2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Definitely a new low for Wexford hurling. A lamentable performance, zero game plan, conceding puck outs, horrendous to watch, the standard was very poor."
Are you not delighted for your home county with that result this evening instead of being negative all the time

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 804 - 14/05/2022 22:02:38    2417137

Replying To Onfor15:  "Why would a Derek McGrath or similar want to manage Wexford?

Is the job an appealing one from a short term chances of success point of view?

Any of the candidates touted to take over from Davy should have been very aware that they would be inheriting an ageing team, with very little talent coming through under the age of 25.

So many Wexford GAA supporters are in complete denial about our standards across all grades in both football and hurling.

Minor footballers and under 20 footballers hammered by Wicklow and Longford.

Minor hurlers beaten by Laois. Under 20 hurlers in fairness had good win over Dublin but struggled v Laois.

Senior footballers are a struggling division 4 team.

The problem goes back about 10 years when a quite decent coaching and games crew were got rid of. I think the current crew in charge are ok but the fruits of that won't be seen for 10 years"
Any particular reason as to why the county board removed a very successful coaching packet that delivered 3 u20 leinsters. Why were they removed other than the complete ineptitude of our country board. However, historically they've always been like that

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 14/05/2022 22:03:26    2417138

We couldn't beat Westmeath.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 872 - 15/05/2022 08:14:58    2417144

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Definitely a new low for Wexford hurling. A lamentable performance, zero game plan, conceding puck outs, horrendous to watch, the standard was very poor."
"Horrendous to watch"? Possibly, one of Westmeath's finest hours ever in hurling, and this is what you post. I doubt that you're from Westmeath at all, or if you are, you must be from a footballing part of it, where hurling isn't really played.

One of the most lamentable posts I've read on HS.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2356 - 15/05/2022 08:35:22    2417146

Replying To Yellow:  "South East radio are saying we can still qualify if we beat Kilkenny but that can't be true

Dublin would beat us on head to head"
If its a 3-way tie, then the head-to-head does not matter - it would come down to scoring difference and ye would finish ahead of Dublin. If Dublin get a draw or better against Galway and ye beat Kilkenny, then ye would finish ahead of Kilkenny on the head-to-head. Of course, both of these scenarios require that ye beat Kilkenny - good luck!

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1041 - 15/05/2022 08:54:47    2417149

Look, we are all angry. frustrated and humiliated this morning after playing very poorly against a team that we would normally beat with something to spare. This was an all time low. There is no denying facts.
However, the only thing to do now is for the team to erase the memories from this game and concentrate solely on Kilkenny,
Can they raise their game to beat the cats? No chance i hear you say but our lads will be hurting right now and i expect a much improved performance next week. We always play with fire in our bellies against the black and amber.
Unfortunately we simply don't have a strong panel. Too many average club standard players on the bench. This is not the fault of management as he can only pick from what's out there. Surely Dunbar and pepper would have contributed a lot better than the guys brought on.
It must have been frustrating for Rory and Mac
to be fed poor ball or no ball during the game
.The only good thing was the sterling workrate of Damien Reck. What a warrior he is.
I honestly can't see us beating Kilkenny but let's go out and give it everything. Restoring some pride is our priority right now.

Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 15/05/2022 08:55:56    2417150

Replying To Onfor15:  "Everyone now is going to be calling for Egan to go after this result.

Which will be focusing on the wrong issues.

I'd just like to refresh this post I made after the Dublin game.

We had 21 wides tonight. Egan didn't hit them.

We do not have the players good enough and nor will we have them for at least the next 4/5 years on the basis of the underage teams I've seen.

We are very lucky that this Westmeath loss happened this year, because if it happened in a year with only 5 in Leinster then we'd be facing Kilkenny next week needing a win to avoid being in the Joe McDonagh next year. And I think avoiding Joe McDonagh should be our main priority over the next few years until such time as we have team good enough to compete for honours.

