Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final

Replying To conman1282:  "My honest opinion is that mickey knew that mcshane, mckenna and jesus was coming through and I really think he would have won the ai this year. Fortunately he didn't as then he would have left and we would have an Alex ferguson situation. Dooher and logan now have their ai and are legends. The pressure is off which means we can go without fear."
Totally agree, your named 3 above plus a settled midfield partnership, Morgan, Donnelly, Harte and Sludden all playing their 2018 best again, everything fell into place, the future is bright.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 13/09/2021 12:53:28    2380254

Replying To Rolo99:  "Forget about Mayo lads, they ares serial losers, sob story after sob story, time to move on,
Ulster football football set to dominate league and Championship, Tyrone best team in Ireland."
Wee bit of Brolly in you Rolo, he would kick a man when they're down as well. A wee bit of decorum is easy carried.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 13/09/2021 13:10:29    2380257

Well done to Tyrone, what a win!
I thought Mayo would win on Saturday but its another nearly year for their fans.
My thoughts on the game.

- Expectations: Looking at the reaction of Mayo and their win against Dublin , if you hadn't known what round it was you would have easily mistaken it for a final, and afterwards the hype went into overdrive with the fact that Kerry were knocked out by Tyrone. Mayo's players must have been subliminally thinking that they had this in the bag, and who can blame them, whilst most pundits and fans seen a close game, the overwhelming majority tipped Mayo to come out on top. For a lot of us, this was it, the weekend that Mayo finally got over the line. The GAA hour (Wooly - Draw, Devenney - Mayo , McKernan - Mayo) , Sunday Game - Cavanagh + ORourke - Tyrone, everybody else Mayo, On Sky Donaghy and Canavan - Draw McGuiness - Mayo. And then you have David Brady and his tweet, I seen a few suggestions on Medals David could take a look into, ranging from those available in Knock to some Denny Gold Blend sausages. I think all of this expectancy weighed in on Mayo and maybe led them to believe the men from the red hand county were going to roll over. And then they got the shock of capture when relentless Tyrone started swarming them over and over and over again.
If you look at Tyrone then, I dont think anyone inside or outside of the county thought that this year they would win an All Ireland, I would go as far to say that if a Tyrone man was offered an Ulster title and a close defeat in an All Ireland semi after the Kerry league game that they would have snapped your hand off for it. They came into the game as slight underdogs , most of Ireland routing against them and with no expectations pressing on them from their own people. Unshackled and with their siege mentality well entrenched.

- Patience: Patience was a key aspect of the game. When i rewatched the game it was on display in abundance from the now All Ireland champions, and lacked very much from Mayo. If you watch Tyrone when it came to working balls into scoreable positions , then they were extremely calculated in this, tika taka hand passing moves allowed them to retain possession and get into the right areas for the shots (granted they missed some big score but on the whole they did quite well) and also getting out of tight places at the back. When you look at Mayos patience, they had a lot of patience for O'Shea, im not sure how he stayed on for as long as he did and then you look at Mayos shots, when the pressure was on they started taking the poor option and rushing shots over and over again, countless wides which could and should have been worked more closely into the goal, not having the patience to be sensible about getting at Tyrones defense and just going crashing into a white wall time after time after time.

- Shooting: The shots on display from both sides as ive mentioned were poor in parts and very good at other times (Hampseys outside of the boot score was a real dinger) i thought Morgan was very solid, he can bottle a fair few dead ball situations, but he really was great at the weekend, really played like a quarter back. When it came to Mayo, If Loftus had of just put that shot a yard or two to his right , Mayo would have been a goal up, with huge momentum and sludden wouldnt have got his block in.
On the whole for Mayo the composure wasnt there. For Tyrone, it lacked considerably in the third quarter, when they got the goals which kept Mayo at arms length they couldnt kick on and follow them up with points. If Mayo had of had a fit Cillian O'Connor i think we would have seen a higher scoring game and a much closer contest.

