Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final

Tyrone fully deserved their win, was Mickey Harte holding back the team after all by staying on?

There is a lot of focus on Aidan O'Shea and his poor performance. On the other hand he was waiting in the square for ages and Mayo would simply not kick the ball into him, they kept running at Tyrone and Tyrone kept turning them over. Tactically that is on the Mayo manager. What is O'Shea supposed to do in that instance. Yep he came out the field to try and gain possession where he was even less of a threat.

kick-it (Leitrim) - Posts: 33 - 12/09/2021 12:44:34    2379928

People mentioning Aidan O'Shea here having a poor game, I can't understand why he is played in the forwards. He is not a forward he can do a job against a division 2 or 3 team up there but he has failed to have a good game in the forwards against the top teams in the championship, he is 1 of the best mid-field players in the country that is his position and he is good there. You don't see Dublin playing Brian Fenton and Kerry putting David Moran up in their full forward line, they have them out the field where they are far more effective and that is where Aidan O'Shea should be for Mayo.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 12/09/2021 12:47:56    2379930

Replying To endgame:  "McQuillan for all this talk of Dublin Joe has always given decisions to Mayo when he's reffed them in big matches.
Not sure but did James Horan psych him out of it sometime."
Horan coined the "Dublin Joe" thing for the 2012 semi. Who won that?

In fairness to him, he gave the major call against Mayo for the penalty that wasn't and it was the correct one.

He's getting stick over the black card, but again he was consistent. He obviously has a very clear view of when and when not to give one, and if you look at his record that more than likely confirms it.

McQuillan was not a factor either way, and that is a tribute to his game yesterday. Other refs ought to take note.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2554 - 12/09/2021 12:48:00    2379931

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Horan coined the "Dublin Joe" thing for the 2012 semi. Who won that?

In fairness to him, he gave the major call against Mayo for the penalty that wasn't and it was the correct one.

He's getting stick over the black card, but again he was consistent. He obviously has a very clear view of when and when not to give one, and if you look at his record that more than likely confirms it.

McQuillan was not a factor either way, and that is a tribute to his game yesterday. Other refs ought to take note."
Black card was clear as day. Joe also missed another clear one by AOS, he hit mckerarn a shoulder off the ball as he was running by him.

When I said Joe missed i mean he saw it clear as day but decided to ignore it.

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 12/09/2021 13:05:54    2379935

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Horan coined the "Dublin Joe" thing for the 2012 semi. Who won that?

McQuillan was not a factor either way, and that is a tribute to his game yesterday. Other refs ought to take note."
Mayo won that one in 2012. McQuillan gave Mayo yesterday a penalty that should have been a free out. The Tyrone defender was pushed in the back.. O'Hora didn't even get a booking for the foul you're referring to. I thought it was a black card but if not, it certainly was a yellow. Overall McQuillan was okay yesterday and I agree wasn't a factor in the result.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 12/09/2021 13:07:54    2379936

Replying To Cbar:  "I don't think it's accurate to say Mayo thought we had won after the SF. But I certainly felt a lot more nervous yesterday than any other final. There was a feeling that this Tyrone team were not as good as the Dublin teams we played over past 10 years and therefore this represented a big chance. I don't think that's over confident?

But agree with the rest of your comments. Always had doubts about Horans decisions on the day. I thought he had turned a corner with some good big calls in the SF but not a good day yesterday.

And when you talk about stupidity.... in the 2013 final Brogan got a tap in goal from a high ball in.... 8 years later the same thing happens with the same keeper.... how could anyone feel sorry for us.... it's incompetence of the highest degree"
A tale of two keepers.

Hennelly is still making the same mistakes he has always made. Not learning. Mayo have always had a problem at keeper during this last decade, Clarke's meltdown at the end of 2017 final was the deciding factor in that game. The position yo yoed between the two of them with one getting back in when the other made the same inevitable errors again in an endless cycle until Clarke's retirement.

In contrast with Morgan who since coming in round 2013 for Tyrone, has had some bad days but has continued to grow and learn as a keeper. He's the best in the business now, alongside Beggan.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 12/09/2021 13:12:18    2379938

Congrats Tyrone, brilliant performance.
I got no satisfaction watching Mayo lose, very sorry for ye.
I knew the game was over when Tyrone scored in the goal in quarter 3.
Galway and Dublin scored nothing in that quarter versus Mayo.
After watching the game again today it is clear that too many wrong options taken by Mayo.
Great respect for Mayo and James Horan for what ye did achieve this Summer.
2022 is wide open and this is a testament to the two counties there in this years final.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 12/09/2021 13:33:08    2379949

The narrative continues in the Sunday papers that Tyrone spoiled Mayo's party, that they tore up the script etc etc.
Who wrote the script!? The lazy assumptions about Tyrone continue. This was as much their final as Mayo's in the buildup but you wouldn't have thought it. Even Tubridy managed to squeeze in a 'Mayo for Sam' on Friday night.
Nothing learned by the GAA hacks

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 12/09/2021 13:34:24    2379950

Replying To TYE08:  "Black card was clear as day. Joe also missed another clear one by AOS, he hit mckerarn a shoulder off the ball as he was running by him.

