Travelled to Mullingar on Saturday and was disappointed with the display. Westmeath did not play especially well to get a draw and apart from Tommy Doyle and Niall O Brien lack quality. We had countless really bad wides and gifted them two goals. I would add that the refereeing was really poor and Lee Chin in particular came in for alot of unpunished late hits. Hard to argue that Westmeath deserved a draw though as in the last ten minutes they fought hard for it.
We will need to show far more agression against Kilkenny than we have in any game so far.
Groundball (Wexford) - Posts: 122 - 16/05/2022 11:40:51
I'm looking forward to travelling up to Nowlan park Saturday, weather will be beautiful and it's do or die so what the hell shackles off and go out and give it their best shot, but if we go out with a whimper and persist with stupid tactics or lack thereof I'd be asking serious questions of management.
ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 302 - 16/05/2022 11:59:53
The only question I'd be asking the manager is how is he planning on spending all the spare time he's gonna have next year.
Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 16/05/2022 13:18:58
Replying To Samson55: "Maybe its time for all of us to cool down a bit. Sacking the manager at this stage of the season would be a knee jerk reaction. Yes mistakes were made by management. Yes mistakes were made by players. It really frustrates us loyal supporters and I'm sure the team are hurting. They know that we should have beaten Westmeath last Saturday. Darragh Egan is here only a short while. Let's judge him on next years results. Not the league but on championship performances. He must surely see that we are not playing to our full potential. Playing lads in positions that they are not comfortable in. Bringing on subs that are most definitely not up to the required standard. Maybe he will rethink our tactics and give them more freedom of movement during the game. Let's forget about last weeks match and go at the cats hammer and thongs. I am convinced that there is a lot more to this Wexford team than what we've seen so far. Self belief is paramount. I wonder would bringing in a psychologist help in this regard. Remember 96, Niambh Fitzpatrick worked wonders for that team. Griffin said she was fantastic and was instrumental in helping to win the all ireland. Maybe its too late in the year to be going in that direction but maybe its a thought for the future. At the moment things don't look too bright but with time and patience we can drag ourselves back to prominence again. However this will only be achieved by correcting our mistakes and management willing to listen to constructive criticism." thongs are all we need ;)
FearBeag (Mayo) - Posts: 94 - 16/05/2022 13:28:34
Replying To FearBeag: "thongs are all we need ;)" Think thongs only work for people with no balls;)
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16772 - 16/05/2022 14:00:29
I have lurked here for a long time and as a true blue exiled in Wexford involved with a club with sons playing at various grades, I might be positioned to give an objective view. (BTW I hurled for a Dublin club for 15 years in senior and won a couple of county titles, before anybody says he is probably a football man)
First up, how anybody could even think it remotely credible that Joe Fortune should have got the Wexford job, is beyond me. He was involved with the ill-fated defeat to Kildare in the u20 last year. And people think now they said he should have got the Wexford senior job? Holy moly. All it would have taken was a bad result against Carlow in the Walsh Cup for the knives to be out and him to be said "out of his depth, how did he get the job after the u20 fiasco" to start. Yes he has done well with Westmeath and Boden but it is a huge jump to a top hurling county.
Secondly, people all the time talk about giving new players game time and 2-3 pages back they are saying Charlie McGuckin is not good enough? How will he ever get good enough? Maybe he won't be. But writing a chap off after 2-3 games, strange view. Wexford supporters need to realise they are on the cusp of the biggest rebuild since after the Colm Bonner era, and how that is managed could be the difference between a decent team and hurling Joe McDonagh for year or two while a new team is built. Wexford have not blooded enough players in the past 5 years and have an ageing team and that is going to come back to haunt them if people write off players.
Thirdly, people in Wexford talk about "better structures" as though there is something wrong with the Wexford structures. The structures in Wexford are as good as Limerick or Waterford or Cork and I know this as I know people involved with them all. What might be lacking is the overall intensity and ability to hurl at top intensity for the hour. Wexford teams often hurl for 50 minutes and then collapse, or have a 10 minute period where they go out of games and then ship a couple of goals. Wexford by their own admission are lacking S&C but it sounds like work being done in that regard.