- Refereeing/Discipline: I thought for the most part that McQuillan did a good job, he let the game flow. I think he got the O'Hora black card call wrong, and if it had of been a Tyrone player the entire country would be baying for the Tyrone man to go, the fact that OHora didnt even get booked was also mind boggling, maybe Joe had a soft spot for him after hearing his interview. I thought the Lee Keegan black card call was the right call and a yellow was sufficient. Tyrone are often architects of their own downfall and i was extremely surprised to see them pick up 0 black cards. The first penalty call, was the right one, it was just outside the sqaure, however it wouldnt have been a talking point if OHora was rightly in the sin bin. Frank Burns did a great thing for Tyrone, he may have gave a way a penalty but he gave Tyrone the chance to at least stop the goal from going in. And to their Fortune the stutter run up clipped the post, I think it would have been fair to retake the penalty if it was saved but considering that Morgan had zero chance of touching it i think it was fair that it wasnt retaken. Mayo always have these uh-oh moments and this penalty for me was that moment in this years final. The Red card incident was a red card, if you watch the replay of the hill shot of the handbags you can see in the right hand side of the pitch between the two white flags that Gough is standing watching both players just before Ruane hit the first and second belt. That was the real end for Mayo, and I think the Tyrone man was lucky enough to have gotten away with only a yellow, but it would have made no difference at that stage.

Tyrone were too good for Mayo at the end of the day and I dont think anyone will have any qualms about that.

Tyrone have a great core group of players there, and whilst some time ago they relied on individuals, they are now a collective and will be formidable opponents going into the future, the two midfielders will be crucial to this. Enjoy the victory and the pints which follow afterwards you have more than deserved it.

For Mayo, its back to the drawing board again, with a fully fit squad you will be there or thereabouts next year again.

BilboNaggins (Galway) - Posts: 59 - 13/09/2021 13:15:03    2380258

Great win. Tyrone were excellent on the day. Well drilled, fit with an excellent bench.

Hard luck to Mayo. Didn't play well but what can you do.

Meyler player of the year.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 13/09/2021 13:22:42    2380260

A great win for Tyrone. Niall Morgan had probably his best ever game. A net scoring difference on your goalkeeper of + 0:3 (nothing conceded and 3 scored) means you're very likely to win. 2 very well worked Tyrone goals both with excellent passes to set them up from Meyler and Mc Kenna.

Mc Quillan had a good game it has to be said. Got the 2 penalty calls right. The first was just outside and the second was touched on the ground. I could see the concern on his face when he was giving the penalty. It's got to be stressful.

Hard luck to Mayo and hopefully they can get over the line another year soon.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 13/09/2021 13:25:18    2380262

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Congratulations Tyrone, you played very well, that was clear to see, and that's coming from someone who's rubbish at analysing games. You've certainly earned it with the calibre of opposition you played. Tremendous achievement too for Brian Dooher. First year at the helm too.

Hard luck Mayo. Is there a curse? I said it here in 2017 or 2018 (can't find the post) that there was no curse if you change your goalkeeper before a replay or if you get your free changed to a hop ball for retaliation because that's down to the poor decisions you've made. Now, furthermore, you might think there was a curse if they'd lost by a point plus a very hairy refereeing decision or some rotten bad luck like the ball hitting a seagull and going wide. But they were properly outscored by a very good team who, according to everyone else (I haven't seen them), have been brilliant all year. So maybe the only curse is in their heads, what with that penalty miss and the scenery of wides in the third quarter when Tyrone's three point lead was there to be swallowed up like the last Jaffa cake on the plate. I was joking (followed by the words "and that's no joke") with a friend on WhatsApp that our beloved Leitrim would beat Mayo in the final courtesy of the curse. I do think that Mayo have the winning of an All-Ireland, but similarly Jimmy White, former world No 2 ranked player and former UK Championship and Masters champion, had the winning of the World Championship but it didn't happen. I think if the current crop of players continue to let it settle in their brains, then it'll be at least another few years before they finally get over the line. I know there's been some poor management decisions over the years, leaving on Aidan O'Shea being the latest, but Stephen Rochford can't come on and start kicking them between the posts."
S̶t̶e̶p̶h̶e̶n̶ ̶R̶o̶c̶h̶f̶o̶r̶d̶ James Horan, oops.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 13/09/2021 13:35:43    2380265

