VAR In GAA

Replying To eoghan6688:  "Yeah, I would like to see it, just needs to be done in as swift a manner as possible as added time can be controversially long as it is"
I would agree but the question is how do you do that? Both soccer and rugby take way too long at the minute.
My suggestion would be only to use it when obviously needed:
1. After a heavy challenge when a player is hurt - if it turns out the player is play acting then he should get a black card for cynical play
2. Each captain gets a max of 4 checks per game for any kind of rule break
3. You can't look back beyond the last contest for possession

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1126 - 18/08/2021 04:45:48    2372589

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Fair play, taking up this baton. I tried earlier this year.
People want the right decision, but don't want the referee to be able to have a second look IF A VIDEO ANGLE IS AVAILABLE.
Instead, they want him running around like a headless chicken asking lads 50 yards away what they saw, working on hearsay to make a decision.
And then they want to hang draw and quarter him after the match, before complaining about the standard of refereeing and/or lack of good referees.
The mind boggles.

We have a crisis of refereeing, yet we want to do nothing to help them come to the right decision. If we don't help the referee, then only expect the standard of refereeing to get worse."
Excellent post. Yes, it's an obvious and sensible idea; and the technology is there. It's such a sensible idea that it's bound to be strenuously resisted. Is there not something pointless that could be implemented instead, such as the forward mark?

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 18/08/2021 09:35:39    2372609

No other sport in the world has as many officials around or on the pitch (7) but they still somehow manage to miss so many controversial incidents…. Umpires are looking straight down the pitch and only need to keep a check to the half way line yet still manage to see nothing….I will admit that looking at the get up of some umpires I doubt they could see beyond the 21 ….!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1947 - 18/08/2021 09:47:56    2372614

Replying To cityman73:  "No it's not,mayo won and deserved to win,move on."
we see what t m o has done to rugby , lets hope we never see it in the g a a

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1806 - 18/08/2021 10:48:26    2372632

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "I would agree but the question is how do you do that? Both soccer and rugby take way too long at the minute.
My suggestion would be only to use it when obviously needed:
1. After a heavy challenge when a player is hurt - if it turns out the player is play acting then he should get a black card for cynical play
2. Each captain gets a max of 4 checks per game for any kind of rule break
3. You can't look back beyond the last contest for possession"
Don't stop the play for a VAR check. If referee sees no foul then play on. If the VAR rules that there were rules broken or score should be disallowed then stop play at the next break in play to hand out cards, award frees penalties, including your number 1 point there Tirawley. Including don't blow for half or full time if any checks are pending. If VAR checks are done offline there would be less stoppages for VAR and none in some cases.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 18/08/2021 11:42:17    2372660

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "No other sport in the world has as many officials around or on the pitch (7) but they still somehow manage to miss so many controversial incidents…. Umpires are looking straight down the pitch and only need to keep a check to the half way line yet still manage to see nothing….I will admit that looking at the get up of some umpires I doubt they could see beyond the 21 ….!!"
So why bother asking them?
Why not have the referee ask the 4th official "Is a replay available and can you make a call".
The 4th official can say "Red card / yellow card for both / no action / come take a look yourself ref".
On a side note, I absolutely DETEST the "book them both, there was 2 of them at it" attitude which is a complete cop out, leads to 2nd yellows far too easily. There is always an agressor - a video review should be able to spot who it was.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1737 - 18/08/2021 11:55:33    2372667

Replying To StoreysTash:  "So why bother asking them?
Why not have the referee ask the 4th official "Is a replay available and can you make a call".
The 4th official can say "Red card / yellow card for both / no action / come take a look yourself ref".
On a side note, I absolutely DETEST the "book them both, there was 2 of them at it" attitude which is a complete cop out, leads to 2nd yellows far too easily. There is always an agressor - a video review should be able to spot who it was."
So should any of the 7 officials….. the lad in charge of the video could be just as blind you know …!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1947 - 18/08/2021 16:10:34    2372782

Jury's out on the VAR but I think it's time GAA brought in the shaving foam for refs to mark the spot where scoreable frees are to be taken from. Too often you see players cutting across the field to square up on goal posts. I see it every week in club and county.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 18/08/2021 16:19:47    2372787

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "No other sport in the world has as many officials around or on the pitch (7) but they still somehow manage to miss so many controversial incidents…. Umpires are looking straight down the pitch and only need to keep a check to the half way line yet still manage to see nothing….I will admit that looking at the get up of some umpires I doubt they could see beyond the 21 ….!!"
You'd imagine so but too many cooks spoil the broth. Umpires aren't refs but the ref often relies on them more than his linesman because he has plenty of time with them and usually has his team who understand how their comms work and what he wants them to look out for and notify him of.
Every linesman at intercounty wants to be the one with the whistle and especially for the big games. The ref will give them instructions before a game on what he wants from them but those can change from game to game and from ref to ref. Imagine if a ref waves play on and a linesman puts him the flag for the same incident! It's akin to one umpire waving a wide and another a point which we see regularly at lower levels - causes ruptions.
They seem to have it figured out in soccer though where is seems the linesman is free to raise the flag if he sees a foul on his patch. Maybe the linesman shouldn't have to be a ref for intercounty and the ref brings his own 7-man team - if he can find them.
At the end of the day, the referee has to have the final call on everthing. In soccer he only cedes this on offsides. I hope we never see the day where we are reviewing square balls in GAA.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 18/08/2021 16:41:25    2372794

