Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Your point makes zero sense. Players don't wait for approval/criticism from supporters and they have no bearing over that county's performances either. If there's another point you're trying to make, you aren't making it with much clarity. I'll revert to your original post which was a bitter rant at fans in the North deciding to support Tyrone in the final like it was somehow related to lack of success in their own county, which was and still is nonsense."
Knowing my audience I'll keep it simple.

Mayo fans being satisfied at the end of the year despite their team not winning anything =a possible hindrance to the teams success.

Antrim /Derry etc fans being happy at the end of the year despite their county not winning anything =possible hindrance to their success

If you disagree with or agree with both these points, fine, if you agree with one, but not the other, you're contradicting yourself.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 14/09/2021 12:43:54    2380581

Replying To Galway9801:  "Knowing my audience I'll keep it simple.

Mayo fans being satisfied at the end of the year despite their team not winning anything =a possible hindrance to the teams success.

Antrim /Derry etc fans being happy at the end of the year despite their county not winning anything =possible hindrance to their success

If you disagree with or agree with both these points, fine, if you agree with one, but not the other, you're contradicting yourself."
I think I'll stick to disagreeing with both. I hope your usual audience enjoy fictional stories.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 14/09/2021 13:05:44    2380592

Replying To Curlew66:  "Nothing wrong with any of us putting local rivalries aside and getting behind our provincial winners in the All Ireland series. Galway gave the rest of us hope in '98 and '01 and remain the only team to bring Sam to Connacht in the past 55 years. Tyrone will be boosted by this impressive victory and may well become more formidable in Ulster. Looking at the four semi finalists Tyrone will have the toughest pathway to replicate their provincial win. Odds are that Dublin and Kerry will come through and probably Mayo again unless Galway can maintain their first half performance in the Connacht final for 70 mins . In this century one team from Connacht and Leinster , two from Munster but three from Ulster have won an All Ireland title so our Ulster friends aren't doing too bad at all."
Yeah usually if an Ulster team is contesting an All Ireland final, most fans in the other Ulster counties will be cheering them on (Even if its Tyrone), and 24 hours later immediately looking at how best to take lumps out of them next season.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 14/09/2021 13:08:11    2380595

Replying To RHF:  "
Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "SET PLAY
Rule 2.7 (a): The ball shall travel not less than 13m and outside the 20m line before being played by another player of the defending team.

TECHNICAL FOULS
Rule 4.29: For another player on the team taking a kick-out to play the ball before it has travelled 13m and outside the 20m. line.

PENALTY FOR THE ABOVE FOULS -
(i) Cancel kick-out.
(ii) Throw in the ball on defenders' 20m line in front of scoring space.

So it seems to me that once the ball has travelled outside the 20m line and has gone at least 13m, a back can play it. There's nothing there that suggests to me that if it goes past the 20m line but then back in again that a back can't touch it. I can't remember it however; isn't it pretty difficult to fail to pass the 20m line if the kick-out is taken from the 20m line? After all, "play is restarted by a kick-out off the ground from the centre point of the 20m line and shall be kicked forward.""
The player should have lifted the ball and played on the kick out was legal it looks like the lad got confused and McQuillan must have though that it hadn't crossed due to the reaction of the player."
I think your spot on. Player confused, ref assumed it hadn't crossed the line due to player confusion. Legal kick out in my eyes.

thanks lads....funny the things that keep me awake!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 14/09/2021 14:16:30    2380627

Seriously though lads, that penalty miss. He never had the goalie fooled, and in fact with his mid-run pause he even gave the lad a chance to reposition himself and cover the side of the goal the kick was ultimately aimed at.

A little less trying to get into the mind of the goalie and a little more trying to get the ball into the net would have gone a long way. Silly boy.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 14/09/2021 15:29:05    2380644

If you disagree with or agree with both these points, fine, if you agree with one, but not the other, you're contradicting yourself."
Mayo reached the all-Ireland final.
Derry and Antrim were beaten in round 1.

The level of expectation must be based on previous and recent performance.
If Antrim won Ulster then that is success
If Derry won Ulster then that is success
If Tyrone win Ulster next year and get beaten in semi-final then possibly not seen as success by supporters.
Dublin supporters would not be satisfied this year even though they won Leinster.
Cavan supporters were over-joyed last year at winning Ulster as were Tipp at winning Munster.
Kerry supporters will not be satisfied this year even though they won Munster.
It's all about managing expectation and expectation is based on previous performance

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 14/09/2021 15:37:08    2380648

Replying To festinog:  "Seriously though lads, that penalty miss. He never had the goalie fooled, and in fact with his mid-run pause he even gave the lad a chance to reposition himself and cover the side of the goal the kick was ultimately aimed at.

