Lee Keegan Appreciation

Replying To Mailman98:  "Mayo have won 3 All-Irelands, 1936, 50 and 51 so I'd estimate there are at least 50 Mayo players who are greater than Lee Keegan because they have all-ireland medals. This thread could only be written about a Mayo player. I would die of embarrassment if Galway lost an All-Ireland final and someone was appreciating one of our loser players. After Tyrone scored their second goal last Saturday Lee Keegan scored a point and set up another within 2 minutes. Why couldn't he have done that 3 minutes earlier? The game was effectively over so the pressure came off him and he was able to perform. When the game was there to be won he was pretty anonymous and the build up to the second goal came right through his channel. The greatest Mayo player ever wouldn't drop the ball into Stephen Cluxton's hands from 25 yards out when a point would have finished the game.
Final note: amazing to see Mayo people posting here. If I supported a team that lost 11 finals in a row I'd be in hiding for months. I certainly wouldn't be out praising a player who played in over half of those finals!"
It looks like Mailman98 hasn't figured out yet that us Mayo people are very strong mentally. A loss or 11 losses in finals isn't something that would make us go into hiding. Now I can understand some Galway supporters not them all just a small minority like Mailman being a little shy after living in Mayo's shadow for so long. We might have failed to win the big one but getting to the final is still better than golfing on Saturdays and Sundays in early August. I have a sneeky suspicion that Mailman was thrilled with the result on Saturday, probably the most enjoyment he's had in years. Maigh Eo Abu

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 16/09/2021 17:40:25    2381154

Replying To Lockjaw:  "A great player and very unlucky not to have picked up a Celtic Cross or two.
He lets himself down at times though with his ****house tactics, whether it be throwing GPS or laughing in the face of opponents after a missed chance. I'm sure Conor McKenna will have a wee smile to himself when he's putting his All Ireland medal on the mantlepiece."
To be fair to him we have no idea what Conor McKenna might have said to him 2 minutes earlier. No point really reading into it

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 16/09/2021 18:12:05    2381163

Replying To Mailman98:  "Mayo have won 3 All-Irelands, 1936, 50 and 51 so I'd estimate there are at least 50 Mayo players who are greater than Lee Keegan because they have all-ireland medals. This thread could only be written about a Mayo player. I would die of embarrassment if Galway lost an All-Ireland final and someone was appreciating one of our loser players. After Tyrone scored their second goal last Saturday Lee Keegan scored a point and set up another within 2 minutes. Why couldn't he have done that 3 minutes earlier? The game was effectively over so the pressure came off him and he was able to perform. When the game was there to be won he was pretty anonymous and the build up to the second goal came right through his channel. The greatest Mayo player ever wouldn't drop the ball into Stephen Cluxton's hands from 25 yards out when a point would have finished the game.
Final note: amazing to see Mayo people posting here. If I supported a team that lost 11 finals in a row I'd be in hiding for months. I certainly wouldn't be out praising a player who played in over half of those finals!"
I am very disappointed that any follower of a sport would equate, and judge, excellence with the All-Ireland medals in his trophy case.
The number of the greats, without these medals, would fill a large book. Pa Connolly (Kildare), Iggy Jones (Tyrone), Nace O'Dowd (Sligo), Packy McGarty (Leitrim), John Galvin (Limerick).
I could also name hundreds who have these medals who contributed only to the training sessions.
Keegan was immense in the 2021 final.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 16/09/2021 19:29:18    2381173

Replying To jonjon:  "To be fair to him we have no idea what Conor McKenna might have said to him 2 minutes earlier. No point really reading into it"
Must have been a great joke lol. I'm sure Keegan doesn't want threads like these, makes it look like he's retired

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 16/09/2021 20:19:27    2381175

Ignore the mailman lads. He only delivers seafóid.
The real postman of Galway football is the great Ja Fallon.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 16/09/2021 20:54:07    2381180

Replying To Lockjaw:  "A great player and very unlucky not to have picked up a Celtic Cross or two.
He lets himself down at times though with his ****house tactics, whether it be throwing GPS or laughing in the face of opponents after a missed chance. I'm sure Conor McKenna will have a wee smile to himself when he's putting his All Ireland medal on the mantlepiece."
Strange times
The president is senile
New Zealand went into lockdown because someone had a sore throat
People who never worked a day in their lives are living in big houses while those who work can barely afford to rent
You need a health pass to eat at McDonald's
There's sledging in a game involving Tyrone, and the red hand men are the innocent party.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 16/09/2021 21:04:08    2381188

Unbelievable footballer.. has given so much to mayo has. I'd be very shocked if he didn't give it another year but he is without a doubt the best one of Mayo's greatest footballers.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 16/09/2021 21:20:47    2381195

Replying To Galway9801:  "Strange times
The president is senile
New Zealand went into lockdown because someone had a sore throat
People who never worked a day in their lives are living in big houses while those who work can barely afford to rent
You need a health pass to eat at McDonald's
There's sledging in a game involving Tyrone, and the red hand men are the innocent party."
Ah yeah I mean Tyrone are far from shrinking violets when it comes to the verbals. It's not nice to see. McKernan is particularly bad for it.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 16/09/2021 23:13:54    2381235

You would die of embarrassment if one of your losing players was lauded after an All Ireland defeat... enough said ! You have said it yourself!!!
Little RESPECT for players from you for your own county men, hardly surprising that you have lottle respect for a neighbour.
Sad comment.
Great players on the Mayo team who have given a massive effort to win an All Ureland. Respect.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1820 - 16/09/2021 23:44:52    2381237

Replying To Gator:  "Its appreciating a player who has been consistently excellent for years. Nothing wrong with that.

