. The best players I have seen are all on the squad and by the way Brendan Mc Cole and eoin Mc Hugh are definitely the most impressive defenders on show. From the players not on the squad I would say Barry griffin maybe deserves a chance."
Totally agree to give Barry Griffin a chance but what age is he?
I seen Eoin McHugh was named at number three last week but unfortunately the game didn't really show us much and i don't see him playing there this weekend either.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 481 - 22/10/2021 08:19:13    2386738

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "What a silly post!!

1Declan Bonner has not been "in the shadows" whatever they are.

2 He is quite right about the hateful nature of some of the social media posts from gutless wonders who wouldn't kick snow off a rope. The fact that these cowards didn't agree with Declan's reappointment is neither here nor there as gurriers that engage in abuse have no voice at the table. Besides which Declan was the only applicant, if he hadn't put his name forward where would Donegal football be?

3 Aaron Doherty left the Donegal pane of his own volition to play for Finn Harps I think. If he is back full time with Naomh Columba then I'm sure Declan will be very interested.

4 The big four are still head and shoulders above the rest with only St Michaels anywhere close
I thought it was a very good interview with a decent GAA man who is optimistic about Donegal's future. I would take one of him over 100 of the social media gobdaws any day of the week."
We'll said muckross totally agree with everything you said. When bonner mentions the abuse it must have been pretty serious. From the few times I met him he comes across as a real Donegal gaa man. Who's in it for all the right reasons. Looking forward to the year ahead and can't wait for Sunday.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2389 - 22/10/2021 10:25:28    2386756

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Well what did we make of the action over the weekend?

St. Michaels were quite comfortable in the end against Aodh Ruadh. The Ballyshannon men have had a good year though. Promotion to Div 1 and a quarter final appearance is good progress. Saint Michaels have reaffirmed their status as 'best of the rest' outside to so-called top 4 in my opinion. If they were fully injury free they might have a chance against Eunans. But I just think Eunans may be a bridge (pun intended) too far for the Dunfanaghy men.

Eunans are grinding it out so far. I wouldn't say that they've been all that impressive but they won't care. If they avoid complacency they should find themselves in the final. It's not a bad place to be at all for Kavanagh, they have room for improvement and if they can ramp things up they'll definitely fancy their chances.

Kilcar brushed a disappointing MacCumhaills aside at their ease. Hard to know if they'll have learned an awful lot from that. Huge game this weekend obviously. Great to see Stephen McBrearty in good form. He has a pile of football in him. I wonder if Bonner will be approaching him again?

Naomh Conaill were Naomh Conaill against Gaoth Dobhair. Their system is so well honed and difficult to play against. Their work rate is phenomenal as well. Those Doherty lads, McGettigan and McKelvey cover some amount of ground. Then you have the class of Ciaran Thompson and the experienced heads like Tony & Leo. Just a really really well drilled team. Gaoth Dobhair were disappointing. There never looked like seriously troubling Naomh Conaill and that will hurt them the most.

Kilcar will hopefully test them a lot more this weekend. Needless to say that they'll need no extra motivation going into this one. It's so hard to call it. I'll hold off on a prediction until later in the week."
Hearing that Ballyshannon were down a fair few last weekend with a last minute covid outbreak and injuries to key players. If true the St Michael result may not be as impressive as it might sound.

Would have to expect Eunans to win that one with something to spare.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1070 - 22/10/2021 11:12:15    2386772

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "Totally agree to give Barry Griffin a chance but what age is he?
I seen Eoin McHugh was named at number three last week but unfortunately the game didn't really show us much and i don't see him playing there this weekend either."
He must be in his late 20s at this stage. I know he is based down the country as well so not sure if that commute and commitment would appeal to him at this stage of life.

What about some of you own men NC? Ultan Doherty has been an impressive performer for you this past two seasons. Strikes me as a tough teak no nonsense defender and can kick a score when needed as he showed on Sunday. At the right age also. I don't see any reason why he couldn't join his two brothers in the Donegal set up.

I can't see Kilcar having McHugh on the edge of the square on Sunday if big McGuinnes is inside for Glenties. Complete mis-match. Kilcar haven't many big men to put back there and I am sure it's an area Glenties will be targeting.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 794 - 22/10/2021 12:20:55    2386797

Replying To Samsforthehills:  "Hearing that Ballyshannon were down a fair few last weekend with a last minute covid outbreak and injuries to key players. If true the St Michael result may not be as impressive as it might sound.

Would have to expect Eunans to win that one with something to spare."
Ballyshannon were very poor, big hype but they couldn't live with it, they were missing a few but equally were st Michael's.

crnm (Donegal) - Posts: 100 - 22/10/2021 12:56:26    2386807

I think the bookies have this backways, I would be making NC favs, there's serious power in that team, not sure if Kilcar will be able to match them for strength.
where's this social media abuse that Bonner's on about? hardly on the likes of here is it?
I like Bonner myself but I think we needed a change of management, if you keep doing the same thing you'll keep getting the same results more or less, I think he should have gone after the Cavan defeat last year, just my opinion which we are all entitled to.
Look at the Galway hurlers, that's thinking outside the box getting Sheflin in, I think with the talent that we have on tap in Donegal we shouldn't be getting beaten by the likes of Cavan, no disrespect to Cavan.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2737 - 22/10/2021 13:06:27    2386809