A little less trying to get into the mind of the goalie and a little more trying to get the ball into the net would have gone a long way. Silly boy."
It was a bad idea.

Football penos are different to soccer in the the goal is smaller. No decent keeper is going to try and go early as they'll back themselves to react.

That doesn't mean the you don't try and and conceal where you're planning to strike the ball or that a slow run up won't work either. Look at Paul Mannion's peno against Morgan in the 2018 final. Slow run and he puts Morgan the wrong way but even had Morgan gone the right Mannion put his boot right through it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 14/09/2021 16:18:17    2380671

Replying To Galway9801:  "My message was addressed to those (like myself) who believe that perhaps mayo fans enduring, unconditional love for their team might, just might be a slight hindrance.
If it is a hindrance, it's no more of one than GAA fans from, say, Antrim, deciding that they're happy to be very average so long as Tyrone beat (insert Southern team here) in the final.
Food for thought."
You seem to be happy with galway being a joke of a county for the last decade and a half so long as mayo loose.

Sssthe (Mayo) - Posts: 57 - 14/09/2021 16:23:55    2380674

Replying To MesAmis:  "It was a bad idea.

Football penos are different to soccer in the the goal is smaller. No decent keeper is going to try and go early as they'll back themselves to react.

That doesn't mean the you don't try and and conceal where you're planning to strike the ball or that a slow run up won't work either. Look at Paul Mannion's peno against Morgan in the 2018 final. Slow run and he puts Morgan the wrong way but even had Morgan gone the right Mannion put his boot right through it."
Spot on. It says something about mindset and preparation when a lad playing at senior level forgets that he's in Croker and not Old Trafford. Michael Meehan's famous last minute goal against Cork is all you need to know about taking shots on goal; pick a spot and put your foot through the ball.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 14/09/2021 16:47:53    2380685

Satisfied? Absolutely not. This year has been a failure. It's a hard defeat to swallow. Bar three or four players the team never showed up on the day and didn't play to their ability which is disappointing and unacceptable. Management on the sideline we're also poor.

I'm not sure what you or others are getting at when you say Mayo fans are happy and laud their team in defeat. Should we start firing abuse at them on social media? Maybe harass them on the street?

We will have our county boys coming back club training this week…should we run them out the club gates?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 14/09/2021 17:14:23    2380695

Replying To festinog:  "Seriously though lads, that penalty miss. He never had the goalie fooled, and in fact with his mid-run pause he even gave the lad a chance to reposition himself and cover the side of the goal the kick was ultimately aimed at.

A little less trying to get into the mind of the goalie and a little more trying to get the ball into the net would have gone a long way. Silly boy."
I wouldn't agree with you there, Festy. How much does yer man Jorginho earn a week at Chelsea, and that's the method that he uses to convert spotkicks. They're the reigning champions league holders, and he's their peno taker. Is he a silly boy too? Are you a silly boy?

The Tyrone keeper broke the rules by hopping off his line before the take too. He was 100% correct to do so of course, when the referee failed to remedy that rule breach. Mayo were entitled to a retake. Refs often ignore this rule, so last Saturday's officiating of it wasn't unusual, but wasn't correct either.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 14/09/2021 17:16:24    2380697

Replying To MesAmis:  "It was a bad idea.

That doesn't mean the you don't try and and conceal where you're planning to strike the ball or that a slow run up won't work either. Look at Paul Mannion's peno against Morgan in the 2018 final. Slow run and he puts Morgan the wrong way but even had Morgan gone the right Mannion put his boot right through it."
The goal is smaller and the ball is heavier too. The Gaelic keeper definitely has a greater advantage than his soccer counterpart.
I'd agree that the focus should be on sticking it low and hard. A penalty with pace that's very low is hard to stop even if it's not just inside the post.
He stuck away his penalty well against us in the Connacht final, but the pressure of a tight All-Ireland final is a different matter of course.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 14/09/2021 17:29:38    2380704

Replying To yew_tree:  "Satisfied? Absolutely not. This year has been a failure. It's a hard defeat to swallow. Bar three or four players the team never showed up on the day and didn't play to their ability which is disappointing and unacceptable. Management on the sideline we're also poor.

