Kerry GAA thread

Replying To Horsebox77:  "It won't be the same and I'll miss the intimacy (if that's the right word!!) of our little forum.

Actually, on reflection, that's exactly it, sounds daft. I often described HS to my better half as an online version of five or six lads having a football chat in the pub, although we are the bones of a decade hopping and slagging each other we actually half know each other even though we never met.
I wouldn't say smaller fish in a bigger pond but ya, I joined the kerry forum years ago but rarely posted, when I posted initially, there was a snide reaction by one to "HS must be offline" but, I choose to ignored opposed to engage.

Still at least that Avenue is open to us, I will miss HS but unless they revert to type, like you I will be defecting and closing my HS account.

K'boy, as Hermit said, it's actually easier to create the account with the Kerry gaa forum than HS, also posts appear immediately and can be edited. As for the participants, similar to us, some long term lads, guaranteed most of them also read or posted on HS so may be interesting."
Exactly Horse, that's how I used describe it too. In lieu of not being able to be down in Kerry having a few pints with lads, it was a great substitute.

Yes I've noticed an attitude over there to HS but I assumed it was more to do with the main forum and the we hate Kerry brigade that rule the roost. Like would you blame any Kerry supporter for having a dim view?

Hopefully they'll be nice to the former Kerry HS forum crew.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/10/2021 18:27:09    2384055

A very interesting read!

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2021/1001/1250156-keane-i-had-the-support-of-the-kerry-players/

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 01/10/2021 18:56:04    2384064

Replying To Horsebox77:  "It won't be the same and I'll miss the intimacy (if that's the right word!!) of our little forum.

Actually, on reflection, that's exactly it, sounds daft. I often described HS to my better half as an online version of five or six lads having a football chat in the pub, although we are the bones of a decade hopping and slagging each other we actually half know each other even though we never met.
I wouldn't say smaller fish in a bigger pond but ya, I joined the kerry forum years ago but rarely posted, when I posted initially, there was a snide reaction by one to "HS must be offline" but, I choose to ignored opposed to engage.

Still at least that Avenue is open to us, I will miss HS but unless they revert to type, like you I will be defecting and closing my HS account.

K'boy, as Hermit said, it's actually easier to create the account with the Kerry gaa forum than HS, also posts appear immediately and can be edited. As for the participants, similar to us, some long term lads, guaranteed most of them also read or posted on HS so may be interesting."
Thanks horse, Iv be popping in to the Kerry Gaa forum now and again but I didn't know how to even go about signing up so I never did, me and computers don't get on and it leads to a lot of anger on my part.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/10/2021 20:50:02    2384077

Replying To traleegerry:  "Good lad mick. I do hope it will stay among ourselves and no yums"
Traleegerry

What were thoughts on the Kerry vs Tyrone semi final?

And thoughts on Tyrone football in general?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 01/10/2021 21:28:46    2384080

Replying To foreveryoung:  "A very interesting read!

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2021/1001/1250156-keane-i-had-the-support-of-the-kerry-players/"
Yeah it's hard to know the full facts. One would imagine if all the players were vocal in their support of PK they would be listened to but I guess the county board do things their own way. Keane s record is nt that bad. 3 championship defeats (one in all ireland final replay and 2 in extra time.) 2League titles but of course without Sam the tenure is deemed a failure.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 02/10/2021 11:17:41    2384100

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Yeah it's hard to know the full facts. One would imagine if all the players were vocal in their support of PK they would be listened to but I guess the county board do things their own way. Keane s record is nt that bad. 3 championship defeats (one in all ireland final replay and 2 in extra time.) 2League titles but of course without Sam the tenure is deemed a failure."
Hi at least he didn't take fire at the Kerry supporter's like Fitzmaurice Mick.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/10/2021 11:40:12    2384107

Replying To TheHermit:  "Exactly Horse, that's how I used describe it too. In lieu of not being able to be down in Kerry having a few pints with lads, it was a great substitute.

Yes I've noticed an attitude over there to HS but I assumed it was more to do with the main forum and the we hate Kerry brigade that rule the roost. Like would you blame any Kerry supporter for having a dim view?

Hopefully they'll be nice to the former Kerry HS forum crew."
Ah well, ice broken, posted this morning quoting HS disbandment….

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 02/10/2021 11:48:10    2384109

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Ah well, ice broken, posted this morning quoting HS disbandment…."
Cool, I'll do likewise soon

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/10/2021 11:55:44    2384111

Wow, Kerry forum gone. That's disappointing but presumably the site owners have their reasons and it's a free service after all.

I have a gawk at the Kerry GAA forum every now and then, especially after matches but have never set up an account or posted there. I think I will get myself set up there also. I have all but stopped posting on the main forum here for the same reasons others have already mentioned.

I'll probably still check in here the odd time but it definitely won't be the same without the Kerry forum.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 02/10/2021 13:07:33    2384121

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Wow, Kerry forum gone. That's disappointing but presumably the site owners have their reasons and it's a free service after all.