Fourthly, my brother is in Kilkenny and a cousin lives in Tipp. We were talking a while back after the minor defeat and both thought the biggest difference between a Wexford and a Kilkenny/Tipp team is a Wexford team hopes to win, a Kilkenny/Tipp team believe they will win. The psychology of this, while a small point, is massive and the victories of the U21 teams over Kilkenny drove Wexford to a Leinster title in 2019.
Fifthly, Wexford need to focus on winning at underage and being as good as every other county at Feile, Arrabawn, minor and everything in between. The psyche needs to change from "we did well v Kilkenny" to "how did we do against everyone else"?
Finally, when it comes to coaching, etc Wexford is full of ditch hurlers. People who talk about "we need better coaching" yet have never done a coaching course, or would never give up so much as 1 evening per week to coach their team. Bar a few clubs, most clubs have problems getting anybody to take teams and once they find somebody that is all that matters. Our Coiste na nÓg AGM every year has plenty of "too busy" parents who are never too busy to drop their children to the gate. If everybody did a bit, it doesn't become a burden on anybody and plenty of parents need to get their finger out and help out. And the same parents have all the answers when the matches come around, or blame the manager when their Johnny or Paddy isn't on the team, in spite of their Johnny never practicing his hurling in between sessions. Yet mummy and daddy are "too busy" to help but aren't too busy to abuse a free babysitter. I would bet a weeks wages some of the posters on here are in this category and know I am right about what I say here.
I know I am an outsider in the county and will ever be and do not expect everybody to agree, but the above is my experience involved in Wexford hurling.
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1454 - 16/05/2022 14:22:57
Replying To FearBeag: "thongs are all we need ;)" A psychologist is probably a good idea for us Wexford supporters too who keep following the team year after year with optimism in spite of all the pain and heartache.
Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 16/05/2022 14:30:04
As regards sacking the manager that's the usual stupid talk. I argued on this that Davy should've got another year. He didn't. Darragh Egan is new to intercounty management so I think we all accepted he would need time. I personally thought at least a couple of years. It's actually not his fault that our lads forgot the hurling basics for the first 50 minutes against Galway. Once the players cross the white line its up to them how they play. We missed penalties against Galway and Dublin. Not his fault. We shot 40 odd wides between the Dublin and Westmeath games. Some the players would put over in training with 1 eye closed. Again not his fault. He had to start some lads in the half forward line that weren't really ready. But that was down to injuries. For the 1st 2 games, which will be the 2 we will most regret if we don't win in Nowlan Park, he was missing Championship starters in Bailey, Murphy, Morris, Jacko, Chin, and Shane Reck. That's over a 1/3 of a team. Not his fault either. Giving up the short puckout only works if you tackle like tigers to turn over the ball further up the pitch. The tactic itself isn't questionable. Our problem is that except the last 15 minutes of the Galway game our players haven't been playing like tigers. With intensity. More like pussy cats. It's the single main problem I've seen over alot of years following Wexford. The lads in the early to mid 90s fought hard for every ball. Since then we have had some amazingly skilful hurlers but as a collective the team seems only to be able to raise itself for 1 game a season. With the exception of the Davy years. Yes his tactics were probably over complicated, yes he is a me feiner, and yes our lads ran out of gas ad the season went on into the AI series every year, but at least they fought hard and ran hard in every game until then. That's why we didn't lose to Dublin in those days. And had great close games with Kilkenny beating them in half of them. As far as I see it there are 3 main things a team needs to be successful in hurling. Not managers. And nothing to do with tactics. Although both can mask a little of the 3 main things. 1- Skill. Or stickwork. Wexford have in my time always had skilful lads as good and as many as any county outside the top 3 who would have more but not better in general. 2- Intensity. Or heart. Or passion. Physicality. Desire. Or on the edge. Whatever word you want to put on it. And we don't always have it. We can have it in patches of games or even whole games sometimes. But not on any sort of consistent basis. This should be a given. Clare have it this year. Limerick have it the last 5 years. Cork had it the last game. Kilkenny ALWAYS have it. This single attribute will make up largely for point 3 and even mask deficiencies in point 1. 