Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final

Most stupid moment of the day was Larry Mccarthy not handing the Sam Maguire cup directly to Padraig Hampsey on the grounds of "covid", but then giving him the same fecking microphone he'd been talking into for the previous five minutes! (face-palm emoji) Ah here...

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 12/09/2021 21:41:01    2380093

Replying To ballydalane:  "Most stupid moment of the day was Larry Mccarthy not handing the Sam Maguire cup directly to Padraig Hampsey on the grounds of "covid", but then giving him the same fecking microphone he'd been talking into for the previous five minutes! (face-palm emoji) Ah here..."
Load of b******s, why do the umpires wear masks? Around their chins at that.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 12/09/2021 23:08:25    2380113

Replying To kick-it:  "Tyrone fully deserved their win, was Mickey Harte holding back the team after all by staying on?

There is a lot of focus on Aidan O'Shea and his poor performance. On the other hand he was waiting in the square for ages and Mayo would simply not kick the ball into him, they kept running at Tyrone and Tyrone kept turning them over. Tactically that is on the Mayo manager. What is O'Shea supposed to do in that instance. Yep he came out the field to try and gain possession where he was even less of a threat."
Think Mickey Harte deserves some credit for the win. He was working with those players, developing them, for the last few years.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11732 - 12/09/2021 23:30:16    2380121

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "People mentioning Aidan O'Shea here having a poor game, I can't understand why he is played in the forwards. He is not a forward he can do a job against a division 2 or 3 team up there but he has failed to have a good game in the forwards against the top teams in the championship, he is 1 of the best mid-field players in the country that is his position and he is good there. You don't see Dublin playing Brian Fenton and Kerry putting David Moran up in their full forward line, they have them out the field where they are far more effective and that is where Aidan O'Shea should be for Mayo."
He doesn't have the legs for midfield anymore, which is part of the conundrum. Especially in Croke Park against top opposition. His stamina in general is questionable as he has regularly faded out of games in the latter stages. At his size, it's difficult to expect him to cover that much ground and it's not going to get any easier for him given the miles on the clock.
There has often been a question about how to get the best out of him, but it's becoming even more pertinent now.
I've commented a number of times in the past that his style of play has hampered Mayo in big games over the year. His regular seeking of contact after getting the ball slows things down. He actually moved the ball much more quickly on Saturday and I thought he made a decent contribution in the 1st half (except for his finishing), but he seemed to be out of steam by half-time and had little to no impact on the second-half.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2036 - 12/09/2021 23:52:33    2380130

Replying To ballydalane:  "To be fair, Brolly was kicking OShea after the Baywatch style photoshoot before the final. I was hoping and praying Mayo would win and OShea play a stormer just to sicken Brolly and shut him up for a while, but you have to admit, Brolly has been spot on."
Brolly would be better suited writing for an English paper over the water,he has no respect for GAA talking the way he does, surly he jumps on the winners bandwagon . All his talk against Mayo is a disgrace . Now he's drooling over Darragh Canavan , Darraghs father Peter wouldn't **** on Joe if he was on fire. Joe loves himself, nobody else does.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 12/09/2021 23:57:14    2380133

Replying To essmac:  "I was thinking that. Nobody will be nailed on favourites next year. Couple of Ulster teams licking their wounds as well and plotting our downfall even as I write this. It should be epic"
Just had a look at the odds for next year:

Dublin 11/8

Kerry 6/4

Mayo 9/1

Tyrone 9/1

Donegal 16/1

Galway 20/1

Monaghan 66/1

Armagh 66/1

Meath 80/1

Cork 80/1

Kildare 100/1

Derry 100/1

Incredible really, after this year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/09/2021 00:05:28    2380135

Congratulations Tyrone, you played very well, that was clear to see, and that's coming from someone who's rubbish at analysing games. You've certainly earned it with the calibre of opposition you played. Tremendous achievement too for Brian Dooher. First year at the helm too.

Hard luck Mayo. Is there a curse? I said it here in 2017 or 2018 (can't find the post) that there was no curse if you change your goalkeeper before a replay or if you get your free changed to a hop ball for retaliation because that's down to the poor decisions you've made. Now, furthermore, you might think there was a curse if they'd lost by a point plus a very hairy refereeing decision or some rotten bad luck like the ball hitting a seagull and going wide. But they were properly outscored by a very good team who, according to everyone else (I haven't seen them), have been brilliant all year. So maybe the only curse is in their heads, what with that penalty miss and the scenery of wides in the third quarter when Tyrone's three point lead was there to be swallowed up like the last Jaffa cake on the plate. I was joking (followed by the words "and that's no joke") with a friend on WhatsApp that our beloved Leitrim would beat Mayo in the final courtesy of the curse. I do think that Mayo have the winning of an All-Ireland, but similarly Jimmy White, former world No 2 ranked player and former UK Championship and Masters champion, had the winning of the World Championship but it didn't happen. I think if the current crop of players continue to let it settle in their brains, then it'll be at least another few years before they finally get over the line. I know there's been some poor management decisions over the years, leaving on Aidan O'Shea being the latest, but Stephen Rochford can't come on and start kicking them between the posts.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 13/09/2021 00:20:59    2380137