Let's be honest, the 2019 Leinster win was a fluke and since then we have been very average in the championship."
You were wrong then and you are still wrong now.

The only difference with 19 was confidence in decision making.

We probably should have won leinster last year too.

There are still very good players in there.

The issue is entirely one of tactics.

We were cruising when we were letting the ball in to our full forward line.

Look where we hit the wides from and ask yourself why?

We pushed up in the second half for about 15 minutes and took over, like in every game this year, and inexplicably started conceding Puck outs again and threw the whole thing away.

It's clear to me the players have no confidence in what they're trying to do.

That rests entirely with management.

Disaster yes, but ultimately we've dropped points left right and centre in this group as a result of indecision.

We were in pole position in every championship game we've played and made stupid mistakes.

Awful in the first half against Galway. Totally dominated them in every position late on, missed a penalty . If the game went on another 5 minutes we'd have won.

Slow start against Dublin again, missed a penalty. Totally dominated most of the second half, then sat back again which cost us.

It's a poor run of results, but we are good enough to be talking about 100% record at this stage with some minor tweaks.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3873 - 15/05/2022 09:35:23    2417152

First things first. Congratulations to westmeath. Huge result and fair play to them. A couple of very good players who were totally committed to every ball.

As for us, we created 42 scoring chances and converted only half of them.

We did enough to win that game, but were really poor in our attitude. We seemed to believe we'd win no matter what happened and ultimately got what we deserved because we treated it like a challenge game and lacked leadership at key stages.

It's been a disaster of a championship, and we have to face that.

Should we drop Egan now?

I don't know.

We knew what we were getting into with an inexperienced manager.

He will learn a lot this year.

I give us no chance of beating kilkenny which breaks my heart.

I haven't felt this low about playing them in about 10 years.

Looking to next year.

Matt is getting close to the end, Murphy will struggle to come back, Morris also.

Jippo, mac, Dee, Liam óg, Chin might have 2/3 more seasons.

Dundar, the foleys and Donoghue till there too.

The core of the team is now Devitt, flood, the recks, Bailey, Oisín, Rory, jacko.

We need to fill some gaps.

Hearne, Casey, Banville, rebmond, scallan, Molloy, Byrne Dunbar, pepper, o hagan, Eoin Ryan need to be the focus of development over the next league and Walsh Cup.

We also need to find a goalkeeper.

That's our panel for the next two seasons and we need to get the balance spot on, try to win another leinster in 23 or 24 and see what happens.

This is 100% within our capability, but we need to meticulously control absolutely everything, and it starts with turning our focus back to the most basic aspects of the game and being committed.

Our job as supporters is to keep showing up and taking these blows with the team.

We've been down before and almost vanished altogether. We came back then. We can come back now.

We are Wexford. Don't ever forget that.

The blood in our veins arms us for any challenge.

Le croí agus lámh

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3873 - 15/05/2022 09:56:23    2417155

Replying To foreveryoung:  ""Horrendous to watch"? Possibly, one of Westmeath's finest hours ever in hurling, and this is what you post. I doubt that you're from Westmeath at all, or if you are, you must be from a footballing part of it, where hurling isn't really played.

One of the most lamentable posts I've read on HS."
Thank you this is one of the St Lomans football brigade terrified hurling is getting stronger.As a proud Westmeath man it was a great result for us but the truth is we had the chances to do the same against Dublin but failed to take them.Wexford people should note that most of our team have beaten Wexford and Kilkenny at underage.We will have our final like yourselves next weekend against Laois a pure 50/50 game now.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1767 - 15/05/2022 10:02:37    2417158

In all my years following wexford, I don't think we had a worst results in championship match. I taught the Bonner era was bad, but by god our manager is so far out of his depth it incredible to see it. I am absolutely gutted. Is liam Ryan and dok injured?

