Kerry Vs Tyrone

Replying To yew_tree:  "So the only reason Galway and Roscommon aren't in the All Ireland final is bad management? If either of ye had won Connacht this year ye wouldn't have beaten the Dubs. I keep hearing these excuses and it's been going on for years…Mayo are "further down the line of development" or "mayo have better s&c" "Donie Buckley was another one from a few years back" and now it's the "Horan Factor"…..not one mention of the players themselves. Mayo have better footballers?"
Don't think Mayo have better footballers coming through. Certainly Galway and Roscommon have been as good as Mayo at underage over the last few years. Best of luck to Mayo in 2 weeks. James Horan has been a phenomenal Manager for Mayo. Six Connacht titles in seven seasons and four All Ireland Final appearances. He may well bridge the 70 year gap in 2 weeks time.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2170 - 29/08/2021 15:50:49    2376049

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ah ya look when you're 7 points down to dublin in the second half of a game and you come back to draw then of course you'll be happy but it didn't paper over the obvious cracks that are there in our defence and those cracks have been there a long time unfortunately for us, I pointed it out during the week and that the game was 50/50 and I was accused of playing yerrah card."
in fairness to you, i did see that. I was just amazed (not at the awe in what kerry had done to date) but to think Tyrone wouldn't turn up. Thats just adding fuel to the fire if ever tyrone needed egging on,

There was a point in it but i think the scoreboard did no justice to the game as Tyrone completely managed that extra time. Maybe ran it a bit close but they managed it.

From a kerry point of view, i still don't get the geaney thing, and after yesterday i definitely don't get it. Morley was playing centre half back a few years ago and was super. In lieu of a decent fullback was tried out there and ended up on the bench after a few dodgy games, head scratching. Unfortunately most of this group have been found wanting on a few occasions at this stage, and dare i say wholesale changes are needed. I'm even talking about moran, paul muphy, tommy walsh, geaney etc.

They say the leinster championship is dead, but i think the munster championship is in a worse state. its alive but no substance..

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 541 - 29/08/2021 16:08:35    2376054

Replying To endgame:  "Don't think Mayo have better footballers coming through. Certainly Galway and Roscommon have been as good as Mayo at underage over the last few years. Best of luck to Mayo in 2 weeks. James Horan has been a phenomenal Manager for Mayo. Six Connacht titles in seven seasons and four All Ireland Final appearances. He may well bridge the 70 year gap in 2 weeks time."
Galway and Ros might have as good as underage teams as Mayo probably better in more years in recent times but Mayo are bringing through better players than both even lads off poor underage teams. And at the end of the day's that's all that matters.Fa9r play to them they have been phenomenal last 10 years. Legends retired and everyone taught they would be in transition but have probably improved. Never taught I would say it but I hope they win it now. They more than deserve it at this stage.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 29/08/2021 16:25:51    2376058

Replying To ponger:  "in fairness to you, i did see that. I was just amazed (not at the awe in what kerry had done to date) but to think Tyrone wouldn't turn up. Thats just adding fuel to the fire if ever tyrone needed egging on,

There was a point in it but i think the scoreboard did no justice to the game as Tyrone completely managed that extra time. Maybe ran it a bit close but they managed it.

From a kerry point of view, i still don't get the geaney thing, and after yesterday i definitely don't get it. Morley was playing centre half back a few years ago and was super. In lieu of a decent fullback was tried out there and ended up on the bench after a few dodgy games, head scratching. Unfortunately most of this group have been found wanting on a few occasions at this stage, and dare i say wholesale changes are needed. I'm even talking about moran, paul muphy, tommy walsh, geaney etc.

They say the leinster championship is dead, but i think the munster championship is in a worse state. its alive but no substance.."
With the minor and under 20 winners coming from Leinster this year hopefully the future looks more competitive for Leinster football.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/08/2021 17:05:19    2376074

Why isn't more made of Niall Morgan's free from the halfway line, 1 of the best frees I have seen taken in Gaelic football.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 29/08/2021 17:20:03    2376076

Replying To endgame:  "Don't think Mayo have better footballers coming through. Certainly Galway and Roscommon have been as good as Mayo at underage over the last few years. Best of luck to Mayo in 2 weeks. James Horan has been a phenomenal Manager for Mayo. Six Connacht titles in seven seasons and four All Ireland Final appearances. He may well bridge the 70 year gap in 2 weeks time."
The gap between being a good intercounty footballer at minor or U20 -> senior intercounty is absolutely massive. Years of conditioning and commitment in-between to play at the very top which the vast vast majority of players will never commit to or aren't able for. Its been shown time and time again, underage success doesn't equate to senior success...look at all those successful Kerry teams over the last decade...look at Dublin's relative lack of underage success yet their sheer dominance at Senior.

