2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To Doylerwex:  "This is very much a glass half empty attitude if you ask me.

8/9th is selling is a bit short considering we normally finish in top 6.

Why can't 19 be the rule instead of the exception?

I think the most frustrating thing is the progress throughout the Liam dunne era was so clear.

Getting hammered by everyone, losing a closer game to Cork, drawing with the big teams, beating 2 munster teams in championship including the ai champions.

Davy gets promoted, 2 leinster finals, beating kk draw with Galway and a leinster title. Good enough to have got the biggest prize that year but won't dwell on that.

It just feels we've been on a downward curve since.

We've introduced some new players and gotten some positive results but the standout for me is psychological.

You can call it luck either, but to me the body language is off.

Davy was a great fit for Wexford because he understood us.

For Wexford to be successful, we have to tear into it.

Our history as underdogs doing the impossible, the blood in our veins, all that makes us who we are.

It's about much more than pure hurling or s and C.

It's about who we are collectively as a people.

Griffin understood that completely, conran did, meyler did, dunne did.

I'm not sure Darragh does.

Again, you have to be well drilled. You practice until you get it right. The practice again until you can't get it wrong.

There's the basis of a game plan but I don't think the players understand it or believe in it.

Davy got that too. I'm not sure if it's there now.

If our best 15 hurlers play to the best of their ability this weekend we can win.

Is there enough time to get that right?

We'll have to wait and see."
I would say if Egan can't get our lads up for a do or die Match against Kilkenny he's not the right man for the job .

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 18/05/2022 14:50:28    2418427

Replying To tearintom:  "Been plenty of suggestions such as the manager changing his tactics, getting S and C right underage, scrapping the current split season etc etc.

Youre just too busy spouting on about genetics and parents not making their kids eat dinner to notice!!"
Lol! Genetics and kids not eating aren't serious ideas!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16832 - 18/05/2022 15:06:27    2418446

Replying To tearintom:  "TBF i dont think many people are expecting us to win All Irelands, just frustration with losing to the likes of Dublin and drawing with Westmeath when we are better than that.

I think one of the issues across the county is we are slow to change and also a little bit wary of it. And thats across the board, club and county.

I know from my own club for example, a club that would have been traditionally strong but thats over 40 years ago, theres still a constant harking back to "how thinsg were done back then". I fought for the Club to spend money on gym equipment and a coach to develop a programme for the players but again reluctance because thats not how it was done before when we were winning county titles. Its 2022 and we are years behind other clubs in terms of Sand C cos of being a slave to tradition.

We always seem to be catching up at county level, never the ones pushing the boundaries of evolution, i mean when Davy was in charge we heard more **** about it not being the "traditional" was Wexford play which has served us how well exactly since the 60's?

In fact the last time we did push the boundaries for me was when Griffin was in charge bringing in Niamh Fitzpatrick on the psychology side, we were amongst the first to ever do it and look what happened.

Whens the last time we had an academy restructure underage? How does that academy work with schools and Clubs? Look at the success in Limerick as a result of their academy restructure for example, we should be looking at it and more, when Limerick academy started every Limerick manager was brought into a meeting one evening - from senior boss John Allen all the way down to the under14s. They were asked if they wanted their teams primarily to win. Almost every hand went up. But the managers were told that only John Allen's hand - as senior manager - should be raised. The rest should be in situ to develop their hurlers for the long-term good of Limerick hurling. Can we honestly say thats the ethos in Wexford?

We now have a good base but you can see we are struggling underage and being caught up, time for a restructre, underage is where its at imho."
You are right people in Wexford are very conservative. Small c. And that's a big part of the problem.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16832 - 18/05/2022 15:08:59    2418448

Replying To zinny:  "We have to be very careful when talking about S&C as S&C does not mean being in the gym. If we are going to make a difference in the condition of U15s then it has to be done through a change in the training techniques in the field at training and not in a Gym. Give the impression that an U15 needs to be in the gym and you will end up doing more harm that good to these kids as they will do stupid things. What we need to do is get away from the idea that a few laps and sprints will do the trick however most of the people training in clubs will have no idea of what to do and the kids themselves will also be clueless. What people need to learn that it is as important as the skills however it doesn't mean you give up the skills work. There are loads of strength exercises that kids could be doing at home without any equipment but they have to understand what they are doing and why. S&C should be seen as part of the development of a player in the GAA but how much do our Hurling and Football development officers know about it? it has to be an integrated package."
It does. We were doing bodyweight core exercises on the pitch, pressups, squats, step ups, sit ups, planks and vertical leg and body lifts just using our own weight from 13 when I was playing rugby. And circuit training on the machines in the gym low weight high volume of repeats from soon after that.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16832 - 18/05/2022 15:13:07    2418449

Replying To Doylerwex:  "This is very much a glass half empty attitude if you ask me.

