If Farrell Goes Who Will Take Over?

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I mentioned something like that this morning on the Kerry forum, it's like dublin downed tools this year to take the heat off themselves, if they won the allireland which they were well capable of doing in my view then the light shining on their advantages would be all the brighter, even their fans wanted them to lose.

No it looks like they just took the hit this year to keep everyone happy and to keep the facade that the football championship is alive and well and that the team that did 6 is a once in a generation team.

They'll be back next year to start the drive for another 6 in a row."
Yeah they should have downed tools in the first round of Leinster and saved themselves a lot of wasted effort and fruitless training and dieting thereafter. They would have also got the LSFC dominance monkey off their backs also. Doesn't every team go out with the intention to win at least a 6 in a row every year? Surely that wouldn't be unique to the Jacks. It's a winning mentality.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2021 13:33:07    2381844

Laughing here, trying to bet with a heap of lads, who dont want talk to you and dont want anything to do with you! Id nearly throw you a penny. Cringe.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/09/2021 13:37:31    2381847

Replying To Joxer:  "Yeah they should have downed tools in the first round of Leinster and saved themselves a lot of wasted effort and fruitless training and dieting thereafter. They would have also got the LSFC dominance monkey off their backs also. Doesn't every team go out with the intention to win at least a 6 in a row every year? Surely that wouldn't be unique to the Jacks. It's a winning mentality."
Agh you're dead right Joxer, shouldda stepped aside and let a smaller county at least win one... i mean you must be sick of all those leinster titles ;) Tongue firmly in cheek.

Saw in mentioned about Darcy and Bohan, would say that you could do a lot worse. Now I'm not saying Dessie is going anywhere, and no reason to. Things have slid a little but never bait a wounded animal.

Also would Tom Gray, Paul Curran, Mick Deegan or Paul Clarke be options.

I suggested several of those names for Meath if Andy stepped aside and was meet with a degree of no Dubs (small minded in my opinion) thanks. There's plenty of great candidates within Dublin if something happens but I'd say there'll be no need too.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 20/09/2021 13:51:52    2381853

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well Brian not for the first time you're wrong.

You see the bet was if Kerry won I would leave the forum and if dublin won the allireland Avon multiple username and jimbo would leave, I made the bet but the bet wasn't accepted by the other lads so myself and Avon had a friendly €100 bet where if dublin won the allireland he'd pay €100 to a charity of my choice and if Kerry won I'd pay €100 to a charity of his choice.

As for my post above it's my opinion is all, we all have 1 but that's mine and time will tell I guess.

As for offaly and Meath winning the U20 and minor championships, it was great to see and I'm delighted for them but it means little as ourselves Cork and Galway have found out, underage doesn't always equate to senior success.

Also I've never directed ire at any other county team have I? Can you point to any post where I have? I have no problem with dublin only with their advantages."
Agh sure KB, you thinking I'm wrong is just your opinion man ;) And me saying you'll direct your ire towards Kildare, Meath and Offaly in time is just like my opinion man ;)

My post which you replied too " it's my opinion is all "

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 20/09/2021 14:32:07    2381865

Replying To TheUsername:  "Laughing here, trying to bet with a heap of lads, who dont want talk to you and dont want anything to do with you! Id nearly throw you a penny. Cringe."
You're the only 1 who doesn't want to talk and we all know it's because I showed you to be a 2011 band wagoner, a posser..

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/09/2021 16:20:47    2381896

Replying To brian:  "Agh sure KB, you thinking I'm wrong is just your opinion man ;) And me saying you'll direct your ire towards Kildare, Meath and Offaly in time is just like my opinion man ;)

My post which you replied too " it's my opinion is all ""
Hi you got the story wrong and I put you right.

You're welcome by the way.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/09/2021 16:22:12    2381897

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hi you got the story wrong and I put you right.

You're welcome by the way."
That's like your opinion man....

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 20/09/2021 16:39:31    2381904

Replying To brian:  "That's like your opinion man...."
I'm glad I could help you out Brian.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/09/2021 19:08:42    2381930

Replying To brian:  "That's like your opinion man...."
Haha … brilliant, are you Brian or Bono ? Stay cool
Hope the 'Royal revival' continues in 2022.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 20/09/2021 19:55:23    2381943

Replying To Curlew66:  "Haha … brilliant, are you Brian or Bono ? Stay cool
Hope the 'Royal revival' continues in 2022."
The Dude abides

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2021 23:39:59    2381976

Replying To Curlew66:  "Haha … brilliant, are you Brian or Bono ? Stay cool
Hope the 'Royal revival' continues in 2022."
Cheers dude, looking forward to a good scrap with yourselves in 22. Hopefully we'll both finish above Galway in Div 2 of a very competitive league. The U20's coming through should help you guys improve a little or a lot ;)

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/09/2021 12:07:56    2382024

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "I would absolutely love to see this also!! I do feel the only way Dessie stays in charge and they get back to their best is if they have a blood on the walls type meeting over the next while where everyone lets their gripes, grievances or whatever out and at the end of it if they can agree to move forward for the betterment of Dublin football then great. If egos are bruised and lads can't get past it then Dessie has to do the honourable thing and step aside. There is 100% another All Ireland in this current crop if we include even just Mannion back into the fold (never mind Jack Mc!) so it would be criminal to waste that opportunity by trudging along and going through the motions like this year. A lot of ifs and maybes but who knows..."
I know this team has achieved so much and has a serious amount of mileage on the clock, but something doesn't seem right. Maybe they will bounce back in 22 and regroup and go for it again. But the Cluxton situation and other players still in their prime not making themselves available doesn't reflect well on Farrell. There didn't appear to be the same bond. Players like Callaghan were very quiet this year. You'd have to ask would it have happened under Gavin or Gilroy?

