U20 Final Novel Pairing

Congratulations Offaly! Well done. Hopefully the county can become strong again at senior level. Hard luck to Roscommon, but well played…good style of play.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1911 - 15/08/2021 22:18:11    2371737

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "We will see."
And we did...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 15/08/2021 22:22:01    2371741

Yes well done Offaly, great to see new teams coming through. Good for Lowry too, a great Offaly man for sure.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 15/08/2021 22:22:26    2371742

Am delighted for Offaly,great team with a lot of flair,Roscommon good team too but I thought Offaly were that bit more clinical and very well coached.I really enjoyed the game on Tv...a great game of football...the football was way better than yesterdays Senior offering.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 15/08/2021 22:58:41    2371768

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Congratulations to offaly hard luck Roscommon what a great match end to end attacking no hand passing back wards by either team win the ball and all out attack, Hopefully football wont be coached out of these boys when they get to senior teams"
It was a wonderfully entertaining final but I can assure you that football will be coached out of any of these players who progress to their respective senior squads…..!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 15/08/2021 22:59:50    2371769

Replying To Kerry15:  "Well done Offaly, a very likeable team. Great style of football by both teams. Hopefully this success can drive Offaly on now at Senior. Jack Bryant, Cormac Egan, Cathal O'Donoghue, Cathal Flynn and John Furlong should all play Senior for Offaly. Daire Cregg, Colin Walsh, James Fitzpatrick and Adam McDermott Senior prospects for Roscommon."
It was a great game of football Kerry15 and some lovely footballers on both sides.

Well done offaly and commiserations to Roscommon.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/08/2021 23:17:41    2371775

Great to see Offaly back winning an All Ireland at any age group.
Hard luck to Roscommon.
This match reminded us of what football could be like if fear of losing was replaced by desire to win.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 16/08/2021 00:41:21    2371789

Replying To ke40:  "Offaly were brilliant all year and fully deserved the win today, hard luck to Roscommon as a neutral at the game it was some atmosphere for an under 20 final. When was the last time an under 20 final was in Croke park?"
Around 8 months ago. Last year's final between Galway and Dublin was played there.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 16/08/2021 00:49:24    2371791

This game gave us some hope for Gaelic football.

- It was played without the shackles of blanket defenses, free flowing attacking football was to the fore, accurate kick passing, young lads taking their opposition on and sometimes losing, sometimes winning. A pleasure to watch compared to the ultra conservative rubbish that we have to endure at the senior grade.

- Two counties which have not experienced too much success at national level in recent years but are steeped in GAA tradition and have experienced success in the past at the highest levels. Both counties are strong GAA counties in both football and hurling.

Well done to Offaly. Well deserved win, The young Rossies could have scored a few goals in the first half but they didn't. They were playing catch-up throughout the game. I think that Roscommon will probably see more senior successes in the next 3 years as a result of their underage successes than Offaly. It will be hard to develop a strong senior side out of one good U20 side. Offaly is one of the few dual-counties and I'm delighted to see them win the big one.

You are the ALL IRELAND CHAMPIONS !!!!!!!

Hoofhearted (Australia) - Posts: 49 - 16/08/2021 02:53:04    2371807

Well done Offaly, a super game of football with actual use of the foot for most of the game! Compared to the dross served up Saturday night it was a breath of fresh air

kick-it (Leitrim) - Posts: 33 - 16/08/2021 09:16:19    2371832

While Roscommon will have much regret on those missed goal chances the more clinical team won and congrats to Offaly on their first All-Ireland football title at any grade since the late 80s.

Since the introduction of U20 grade in 2018.
Winners

Leinster 2 (Kildare, Offaly)
Munster 1 (Cork)
Connacht 1 (Galway)

Runners up

Connacht 2 (Mayo, Roscommon)
Leinster 2 (Dublin twice)

Next years semi finals

Connacht v Leinster
Munster v Ulster

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 16/08/2021 11:33:34    2371898

Well done to the Offaly u20 footballers on winning their all-Ireland final and also commiserations to a good Roscommon team. It was nice to see Brendan and Shane Lowry in the stands celebrating and Michael Duignan on the field too a man who has taken the hard task of trying to get Offaly GAA back to the top. I worked in Offaly a few years ago and had good nights in Birr and Banagher and met the soundest of people chatting all things sports and I hope this will be the start of more success for them.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 16/08/2021 12:28:50    2371933

Replying To ke40:  "Offaly were brilliant all year and fully deserved the win today, hard luck to Roscommon as a neutral at the game it was some atmosphere for an under 20 final. When was the last time an under 20 final was in Croke park?"
Last December, when Galway beat Dublin. The one previous to that was way back in 2018, where your own county beat Mayo.

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 16/08/2021 15:12:13    2372021

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "We will see."
As we did..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 16/08/2021 15:49:06    2372045

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "As we did.."
Well Bud fair play best team won. We didn't help ourselves missing a few early goal chances and hitting poor wides or dropping them into keepers hands, But i have no complaints.
I know a few from Tullamore who sent me loads of snapchats last night of a great scenes in the square in Tullamore. A few sore heads this morning no doubt.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 16/08/2021 16:24:32    2372070

Brilliant final and competition as usual
Hopefully go back to more suitable date next year
Where you will have the U20 played off before senior champioship

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 16/08/2021 18:50:36    2372122

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Well Bud fair play best team won. We didn't help ourselves missing a few early goal chances and hitting poor wides or dropping them into keepers hands, But i have no complaints.
I know a few from Tullamore who sent me loads of snapchats last night of a great scenes in the square in Tullamore. A few sore heads this morning no doubt."
Regrets but no complaints. Great to see what the win meant to the faithful. Hope Offaly develop a serious senior team over the next few years and make Leinster interesting again.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 16/08/2021 19:13:35    2372127

Just watched it a while ago. A very enjoyable game thanks in large part to the extremely positive attitude and attacking style of both sides. Looking back at the results, it is striking how ultra competitive the Leinster U20 championship was this year: Offaly only beat Wexford by 1 point and Westmeath by 2 points. Before that Westmeath had beaten Kildare by 2 points and then beat Longford on penalties while Longford had earlier beaten Louth by 1 point. Dublin only beat Wicklow by 4 points. The biggest winning margin in any game was 7 points.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 17/08/2021 17:02:12    2372476

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "Just watched it a while ago. A very enjoyable game thanks in large part to the extremely positive attitude and attacking style of both sides. Looking back at the results, it is striking how ultra competitive the Leinster U20 championship was this year: Offaly only beat Wexford by 1 point and Westmeath by 2 points. Before that Westmeath had beaten Kildare by 2 points and then beat Longford on penalties while Longford had earlier beaten Louth by 1 point. Dublin only beat Wicklow by 4 points. The biggest winning margin in any game was 7 points."
Westmeath are a county that bringing through a lot of good young players
That was a decent u20 team westmeath had this year
Westmeath schools also very strong in leinster

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 17/08/2021 18:28:22    2372493