Replying To Gleebo:  "Agree with this, though I can't isolate it as the reason why we lost. Hennelly has conceded soft goals in every All-Ireland final he has ever played in, and astonishingly, there are a lot of Mayo fans who won't hear any criticism of him. I don't know what to make of that, quite frankly. I would put McShane's goal down to him, which undermined an otherwise decent performance.

What I will say is that his fluffed kickout at the end of the 2017 final aside, Clarke was unquestionably a much better goalkeeper, and I would have been more confident with him in nets on Saturday. But that's moot.

On the game overall, Tyrone got their tactics spot-on, and tbh it looks like Mayo's backroom team didn't learn any lessons from the Kerry semi-final or indeed some recent games against the opposition. We had little other tactics other than to run the ball into tackles, repeating the same mistakes Kerry made by getting turned over repeatedly. We also came up with a few new ones of our own, such as Loftus missing the open goal, missing a penalty and two other decent goal chances.

In all honesty, other than Keegan, Stephen Coen and Tommy (even though he spurned a goal chance), maybe Paddy Durcan also, few Mayo players played near to their potential.

As much as I admire James Horan's contribution to Mayo football (and he has made a very significant one, given where we were when he first took over), it's clear that he hasn't learned much from previous All-Ireland defeats. Tyrone knew that our hard press would leave space in behind and hit repeated long angled passes into their full-forward line. I reckon they got 2-5 or 2-6 out of their final tally of 2-14 due to that tactic.

This situation was crying out for a sweeper to cut out that threat, but Horan refuses to play one, and that decision has consequences, primarily several preventable goals conceded in big games over the years.

It would also have to be said that time looks to be up for a few of the veterans of the side. I feel sorry for Lee Keegan in particular, who has always turned up in All-Ireland finals and did so again last Saturday. He deserves a celtic cross but he won't get one.

As for Joe Brolly, his entire analysis tends to boil down to the winners being great, and everyone else being terrible, not just as footballers but also human beings. No doubt if the result had been reversed he would have attacked Tyrone as viciously as he's now attacking us."
Yeah I agree that the Hennelly's mistakes can't be taken as the sole reason for the loss. I was more making the point that I think the Hennelly/Clarke of over and back between the two with ultimately no improvement is in contrast with Morgan's obvious learning and improving as he's gotten older.

Yous are very close and clearly doing a lot right in the county but some of the errors have a familiar feel is all.

Agree wholeheartedly about Brolly.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 13/09/2021 13:40:48    2380269

Replying To timmyhogan:  ".
It is one thing to know how to hurt the opposition but Tyrone were very poor in their shooting. Tyrone forwards will have to be much more accurate in their score taking or next year they will be found out badly.

About the only (or one of the few) sensible after match posts on HS and your point bolded above highlights the tale of the match.
Normally a team won't win an AIF if they hit 5 or 6 bad wides & no points in the first 20/25 mins of the 2nd half when defending a 2 point lead. Of course normally the opponents goalie wont gift you a goal under a high ball - although that particular keeper has done it twice before. Not having a pop at RH but facts are facts, it happens too often but the lad doesn't do it on purpose.

Tyrone won Saturday because they beat what was in front of them. Mayo didn't because they butchered 4 clear cut goal scoring chances* - followed up with 4/5 bad wides into Canal end after the penalty.
The first* by Loftus one of Mayo's more talented players was as bad as the penalty miss & he left
3 more points behind. For all the talk of this that and the other (matchups, tactics , turnovers) IF Loftus and Hennelly alone have good games Mayo win the match probably.