Replying To lumpitin21:  "Is it time for the GAA to start looking at video assisted referees? With a replay Dublin could have lost 4 or 5 players last night through cynical and dangerous play. John Smalls challenge could have resulted in a goal which would have completely changed the outcome of the game. At the business end of things it comes down to small margins and refereeing can massively impact the outcome of a game."
The GAA should stay away from VAR. It is ruining soccer and rugby.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 18/08/2021 23:02:36    2372911

The only way TMO/VAR works is when ball becomes dead. This silliness of allowing play to continue while some yoke replays the footage is out! that is not how it should work. But seriously having challenges reviewed in real time or just after? Nay, what you do is clearly define when it is used. And post match any reckless, dangerous play gets reviewed and culprit punished.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 18/08/2021 23:21:23    2372916

I think a trail of the TMO in league games in Croke Park is worth a shot once the ball goes dead.

If Dublin got the goal the last night after Smalls shoulder there would have been uproar. At least you have the TMO that the ref can go and check was the shoulder a foul and possible red card.

A big thing I think the TMO could help with is the steps taken. Eoin Murchan took about 8 steps for his goal in the 2019 final before taking a play of the ball. If there was a TMO to check on something like that then it wouldn't have happened. You could then look at the circumstances as to why the player had to take more steps, was there a lad hanging off him so the ref played advantage.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 19/08/2021 11:47:50    2372997

We don't want it checking the number of steps - a referee can adjudicate on that.
We want it in the case of where a referee thinks he has to send a player off.
Other than that, it should be "last play of the match" scenarios.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1737 - 19/08/2021 12:04:52    2373005

Replying To bdbuddah:  "The GAA should stay away from VAR. It is ruining soccer and rugby."
Ruined soccer and rugby? At least now there is something to talk about after . 0-0 draws . Rugby matches with no tries, great stuff altogether.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 19/08/2021 13:08:18    2373029

Replying To bdbuddah:  "The GAA should stay away from VAR. It is ruining soccer and rugby."
It isnt at all "ruining them"
is causing some issues, very different in each sport, but ruining the sports. hell no.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3512 - 19/08/2021 13:11:55    2373034

Ciaran Murphy in The Irish Times today had the daftest idea yet - I think it came from Jamie Wall.
His idea was that the referee sends off the player, but a committee reviews the incident on the Monday after the game and decides on the sanction or whether to rescind the card.
Can you imagine how many red cards would be upheld as the "poor auld crater, he's not that kind of player" brigade get going.
And ironically, the title of the piece was about supporting referees.
You couldn't make it up.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1737 - 19/08/2021 16:42:18    2373135

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Ciaran Murphy in The Irish Times today had the daftest idea yet - I think it came from Jamie Wall.
His idea was that the referee sends off the player, but a committee reviews the incident on the Monday after the game and decides on the sanction or whether to rescind the card.
Can you imagine how many red cards would be upheld as the "poor auld crater, he's not that kind of player" brigade get going.
And ironically, the title of the piece was about supporting referees.
You couldn't make it up."
Whats wrong with that?
A player gets a red card. discipline committee meets and decides on punishment or no punishment at all. put in clear rules around what infringements are and a better discipline system with players penalised more if theyve a poor discipline record and rewarded(in some cases) if their discipline record is clean/good.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3512 - 19/08/2021 17:17:00    2373147

Replying To KillingFields:  "It isnt at all "ruining them"
is causing some issues, very different in each sport, but ruining the sports. hell no."
I'll rephrase, it's having a very negative impact on soccer/ rugby. Many stoppages in these games which slow them down, the high points of both games (goals/ tries) over analysed for technicalities as to why they should be disallowed. This takes the spontaneity and kills the excitement of watching goals/ tries being scored as you know that after they appear to have been scored a lengthy process will then begin to see will they be allowed stand. And then after taking all this time the amount nonsensical decisions the TMO come to is amazing.
Also when you bring TMO into sports it seems to take on a life of its own. In rugby it started off as decisions on tries but has escalated to examining loads of other type of issues. Referees seem to become over reliant on them and over use them rather than just make calls themselves.
In soccer what has been proven is decisions which people though the TMO would take subjectivity out of deciding these decision has turned out not to be the case, often times it is not clear which frame should be taken when deciding when a pass is made which decides whether a goal should be considered offside.
There is also the issue that some tackles look worse in slow motion as what happens in a split second can look more pre mediated in slow motion.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 19/08/2021 22:38:42    2373226

Replying To KillingFields:  "Whats wrong with that?
A player gets a red card. discipline committee meets and decides on punishment or no punishment at all. put in clear rules around what infringements are and a better discipline system with players penalised more if theyve a poor discipline record and rewarded(in some cases) if their discipline record is clean/good."
Because in true GAA style, it'll turn in to a sympathy parade and there could be all manner of skull duggery going on depending on who is in the dock and who is on the committee. No player will ever miss a final.
A much better idea is to let the referee ask a 4th official to see if he agrees with his decision on the field, decide on the offence, job done.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1737 - 20/08/2021 11:02:19    2373281

Technology has helped us in every other area of life so I see no reason it shouldn't be used to help out the referees, surely a way can be found to incorporate it without ruining the games. Hawkeye is a good example.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 20/08/2021 11:48:20    2373298