Why Cork Cant Win More All Irelands In Football

Replying To Rolo2010:  "They are. Those some people then cry about the lack of hurling in football counties. The difference between us and Cork is that Donegal has no heritage in hurling.

The code popular up here had more in common with shinty but the snobs down south killed that off. And that attitude still persists today. Reminded of Donal Og and his claim that Gaelic football is the biggest barrier to the growth of hurling."
It probably is in fairness, the vast vast majority of county boards prioritise football over hurling.
I've no interest in GAA politics/finances but I'm willing to bet that those same county boards regardless of heritage don't do as much to develop hurling as they could,, although I personally wouldnt cry about it, its yere loss.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 23/09/2021 22:35:12    2382667

Replying To Rolo2010:  "They are. Those some people then cry about the lack of hurling in football counties. The difference between us and Cork is that Donegal has no heritage in hurling.

The code popular up here had more in common with shinty but the snobs down south killed that off. And that attitude still persists today. Reminded of Donal Og and his claim that Gaelic football is the biggest barrier to the growth of hurling."
There's nothing worse than listening to the likes of Donal Og and Jackie Tyrell talk about hurling as if anyone who dares play anything else is beneath them.

Imo Cork have actually have more great footballers than hurlers. The likes of JBM could have been one of the all time great footballers had it not been for the Kerry team of the 70s and 80s. He's just one example.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 24/09/2021 07:00:13    2382687

Replying To baire:  "To be fair to Cork, they have won the double something no other county has done and when their hurlers and footballers were underachieving their ladies excelled in both football and camogie!"
Many counties have won the double, just not in the same year. However, Cork isn't even the only county to achieve that. Tipperary has completed the double in football and hurling; twice actually, in 1895 and 1900. Back to the schoolbooks with you.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1911 - 24/09/2021 09:03:08    2382689

Replying To oneoff:  "There's nothing worse than listening to the likes of Donal Og and Jackie Tyrell talk about hurling as if anyone who dares play anything else is beneath them.

Imo Cork have actually have more great footballers than hurlers. The likes of JBM could have been one of the all time great footballers had it not been for the Kerry team of the 70s and 80s. He's just one example."
Alot of the top hurlers in Wexford are also their clubs top footballers. It's just impossible to play both at intercounty level these days.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 24/09/2021 09:56:38    2382698

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Many counties have won the double, just not in the same year. However, Cork isn't even the only county to achieve that. Tipperary has completed the double in football and hurling; twice actually, in 1895 and 1900. Back to the schoolbooks with you."
Not that many counties. Only 10 or so.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 24/09/2021 10:05:33    2382703

Replying To Viking66:  "Not that many counties. Only 10 or so."
Only eight in fact and in modern times only Cork, Offaly and Galway have done it. It is over a hundred years since Limerick, Wexford or Tipp won out in Football and Dublin have not won the hurling in over 80 years and you have to go back to 1891 for Kerry's only triumph in the small ball code.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 24/09/2021 10:32:22    2382711

Cork is hurling county now.

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 24/09/2021 15:17:59    2382764

Replying To Galway9801:  "It probably is in fairness, the vast vast majority of county boards prioritise football over hurling.
I've no interest in GAA politics/finances but I'm willing to bet that those same county boards regardless of heritage don't do as much to develop hurling as they could,, although I personally wouldnt cry about it, its yere loss."
It's not a loss but there's that attitude coming through again. As I said, Donegal may well have had a decent hurling scene if the boys down south didn't insist on us playing their version of the game and only that. That was football's gain and we are all the better for it.

A county with no heritage in hurling shouldn't be forced to develop the game if there is no strong interest. I don't see any football county putting pressure on KK to field an intercounty team in Leinster.

Donegal has actually done a fair bit to grow the game with no support from CC. 4 new clubs playing hurling at adult level including Dungloe.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 24/09/2021 15:43:23    2382768

Replying To Rolo2010:  "It's not a loss but there's that attitude coming through again. As I said, Donegal may well have had a decent hurling scene if the boys down south didn't insist on us playing their version of the game and only that. That was football's gain and we are all the better for it.

A county with no heritage in hurling shouldn't be forced to develop the game if there is no strong interest. I don't see any football county putting pressure on KK to field an intercounty team in Leinster.

