Water-Breaks And White-Boards

Replying To Breezy:  "Ya it's nonsense. Everyone talking about how Waterford were screwed playing 4 weeks in a row well if they are fitter than English Premier League players then they should be able to play 8 games in 4 weeks like them lads do"
100%, I remember hearing of a Wexford hurler going for a run with Kevin Doyle when he was with Reading.
The player was starting to tire fairly seriously when Doyle said "do you mind if we pick it up a bit for a few minutes, its a bit slow".

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1736 - 13/08/2021 16:44:31    2370491

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Would you be in favour of 4 x 20 min quarters with a 5 min time and if not , why not ?"
Well did have eighty minute finals for a number back around the late seventies- I think- with only a half time break.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4338 - 13/08/2021 17:19:30    2370500

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Would you be in favour of 4 x 20 min quarters with a 5 min time and if not , why not ?"
No.

If I can turn the question around, why would you want a game in four quarters ?

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 13/08/2021 17:52:11    2370511

Replying To StoreysTash:  "What skill is involved in being a 200kg bullock being able to hold back a similar sized bullock from hitting one of the 3-4 skilled players on the team?
Lets face it, most NFL players would be flipping burgers but for their obesity and ability to react quickly when a ball is moved.
This thread is a complete wind up (well done to the OP) and as a player, from the 14th minute the game loses its momentum because players know the water break is inevitable.
We hurled a match at the weekend and the game was just getting going when we had to stop for water. There is not 1 player anywhere on the pitch who can't get to a water bottle if they need a drink. There is any amount of injury stoppages, etc as needed.
At our water break, particularly in the league or in practice matches (both teams agreed no water break in a few practice matches this year), our water bottle was marked with the players name. A couple of times in the matches, I went over at a break in play. It took 10 seconds.

The most ridiculous one was last year, we had a match in the pouring rain and next thing "water break".

The water break is ridiculous and lets face it, the white board is the modern day "look at me" for the coach. Its a bit like when the warm up was 50 cones around the place - a "look at me" for the physio/coach/etc."
The water break is a great idea, and by all means "look at me " when the team goes out and creates a 5-15 point swing in the next quarter. If truth were told every county would love the formula.

Come On Ye boys In Green

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1360 - 13/08/2021 18:04:00    2370514

Bernard Brogan and Pat Spillane won Irish superstars in 1979 and 1980.

Among those they beat were Mick Dowling the Olympic boxer, Dave O'Leary of Arsenal, Cummins a champion swimmer.

So they had a serious level of fitness, even before the GAA had anything like the training regimes, nutrition etc that exists today. My old club had lads who played junior football and hurling who played LOI and Scottish league soccer and said training even for junior championship was tougher!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2582 - 13/08/2021 18:32:37    2370520

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Bernard Brogan and Pat Spillane won Irish superstars in 1979 and 1980.

Among those they beat were Mick Dowling the Olympic boxer, Dave O'Leary of Arsenal, Cummins a champion swimmer.

So they had a serious level of fitness, even before the GAA had anything like the training regimes, nutrition etc that exists today. My old club had lads who played junior football and hurling who played LOI and Scottish league soccer and said training even for junior championship was tougher!"
I remember it well Barnser! Spillane won the sunstroke event hands down!

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 203 - 13/08/2021 19:40:48    2370535

Replying To AfricanGael:  "To be fair to Merson , his local bar man was probably fitter than himself and he was judging Geraghty's fitness based on two trial games where he would have been giving it his all.

Different story over a full season.

We already see many GAA players tiring in the last quarter so I don't think it's possible that they could play double the amount of minutes that they are playing now, some might but in general no and it would lead to a lot of injuries as well."
GAA is more physically demanding than soccer,current intercounty players have an unbelievable level of fitness and nutrition.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 13/08/2021 19:58:22    2370540

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Kevin Moran said that the Man Utd training wasn't much tougher than Dublin training, though that was long before S&C is as developed as today. John Egan was asked this week, on the Lovely Hurling podcast, about the difference between professional soccer and GAA. Their full time professionalism gives them way more recovery and relaxation time compared to most GAA players who are working and/or studying. I remember hearing one time that Damien Duff and Mark Hughes were mighty sleepers! I thought that was funny at the time but sleep is great for the body and the mind. Harder to be effective when you're tired and cranky."
So right...sleep is medicine for our bodies.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 13/08/2021 20:00:17    2370541

Replying To Breezy:  "Ya it's nonsense. Everyone talking about how Waterford were screwed playing 4 weeks in a row well if they are fitter than English Premier League players then they should be able to play 8 games in 4 weeks like them lads do"
Intensity of soccer is no way near hurling. Yes matches are longer and they cover a lot of ground but how much time is it done at full tilt. hurling is end to end and the tackling is very physically sapping and pitch is nearly double the size. Most hurlers are working during the week and not recovering properly.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 13/08/2021 21:01:20    2370555