I think the most frustrating thing is the progress throughout the Liam dunne era was so clear.

Getting hammered by everyone, losing a closer game to Cork, drawing with the big teams, beating 2 munster teams in championship including the ai champions.

Davy gets promoted, 2 leinster finals, beating kk draw with Galway and a leinster title. Good enough to have got the biggest prize that year but won't dwell on that.

We've introduced some new players and gotten some positive results but the standout for me is psychological.

Our history as underdogs doing the impossible, the blood in our veins, all that makes us who we are.

Again, you have to be well drilled. You practice until you get it right. The practice again until you can't get it wrong.

There's the basis of a game plan but I don't think the players understand it or believe in it.

If our best 15 hurlers play to the best of their ability this weekend we can win.

Good post that and i agree, not sure Darragh gets it.

Think he has an idea of how he wants to play and goes with it whether it suits or works and at the moment it doesnt suit or work the players and the mentality we have.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1551 - 18/05/2022 15:14:40    2418450

Yes that has pulled us through in games before and that's why Davy was a good fit. But in the mid to late 50s and 60s we were consistently winning things because we were in the top 3 teams in the country along with Kilkenny and Tipp. We didn't just raise our game for the odd game.
We normally got to the LAST 6, well once under Liam Dunne then the 1st 3 years under Davy but its a stretch to say we were TOP 6 in any of those years bar 2019.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16832 - 18/05/2022 15:17:15    2418452

Replying To Viking66:  "It does. We were doing bodyweight core exercises on the pitch, pressups, squats, step ups, sit ups, planks and vertical leg and body lifts just using our own weight from 13 when I was playing rugby. And circuit training on the machines in the gym low weight high volume of repeats from soon after that."
Tbh we were doing press ups, situps and starjumps from 7 or 8.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16832 - 18/05/2022 15:18:36    2418453

Replying To countyman2022:  "The goalkeeper has actually cost us 3 matches. 2 missed pen's in diff games and 2 howlers on Saturday. Could have had an extra 4 points on the board."
Fair play to you for finally highlighting this. A few weeks back, I referred to Wexford's need to find a new goalkeeper and was accused of a witch-hunt against our current keeper. However the facts are exactly as you state. We have been scratching our heads since Saturday trying to make sense of it all when it's quite simple really. Fair enough, we hit 21 wides and didn't press up on their puck outs etc but at the end of the day, we'd have won fairly comfortably if those two goals had not been conceded. The first goal was like something you might see in an u12 game. As TJ Ryan said on Anthony Dalys podcast on Monday, you've no business winning games if you concede those kind of demoralising goals. Playing the likes of Westmeath is not easy because you are expected to win handily enough. However sometimes in these games, just getting the job done with the the minimum of fuss is all that matters, like Dublin did when they played Westmeath. We would have done that but for the 2 goals and next Saturdays game would have a different feel to it than it has now.

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 276 - 18/05/2022 15:23:28    2418455

Replying To GaaDon:  "is kilkenny -5 picking up money on Saturday?"
Load up

RobertBoucher (Wexford) - Posts: 10 - 18/05/2022 15:57:35    2418466

A lot of ifs about Saturdays game.
If we reduce the wide count by 50%
If we can convert most of our frees.
If we don't allow them to build from the short puck out.
If our key players ( Rory and Mac ) get good possession.
If we don't let in soft goals.
If Ryan and Chin are fit.
If we don't stand off them ( stick to them like superglue)
If the right substitutions are made.
If we don't get a red card.
If the refereeing is fair.
If we play with loads of intensity.
If we can last the full 70+ minutes.
If Egan makes the correct positional changes.
If the players go out believing they can win.
If we have the right attitude.
If our heads don't drop if Kilkenny take an early lead.
If we as supporters roar them on.
If we get the rub of the green from time to time.
If we can avoid injuries to our main men.
If most of or some of the above happen we can win. A horror show like last week will leave us licking our wounds.

Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 18/05/2022 16:18:06    2418473

Replying To Purpleandgold72:  "Fair play to you for finally highlighting this. A few weeks back, I referred to Wexford's need to find a new goalkeeper and was accused of a witch-hunt against our current keeper. However the facts are exactly as you state. We have been scratching our heads since Saturday trying to make sense of it all when it's quite simple really. Fair enough, we hit 21 wides and didn't press up on their puck outs etc but at the end of the day, we'd have won fairly comfortably if those two goals had not been conceded. The first goal was like something you might see in an u12 game. As TJ Ryan said on Anthony Dalys podcast on Monday, you've no business winning games if you concede those kind of demoralising goals. Playing the likes of Westmeath is not easy because you are expected to win handily enough. However sometimes in these games, just getting the job done with the the minimum of fuss is all that matters, like Dublin did when they played Westmeath. We would have done that but for the 2 goals and next Saturdays game would have a different feel to it than it has now."
Great servant so don't like to be too hard on him.