3- Size. Sorry to bang on about this but we are always smaller than the other top counties on average. Haven't a clue why this is. Genetics? Diet? Picking the wrong lads to put the time into at a younger age? Whatever it is size helps. Galway since the end of the noughties are big on average. They are similar to us in point 2 but have done better because being bigger helps them mask it to an extent. And if you can get big lads to play on the edge, especially big lads with good skill or stick work, you can go all the way as they did in 2017. Now there's #### all Darragh Egan can really do about any of these 3 things. We are good as regards point 1. I've seen it from underage upwards at club level. And there's nothing only God can do about point 3. But point 2 has to be down to the players. Collectively they need to give themselves a boot up the hole. That's where having leaders comes in. Dublin, who like us aren't consistent on point 2, had it when winning by a point in the Park and that's why they won. 2 little things highlighted it in the last minute of injury time. Danny Sutcliffes block. Liam Ryan's handpass to Pepper when he had more space and time to shoot for himself. If we play like savages on Saturday we have every chance of winning. If not we surely won't.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16772 - 16/05/2022 14:33:22
Replying To Yellow: "A psychologist is probably a good idea for us Wexford supporters too who keep following the team year after year with optimism in spite of all the pain and heartache." Isn't that what makes the Gaa. It's the hope that kills us .
Look at Mayo supporters . Nobody has endured as much heartbreak as them . Losing that All Ireland semi final in 2019 was heartbreaking for us. They go through that nearly every year.
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 16/05/2022 14:50:42
Replying To ExiledInWex: "I have lurked here for a long time and as a true blue exiled in Wexford involved with a club with sons playing at various grades, I might be positioned to give an objective view. (BTW I hurled for a Dublin club for 15 years in senior and won a couple of county titles, before anybody says he is probably a football man)
First up, how anybody could even think it remotely credible that Joe Fortune should have got the Wexford job, is beyond me. He was involved with the ill-fated defeat to Kildare in the u20 last year. And people think now they said he should have got the Wexford senior job? Holy moly. All it would have taken was a bad result against Carlow in the Walsh Cup for the knives to be out and him to be said "out of his depth, how did he get the job after the u20 fiasco" to start. Yes he has done well with Westmeath and Boden but it is a huge jump to a top hurling county.
Secondly, people all the time talk about giving new players game time and 2-3 pages back they are saying Charlie McGuckin is not good enough? How will he ever get good enough? Maybe he won't be. But writing a chap off after 2-3 games, strange view. Wexford supporters need to realise they are on the cusp of the biggest rebuild since after the Colm Bonner era, and how that is managed could be the difference between a decent team and hurling Joe McDonagh for year or two while a new team is built. Wexford have not blooded enough players in the past 5 years and have an ageing team and that is going to come back to haunt them if people write off players.
Thirdly, people in Wexford talk about "better structures" as though there is something wrong with the Wexford structures. The structures in Wexford are as good as Limerick or Waterford or Cork and I know this as I know people involved with them all. What might be lacking is the overall intensity and ability to hurl at top intensity for the hour. Wexford teams often hurl for 50 minutes and then collapse, or have a 10 minute period where they go out of games and then ship a couple of goals. Wexford by their own admission are lacking S&C but it sounds like work being done in that regard.
Fourthly, my brother is in Kilkenny and a cousin lives in Tipp. We were talking a while back after the minor defeat and both thought the biggest difference between a Wexford and a Kilkenny/Tipp team is a Wexford team hopes to win, a Kilkenny/Tipp team believe they will win. The psychology of this, while a small point, is massive and the victories of the U21 teams over Kilkenny drove Wexford to a Leinster title in 2019.
Fifthly, Wexford need to focus on winning at underage and being as good as every other county at Feile, Arrabawn, minor and everything in between. The psyche needs to change from "we did well v Kilkenny" to "how did we do against everyone else"?