You have a point on O Shea but there were 4 or 5 players Mayo players who could have been subbed as easily. Admittedly you wouldn't think so reading the tabloidesque Joe Brolly/Meghan Markle nonsense in most of the comments here.

Good Luck to Tyrone - better team on the day but they and Mayo are both 9/1 for Sam next year for a reason. That won't worry Tyrone too much, worthy champs but Mayo might never have a better chance. They could play alot better in a Semi or Final in the near future and be beaten."
I can't remember all four goal chances, just the penalty miss and the one where the Tyrone man got back in time in the first half and got in the way. What were the other two?

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 13/09/2021 13:55:08    2380273

Replying To Rolo99:  "Forget about Mayo lads, they ares serial losers, sob story after sob story, time to move on,
Ulster football football set to dominate league and Championship, Tyrone best team in Ireland."
Tyrone are very good but much but I'd say they'll be carrying the ulster torch all on their own for some time to come. No other northern team will win it anytime soon imo.
Alot is being said about how mayo fans need to demand more from their team but perhaps if ulster fans concentrated more on their own counties lack of success instead of cheering on tyrone (and maybe occasionally Donegal) against those horrible southerners they'd see some improvement too?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 13/09/2021 14:25:49    2380285

Replying To conman1282:  "My honest opinion is that mickey knew that mcshane, mckenna and jesus was coming through and I really think he would have won the ai this year. Fortunately he didn't as then he would have left and we would have an Alex ferguson situation. Dooher and logan now have their ai and are legends. The pressure is off which means we can go without fear."
Please don't start this "Jesus" it is embarrassing.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 13/09/2021 16:24:24    2380325

Difference between the teams was the goalkeeper; Morgan was superb, 2 pts from 45s, an effective extra man coming forward, long raking kick-outs, one of which yielded a goal directly, a good save and psyching out Mayo for the penalty (tho he was well out of his goal, thought it might have been re-taken).

befair (Down) - Posts: 237 - 13/09/2021 16:29:45    2380327

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "Please don't start this "Jesus" it is embarrassing."
I take it that "Jesus" refers to Darragh Canavan?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/09/2021 16:37:56    2380330

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "
It is one thing to know how to hurt the opposition but Tyrone were very poor in their shooting. Tyrone forwards will have to be much more accurate in their score taking or next year they will be found out badly.

About the only (or one of the few) sensible after match posts on HS and your point bolded above highlights the tale of the match.
Normally a team won't win an AIF if they hit 5 or 6 bad wides & no points in the first 20/25 mins of the 2nd half when defending a 2 point lead. Of course normally the opponents goalie wont gift you a goal under a high ball - although that particular keeper has done it twice before. Not having a pop at RH but facts are facts, it happens too often but the lad doesn't do it on purpose.

Tyrone won Saturday because they beat what was in front of them. Mayo didn't because they butchered 4 clear cut goal scoring chances* - followed up with 4/5 bad wides into Canal end after the penalty.
The first* by Loftus one of Mayo's more talented players was as bad as the penalty miss & he left
3 more points behind. For all the talk of this that and the other (matchups, tactics , turnovers) IF Loftus and Hennelly alone have good games Mayo win the match probably.

You have a point on O Shea but there were 4 or 5 players Mayo players who could have been subbed as easily. Admittedly you wouldn't think so reading the tabloidesque Joe Brolly/Meghan Markle nonsense in most of the comments here.

Good Luck to Tyrone - better team on the day but they and Mayo are both 9/1 for Sam next year for a reason. That won't worry Tyrone too much, worthy champs but Mayo might never have a better chance. They could play alot better in a Semi or Final in the near future and be beaten."
I can't remember all four goal chances, just the penalty miss and the one where the Tyrone man got back in time in the first half and got in the way. What were the other two?"
I'd guess he's referring to the chance that Tommy Conroy drilled wide in the second half, and possibly the one from an acute angle that Bryan Walsh shanked wide on the right hand side from about ten yards out.