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 15/05/2022 10:05:55    2417159

Replying To katser:  "NOOOOOOOOO this result is completely unacceptable......where is yer pride ffs!!"
You're acting like the Limerick posters now who came onto the Galway hurling thread to rise them after their draw with Wexford. Thankfully I don't see any other wum from Galway here.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 15/05/2022 10:10:40    2417163

Replying To Onfor15:  "Everyone now is going to be calling for Egan to go after this result.

Which will be focusing on the wrong issues.

I'd just like to refresh this post I made after the Dublin game.

We had 21 wides tonight. Egan didn't hit them.

We do not have the players good enough and nor will we have them for at least the next 4/5 years on the basis of the underage teams I've seen.

We are very lucky that this Westmeath loss happened this year, because if it happened in a year with only 5 in Leinster then we'd be facing Kilkenny next week needing a win to avoid being in the Joe McDonagh next year. And I think avoiding Joe McDonagh should be our main priority over the next few years until such time as we have team good enough to compete for honours.

Let's be honest, the 2019 Leinster win was a fluke and since then we have been very average in the championship."
Hard to see us turning things around and going beating Kilkenny. Interesting point you make about the talent coming through. I went back over u20 teams to 2018. That team is the last side to give us any players notably the recks, Rory and joe O'Connor , Oisin foley and Mikey Dwyer. From 2019 mcguckin, James Lawlor and Niall murphy but mcguckin is the only one to get any championship game time. None since then. Look at Kilkenny last night and 5 ( butler, Carey, Mullen, Cody, blanchfield) of the team that narrowly beat us by 2 points in u20 final in 2019 played and the goalie ( mason)was a sub last night as well.
The point is that the last 3 u20 teams have provided very little to the senior set up which is amazing. Now we're pinning our hopes on some of this years team to step up. The problem is they're needed now but are in fairness aren't yet ready

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 15/05/2022 10:13:00    2417165

By the way, yesterday we had a poster question a young lad starting out on his senior inter-county career who does a lot of unseen donkey work and gives his all.

Meanwhile, in the game itself, one of our established players, for whom there is always a clamour on here and elsewhere that he must start despite generally looking better off the bench, yet again made no impression when he did start. Far too inconsistent for this level, and I know which of the two I'd persist with in the long run.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1503 - 15/05/2022 10:39:01    2417176

First things first. Congratulations to westmeath. Huge result and fair play to them. A couple of very good players who were totally committed to every ball.

As for us, we created 42 scoring chances and converted only half of them.

We did enough to win that game, but were really poor in our attitude. We seemed to believe we'd win no matter what happened and ultimately got what we deserved because we treated it like a challenge game and lacked leadership at key stages.

It's been a disaster of a championship, and we have to face that.

Should we drop Egan now?

I don't know.

We knew what we were getting into with an inexperienced manager.

He will learn a lot this year.

I give us no chance of beating kilkenny which breaks my heart.

I haven't felt this low about playing them in about 10 years.

Looking to next year.

Matt is getting close to the end, Murphy will struggle to come back, Morris also.

Jippo, mac, Dee, Liam óg, Chin might have 2/3 more seasons.

Dundar, the foleys and Donoghue till there too.

The core of the team is now Devitt, flood, the recks, Bailey, Oisín, Rory, jacko.

We need to fill some gaps.

Hearne, Casey, Banville, rebmond, scallan, Molloy, Byrne Dunbar, pepper, o hagan, Eoin Ryan need to be the focus of development over the next league and Walsh Cup.

We also need to find a goalkeeper.

That's our panel for the next two seasons and we need to get the balance spot on, try to win another leinster in 23 or 24 and see what happens.

This is 100% within our capability, but we need to meticulously control absolutely everything, and it starts with turning our focus back to the most basic aspects of the game and being committed.

Our job as supporters is to keep showing up and taking these blows with the team.

We've been down before and almost vanished altogether. We came back then. We can come back now.

We are Wexford. Don't ever forget that.

The blood in our veins arms us for any challenge.