I have a gawk at the Kerry GAA forum every now and then, especially after matches but have never set up an account or posted there. I think I will get myself set up there also. I have all but stopped posting on the main forum here for the same reasons others have already mentioned.

I'll probably still check in here the odd time but it definitely won't be the same without the Kerry forum."
I just had a read of the Kerry gaa forum now saw horse and the hermit there, at least they won't have the WUMs poking their heads in like that lad fíon from dublin who made a total disgrace of himself and dublin by his verbal attack on the Kerry page after we lost to Tyrone.

Hopefully I can get going over there as well and we'll see you there Gerry, are you goin to keep your existing name or will you be changing?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/10/2021 13:45:20    2384128

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yes Horse, I've been reading (but not contributing) to the official Kerry forum for a few years now. And I noticed a Horsebox appearing lately ;D

I setup an account myself last night and might introduce myself over the weekend. Maybe we can create a little ex-HS corner while we integrate.

Kingdomboy it is a pretty simply process, more or less the same as registering on here so your missus should have no trouble showing you.

It won't be the same and I'll miss the intimacy (if that's the right word!!) of our little forum.

But anything is better than being on this main forum - its long since been destroyed by WUMs and multiple account posters - Jimbo, username, catch 22, that paranoid lunatic that thought I was stalking him on here all summer :D etc etc etc

Ah well, on the bright side at least I'll not have to suffer scrolling through the posts of the Dublin exile and his American cousin on the Kerry page anymore! Or the senile insults after they had one too many :D"
Good riddance to ytou.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/10/2021 14:00:22    2384131

Replying To avonali:  "Good riddance to ytou."
Come on now Avon keep it country, this is the Kerry page.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/10/2021 14:33:31    2384137

Ah parting is such sweet sorrow.

Good luck my little man and I fear for your little mind now you won't have me to blame for every legitimate criticism of the Dubs that gets posted from now on.

Enjoy a Kerry free forum sure isn't it what you and your cronies always wanted ;D

An Riocht Abu!

This is the hermit signing off.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/10/2021 14:51:36    2384139

What good can come out of such a post.

Anyway, after over a decade , I'm signing out. Whether, you enjoyed my input or not, for all of you that I engaged with, debated and fought with, thanks, I thoroughly enjoyed the interaction.

Admin, thanks for providing the facility to enable such interaction, regardless of how it unfolded, I appreciate the effort and time put in to governing the site and webpage.

Everyone, best of luck and good health to you all.

Slàn anois agus Tabhair Aire

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 02/10/2021 15:23:12    2384147

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ah parting is such sweet sorrow.

Good luck my little man and I fear for your little mind now you won't have me to blame for every legitimate criticism of the Dubs that gets posted from now on.

Enjoy a Kerry free forum sure isn't it what you and your cronies always wanted ;D

An Riocht Abu!

This is the hermit signing off."
Byeee darling.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/10/2021 15:26:53    2384149

Could someone please explain why Kerry has 2 separate clubs championships - is one more prestigious - both run under same format ?

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2570 - 02/10/2021 15:56:50    2384157

Has anyone heard from African Gail and will it be gone now as well along with the Hermit?
bye bye to the Kerrymen so. ye never engaged much with other 'lesser' counties anyway apart from Ciarraimick.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 02/10/2021 15:58:01    2384158

Replying To omahant:  "Could someone please explain why Kerry has 2 separate clubs championships - is one more prestigious - both run under same format ?"
In Kerry we have 8 senior clubs and we have 8 divisional teams which are made up from novice junior and intermediate clubs from a certain region of Kerry , these 16 teams play in the county championship for the Bishop Moynihan cup, if a club team wins this competition then they represent the county in the munster club, if a divisional team win it the the winner of the senior club championship represents Kerry.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/10/2021 16:51:26    2384167

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "In Kerry we have 8 senior clubs and we have 8 divisional teams which are made up from novice junior and intermediate clubs from a certain region of Kerry , these 16 teams play in the county championship for the Bishop Moynihan cup, if a club team wins this competition then they represent the county in the munster club, if a divisional team win it the the winner of the senior club championship represents Kerry."
What's going on with Crokes? In danger of being relegated, but I'm sure they'll survive. Shaw, Burns, Brosnan? All this attacking flair that I've read about, what's the story? Injuries or just a tired team?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 04/10/2021 16:36:09    2384400

Replying To foreveryoung:  "What's going on with Crokes? In danger of being relegated, but I'm sure they'll survive. Shaw, Burns, Brosnan? All this attacking flair that I've read about, what's the story? Injuries or just a tired team?"
Yeah Crokes have Shane Murphy in goal (ex Kerry Keeper and might be again) Fionn Fitzgerald Gavin White Johnny Buckley as well as the trio you named in attack. The kingpins of Kerry for over a decade but starting to slide despite loads of talent.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 04/10/2021 19:49:43    2384417