When I said Joe missed i mean he saw it clear as day but decided to ignore it."
Failing to sin bin o Shea was arguably doing Tyrone a favour and I'm only half joking.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 12/09/2021 13:39:52    2379955

Well done Tyrone, great performance, they were so efficient in everything they did. Hard luck Mayo, if they had taken the goal chances it might have been different. Mayo have a young side now and should get better in the next few years. They will also have Cillian O'Connor back so it's not all doom and gloom for them.

Tyrone have a great blend between defence and attack. The style of play hasn't changed much since Mickey but they are more positive and much more calm when shooting. For me Darren McCurry has been the player of the year, McGeary and Meyler not far behind him.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 12/09/2021 13:55:08    2379963

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Brolly taking a lot of flak for his assessment in the Indo. Taking the emotion out of it and stepping back for a moment though. Is Joe Brolly wrong? Not at all. He's bang on the money about Mayo and he doesn't dress it up in flowery language. O'Shea didn't turn up AGAIN in an All Ireland, Mayo's sideline were reluctant to make the big calls and they mentally withered under pressure. Why is Brolly getting so much stick for giving an honest and truthful opinion?"
Because its personal. Because the game should be about more than the victors. Mayo have given a huge amount to the GAA in recent years so calling them time wasters is a nonsense. And saying Aidan O Shea didn't turn up implies he was capable of much better yesterday, but I don't think he is. I think he lacks the speed and mobility to influence a game in Croke Park in summer against top opposition. That's not his fault and nothing to do with his mentality.

Rebel2020 (Cork) - Posts: 75 - 12/09/2021 15:17:32    2379978

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Brolly taking a lot of flak for his assessment in the Indo. Taking the emotion out of it and stepping back for a moment though. Is Joe Brolly wrong? Not at all. He's bang on the money about Mayo and he doesn't dress it up in flowery language. O'Shea didn't turn up AGAIN in an All Ireland, Mayo's sideline were reluctant to make the big calls and they mentally withered under pressure. Why is Brolly getting so much stick for giving an honest and truthful opinion?"
If a Southern pundit had been even half as personal and persistent in his criticism of an ulster team you'd be on here firing shots at him all guns blazing, regardless of whether or not his criticisms were valid.
I've very little sympathy for Mayo, they've had enough chances to end their famine, but Brollys motivation in writing his piece is not to be constructive but to be nasty and get attention, something he's been desperately missing since Cantwell showed him the door :)

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 12/09/2021 15:56:37    2379985

Replying To bennybunny:  "Fair point. Aidan O' Shea is an amateur player that gives his all for his county. He might not have played well yesterday and there is no harm in saying that. Brolly is doing something different. He is kicking a guy when he is down."
Brolly craves publicity and needs attention, O Shea and Joram doesn't deserve this. Different for the so called superstars on 500k a week. Brolly is best avoided.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 12/09/2021 16:15:09    2379994

Replying To HighKings:  "The problem with Brolly is he makes things very personal. He preaches about the community and social ethos of GAA. And then writes articles or tweets that are personal attacks on the character of amateur sports people. He's a hypocrite. And he has no more idea of the real personalities of those Mayo players as you or me. He makes up all kinds of anecdotal stories which are just figments of his imagination.

And if Mayo had won, he'd have probably written something very critical and personal about Tyrone. And added some anecdote which is bullsh*t to give it colour.

Look how he targets Rte these days, some of his criticisms are legitimate but he never seemed to mention them for all the years Rte paid him to do punditry. Back then Sky and subscription tv was the enemy. He just flip flops when it suits."
Have to agree

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/09/2021 16:37:47    2380003

Replying To bennybunny:  "Well done to Tyrone. Despite not beating Kerry,Dublin and Mayo in the last while ,they have been very consistent over the years. To their credit ,they have now built a tradition of winning; of rebuilding and coming back. They have demonstrated this at minor, under 20 and senior level. Since 2000 only Dublin have won more All Irelands in total. I am not sure if this team can win back to back but we can expect them to get even better and be there abouts. It is hard for other counties to copy the financial power and tradition of Kerry and Dublin but people can look at Tyrone as the benchmark county and try and emulate that.

To Mayo, I guess it is better to lose 11 All Ireland finals then not to play in them at all. It means lots of good days to get there. Unfortunately it is another defeat hanging over them for a year...but not winning an All Ireland is hanging over all of us bar Tyrone. Not winning county championships is hanging over most of us ,most of the time too but we all get over it...after a short while you get on with it and go again."
Ahem Benny. Since 2000 Kerry have won 6 all Irelands. On Mayo yes losing all Irelands is a bad habit but being there is great too. I often find losing semis are worse because you ré missing out on the build up to the final. I'd prefer to lose 11 finals rather than never had the chance to support my team in a final. Mayo have nt crossed the line since 51 but the fans have had some great journeys.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 12/09/2021 18:37:32    2380034