Finally, when it comes to coaching, etc Wexford is full of ditch hurlers. People who talk about "we need better coaching" yet have never done a coaching course, or would never give up so much as 1 evening per week to coach their team. Bar a few clubs, most clubs have problems getting anybody to take teams and once they find somebody that is all that matters. Our Coiste na nÓg AGM every year has plenty of "too busy" parents who are never too busy to drop their children to the gate. If everybody did a bit, it doesn't become a burden on anybody and plenty of parents need to get their finger out and help out. And the same parents have all the answers when the matches come around, or blame the manager when their Johnny or Paddy isn't on the team, in spite of their Johnny never practicing his hurling in between sessions. Yet mummy and daddy are "too busy" to help but aren't too busy to abuse a free babysitter. I would bet a weeks wages some of the posters on here are in this category and know I am right about what I say here.
I know I am an outsider in the county and will ever be and do not expect everybody to agree, but the above is my experience involved in Wexford hurling." Good post. I'm a blow in too. My kids have started with the local club now they are old enough and I did the coaching foundation course and help out whenever possible. Alot of parents do use the club as a cheap creche but there are many who put far more time into the club than me fair play to them. Belief or Psychology is very important. Galway in 2017 and Limerick since have proved that. The big 3 have always had it deep down. Cork drew on it yesterday. That inner belief drives Intensity. Or heart. Or whatever you want to call it. Also agree that we don't put enough emphasis on actually winning at underage or even the League. There is a big belief amongst most of my GAA friends in Wexford that only the Senior Championship matters. We would do better in the Senior Championship if we started winning a few of the lesser competitions. A first League since 1973 might be a start. Or a 1st AI U21 title since the 60s? Or a 1st minor title since the 60s?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16772 - 16/05/2022 15:37:58
Well done Westmeath on a brave display.
Despite what some people think this Wexford team can go to Kilkenny and give it a right go. We were always going to Nowlan Park looking for a result.
But before I get into that, I would like to highlight 1 aspect of the Westmeath drawn game. Unfortunately, it's copy and paste from a post I wrote a few weeks ago ... our free taking.
Look at last weekend: Chinner scored 0-7 from placed but missed a minimum of 3. Killian Doyle scored 0-10 from placed balls. Tony Kelly scored 0-11 from placed balls Hegarty/Byrnes/Reidy scored 0-12 from placed balls.
In an average intercounty game, a team will get around 10 place ball chances. You need a free taker who converts with 80%+ accuracy. We are leaving points behind us and this has cost a better results against Galway, Dublin and Westmeath. In each of these games, we have missed a minimum of 3 scorable placed balls. Instead of a draw, loss and draw ... it would be a win, draw and win. In the round robin table, we have 4 points and with a better free taker, this would be 7 and we would be in a far healthier position.
But irony of irony, even if we did get those slightly better results, we'd still have to beat Kilkenny in Nowlan Park!
There's only 1 way forward and that is to go and beat in Kilkenny in Kilkenny. Yes, it's a tall ask but we have nothing to loose and everything to gain!!!