Our lack of success at underage since Diarmuid O'Conner/Conroy's minor team is more than made up for the quality of the senior setup, same with Dublin.

'Don't think Mayo have better footballers coming through' ..........well how did we have such a decent team in the 2000s, a fantastic team last decade that have multiple Connaught's and close finals and now a team in a fantastic position going into the new decade? Your statement makes absolutely zero sense...

Speaking of the players on the 3 Connaught teams in question ...how many of the Roscommon players would actually get on the current Mayo team who started against Dublin? I'd have probably Enda and an on-form Cox at a push but that's about it at the moment.. Galway have about 3 maybe 4 players currently i'd like on our team.

nicko94 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 29/08/2021 17:48:29    2376085

From a neutral point of views it was disgusting to see Spillane allowed dominate the conversation unfairly. Of course Kerry have the name of cute hoars. Why ? Because they earned it. We know all about it when the voted against us playing are hurling games in Nowlan Park when they had no skin in the game, because they got paid off in kind for it.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2665 - 29/08/2021 18:12:58    2376094

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "Why isn't more made of Niall Morgan's free from the halfway line, 1 of the best frees I have seen taken in Gaelic football."
Because his woeful kick outs led to at least 3-4 Kerry scores, he missed I think 3 kickable frees/45s and he tried to pass a ball with the outside of his foot down the sideline and as usual it went horribly wrong - I can't remember did his mistake lead to a Kerry score?

On the subject of kicking the ball with the outside of the foot - on the 1% of the time a player gets it right - it's a great skill and looks great, but on the 99% of the time the player gets it wrong - it is horrendous! At this stage it should be coached out of the game as a bad idea.

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 797 - 29/08/2021 18:44:20    2376106

Replying To HokeyPokey:  "There's plenty of the sour grapes from some Kerry supporters and former players etc. It's crazy how it all started. An intense performance by a great and young team in 2003 dominated and beat a complacent Kerry team. We had been close to All-Irelands and it was our first, but they wanted to diminish that. Kerry have 37 All-Irelands, they should be more magnanimous. Don't get me wrong, there's plenty of eejit Tyrone supporters too, but I don't think there was the same level of sour grapes from any Tyrone media or commentator after the many times Kerry have beaten us in the championship since 2008. I think some of Tyrone's reaction to Kerry comes from being treated very condescendingly and expected to koktow to the 'aristocratcs'. I think Spillane in the 80s said Tyrone had loads of good looking women and maybe if we sent some down to Kerry to distract them we would have a better chance of winning the AI. Aswell, every time Tyrone have beaten Kerry they have been wrote off by the media and expected to be beaten by Kerry's individual brilliance. In my opinion the Tyrone team that lined out in 2005 had better individual players than Kerry.

I think this could be the start of another great rivalry between the teams and it was definitely one of the sweetest wins and the most sweet since 2008!"
First of all Hokey congrats on yere deserved win yesterday but I certainly don't agree at all with your post. Maybe Kerry did nt respect Tyrone before 03 but they certainly did afterwards and still do. If you read the Kerry forum last week many were worried about Tyrone. Kerry pundits including the Ó Sé s and Donaghy all were very wary of Tyrone. The one pundit that does nt show respect is Spillane
I agree with that but believe you me not many in Kerry agree with Pat. Spillane was a fantastic footballer but can be a condescending pundit even towards his own. If Spillane tips a team be worried. Don't judge all Kerry people on Pat. Every county has those sorts. Remember it was Kerry goodwill that gave Tyrone a chance to play in the semi final and although we were beaten any Kerry fan I spoke with yesterday all agreed there were no regrets and we d do the same again
I know we all like to stand up for our own but I can't change anyone s mind. I'm just trying to give you perspective. Anyway enough said so best of luck in the final.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 29/08/2021 19:01:45    2376109

Replying To endgame:  "Yes and had Roscommon a decent management team in place, we'd have beaten Galway. The only difference in Connacht at the moment is that Horan is a far better Manager than Joyce or Cunningham so Mayo go forward while Roscommon and Galway go back."
Mayo have better players than Galway and Roscommon, that's the difference and has been for the last 15 years or so. Taking Galway for instance, only 2 players from that Galway team would get on the mayo panel - comer and Walsh.