Great shot stopper generally but there's always been costly mistakes.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3882 - 18/05/2022 16:18:36    2418474

Read the co board meeting bulletin. Lots of good inititatives there. An outside view, but I don't see how anyone could say that your Co. Board aren't doing things to make Wexford hurling and football better. A million quid from donations, use it wisely! Not a fraction of JP's cheque book but a good start.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1460 - 18/05/2022 16:48:32    2418499

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Read the co board meeting bulletin. Lots of good inititatives there. An outside view, but I don't see how anyone could say that your Co. Board aren't doing things to make Wexford hurling and football better. A million quid from donations, use it wisely! Not a fraction of JP's cheque book but a good start."
Just read it myself . Sounds like a great plan let's hope it all works out now and we reap the rewards in years to come. We have been talking about how we are behind in s & c and the county board now have a clear plan from the age of 13.

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 18/05/2022 17:15:47    2418507

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Read the co board meeting bulletin. Lots of good inititatives there. An outside view, but I don't see how anyone could say that your Co. Board aren't doing things to make Wexford hurling and football better. A million quid from donations, use it wisely! Not a fraction of JP's cheque book but a good start."
Is it that on the website? Would love to read that.

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 18/05/2022 17:34:49    2418511

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Great servant so don't like to be too hard on him.

Great shot stopper generally but there's always been costly mistakes."
He's not wrong in fairness, but TJ Ryan never said anything good about Wexford. He can't forgive us for 96. He said that himself at a live show before the championship. As if we robbed it off them or something!

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 18/05/2022 17:39:03    2418514

How are we on the injury front for Saturday lads?

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 18/05/2022 20:03:19    2418534

https://t.co/DK7vo3uRDl
Well worth reading. Good to see a properly funded plan from grassroots, schools and clubs, upwards.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16832 - 18/05/2022 21:31:54    2418547

Replying To Purpleandgold72:  "Fair play to you for finally highlighting this. A few weeks back, I referred to Wexford's need to find a new goalkeeper and was accused of a witch-hunt against our current keeper. However the facts are exactly as you state. We have been scratching our heads since Saturday trying to make sense of it all when it's quite simple really. Fair enough, we hit 21 wides and didn't press up on their puck outs etc but at the end of the day, we'd have won fairly comfortably if those two goals had not been conceded. The first goal was like something you might see in an u12 game. As TJ Ryan said on Anthony Dalys podcast on Monday, you've no business winning games if you concede those kind of demoralising goals. Playing the likes of Westmeath is not easy because you are expected to win handily enough. However sometimes in these games, just getting the job done with the the minimum of fuss is all that matters, like Dublin did when they played Westmeath. We would have done that but for the 2 goals and next Saturdays game would have a different feel to it than it has now."
Yes he was poor for both goals. But it's a fair jump from that to say he cost us 4 points. He scored some great frees and made some great saves this season also. As regards the penalties anybody can miss them. Galways best player in their u20 loss to Kilkenny missed 2 at the start of the 2nd half. Marks miss against the Dubs was actually a great save from their keeper. Who do you feel would do a better job right now?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16832 - 18/05/2022 21:38:35    2418549

Replying To Afinestick:  "Just read it myself . Sounds like a great plan let's hope it all works out now and we reap the rewards in years to come. We have been talking about how we are behind in s & c and the county board now have a clear plan from the age of 13."
Spot on just posted a link to it before I read the thread. Worst about having to work!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16832 - 18/05/2022 21:43:12    2418550

Replying To Samson55:  "A lot of ifs about Saturdays game.
If we reduce the wide count by 50%
If we can convert most of our frees.
If we don't allow them to build from the short puck out.
If our key players ( Rory and Mac ) get good possession.
If we don't let in soft goals.
If Ryan and Chin are fit.
If we don't stand off them ( stick to them like superglue)
If the right substitutions are made.
If we don't get a red card.
If the refereeing is fair.
If we play with loads of intensity.
If we can last the full 70+ minutes.
If Egan makes the correct positional changes.
If the players go out believing they can win.
If we have the right attitude.
If our heads don't drop if Kilkenny take an early lead.
If we as supporters roar them on.
If we get the rub of the green from time to time.
If we can avoid injuries to our main men.
If most of or some of the above happen we can win. A horror show like last week will leave us licking our wounds."
Add if we are good enough to that as well because that's the main if.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 410 - 19/05/2022 07:30:08    2418561