Water-Breaks And White-Boards

Replying To Saynothing:  "Water breaks my arse, supposedly brought in because of COVID, 29th minute of hurling final, Limerick man takes drink of water from bottle on sideline, gives bottle to manager who gives it to another player for drink. Get rid of them."
Saw that. Kiely throwing out water bottles to both Limerick and Cork players. I was saying "what's the fecking point of the water break then?!"

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 22/08/2021 16:46:25    2373873

Replying To AfricanGael:  "To be fair to Merson , his local bar man was probably fitter than himself and he was judging Geraghty's fitness based on two trial games where he would have been giving it his all.

Different story over a full season.

We already see many GAA players tiring in the last quarter so I don't think it's possible that they could play double the amount of minutes that they are playing now, some might but in general no and it would lead to a lot of injuries as well."
I don't see many tiring in last quarter. Certainly did in the 70s and 80s. Not now. It's different if you're told to empty yourself to wreck your marker if you know you have a v strong bench and can bring on someone as good for last quarter. In normal play, nobody's tiring. Unless you're looking at some v bad teams

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 22/08/2021 19:39:01    2373945

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well did have eighty minute finals for a number back around the late seventies- I think- with only a half time break."
Yes - 1970 to 1975. Players didn't notice much difference at the time.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 22/08/2021 19:41:53    2373946

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Nobody said they weren't doing any of that.
The point the original poster was making, was that the idea that the GAA player is so much fitter than a professional, is a myth by the GAA bravado brigade."
The jibe was that intercourse Gaelic players are nowhere near as fit as Pro soccer players. This is usually put about by premiership fanbois with a closet contempt for GAA. Soccer players have limited upper body strength as their game doesn't require it.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 22/08/2021 19:48:37    2373951

Replying To Canuck:  "My suggestion is go back to 60 minute game with a time clock counting time with the ball in play. There is now too much farting around with fake injuries, substitutions, goaltender hesitating hitting out and players building tufts of grass to take a line ball."
Great idea. Maybe 20 mins a half and like basketball stop clock everytime game stopped or ball out of play. Game probably work out at 35/40 a half anyway but would stop the time wasting even for frees or injuries etc.You are on to something there Canuck.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 22/08/2021 19:50:07    2373952

Replying To AfricanGael:  "To be fair to Merson , his local bar man was probably fitter than himself and he was judging Geraghty's fitness based on two trial games where he would have been giving it his all.

Different story over a full season.

We already see many GAA players tiring in the last quarter so I don't think it's possible that they could play double the amount of minutes that they are playing now, some might but in general no and it would lead to a lot of injuries as well."
Catch yourself on about soccer players. Often seen stats of soccer players coming off in the 80-90th minute with 7-8000 metres covered. Someone trying to loose weight would walk that in an hour and a half. While back under Micky Harte players were took off near end of matches after putting in 10,000 metres.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 22/08/2021 20:35:49    2373963

Replying To essmac:  "The jibe was that intercourse Gaelic players are nowhere near as fit as Pro soccer players. This is usually put about by premiership fanbois with a closet contempt for GAA. Soccer players have limited upper body strength as their game doesn't require it."
GAA players are fitter and stronger than soccer players. I've first hand experience of lads go play soccer only for a year and come back to us….the decrease in fitness is unbelievable.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 22/08/2021 20:48:41    2373967

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Nobody said they weren't doing any of that.
The point the original poster was making, was that the idea that the GAA player is so much fitter than a professional, is a myth by the GAA bravado brigade."
Not necessarily a myth, for starters there are different types of fitness, for example I'd back any of those limerick players to be able to out jog many pro rugby players, in terms of strength too I'd back some gaa players over some pro soccer players.
If mental toughness counts as a fitness (maybe I'm taking a liberty there), then I'd say there are gaa club players who'd outperform top level Premier league stars.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1720 - 22/08/2021 21:25:01    2373986

Get rid of, at least until the pole shift and we end up down around the equator or thereabouts.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 22/08/2021 21:35:08    2373990

Catch yourself on about soccer players. Often seen stats of soccer players coming off in the 80-90th minute with 7-8000 metres covered. Someone trying to loose weight would walk that in an hour and a half. While back under Micky Harte players were took off near end of matches after putting in 10,000 metres.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 759 - 22/08/2021 20:35:49

Catch yourself on what? How many metres do players regularly cover in GAA? These soccer players are covering that distance 40+ times a year and for top players its more than 50 times with internationals on top of that. GAA players maybe 10-20 games if that.

GAA players are fitter and stronger than soccer players. I've first hand experience of lads go play soccer only for a year and come back to us….the decrease in fitness is unbelievable.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 10738 - 22/08/2021 20:48:41
fitter and stronger based on what. first hand experience of player playing soccer at what level and returning to play what level of gaa?