I'm not sure what you or others are getting at when you say Mayo fans are happy and laud their team in defeat. Should we start firing abuse at them on social media? Maybe harass them on the street?

We will have our county boys coming back club training this week…should we run them out the club gates?"
Flogging club players? Harassing inter County players?
I never said, or even suggested anything of the sort.
In fact if you guys had bothered to read my posts you'd see that I didn't even say that coming down hard on the team would be a good thing.

I apologise, I'll try to be more clear in future.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 14/09/2021 19:21:07    2380729

Replying To Sssthe:  "You seem to be happy with galway being a joke of a county for the last decade and a half so long as mayo loose."
I was actually rooting for Mayo in the final, albeit at the final whistle you could only applaud tyrone and acknowledge them as rightful champions and fair play to them.
I'm also well aware of how far off the pace we are here in Galway, though describing us as a joke is a bit much.
I'd reasonably fancy our chances against anyone outside the top 4 of kerry, mayo, tyrone and Dublin.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 14/09/2021 19:55:41    2380736

Replying To Galway9801:  "Flogging club players? Harassing inter County players?
I never said, or even suggested anything of the sort.
In fact if you guys had bothered to read my posts you'd see that I didn't even say that coming down hard on the team would be a good thing.

I apologise, I'll try to be more clear in future."
The implication is that Mayo fans love the team no matter what are are happy to come second…that couldn't be further from the truth. People no days base what they see on social media which is nut job country at the best of times. There was many a harsh word said in bars across the county Sunday. There were very angry and disappointed faces on Mayo fans walking out of Croke Park on Saturday.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 14/09/2021 22:09:20    2380762

Replying To Galway9801:  "I was actually rooting for Mayo in the final, albeit at the final whistle you could only applaud tyrone and acknowledge them as rightful champions and fair play to them.
I'm also well aware of how far off the pace we are here in Galway, though describing us as a joke is a bit much.
I'd reasonably fancy our chances against anyone outside the top 4 of kerry, mayo, tyrone and Dublin."
No county is a joke. Certainly not Galway. We are all Gaels. Some posters here need to learn a little respect and not say things they wouldn't in public.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 14/09/2021 22:11:29    2380763

We did it and it was well deserved. Not sure where Mayo go from here but Tyrone are well poised for more success.

https://unofficialtyrone.wordpress.com/2021/09/15/tyrone-are-all-ireland-champions/

DasRoteHand (Tyrone) - Posts: 17 - 15/09/2021 11:31:47    2380844

Replying To WanPintWin:  "The goal is smaller and the ball is heavier too. The Gaelic keeper definitely has a greater advantage than his soccer counterpart.
I'd agree that the focus should be on sticking it low and hard. A penalty with pace that's very low is hard to stop even if it's not just inside the post.
He stuck away his penalty well against us in the Connacht final, but the pressure of a tight All-Ireland final is a different matter of course."

He stuck away his penalty well against us in the Connacht final.
Not sure about that at all - Galway goalie dived the wrong way, picked a side or whatever you're having yourself. David Clarke or Niall Morgan or any decent keeper who backs themselves ( as MesAmis put it) saves that penalty. And that approach came back to bite him on Saturday.
Some keepers perhaps obligingly pick a side or whatever - good goalies in GAA don't.

Heard commentary (and the video highlights confirmed) on an FBD match penalty shootout between Galway & Mayo in Jan 2020 where the Mayo keeper picked a side for a couple of penos and the Galway lads were just driving it down the middle. The commentator even remarked on it (negatively) before Galway scored their 3rd or 4th penalty straight down the middle. Perhaps thats what's lead Ryan O D astray - If the keeper isn't an eijit you're in trouble. Funnily enough there was a retake in that one for off the line.

Mannnion was mentioned - Dermo Connolly or C O Connor are worth watching also.
And obviously given that the 'keeper off his line rule' isn't rigorously enforced in GAA unlike in soccer the stutter idea just gives the keeper more options.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 15/09/2021 12:03:08    2380857

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Great win. Tyrone were excellent on the day. Well drilled, fit with an excellent bench.

Hard luck to Mayo. Didn't play well but what can you do.

Meyler player of the year."
Its ok Fridge you can say it.

Nobody will think any less of you.

Big deep breath.....and say 'Wally was right all along'

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 17/09/2021 13:05:10    2381298

Serious question. Monaghan lost to Tyrone by just a point. If Monaghan had won, how would they have fared again Kerry?a

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1030 - 17/09/2021 13:27:11    2381303