Punter72007 (Wexford) - Posts: 319 - 16/05/2022 15:56:12
Replying To Viking66: "As regards sacking the manager that's the usual stupid talk. I argued on this that Davy should've got another year. He didn't. Darragh Egan is new to intercounty management so I think we all accepted he would need time. I personally thought at least a couple of years. It's actually not his fault that our lads forgot the hurling basics for the first 50 minutes against Galway. Once the players cross the white line its up to them how they play. We missed penalties against Galway and Dublin. Not his fault. We shot 40 odd wides between the Dublin and Westmeath games. Some the players would put over in training with 1 eye closed. Again not his fault. He had to start some lads in the half forward line that weren't really ready. But that was down to injuries. For the 1st 2 games, which will be the 2 we will most regret if we don't win in Nowlan Park, he was missing Championship starters in Bailey, Murphy, Morris, Jacko, Chin, and Shane Reck. That's over a 1/3 of a team. Not his fault either. Giving up the short puckout only works if you tackle like tigers to turn over the ball further up the pitch. The tactic itself isn't questionable. Our problem is that except the last 15 minutes of the Galway game our players haven't been playing like tigers. With intensity. More like pussy cats. It's the single main problem I've seen over alot of years following Wexford. The lads in the early to mid 90s fought hard for every ball. Since then we have had some amazingly skilful hurlers but as a collective the team seems only to be able to raise itself for 1 game a season. With the exception of the Davy years. Yes his tactics were probably over complicated, yes he is a me feiner, and yes our lads ran out of gas ad the season went on into the AI series every year, but at least they fought hard and ran hard in every game until then. That's why we didn't lose to Dublin in those days. And had great close games with Kilkenny beating them in half of them. As far as I see it there are 3 main things a team needs to be successful in hurling. Not managers. And nothing to do with tactics. Although both can mask a little of the 3 main things. 1- Skill. Or stickwork. Wexford have in my time always had skilful lads as good and as many as any county outside the top 3 who would have more but not better in general. 2- Intensity. Or heart. Or passion. Physicality. Desire. Or on the edge. Whatever word you want to put on it. And we don't always have it. We can have it in patches of games or even whole games sometimes. But not on any sort of consistent basis. This should be a given. Clare have it this year. Limerick have it the last 5 years. Cork had it the last game. Kilkenny ALWAYS have it. This single attribute will make up largely for point 3 and even mask deficiencies in point 1. 3- Size. Sorry to bang on about this but we are always smaller than the other top counties on average. Haven't a clue why this is. Genetics? Diet? Picking the wrong lads to put the time into at a younger age? Whatever it is size helps. Galway since the end of the noughties are big on average. They are similar to us in point 2 but have done better because being bigger helps them mask it to an extent. And if you can get big lads to play on the edge, especially big lads with good skill or stick work, you can go all the way as they did in 2017. Now there's #### all Darragh Egan can really do about any of these 3 things. We are good as regards point 1. I've seen it from underage upwards at club level. And there's nothing only God can do about point 3. But point 2 has to be down to the players. Collectively they need to give themselves a boot up the hole. That's where having leaders comes in. Dublin, who like us aren't consistent on point 2, had it when winning by a point in the Park and that's why they won. 2 little things highlighted it in the last minute of injury time. Danny Sutcliffes block. Liam Ryan's handpass to Pepper when he had more space and time to shoot for himself. If we play like savages on Saturday we have every chance of winning. If not we surely won't." 4. The wet day!
Get down on your hands and knees for the week, with rosaries and novenas, and pray for a down-pour in Nowlan Park. Muscle in on, and mullock out those 'light, skillful KK lads' and make a game of it.
The up-side? You may very well win.
The down-side? It'd be a low-scoring war of attrition, and Wexford wouldn't win by enough to advance.
But you could restore that pike back on the jersey!
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2357 - 16/05/2022 16:13:21
Replying To Viking66: "Think thongs only work for people with no balls;)" That was a freudian slip on my part. Getting my thongs mixed up with my tongs. Or perhaps i got my knickers in a twist. Whichever way it was sure it gave us a laugh. Which we all need after last Saturday
Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 16/05/2022 16:32:25
Replying To foreveryoung: "4. The wet day!
Get down on your hands and knees for the week, with rosaries and novenas, and pray for a down-pour in Nowlan Park. Muscle in on, and mullock out those 'light, skillful KK lads' and make a game of it.
The down-side? It'd be a low-scoring war of attrition, and Wexford wouldn't win by enough to advance.
But you could restore that pike back on the jersey!" As far as I know we go through with a win regardless of other results ? Should we beat Kilkenny and Dublin beat Galway we finish ahead of Kilkenny on head to head. Should we win and Galway beat Dublin it's a three way tie and between us Dublin and Kilkenny and we have a better score difference than Dublin.