Unsullied (Mayo) - Posts: 18 - 29/08/2021 19:03:29    2376111

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "Why isn't more made of Niall Morgan's free from the halfway line, 1 of the best frees I have seen taken in Gaelic football."
I agree. Niall Morgan has taken plenty of flak in the past and some deserved may I add but yesterday while not his finest performance he oozed class. On two separate occasions when the Clifford brothers were down cramping (David very badly) he helped both. His free. Ó. M. G it was just unbelievable.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 29/08/2021 19:07:29    2376112

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I agree. Niall Morgan has taken plenty of flak in the past and some deserved may I add but yesterday while not his finest performance he oozed class. On two separate occasions when the Clifford brothers were down cramping (David very badly) he helped both. His free. Ó. M. G it was just unbelievable."
I agree Mick! I'm stunned that more isn't being made of Morgan's kick. Top place ball kickers like Dean Rock, Sean O Shea, etc will be at their limit just beyond the 45. That was about 72 metres and it sailed over. One of the greatest gaa points of all time. I was laughing when he was shaping up to it saying is this guy for real. It's the equivalent of scoring a goal from the half way line in the soccer ball stuff!

Re; the 2 Cliiford lads I reckon he twisted both their ankles, Sure ye wouldn't be up to them Thrown lads ;--D

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 203 - 29/08/2021 19:30:37    2376121

Some people, including at least one ex-Kerry player, are suggesting that Kerry were rusty after a five week lay-off. By my calculation, Tyrone had a four week lay-off. Is there some scientific evidence indicating that four weeks is OK, but five weeks is too much?

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 545 - 29/08/2021 19:35:42    2376122

Replying To foreveryoung:  "One thing that people seem to have overlooked is that Tyrone were without two really strong players yesterday; often starters in their first 15. They didn't feature in the Ulster final either. I'm not going to name them. It's not difficult to figure out who they are, though.

Two players is a big loss, especially in a tight game like yesterday's. Kerry used 9 substitutes in total; Tyrone 6, the latter two of which barely featured. So, the Tyrone bench was quite thin yesterday. Having these two players back for the final would greatly boost Tyrone's chances. At least they'd have a full bench to call upon."
Yes, the fact that these players have been missing since the semi final against Donegal has been overlooked by the so called national media. And also the fact that Tyrone players were out on their feet in the last ten minutes. This selective amnesia of course is part of the narrative that poor old Kerry were undone by the cute hours from Tyrone.

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 29/08/2021 19:40:45    2376126

Replying To Unsullied:  "Mayo have better players than Galway and Roscommon, that's the difference and has been for the last 15 years or so. Taking Galway for instance, only 2 players from that Galway team would get on the mayo panel - comer and Walsh."
Do you think Mayo would be in the All Ireland Final for the second year in a row, having lost so many established players, if Padraig Joyce or Anthony Cunningham was the Mayo Manager.? I don't.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2170 - 29/08/2021 19:54:10    2376131

It was unbelievable, as someone said laughable to be trying from such a distance. Marty clarke does co-comm for the bbc and he's great on picking things up like that. Beggan long kicks for example and calling out the really skilled kick points. Maybe he's picked up that from his time in afl as that kind of thing is something they promote very well in their own game. There's a good chance rte won't even show that point in highlights this evening. Hopefully they do and make a big deal about it.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 697 - 29/08/2021 19:54:18    2376132

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I agree. Niall Morgan has taken plenty of flak in the past and some deserved may I add but yesterday while not his finest performance he oozed class. On two separate occasions when the Clifford brothers were down cramping (David very badly) he helped both. His free. Ó. M. G it was just unbelievable."
For sure in an era of win at all costs it was great to see. And what can you say about that point.....

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12045 - 29/08/2021 20:42:35    2376150

Replying To endgame:  "Do you think Mayo would be in the All Ireland Final for the second year in a row, having lost so many established players, if Padraig Joyce or Anthony Cunningham was the Mayo Manager.? I don't."
This is the first year that I think James Horan has got a grip on the game day management. I think a couple of All Ireland's slipped by because of his lack of management. This year is a different story, he makes the changes when needed.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 29/08/2021 20:49:16    2376154

Well said CiarraiMick, and being honest winning an All-Ireland without meeting Kerry is not the same, and Dublin from Mayos point of view.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 29/08/2021 21:02:19    2376158

Just occurred to me that if tyrone had of pulled out and Kerry got a pass to the final there still would have been at least a 5 week break to their next match. Puts to bed the issue of tyrone getting the extra week.

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 29/08/2021 22:04:36    2376191