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Agree with nearly all of your post User. What a great year for Tyrone. Written off after league and despite injuries and covid they ploughed through to win Sam. Morgan? What can you say. A good few posters were calling for him to be dropped a while back but he has been the X factor for them. Yes he errs as he is human but don't think Tyrone would be champs without him. His sportsmanship in the semi won't be forgotten either down in the Kingdom. He showed a maturity and class. Mayo? My heart goes out to them. Great warriors and its so tough on their supporters. I ll leave Mayo talk for another day so just want to congratulate Tyrone. Finally to you Username glad you watched game and in a way its relaxing as no nerves. Anyway we can all look forward now again to club and league again and we will do it all again next year. Fall in and out with each other because of our common love for our sport and our counties. I love it!"
Nice one Mick. I watched it dribs and drabs probably 30 mins a half, was filling a skip to be honest, unavoidable as the better half is from Mayo. It's the club champo were all the focus is at the now and great to be able to get to the games tbh I've missed the club games.

Watching the final, felt a bit out of body experience, fun but a bit like watching the Charity Shield, it's all about the Dubs for me, I don't get excited or entertained by anything else to be honest, I can appreciate Tyrone, utterly deserved and great to see, but sizing them up all ready with my Dubs glasses on and craving to meet them from a Dub point of view, I'm the exception I know. With the season over now we're back in play. Was chatting to one of the Dubs lads last weekend, they are hurting, based on that convo I can see back competing to our potential next year, I sense a new hunger and focus - fingers crossed anyway.

Thought Morgan was brilliant all year as a complete keepers performance as you can see, thought he was exceptional, kicking accuracy, distance, taking the ball as an out under pressure, kicking points, playing fly, tremendous performance. We always had a bit banter with him in the hill, caused a melt down once or twice over the years, he didn't take it well. The Paddy Andrews thing I was very close to that night, was nasty, I'm not a fan of his, but he brilliant yesterday, so credit we're it's due.

Delighted for Tyrone, the champo next year is going to be sublime, Kerry, Dublin and ultimately Mayo all schooled, hurting and the bears are well and truly poked, throw the All Ireland Champions and we have a ding dong of a championship.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/09/2021 18:38:29    2380035

Replying To TheUsername:  "Nice one Mick. I watched it dribs and drabs probably 30 mins a half, was filling a skip to be honest, unavoidable as the better half is from Mayo. It's the club champo were all the focus is at the now and great to be able to get to the games tbh I've missed the club games.

Watching the final, felt a bit out of body experience, fun but a bit like watching the Charity Shield, it's all about the Dubs for me, I don't get excited or entertained by anything else to be honest, I can appreciate Tyrone, utterly deserved and great to see, but sizing them up all ready with my Dubs glasses on and craving to meet them from a Dub point of view, I'm the exception I know. With the season over now we're back in play. Was chatting to one of the Dubs lads last weekend, they are hurting, based on that convo I can see back competing to our potential next year, I sense a new hunger and focus - fingers crossed anyway.

Thought Morgan was brilliant all year as a complete keepers performance as you can see, thought he was exceptional, kicking accuracy, distance, taking the ball as an out under pressure, kicking points, playing fly, tremendous performance. We always had a bit banter with him in the hill, caused a melt down once or twice over the years, he didn't take it well. The Paddy Andrews thing I was very close to that night, was nasty, I'm not a fan of his, but he brilliant yesterday, so credit we're it's due.

Delighted for Tyrone, the champo next year is going to be sublime, Kerry, Dublin and ultimately Mayo all schooled, hurting and the bears are well and truly poked, throw the All Ireland Champions and we have a ding dong of a championship."
I was thinking that. Nobody will be nailed on favourites next year. Couple of Ulster teams licking their wounds as well and plotting our downfall even as I write this. It should be epic

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 12/09/2021 19:40:00    2380045

Fair play to tyrone very composed on the ball and for a lot of people saying here that ulster football was well down the pecking order 4 teams in div 1 and if the qualifiers had to up and running who knows who could have been in the semi finals donegal armagh or monaghan as well

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 12/09/2021 21:21:58    2380078

Congratulations to Tyrone. Well deserved win. Tactically brilliant yesterday.

Commiserations to Mayo. Will be a hard one to take but everyone knows at this stage they wont be going anywhere and will be back competing at the top again.

Just a note to say the personal criticism aimed at Aidan O'Shea (and any GAA player) for that matter is disgraceful and in most cases not even factually correct. Actually thought he did plenty right yesterday. He played a part in a few scores winning his ball and winning the penalty. Was he the best player? No, but so what! And the rubbish about him not scoring in an All Ireland Final is ridiculous. He's not a scoring forward.

Offtheball10 (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 12/09/2021 21:22:16    2380079

Replying To bennybunny:  "Fair point. Aidan O' Shea is an amateur player that gives his all for his county. He might not have played well yesterday and there is no harm in saying that. Brolly is doing something different. He is kicking a guy when he is down."
To be fair, Brolly was kicking OShea after the Baywatch style photoshoot before the final. I was hoping and praying Mayo would win and OShea play a stormer just to sicken Brolly and shut him up for a while, but you have to admit, Brolly has been spot on.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 12/09/2021 21:35:43    2380088