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 21/09/2021 14:09:45    2382072

Replying To Breffni1969:  "Declan Darcy will be the next Manager of Dublin. I'm surprised the real fallout from the Dublin COVID training has not made it to this forum yet."
Yes to this, on both counts

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 21/09/2021 22:03:43    2382190

Davy..............

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 30/09/2021 09:07:35    2383614

Replying To The_Fonz:  "I know this team has achieved so much and has a serious amount of mileage on the clock, but something doesn't seem right. Maybe they will bounce back in 22 and regroup and go for it again. But the Cluxton situation and other players still in their prime not making themselves available doesn't reflect well on Farrell. There didn't appear to be the same bond. Players like Callaghan were very quiet this year. You'd have to ask would it have happened under Gavin or Gilroy?"
Without a doubt Gavin was a far better man manager. I also think he was more astute on the sideline.

BlueBeret (Dublin) - Posts: 54 - 09/10/2021 10:20:40    2384979

Replying To BlueBeret:  "Without a doubt Gavin was a far better man manager. I also think he was more astute on the sideline."
That's a very good comment BlueBeret. I would be on the same line myself.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 09/10/2021 13:43:14    2385006

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_I4K2dzABBE&t=922s

Very good interview from Our Game with Johnny Magee on the Dublin SFC semi-finals this year & the Mannion, McCaffrey and Cluxton situation.

GerBo (Roscommon) - Posts: 79 - 05/11/2021 11:37:32    2388456

I can't see there being much of a desire to replace Dessie.

Looking at the championship, it seems clear to me that Dublin football is in midst of quite a radical transition. Very few of the big names have really made a mark on it. McCarthy and Fenton (and he with a poor enough outfit) looked like their old selves. Rock too in fairness was consistent when played.

If you didn't know them you probably would not have picked either of the Smalls, Mannion and a few others as major county players, Even Murchan was quiet enough.

There have been a few relative unknowns making their mark - Gallagher with Sarsfields for one and he's been playing with Leitrim - so maybe a review of the panel and development squad structure is in order rather than a change of management?

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 05/11/2021 22:01:32    2388509

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I can't see there being much of a desire to replace Dessie.

Looking at the championship, it seems clear to me that Dublin football is in midst of quite a radical transition. Very few of the big names have really made a mark on it. McCarthy and Fenton (and he with a poor enough outfit) looked like their old selves. Rock too in fairness was consistent when played.

If you didn't know them you probably would not have picked either of the Smalls, Mannion and a few others as major county players, Even Murchan was quiet enough.

There have been a few relative unknowns making their mark - Gallagher with Sarsfields for one and he's been playing with Leitrim - so maybe a review of the panel and development squad structure is in order rather than a change of management?"
You don't seem to know much about the fallout within the panel at the meeting to discuss when players broke the COVID training ban.
When you know what happened there you will realise why certain players didn't play this year.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 06/11/2021 09:56:48    2388512

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I can't see there being much of a desire to replace Dessie.

There have been a few relative unknowns making their mark - Gallagher with Sarsfields for one and he's been playing with Leitrim - so maybe a review of the panel and development squad structure is in order rather than a change of management?"
Its the natural end to a golden era, Jim would have eeked out another two or three All Ireland's, he was that good of a manager.

But regardless of anything you need the quality of players, we were blessed we had 25-30 of the best players in the country all at the same time and the right man to lead it. I dont think the game has seen the like of it before or will for a long time.

Unfortunately, you cant sustain the loss of quality of players we have from 19-22 and not regress, its the natural end sadly. We will be competitive, but nothing like 15-19, will be repeated in the game quality wise as a squad in a long while.

We need to look to our own now, some soul searching to be done. On Dessies mark, i think he put his faith and gave opportunities to lads who let him down, PSmall, Basquel and Costello namely. While the experienced players in the squad looked jaded, Kilkenny, Con, Jamsie and Fenton. Injuries didnt help especially in the back line. The likes of Bugler didnt follow up on their break out, but there is a good player there. To many regressive factors in one season last year.

Dessie himself i think needs to look at his philosophy and approach, maybe teams wont be as fearful of us now, maybe we wont face a blanket every game, maybe that may allow us to be a bit more progressive. Going to be interesting to see. He has it in him, his underage and Na Fianaa teams were more expansive than we have been seeing at Senior. I think the natives will get restless this summer if there isnt a clear pathway or progression from last year, we forget how unforgiving and militant the Dublin crowd can be as we have been sated for so long.

My tip for a break out is Lee Gannon in the half back line, every inch a Dublin senior footballer for my money, while i really like the un-hyped Mark Lavin in the U20's for the half forwards, where i think we need a body, there is qualit t work with there. O Dell, Swan and Archer could go either way in my opinion.

Elsewise id have Ciaran back out in the half forwards line and Con, in the full forward line. Id have Howard back in the half forwards too. Some simple but effective redeployment between the line si think would make a significant difference.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/11/2021 11:04:14    2388527