Donegal has actually done a fair bit to grow the game with no support from CC. 4 new clubs playing hurling at adult level including Dungloe."
Agree and disagree on two of your points Rolo. Agree CC dont do enough to help people once there is an interest expressed in hurling. Those 4 clubs should be getting every support possible. And disagree about Kilkenny. They have an adult football team. It's just not good enough for the Leinster championship. Hard to believe the way things are with the LC these days but there ya go:-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 24/09/2021 17:00:05    2382775

Replying To Galway9801:  "It probably is in fairness, the vast vast majority of county boards prioritise football over hurling.
I've no interest in GAA politics/finances but I'm willing to bet that those same county boards regardless of heritage don't do as much to develop hurling as they could,, although I personally wouldnt cry about it, its yere loss."
That cuts both ways Galway 9801. I remember Tipp having to withdraw from a football qualifier because the Tipp county board fixed a full round of hurling championship matches some of which involved the Tipp footballers to be played three days before the football qualifier. The Tipp manager Andy Shortall resigned and his players backed him. You don't find the smugness and arrogant self satisfaction that you find amongst some hurling supporters prevalent amongst football supporters. I was at the National League Finals double header in Croke Park in 2019. The number of hurling supporters who upped and left after the hurling final beggared belief. The hurling final between Limerick and Waterford was dull to say the least. The football final between Kerry and Mayo was brilliant.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 24/09/2021 17:35:24    2382782

Replying To oneoff:  "There's nothing worse than listening to the likes of Donal Og and Jackie Tyrell talk about hurling as if anyone who dares play anything else is beneath them.

Imo Cork have actually have more great footballers than hurlers. The likes of JBM could have been one of the all time great footballers had it not been for the Kerry team of the 70s and 80s. He's just one example."
Well said. I cringe when I hear Dónal Óg call hurling "Our game." I've seen hurling pundits on The Sunday Game openly sneer at football.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 24/09/2021 17:37:45    2382783

Replying To Viking66:  "Agree and disagree on two of your points Rolo. Agree CC dont do enough to help people once there is an interest expressed in hurling. Those 4 clubs should be getting every support possible. And disagree about Kilkenny. They have an adult football team. It's just not good enough for the Leinster championship. Hard to believe the way things are with the LC these days but there ya go:-)"
But no other county in Leinster is taking issue with KK paying little attention to football.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 24/09/2021 18:33:01    2382791

Replying To Greengrass:  "That cuts both ways Galway 9801. I remember Tipp having to withdraw from a football qualifier because the Tipp county board fixed a full round of hurling championship matches some of which involved the Tipp footballers to be played three days before the football qualifier. The Tipp manager Andy Shortall resigned and his players backed him. You don't find the smugness and arrogant self satisfaction that you find amongst some hurling supporters prevalent amongst football supporters. I was at the National League Finals double header in Croke Park in 2019. The number of hurling supporters who upped and left after the hurling final beggared belief. The hurling final between Limerick and Waterford was dull to say the least. The football final between Kerry and Mayo was brilliant."
I'm not suggesting that hurling folk are innocent victims, I've no doubt in my mind that trying to promote football in tipp /Cork, you'll have obstacles thrown in your way, in kilkenny you'll probably be met with raw hostility.
But what I'm saying is I don't like it when football people (and make no mistake, as much as I prefer hurling I love football too) play the victim and act like hurling men are just impossible to deal with.
I'm sure hurling promoters have their stories to tell too.
I read Dessie Farrells book "tangled up in blue" and he touched on the lip service paid to hurling at the time I'm Dublin, avd that's before we get into places like kerry, ulster, North Connacht and other parts of East leinster.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 24/09/2021 18:54:28    2382794

Replying To Rolo2010:  "But no other county in Leinster is taking issue with KK paying little attention to football."
It's as much to do with most young fellas grow up wanting to hurl there. There is football played but most lads choose hurling. Its engrained in them. It's also just 1 county out of 32. There are alot more counties who dont promote hurling.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 24/09/2021 19:28:10    2382800