Replying To StoreysTash:  "100%, I remember hearing of a Wexford hurler going for a run with Kevin Doyle when he was with Reading.
The player was starting to tire fairly seriously when Doyle said "do you mind if we pick it up a bit for a few minutes, its a bit slow"."
Ive never understood why GAA people get so hung up on the fitness debate, I couldn't give a toss whose players are fitter, if you want fit watch athletics,, intercounty GAA players almost to a man would go through a brick wall for their county,, and freely provide us with great entertainment, two things premier league players more often than not fail to do,, means alot more to me than whether or not a wexford hurler could match a full time professional athlete in a bleep test.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1720 - 14/08/2021 00:11:27    2370607

My suggestion is go back to 60 minute game with a time clock counting time with the ball in play. There is now too much farting around with fake injuries, substitutions, goaltender hesitating hitting out and players building tufts of grass to take a line ball.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2665 - 14/08/2021 01:58:16    2370613

Replying To Canuck:  "My suggestion is go back to 60 minute game with a time clock counting time with the ball in play. There is now too much farting around with fake injuries, substitutions, goaltender hesitating hitting out and players building tufts of grass to take a line ball."
If there was a stop clock, it wouldn't be a sixty minute game.

Maybe 50 minutes of actual playing time. Maybe less.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 14/08/2021 10:44:59    2370635

Replying To ecad123:  "Intensity of soccer is no way near hurling. Yes matches are longer and they cover a lot of ground but how much time is it done at full tilt. hurling is end to end and the tackling is very physically sapping and pitch is nearly double the size. Most hurlers are working during the week and not recovering properly."
There is very little standing around in modern soccer as teams press and attack as units and the ball can move just as quick from one end to the other so yes it is "full tilt" for the game at the top level.

And a GAA pitch is roughly 25m longer so I dont know where you get "nearly twice the size"

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 14/08/2021 11:18:04    2370642

Replying To Breezy:  "There is very little standing around in modern soccer as teams press and attack as units and the ball can move just as quick from one end to the other so yes it is "full tilt" for the game at the top level.

And a GAA pitch is roughly 25m longer so I dont know where you get "nearly twice the size""
You're not considering the width though so he is correct, a GAA pitch would be about 75% bigger than a soccer pitch.

Off setting that is 4 less players and the game is 20 minutes longer in soccer.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 14/08/2021 12:08:21    2370653

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 14/08/2021 12:24:40    2370658

Replying To GreenandRed:  "link"
The pitch is amongst the busiest in the world with nearly 90 fixtures per year. The venue also hosts a series of concerts with bands like U2, Take That and Ed Sheeran among the most recent performers. The pitch is nearly twice the size of a conventional soccer field at 15,000 m2.

The Croke Park pitch covers an area 145m long by 88m wide with full grass cover and stability all year round.

145m X 88m = 12,760 m2 and not 15,000 m2.

So they are wrong.

The Croke Park pitch would be about 75% bigger than Wembley for example.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 14/08/2021 12:42:49    2370669

Replying To lionofludesch:  "If there was a stop clock, it wouldn't be a sixty minute game.

Maybe 50 minutes of actual playing time. Maybe less."
I said 60 minutes of time play like now you call it a 70 minute game even though injury time and lost time is played.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2665 - 14/08/2021 14:18:24    2370730

Replying To Galway9801:  "Ive never understood why GAA people get so hung up on the fitness debate, I couldn't give a toss whose players are fitter, if you want fit watch athletics,, intercounty GAA players almost to a man would go through a brick wall for their county,, and freely provide us with great entertainment, two things premier league players more often than not fail to do,, means alot more to me than whether or not a wexford hurler could match a full time professional athlete in a bleep test."
Nobody said they weren't doing any of that.
The point the original poster was making, was that the idea that the GAA player is so much fitter than a professional, is a myth by the GAA bravado brigade.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1736 - 17/08/2021 11:50:22    2372311

I think the second water break was a great time for Mayo to take stock, and then drive for home against Dublin. I'd say Horan is a big fan of the quarter system, too. Sure what manager worth his salt wouldn't be in favor of the water-breaks and the white-boards?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1926 - 19/08/2021 01:02:36    2372924

Water breaks my arse, supposedly brought in because of COVID, 29th minute of hurling final, Limerick man takes drink of water from bottle on sideline, gives bottle to manager who gives it to another player for drink. Get rid of them.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 22/08/2021 16:07:23    2373853