Le croí agus lámh

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3873 - 15/05/2022 10:39:13    2417177

Replying To Doylerwex:  "You were wrong then and you are still wrong now.

The only difference with 19 was confidence in decision making.

We probably should have won leinster last year too.

There are still very good players in there.

The issue is entirely one of tactics.

We were cruising when we were letting the ball in to our full forward line.

Look where we hit the wides from and ask yourself why?

We pushed up in the second half for about 15 minutes and took over, like in every game this year, and inexplicably started conceding Puck outs again and threw the whole thing away.

It's clear to me the players have no confidence in what they're trying to do.

That rests entirely with management.

Disaster yes, but ultimately we've dropped points left right and centre in this group as a result of indecision.

We were in pole position in every championship game we've played and made stupid mistakes.

Awful in the first half against Galway. Totally dominated them in every position late on, missed a penalty . If the game went on another 5 minutes we'd have won.

Slow start against Dublin again, missed a penalty. Totally dominated most of the second half, then sat back again which cost us.

It's a poor run of results, but we are good enough to be talking about 100% record at this stage with some minor tweaks."
What tactics?

Genuinely, what tactics, what are we trying to do, what way are we trying to play? At least with Davy we knew what we were doing and every player knew exactly what was expected of them, certain people didn't like it because it was Davy and apparently he was holding us back.

I mean how many times do you keep trying to look at something not working before you say stop? Giving up the puck out completely, obviously not working but hey ho keep going.

It's obvious the players are not buying into this approach because we don't seem to have one in all honesty.

Of course we have the players, do we have the players to win an all Ireland, no we probably don't, do we have the players to be far better than we currently are, 100% yes. This team is more than capable of winning Leinster yet we find ourselves where we are

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1542 - 15/05/2022 10:41:43    2417178

Shambles, no direction, unable to take a decisive lead and dictate games, continually playing catch up, wrong decision making on and off the pitch, for the biggest county in Leinster, it's embarrassing, recent performance at all levels in hurling and football have been abysmal, million miles away from winning Leinster never mind an All Ireland. Anyone thinking Wexford, playing as they are, can beat Kilkenny after their performance last night, needs a reality check. Hoped I'm proved completely wrong but can't see it. Only be a false dawn if we did get through.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 262 - 15/05/2022 10:44:56    2417179

Replying To preddan:  "maybe you should give this westmeath team abit of respect, they are a very decent team with some v good players worth their place on any team. Its not all about how bad wexford were this evening, they have gone back a bit but westmeath are improving all the time and its probably their best team since the mid 1980s"
With the greatest degree of respect, for as game as Westmeath were, Wexford should have coasted home last night. Moreover, Westmeath scored a grand total of 2-05 from play across 70+ minutes of Senior Intercounty Hurling, of which the first goal came from Mark Fanning dropping a harmless high ball under no pressure into the net and the second goal came from Fanning dropping a high ball right in front of McNicholas who poked home (Was clearly in the square although Wexford can't blame the referee as Wexford hit 21 wides plus Galway and Dublin fans might suggest that the referee favoured Wexford towards the end of their matches). Westmeath's five starting forwards plus two midfielders scored 0-03 from play between them across the entire game, yet Wexford still didn't win. I get that people wish to credit Westmeath and they are a very game bunch who were competitive against Dublin and Kilkenny for long periods. But the harsh reality is that a team whose starting forwards plus midfielders scoring 0-03 from play across 70 minutes cannot be described as having given a top-class performance. Wexford created 45 scoring chances to Westmeath's 31 but hit 21 wides compared to 10 on a day where the breeze was pretty much non-existent. At the end of the day, the game was pretty much about how shocking Wexford were as opposed to how good Westmeath were, the stats above do not lie. This shouldn't be taken as a criticism of Westmeath, they're a very game bunch but in all likelihood, Westmeath could have hurled better last night, it was a woefully poor game of hurling quality-wise.