Replying To kick-it:  "Tyrone fully deserved their win, was Mickey Harte holding back the team after all by staying on?

There is a lot of focus on Aidan O'Shea and his poor performance. On the other hand he was waiting in the square for ages and Mayo would simply not kick the ball into him, they kept running at Tyrone and Tyrone kept turning them over. Tactically that is on the Mayo manager. What is O'Shea supposed to do in that instance. Yep he came out the field to try and gain possession where he was even less of a threat."
My honest opinion is that mickey knew that mcshane, mckenna and jesus was coming through and I really think he would have won the ai this year. Fortunately he didn't as then he would have left and we would have an Alex ferguson situation. Dooher and logan now have their ai and are legends. The pressure is off which means we can go without fear.

conman1282 (Tyrone) - Posts: 88 - 13/09/2021 00:24:40    2380140

Replying To TheUsername:  "Nice one Mick. I watched it dribs and drabs probably 30 mins a half, was filling a skip to be honest, unavoidable as the better half is from Mayo. It's the club champo were all the focus is at the now and great to be able to get to the games tbh I've missed the club games.

Watching the final, felt a bit out of body experience, fun but a bit like watching the Charity Shield, it's all about the Dubs for me, I don't get excited or entertained by anything else to be honest, I can appreciate Tyrone, utterly deserved and great to see, but sizing them up all ready with my Dubs glasses on and craving to meet them from a Dub point of view, I'm the exception I know. With the season over now we're back in play. Was chatting to one of the Dubs lads last weekend, they are hurting, based on that convo I can see back competing to our potential next year, I sense a new hunger and focus - fingers crossed anyway.

Thought Morgan was brilliant all year as a complete keepers performance as you can see, thought he was exceptional, kicking accuracy, distance, taking the ball as an out under pressure, kicking points, playing fly, tremendous performance. We always had a bit banter with him in the hill, caused a melt down once or twice over the years, he didn't take it well. The Paddy Andrews thing I was very close to that night, was nasty, I'm not a fan of his, but he brilliant yesterday, so credit we're it's due.

Delighted for Tyrone, the champo next year is going to be sublime, Kerry, Dublin and ultimately Mayo all schooled, hurting and the bears are well and truly poked, throw the All Ireland Champions and we have a ding dong of a championship."
I was at the game and enjoyed it. Tyrone deserved it for sure. Yeah the Dubs will be back strong next year. A loss makes you hungry again. On Morgan yes he was fab yesterday. Its not long ago many posters including Tyrone were saying he should be dropped but in fairness to him he was fab yesterday. On the Paddy Andrews incident. It was a horrible tackle but tbf he did contact Paddy after to apologise and said he did nt mean it. We can only take him at his word. I used to dislike him too but I've changed. He showed great sportsmanship in semi v Kerry helping both Clifford bros with cramps especially David when he was in a bad way. Also yesterday he was interviewed after saying he felt sorry for Ryan Ó Donoghue for the penalty miss and that a Goalie has no pressure for penalties. He seemed so genuine. Anyway roll on the county championships now and then league and hope you ve that skip filled User. Take care.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 13/09/2021 00:25:16    2380142

It's great to see Tyrone finally getting recognition from the football Establishment. They have had some really unfair criticism thrown at them which has had more than a touch of geographical and partitionist bias let's be honest. They are a great GAA county with great GAA people and they deserve to bask in the praise coming their way. Take a bow Tyrone.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 13/09/2021 03:54:50    2380148

One happy Armagh man here, Tyrone were 13/10 to win, thanks lads! I had to look twice at those odds as I thought it was a mistake, buying money.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1053 - 13/09/2021 08:18:12    2380154