Not necessarily a myth, for starters there are different types of fitness, for example I'd back any of those limerick players to be able to out jog many pro rugby players, in terms of strength too I'd back some gaa players over some pro soccer players.
If mental toughness counts as a fitness (maybe I'm taking a liberty there), then I'd say there are gaa club players who'd outperform top level Premier league stars.
Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 743 - 22/08/2021 21:25:01
out jog rugby players in what position and over what distance...
and you havent a notion talking about mental fitness considering how much so many of those premier league stars have to get through to even make it into a premier league clubs academy never mind then getting into the first team.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3512 - 22/08/2021 22:04:33    2374000

Replying To Galway9801:  "Not necessarily a myth, for starters there are different types of fitness, for example I'd back any of those limerick players to be able to out jog many pro rugby players, in terms of strength too I'd back some gaa players over some pro soccer players.
If mental toughness counts as a fitness (maybe I'm taking a liberty there), then I'd say there are gaa club players who'd outperform top level Premier league stars."
Out jog what pro rugby players, positions etc. ridiculous comparison to make and the same possibly even more if going on about Mental toughness considering how tough it is to even make it to be a top level premier league star. sure even making it as a premier league player full stop is ridiculously hard to go on and star/dominate in the competition you are in the top 1% of soccer players globally...

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3512 - 23/08/2021 02:36:03    2374034

Replying To Galway9801:  "Not necessarily a myth, for starters there are different types of fitness, for example I'd back any of those limerick players to be able to out jog many pro rugby players, in terms of strength too I'd back some gaa players over some pro soccer players.
If mental toughness counts as a fitness (maybe I'm taking a liberty there), then I'd say there are gaa club players who'd outperform top level Premier league stars."
'Out jog' ? There's a new one. Fitness, speed and strenth wise a pro rugby player would blow a GAA player out of the water. Stamina wise a GAA player would win. Soccer players are usually about 60kilos...even John Terry was something like 65 or 70kg. They'd get annihilated by a hurler but they'd be fitter and faster.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 23/08/2021 06:30:20    2374036

Replying To bloodyban:  "'Out jog' ? There's a new one. Fitness, speed and strenth wise a pro rugby player would blow a GAA player out of the water. Stamina wise a GAA player would win. Soccer players are usually about 60kilos...even John Terry was something like 65 or 70kg. They'd get annihilated by a hurler but they'd be fitter and faster."
Do you honestly not know what I meant by out jog...

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1720 - 23/08/2021 13:48:51    2374143

Replying To KillingFields:  "Out jog what pro rugby players, positions etc. ridiculous comparison to make and the same possibly even more if going on about Mental toughness considering how tough it is to even make it to be a top level premier league star. sure even making it as a premier league player full stop is ridiculously hard to go on and star/dominate in the competition you are in the top 1% of soccer players globally..."
It's mentally draining to become a premier league star, for a few years, but looking at the arsenal players yesterday for example I wouldn't see them lasting more than 25 minutes in the cut and thrust of a club hurling match.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1720 - 23/08/2021 13:51:11    2374145

Replying To KillingFields:  "Out jog what pro rugby players, positions etc. ridiculous comparison to make and the same possibly even more if going on about Mental toughness considering how tough it is to even make it to be a top level premier league star. sure even making it as a premier league player full stop is ridiculously hard to go on and star/dominate in the competition you are in the top 1% of soccer players globally..."
Ah, ye just love your oul rugby.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 23/08/2021 16:17:36    2374180

I have trained with semi-pro rugby players and quite honestly, some of them my mother would out run. I'm not having a go at them by the way - that is their game.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1736 - 24/08/2021 10:16:50    2374310

This is a bit of silly debate. Players train for the sport which they play and even more specifically for the role they carry out in that sport.
A top intercounty hurling midfielder will be anaerobically fitter than a professional rugby front or second row player. He won't likely be as explosive or strong obviously.
Israel Folau who was one of the best rugby players in the world at the time and a full-back, rather than a forward, struggled with the anaerobic requirements of an Aussie Rules player when he made the switch.
He admitted it was something he needed to work much harder at, while it was not an issue when the played rugby.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2046 - 24/08/2021 11:55:41    2374338

Replying To Galway9801:  "It's mentally draining to become a premier league star, for a few years, but looking at the arsenal players yesterday for example I wouldn't see them lasting more than 25 minutes in the cut and thrust of a club hurling match."
That's Arsenal though. We are talking about top level soccer players : )

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 24/08/2021 14:50:12    2374395

Replying To Breezy:  "That's Arsenal though. We are talking about top level soccer players : )"
Same old Arsenal.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 24/08/2021 15:03:19    2374408

Replying To WanPintWin:  "This is a bit of silly debate. Players train for the sport which they play and even more specifically for the role they carry out in that sport.
A top intercounty hurling midfielder will be anaerobically fitter than a professional rugby front or second row player. He won't likely be as explosive or strong obviously.
Israel Folau who was one of the best rugby players in the world at the time and a full-back, rather than a forward, struggled with the anaerobic requirements of an Aussie Rules player when he made the switch.
He admitted it was something he needed to work much harder at, while it was not an issue when the played rugby."
True, as mentioned before there are different types of fitness, some sports focus on one over the other.
I still maintain however that if you were to hand any premier league soccer player (literally any one of them) a senior intercounty hurlers schedule (including having to go to work), and tell them that they have to do it and they won't get paid for playing , well, good luck with that.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1720 - 24/08/2021 20:55:31    2374498