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 616 - 15/05/2022 11:12:16    2417183

On the train back to Dublin after a stag with a crowd from Tipp. By their own admission not in a place for throwing stones, but still better than us. So there was plenty of laughing done. Yes, we are a laughing stock today make no bones about it.

First up, well done to Westmeath. We should never be so arrogant as to think we have a god given right to beat any county. Just like Kildare in the u20, if you think like that you get what you deserve.

Look, some days as a team it just doesn't work. Every team has bad days and anybody who ever played the game knows this. We have had too many of them this year though.

I was not at the match but my da said as Doylerwex we put pressure on Westmeath for 15 minutes in the 2nd half and were all set to finish them off.

Twice this year we have played 14 men for 10-15 minutes in a match, when we were leading, and lost and drew. Against opposition we should be beating. That is on management. We have persisted with conceding the puck out in 5 consecutive matches and NOT ONCE HAS IT WORKED IN ANY MATCH. My da said Wexford looked bereft of confidence from the off and the players arguing over Westmeath's 2nd goal said it all.

We thought we were great winning league matches with same old same old instead of using new faces and giving more players game time. And the ones we gave game time to are slated on here - what do our supporters want? No new blood? Magestic new blood of players better than McGuckin, Oisin Foley, Pepper, etc that don't exist? People were talking about All-Irelands when we beating teams with half a team out. We used the league all wrong, I said it then and I say it now. We need new faces because if not in 2-3 years time, when the current senior statesmen gone, we will be in very serious trouble.
The way Oisin Pepper has been handled this year is scandalous. That Limerick lad is on their starting 15 and we used a player who got 5 min?

But 21 wides is not good enough. McDonald and O'Connor seem content to stay inside in hope of ball coming in, I heard Chin went in full forward when injured but as a player some times you need to take the law in to your own hands and come out and put your hand up.

There are no answers this year. Is Egan the man for the job? Well the Tipp lads I was with for the last 2 nights want him to replace Bonner. Did Davy do irreparable damage to this team to a point where the bodies don't have it any more? It happened in Clare and is it happening to us?

One big complaint I have with this management team is how mute they are. I did not like Davy but at least he talked to the media, we knew if players were carrying a knock. I wish we knew what subs were injured last night, if any.

I don't think all will be fine with a win in Kilkenny this weekend, we have papered over cracks in the past and it came back to bite us on the ass. A summer of introspection ahead.

One thing H/S needs to do better on this board is cut out the obvious WUM's of which there are about 5-10 ruining every thread. I am doing exams this week and next and maybe we might have some team still in the championship when I get back.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1920 - 15/05/2022 11:17:42    2417185

We didn't create one goal chance yesterday 21 wides and this crap of giving teams puck outs is a bloody like push up on them. What ever happened before half time seemed to rattle players and management and we could not focus afterwards. Not sure why Dee was taken off. Ryan fell awkwardly and hopefully nothing too bad. Journey home was a complete blur. Them lads need to have a look at themselves today and I expect them to come out fighting. I want to see an honest performance and give it a right rattle. At the end of the day we are playing them from across the bridge

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 370 - 15/05/2022 11:21:02    2417187

Devastated by last nights result. Posters coming on here putting in the knife saying we are Joe McDonagh standard I'd disagree entirely and see them as nothing but trolls kicking the lads when they are down . We are a long way away from winning Leinster but if we were Joe McDonagh standard we would not be drawing with Galway and hammering Laois while out of form ourselves .

The tactics last night were awful. I just don't know what Egan and co are trying to do . Why are we taking so many pot shots from 80 yards out when we have Mac and Rory inside ? Was really looking forward to Nowlan Park next week but I'd fear what could happen now. We will likely bring a small support after yesterday . I just hope the lads can keep the heads up despite all the Criticism and deliver a performance that brings pride back into the jersey . I'll be there to back them and I hope more genuine supporters will be there too when they need us most

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 15/05/2022 11:30:42    2417190