The latter was only a half chance IMO (Walsh should have palmed it over the bar), but if Conroy had gotten his head up there was a free man yards out from goal.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/09/2021 16:43:10    2380332

Replying To Galway9801:  "Tyrone are very good but much but I'd say they'll be carrying the ulster torch all on their own for some time to come. No other northern team will win it anytime soon imo.
Alot is being said about how mayo fans need to demand more from their team but perhaps if ulster fans concentrated more on their own counties lack of success instead of cheering on tyrone (and maybe occasionally Donegal) against those horrible southerners they'd see some improvement too?"
What a pile of nonsense. Picking a team for the AI final is hardly going to have an impact on any county's performances. Do you think those cold January nights are spent honouring a neighbouring county? Just like your own province, some counties get it right and others don't. That's sport. You clearly take who people decide to cheer for quite personally when it's really none of your business, food for thought.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 13/09/2021 17:35:26    2380349

Never is a long time Timmy and Mayo will have that better chance.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 13/09/2021 18:02:25    2380361

Replying To Gleebo:  "
Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "[quote=timmyhogan:  ".

I can't remember all four goal chances, just the penalty miss and the one where the Tyrone man got back in time in the first half and got in the way. What were the other two?"
I'd guess he's referring to the chance that Tommy Conroy drilled wide in the second half, and possibly the one from an acute angle that Bryan Walsh shanked wide on the right hand side from about ten yards out.

The latter was only a half chance IMO (Walsh should have palmed it over the bar), but if Conroy had gotten his head up there was a free man yards out from goal."].
No, O Shea & Loftus in the 1st half & Conroy and the peno in the 2nd. Walsh's was only a point chance really.

I'm not surprised at your average HS poster having an opinion on a match they haven't watched but I had higher hopes for you Gleebo. It was Mayo in an AIF after all ;-)

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 13/09/2021 18:14:35    2380364

Question for ye rules exists out there. Not looking for opinion just wondering if anyone knows the rule.

Morgan had a hop ball given against him when it was ruled a kick out didn't pass the 21. In my opinion the ball passed the 21 and curled back inside it before it was picked up. In this instance should the referee not have deemed the ball travelled the required distance?

Before people start dating it never crossed the line (it did) let's pretend it did so we can get correct interpretation of rule.

Any referee's out there that can help??

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 13/09/2021 18:50:20    2380369

Think that strikes me as being a bit unfair is that when tyrone beat Kerry and mayo the focus was on how did kerry or mayo play bad. It wasn't on that tyrone played well.

Mayo or kerry didn't set out to lose and didn't play bad. When kerry or Dublin hammer teams the media fawn over how wonderful they are but when they get beaten its how did they play so bad.

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 13/09/2021 19:02:05    2380374

Replying To Mayonman:  "Question for ye rules exists out there. Not looking for opinion just wondering if anyone knows the rule.

Morgan had a hop ball given against him when it was ruled a kick out didn't pass the 21. In my opinion the ball passed the 21 and curled back inside it before it was picked up. In this instance should the referee not have deemed the ball travelled the required distance?

Before people start dating it never crossed the line (it did) let's pretend it did so we can get correct interpretation of rule.

Any referee's out there that can help??"
Mayoman I'm no expert but I believe that possession must be gained from the kick out outside the 21 and the D area. It is a foul if the ball passes the 21 but curl back and a player gains possession in these circumstances. This should lead to a throw-up.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 13/09/2021 19:28:52    2380376

Replying To Mayonman:  "Question for ye rules exists out there. Not looking for opinion just wondering if anyone knows the rule.

Any referee's out there that can help??"
The defender cant collect the ball inside the 20m line

DelganyUpper (Tyrone) - Posts: 17 - 13/09/2021 19:30:05    2380379