Replying To Galway9801:  "I'm not suggesting that hurling folk are innocent victims, I've no doubt in my mind that trying to promote football in tipp /Cork, you'll have obstacles thrown in your way, in kilkenny you'll probably be met with raw hostility.
But what I'm saying is I don't like it when football people (and make no mistake, as much as I prefer hurling I love football too) play the victim and act like hurling men are just impossible to deal with.
I read Dessie Farrells book "tangled up in blue" and he touched on the lip service paid to hurling at the time I'm Dublin, avd that's before we get into places like kerry, ulster, North Connacht and other parts of East leinster."
There you go again. Why should Ulster counties develop hurling when it folks down south who are responsible for killing off the game in the north in the first place. Sligo has 7 clubs and Donegal has 10 but whenever you see these counties play you'll get the elitists sneering about the quality. Sambo in Antrim has spoken about his negative experiences travelling down to Tipp or Cork.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 24/09/2021 19:30:16    2382801

Replying To Viking66:  "It's as much to do with most young fellas grow up wanting to hurl there. There is football played but most lads choose hurling. Its engrained in them. It's also just 1 county out of 32. There are alot more counties who dont promote hurling."
Which ones? Every football county fields a hurling team.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 24/09/2021 20:05:29    2382808

Replying To Rolo2010:  "There you go again. Why should Ulster counties develop hurling when it folks down south who are responsible for killing off the game in the north in the first place. Sligo has 7 clubs and Donegal has 10 but whenever you see these counties play you'll get the elitists sneering about the quality. Sambo in Antrim has spoken about his negative experiences travelling down to Tipp or Cork."
Sorry but I also mentioned East Leinster, North Connacht, Kerry, though you no doubt chose to just ignore that bit.
Also, I would have thought that seeing as how it's us "folks down south" who killed off the game in the North on the first place, that'd be as good a reason as any for ye to promote it? A good way to give us baddies the two fingers ya know?
And explain how we killed it off in ulster anyways? If anyone in ulster wants to take up hurling, or help coach teams, get kids interested in the sport you have my blessing.
And what're you on about giving out about hurling elitists, no football elitists at all no? All this talk of removing half the country from the all Ireland football championship and throwing them into lower tiers, that's just my imagination yeah?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 24/09/2021 20:18:47    2382810

I know a fair few people from Cork. They have a polite interest in football, and a passionate interest in hurling.

I don't have many regrets, but not hurling would be one.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 24/09/2021 21:08:55    2382818

Replying To Galway9801:  "Sorry but I also mentioned East Leinster, North Connacht, Kerry, though you no doubt chose to just ignore that bit.
Also, I would have thought that seeing as how it's us "folks down south" who killed off the game in the North on the first place, that'd be as good a reason as any for ye to promote it? A good way to give us baddies the two fingers ya know?
And explain how we killed it off in ulster anyways? If anyone in ulster wants to take up hurling, or help coach teams, get kids interested in the sport you have my blessing.
And what're you on about giving out about hurling elitists, no football elitists at all no? All this talk of removing half the country from the all Ireland football championship and throwing them into lower tiers, that's just my imagination yeah?"
Sligo is in North Connacht but clearly geography is an issue for you. Go north of the railway line at some point.

East Leinster? Wexford are there. Kildare are on the up. Meath are in Joe McDonagh. Wicklow are weak in both codes. Louth has always been a football county.

I'll say it again. Counties are promoting the game despite receiving no extra support from CC.

Talk of a Tier 2 isn't elitism. You are all over the place here. My county is opposed to it anyway.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 24/09/2021 21:46:29    2382822

Replying To Galway9801:  "I'm not suggesting that hurling folk are innocent victims, I've no doubt in my mind that trying to promote football in tipp /Cork, you'll have obstacles thrown in your way, in kilkenny you'll probably be met with raw hostility.
I read Dessie Farrells book "tangled up in blue" and he touched on the lip service paid to hurling at the time I'm Dublin, avd that's before we get into places like kerry, ulster, North Connacht and other parts of East leinster."
Kerry ? Kerry have made great strides in hurling. They were very competitive in the Joe McDonagh final this year. They are effectively locked out of the Munster Championship by the other five established counties. In Ulster Fermanagh won the Lory Meaghar beating Cavan. Tyrone lost to Mayo (North Connacht) in the final of the Nicky Rackard and Derry were beaten by Offaly in the final of the Christy Ring. There's more than lip service paid to hurling in those areas. I haven't mentioned Armagh. It too is a county where hurling is played and developed. Hurling at elite level is still effectively a closed shop. The last time the Liam McCarthy was won by a county for the first time was in 1981 by Offaly. Since then 4 counties have won the football title for the first time.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 25/09/2021 08:59:22    2382827