I think waking up yesterday as a Mayo fan the overriding emotion must have been sheer and utter frustration. I said it earlier last week that I felt Mayo had played their final v Dublin and the emotional scenes etc at full time that day would be hard to come back down from to regroup and settle things before a final. Mayo looked tired mentally and physically bar one or two standout performers like Keegan.
Horan was being lauded as a tactical genius and being brave for taking O'Shea off in the semi-final when in truth it was a fairly obvious thing to do given he had done next to nothing all day. Starting him on Saturday was a mistake and 100% his performance levels come under far more scrutiny than any other Mayo player. In sport in general big players come up with big plays in big moments. I can't say he has done that in any final he has played in. Watching the McShane goal was like watching Brogan's goal in 2013. Very silly and careless error to make by Hennelly. The ball was in the air long enough to make a decision to come and clear house or stay on your line and at least be in a position to make a save if McShane fetched it. Tidy finish for sure but Hennelly made it very easy.
Tyrone I have to say delivered such a business like and all round polished performance bar a period of about 10 mins when they kicked a few very silly wides in the second half. All singing off the same hymn sheet, to a man they know their job and they execute their tasks with precision, poise and serious intensity. They'll fancy featuring serious now over the next few years with a nice age profile in the squad too.
Interesting to see the odds for next year are out already: Dublin 11/8, Kerry 6/4 and Mayo & Tyrone both 9/1. Mayo could be 90/1 and still unbackable I'm afraid as that for me is just one final too many to give them the benefit of the doubt again.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 13/09/2021 09:35:57    2380164

Replying To Viking66:  "Think Mickey Harte deserves some credit for the win. He was working with those players, developing them, for the last few years."
A O'S is a celebrity and makes quite a bit of money out of it. Fair play to him.

Does it detract from his football - probably?

Are Mayo fans happy to see him doing well as a celebrity or would they prefer him to make an impact on the big days?

I think his problem is he's just a bit too slow for the top level teams. See how long it took for him to get his shot off for the goal chance by which time it was easy for McNamee to block. I do think Mayo play better when he's not on the field.

Newman21 (Donegal) - Posts: 36 - 13/09/2021 09:46:15    2380168

Replying To TheUsername:  "Just had a look at the odds for next year:

Dublin 11/8

Kerry 6/4

Mayo 9/1

Tyrone 9/1

Donegal 16/1

Galway 20/1

Monaghan 66/1

Armagh 66/1

Meath 80/1

Cork 80/1

Kildare 100/1

Derry 100/1

Incredible really, after this year."
I'm yet to meet a poor bookie.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 13/09/2021 09:57:19    2380171

Replying To Newman21:  "A O'S is a celebrity and makes quite a bit of money out of it. Fair play to him.

Does it detract from his football - probably?

Are Mayo fans happy to see him doing well as a celebrity or would they prefer him to make an impact on the big days?

I think his problem is he's just a bit too slow for the top level teams. See how long it took for him to get his shot off for the goal chance by which time it was easy for McNamee to block. I do think Mayo play better when he's not on the field."
No one really cares about what Aidan does off the pitch nor should they and I don't think it affects his performances. What does affect his performances are the limitations you pointed out. People saying he should play midfield forget that Aidan is too easily run past and away from in open country. He could be more effective as a defensive stopper around the halfback line and staying within a 20m radius of the chb position, giving ball won to the flyers or simple passes out to midfielders ahead of him. While this might seem too limited for some, someone like Roy Keane very effectively performed a similar role on the soccer pitch... broke up play, then a simple pass out. Roy very rarely made a pass longer than 20m, generally they were much shorter and he stopped trying to be box to box after he matured. Aidan still tries to do too much and doesn't get away with it against the good teams... this isn't news, but still he got to play a free role again in the final from nominally his worst position, No 11, a position which demands him to track runners and puts him in range of the posts occasionally where his shot conversion can't be greater than 20%.

I don't blame Rob Hennelly for either of Tyrone's goals. McShane was a good 5 meters behind his man (Mullin I think) and if Rob didn't come out McShane would have caught the ball and likely finished. So damned if he did and if he didn't. The second goal was just fantastic vision and execution and would have stranded any keeper. Apart from just one stray kickout his restarts were reliable and he made that very good save to keep McCurry's shot out. Mayo didn't lose because of Rob. They surrendered the initiative early, relaxing after making that good start and became increasingly frantic when the chances to wrest it back (the goal chances) didn't come off. Kerry did the same in the semi-final, with both becoming tunnel-visioned trying to work goals. At least Kerry had the excuse of being the first to fall into the trap but our lads inexplicably joined them there.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 13/09/2021 11:44:17    2380218

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Congratulations Tyrone, you played very well, that was clear to see, and that's coming from someone who's rubbish at analysing games. You've certainly earned it with the calibre of opposition you played. Tremendous achievement too for Brian Dooher. First year at the helm too.