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 16/05/2022 16:39:53
Replying To ExiledInWex: "I have lurked here for a long time and as a true blue exiled in Wexford involved with a club with sons playing at various grades, I might be positioned to give an objective view. (BTW I hurled for a Dublin club for 15 years in senior and won a couple of county titles, before anybody says he is probably a football man)
I know I am an outsider in the county and will ever be and do not expect everybody to agree, but the above is my experience involved in Wexford hurling." Yet Joe Fortunes credentials are every bit as valid as those of our current manager!
And personally i went to school with Joe, if someone had told me in school that Joe Fortune was going to go on and have the hurling managerial career i would have laughed at him but fair play to him hes done it.
I agree, i dont think anyone is writing young players off, but this is championship hurling, it isnt nursery. You either perform or you dont, im pretty sure those young hurlers will improve year upon year but if theyre not ready for championship hurling you dint persist with them for the sake of it, if anything thats ruining a chap which isnt right like had happened with young Pepper, simply not right, in fact disgraceful.
Yes we do have some good structure yet are behind on s and C, how long has that been going on? People here harping on about genetics and the size of players as if theres some genetic code that kicks in when you cross the bridge in Ross into Kilkenny, utter rubbish, look at out u20's v Kilkenny and the only difference size wise was the the s and C work gone into them, thats all.
Yep youre right in your points in regards to the expectation and psychology along with the point about winning underage and again i go back to the point above and the point i made following the U20 game against Kilkenny, we have players taking the pitch already at a disadvantage because of what we lack in terms of S and C which is not right for players with huge ability and heart, give them every opportunity, dont hinder them.
And yes wexford is full of hurlers on the ditch who talk but wont do the coaching, so is every other county, again its not like something thats just switches the minute ye cross the border into Wexford, its in every county in Ireland and every club in ireland.
But one thing i will say about wexford is we never seem to see good Club coaches being approached to help at county level, always the same faces, a little bit of a closed shop is what i can see, its still very much the case that being an ex county player automatically means youre a good coach when coaches who never played county are doing sterling work with teams underage but never get approached
tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1544 - 16/05/2022 16:41:13
But you could restore that pike back on the jersey!" Size is not Wexford's strong point, what ever chance they have on a dry warm evening, they have none in a battle.
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1454 - 16/05/2022 16:55:33
Replying To Groundball: "Travelled to Mullingar on Saturday and was disappointed with the display. Westmeath did not play especially well to get a draw and apart from Tommy Doyle and Niall O Brien lack quality. We had countless really bad wides and gifted them two goals. I would add that the refereeing was really poor and Lee Chin in particular came in for alot of unpunished late hits. Hard to argue that Westmeath deserved a draw though as in the last ten minutes they fought hard for it.
We will need to show far more agression against Kilkenny than we have in any game so far." This is something I agree 100% with. It was a great result for Westemath, they battled very, very gamely throughout, and they look very well-coached but at the end of the day, they gave a very, very limited performance in attack. I feel a lot in the media just looked at the scoreboard at the end of the game and felt that Westmeath must have been brilliant whereas Wexford really should have won that game by about 0-28 to 0-13 (I'm assuming here that Wexford should have shot around 14 wides instead of 21, that we shouldn't have conceded those two stupid goals, plus we gave away a stupid 65 from a sideline in the first half and a stupid free in the second half from a sideline that was too short).
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 618 - 16/05/2022 17:01:47
I was at the match but I didn't need to be the 3/4minute reel on the Sunday game last night was enough to tell you about the players attitude and work rate Saturday night. As for the management involvement, good god is all I can say.
hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 16/05/2022 17:01:59
But you could restore that pike back on the jersey!" We don't have to win by any more than a point to advance. But we do have to win. Hopefully it doesn't rain up there as if it does I will get wet!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16772 - 16/05/2022 17:07:05
Replying To Samson55: "That was a freudian slip on my part. Getting my thongs mixed up with my tongs. Or perhaps i got my knickers in a twist. Whichever way it was sure it gave us a laugh. Which we all need after last Saturday" For sure lol!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16772 - 16/05/2022 17:07:24