Its unfortunate for him that he will likely end his career, as likely will Conor McManus from my own county, without winning Sam.

He was excellent for Mayo last saturday, not his fault some of his team mates didnt perform on the day. If anything, his unfortunate record of losing finals makes its even more impressive that he continues to excel and doesn't just give up.

On your final note.... Galway have just lost three connacht finals in a row. If they lose another 3 or 4 are you going to go in to hiding? Probably better for all if you did....but it would prove you are no fan."
Agree 100%. Two great footballers.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 17/09/2021 06:29:39    2381240

Tomsmith here from Cavan

While all the platitudes bestowed upon Keegan for his many years service to Mayo are well intentioned , I feel his unsporting gesture in laughing the face of was it Darren Mc Corry when he missed a score was in bad taste and a bad sporting gesture on an all Ireland day. Keegan may be a fine played also on All Ireland day comes the responsivity of carrying one well and I feel that Keegan laughing into the face of an opponent when he misses is not in that league

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 17/09/2021 09:31:35    2381246

He is a great player/bad boy to have on any team. His GPS antics against Dean Rock is one of the interesting memories.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 17/09/2021 10:16:07    2381260

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here from Cavan

While all the platitudes bestowed upon Keegan for his many years service to Mayo are well intentioned , I feel his unsporting gesture in laughing the face of was it Darren Mc Corry when he missed a score was in bad taste and a bad sporting gesture on an all Ireland day. Keegan may be a fine played also on All Ireland day comes the responsivity of carrying one well and I feel that Keegan laughing into the face of an opponent when he misses is not in that league"
very naive if you think that far far worse than this wasn't happening all over the pitch and on every pitch in every game across the country.

Offtheball10 (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 17/09/2021 10:24:24    2381262

Replying To Offtheball10:  "very naive if you think that far far worse than this wasn't happening all over the pitch and on every pitch in every game across the country."
Couldn't agree with you more and i think it it is pretty much widely accepted from his peers that he is a complete gentleman off the pitch too. The pictures after the game and the statement he released say it all really.

maximus02 (Longford) - Posts: 168 - 17/09/2021 11:14:28    2381272

Says a lot about mayo when there's more comments on here about a player on a team that has made a career out of losing finals, if I was a Mayo man I'd be embarassed by it. is he retiring or what?
Not much word about Tyrone being All ireland Champions is there? no sure it's all about Mayo losing again, saddos.

Rolo99 (Tyrone) - Posts: 19 - 17/09/2021 11:25:45    2381276

While all the platitudes bestowed upon Keegan for his many years service to Mayo are well intentioned , I feel his unsporting gesture in laughing the face of was it Darren Mc Corry when he missed a score was in bad taste and a bad sporting gesture on an all Ireland day. Keegan may be a fine played also on All Ireland day comes the responsivity of carrying one well and I feel that Keegan laughing into the face of an opponent when he misses is not in that league"
do we know he laughed, i hear this going on with other players too..did he smile and say Jaysus Darren how did you miss that (in a good sense) and because the camera picks up a smile and a laughing picture its assumed it was ill intended..dont get me wrong it could be and Darren might have reacted anyway even to a good willed statement...the camera does lie sometimes....

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 17/09/2021 12:12:10    2381285

Replying To Rolo99:  "Says a lot about mayo when there's more comments on here about a player on a team that has made a career out of losing finals, if I was a Mayo man I'd be embarassed by it. is he retiring or what?
Not much word about Tyrone being All ireland Champions is there? no sure it's all about Mayo losing again, saddos."
Get out to the pub and enjoy your win and stop whinging

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 17/09/2021 12:56:06    2381296

Replying To Rolo99:  "Says a lot about mayo when there's more comments on here about a player on a team that has made a career out of losing finals, if I was a Mayo man I'd be embarassed by it. is he retiring or what?
Not much word about Tyrone being All ireland Champions is there? no sure it's all about Mayo losing again, saddos."
Stop your giving us Mayo fans too much credit. We control the print and social media. Can't help that people want to talk about us….and it ain't for the right reasons so yeah everyone go talk about Tyrone and leave us to lick our wounds again. Thank god for the club championships starting next weekend.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 19/09/2021 11:37:11    2381586

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "do we know he laughed, i hear this going on with other players too..did he smile and say Jaysus Darren how did you miss that (in a good sense) and because the camera picks up a smile and a laughing picture its assumed it was ill intended..dont get me wrong it could be and Darren might have reacted anyway even to a good willed statement...the camera does lie sometimes...."
It was mckenna who kicked a bad wide and when the camera went zoomed in on mckenna Lee came straight over into his face and started laughing. Mckenna turned and walked away.

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 19/09/2021 12:56:54    2381594

Perhaps some Kinder Garden frolics and a sing song might suit better, I saw Joe Mc Quillan smiling at two Players as he wagged the warning finger at them for a bit of physicality stuff what was funny about that, Lee Keegan is a multi talented and gifted player probably an all-time great, I can't comment on his smiling habits, it could be a facial stress releasing exercise, or a delayed response to a below par joke he heard, who knows,

Either way, it's a Lee Keegan Appreciation thread, Not a Lee Keegan Underappreciation thread.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 19/09/2021 22:16:10    2381726