Hard luck Mayo. Is there a curse? I said it here in 2017 or 2018 (can't find the post) that there was no curse if you change your goalkeeper before a replay or if you get your free changed to a hop ball for retaliation because that's down to the poor decisions you've made. Now, furthermore, you might think there was a curse if they'd lost by a point plus a very hairy refereeing decision or some rotten bad luck like the ball hitting a seagull and going wide. But they were properly outscored by a very good team who, according to everyone else (I haven't seen them), have been brilliant all year. So maybe the only curse is in their heads, what with that penalty miss and the scenery of wides in the third quarter when Tyrone's three point lead was there to be swallowed up like the last Jaffa cake on the plate. I was joking (followed by the words "and that's no joke") with a friend on WhatsApp that our beloved Leitrim would beat Mayo in the final courtesy of the curse. I do think that Mayo have the winning of an All-Ireland, but similarly Jimmy White, former world No 2 ranked player and former UK Championship and Masters champion, had the winning of the World Championship but it didn't happen. I think if the current crop of players continue to let it settle in their brains, then it'll be at least another few years before they finally get over the line. I know there's been some poor management decisions over the years, leaving on Aidan O'Shea being the latest, but Stephen Rochford can't come on and start kicking them between the posts."
Forget about Mayo lads, they ares serial losers, sob story after sob story, time to move on,
Ulster football football set to dominate league and Championship, Tyrone best team in Ireland.

Rolo99 (Tyrone) - Posts: 19 - 13/09/2021 11:46:35    2380219

Replying To sam2008:  "A few points

The Mayo fans are a credit to their county. Great lads, lovely girls and magnanimous in defeat but they will all be back next year no matter about yesterday.

The Mayo management got their biggest call wrong by playing Aidan O'Shea. O'Shea made no significant impact in the game and after the throw-in in the first half got his next touch after 17 mins. In the second half I asked my mate had O'Shea being taken off. Making O'Shea captain was a mistake and his inclusion in the team must annoy squad members?

Credit must be given to the Tyrone management team in their analysis of the game and teams in this Championship. Tyrone have pinpointed how to most effectively hurt the opposition and how to contain the opposition's attacks.

It is one thing to know how to hurt the opposition but Tyrone were very poor in their shooting. Tyrone forwards will have to be much more accurate in their score taking or next year they will be found out badly.

Tyrone must find a reliable free taker, at this stage this is beyond a joke.

The Tyrone midfielders Kilpatrick and Kennedy were immense yesterday a complete revelation and it was their displays that were crucial in the Tyrone win. These two guys have the potential to be central to Tyrone success in years to come."
It is one thing to know how to hurt the opposition but Tyrone were very poor in their shooting. Tyrone forwards will have to be much more accurate in their score taking or next year they will be found out badly.

About the only (or one of the few) sensible after match posts on HS and your point bolded above highlights the tale of the match.
Normally a team won't win an AIF if they hit 5 or 6 bad wides & no points in the first 20/25 mins of the 2nd half when defending a 2 point lead. Of course normally the opponents goalie wont gift you a goal under a high ball - although that particular keeper has done it twice before. Not having a pop at RH but facts are facts, it happens too often but the lad doesn't do it on purpose.

Tyrone won Saturday because they beat what was in front of them. Mayo didn't because they butchered 4 clear cut goal scoring chances* - followed up with 4/5 bad wides into Canal end after the penalty.
The first* by Loftus one of Mayo's more talented players was as bad as the penalty miss & he left
3 more points behind. For all the talk of this that and the other (matchups, tactics , turnovers) IF Loftus and Hennelly alone have good games Mayo win the match probably.

You have a point on O Shea but there were 4 or 5 players Mayo players who could have been subbed as easily. Admittedly you wouldn't think so reading the tabloidesque Joe Brolly/Meghan Markle nonsense in most of the comments here.

Good Luck to Tyrone - better team on the day but they and Mayo are both 9/1 for Sam next year for a reason. That won't worry Tyrone too much, worthy champs but Mayo might never have a better chance. They could play alot better in a Semi or Final in the near future and be beaten.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 13/09/2021 11:50:49    2380221

Replying To MesAmis:  "A tale of two keepers.

Hennelly is still making the same mistakes he has always made. Not learning. Mayo have always had a problem at keeper during this last decade, Clarke's meltdown at the end of 2017 final was the deciding factor in that game. The position yo yoed between the two of them with one getting back in when the other made the same inevitable errors again in an endless cycle until Clarke's retirement.

In contrast with Morgan who since coming in round 2013 for Tyrone, has had some bad days but has continued to grow and learn as a keeper. He's the best in the business now, alongside Beggan."
Agree with this, though I can't isolate it as the reason why we lost. Hennelly has conceded soft goals in every All-Ireland final he has ever played in, and astonishingly, there are a lot of Mayo fans who won't hear any criticism of him. I don't know what to make of that, quite frankly. I would put McShane's goal down to him, which undermined an otherwise decent performance.

What I will say is that his fluffed kickout at the end of the 2017 final aside, Clarke was unquestionably a much better goalkeeper, and I would have been more confident with him in nets on Saturday. But that's moot.

On the game overall, Tyrone got their tactics spot-on, and tbh it looks like Mayo's backroom team didn't learn any lessons from the Kerry semi-final or indeed some recent games against the opposition. We had little other tactics other than to run the ball into tackles, repeating the same mistakes Kerry made by getting turned over repeatedly. We also came up with a few new ones of our own, such as Loftus missing the open goal, missing a penalty and two other decent goal chances.

In all honesty, other than Keegan, Stephen Coen and Tommy (even though he spurned a goal chance), maybe Paddy Durcan also, few Mayo players played near to their potential.

As much as I admire James Horan's contribution to Mayo football (and he has made a very significant one, given where we were when he first took over), it's clear that he hasn't learned much from previous All-Ireland defeats. Tyrone knew that our hard press would leave space in behind and hit repeated long angled passes into their full-forward line. I reckon they got 2-5 or 2-6 out of their final tally of 2-14 due to that tactic.

This situation was crying out for a sweeper to cut out that threat, but Horan refuses to play one, and that decision has consequences, primarily several preventable goals conceded in big games over the years.

It would also have to be said that time looks to be up for a few of the veterans of the side. I feel sorry for Lee Keegan in particular, who has always turned up in All-Ireland finals and did so again last Saturday. He deserves a celtic cross but he won't get one.

As for Joe Brolly, his entire analysis tends to boil down to the winners being great, and everyone else being terrible, not just as footballers but also human beings. No doubt if the result had been reversed he would have attacked Tyrone as viciously as he's now attacking us.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/09/2021 11:56:23    2380222

Replying To sean og:  "One happy Armagh man here, Tyrone were 13/10 to win, thanks lads! I had to look twice at those odds as I thought it was a mistake, buying money."
Jeez mate, you missed out big time.
I backed them at 20/1 before the Donegal game. Like a few others here you must be new to this post result betting lark!

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 13/09/2021 12:18:15    2380232

Replying To Gleebo:  "Agree with this, though I can't isolate it as the reason why we lost. Hennelly has conceded soft goals in every All-Ireland final he has ever played in, and astonishingly, there are a lot of Mayo fans who won't hear any criticism of him. I don't know what to make of that, quite frankly. I would put McShane's goal down to him, which undermined an otherwise decent performance.

What I will say is that his fluffed kickout at the end of the 2017 final aside, Clarke was unquestionably a much better goalkeeper, and I would have been more confident with him in nets on Saturday. But that's moot.

On the game overall, Tyrone got their tactics spot-on, and tbh it looks like Mayo's backroom team didn't learn any lessons from the Kerry semi-final or indeed some recent games against the opposition. We had little other tactics other than to run the ball into tackles, repeating the same mistakes Kerry made by getting turned over repeatedly. We also came up with a few new ones of our own, such as Loftus missing the open goal, missing a penalty and two other decent goal chances.

In all honesty, other than Keegan, Stephen Coen and Tommy (even though he spurned a goal chance), maybe Paddy Durcan also, few Mayo players played near to their potential.

As much as I admire James Horan's contribution to Mayo football (and he has made a very significant one, given where we were when he first took over), it's clear that he hasn't learned much from previous All-Ireland defeats. Tyrone knew that our hard press would leave space in behind and hit repeated long angled passes into their full-forward line. I reckon they got 2-5 or 2-6 out of their final tally of 2-14 due to that tactic.

This situation was crying out for a sweeper to cut out that threat, but Horan refuses to play one, and that decision has consequences, primarily several preventable goals conceded in big games over the years.

It would also have to be said that time looks to be up for a few of the veterans of the side. I feel sorry for Lee Keegan in particular, who has always turned up in All-Ireland finals and did so again last Saturday. He deserves a celtic cross but he won't get one.

As for Joe Brolly, his entire analysis tends to boil down to the winners being great, and everyone else being terrible, not just as footballers but also human beings. No doubt if the result had been reversed he would have attacked Tyrone as viciously as he's now attacking us."
Agree with you re Brolly.
He probably has two diametrically opposed pieces ready to print before each game and whichever one he puts forward depends on the result.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 13/09/2021 12:37:07    2380246