Kerry Vs Tyrone

Replying To ponger:  "i think it was the second water break and o'Shea is on the ground getting his legs massaged. One of the team passes him a little/tiny bottle. Any guess or anyone know what's in that bottle at that would be beneficial at that stage of the game?"
Dr Bachs rescue remedy.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 28/08/2021 23:02:54    2375798

Congratulations to Tyrone. Kerry couldn't adapt -no plan B & an over reliance on David Clifford.
I think Tyrone have given a masterclass in how to maximize any situation to their advantage - on, & as per recent times, off the pitch. Some may have questions around integrity & ethics but as a team they have a culture of always playing on the edge & again this has paid off for them.

P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 28/08/2021 23:07:25    2375800

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I think they have.....been beaten by Tyrone in championship. 2008 I believe.
Mayo did beat them in '89, '04, '13 & '16 though."
Yes, you are correct 0.13- 1.9 in 2008 , totally forgot bout that.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 28/08/2021 23:15:01    2375802

Replying To border Gael:  "Sour grapes my fellow County man. That match was won by team play, sheer determination, pure grit, men putting their bodies and heads where our county players would hardly put their boot. That was Dooher explosion. Kerry peaked too early this year. They were unable to keep that level of fitness up . Tyrone had far tougher battles to get to their semi final. This is brilliant for gaelic football. What a final its going to be now. Well done to our neighbours Tyrone and their management and backroom team in their first season."
In fairness I think it would be great if there was stopping the clock situation like rugby because these tactics make a total mockery of the black card.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 28/08/2021 23:16:56    2375804

Replying To lilylanger:  "Well well well. Take a bow Tyrone. Hopefully all the shit talk in the media was pinned to your dressing room door. Kerry only had to turn up it would seem. The level of disrespect shown was ridiculous. Kerry are a two man team and cynical AF. The end. Oh and McGeary was immense."
Bitter to the end. Dimon Mayo and Limerick

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 28/08/2021 23:32:53    2375808

Replying To DJMon:  "I thought Tyrone's management of Mc Curry's black card was masterful. Mc Cann avails of the first opportunity to go down feigning a head injury, referee has to stop play for 3/4 minutes. Any county could come up with that. But to then make the substitution of Mc Cann, bringing him off and then back on again not only shortened the amount of playing time Mc curry missed but added time to the end of the game. If ever croke park want to introduce a new rule, trial it in Tyrone for a year first. They won't be long exposing any flaws!!"
The GAA need to stop the clock for injury stoppages, been saying it for years.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/08/2021 23:39:06    2375811

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Can't put into words at the moment after a game that.

Extremely proud, exuberant, wrecked, winners. All Ireland final.

Thank you Kerry for a great game."
No problem and congrats and thank Tyrone for their sportsmanship. Niall Morgan showed what a real sportsman was today helping Clifford. Class.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 28/08/2021 23:43:26    2375812

Replying To mayo_123:  "I cant understand every year kerry favourites for all ireland they beat nobody it's the arrogance they have that they should win so it's great to see them out probably the worst defence in the top teams good riddance"
Can't argue with a lot of that. You are spot on.

Hope Mayo finally reach the promised land

But if Tyrone do win, they will have won the same amount of All Ireland's since 2009 as Kerry - ONE.
For Kerry 1 All Ireland in 12 years will definitely not sit well with them.

Not sure what they have been doing in the past week but their players looked wrecked and were dropping like flies. Would have thought with the long lay-off since their cake walk of a Munster Championship, that they would have been as fresh as daisies.

Over reliant on one player today, and in other close games over the past couple of years also. Crazy stuff.

Ps
P Spillane lost the plot today.
Wonder how the other Kerry pundits will react to this shock defeat.??

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 28/08/2021 23:44:27    2375813

Replying To essmac:  "You're right about the frees. Sort of odd, as he was generally letting stuff go. He was even handed with the non-scoring frees, but def gave a couple of handy scorable ones to Kerry. Overall though, he was much better than I expected. For me, there's never since been a ref as sensible and impartial as McEnaney"
Was I the only one that thought that Paul Murphy clearly fouled Mattie Donnelly on the last play in normal time under the refs nose ? I'd like to see it again

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 29/08/2021 00:02:24    2375820

Quality wise not a great game. However excitement, pure heart, putting everything on the line wise it was top class. I honestly didn't give Tyrone much of a chance. But fair play they left it all on the field.
I do think it brings into question Kerry management, I believe like last year they had total focus on Dublin and when they (dubs) were beat probably a little bit of complacency set in, they also got sucked into the belief that Tyrone were basically a hospital case and a very sick unfit ill prepared team. They've paid a high price for that. And also over reliance on Clifford.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/08/2021 00:05:14    2375823

Replying To BilboNaggins:  "Lets be honest here , it was great to see Tyrone get the extra time to prepare but Kerry are going to eat this Tyrone team alive. Tyrone have a very average full back line and will get badly exposed by the Kerry FF line in Croke park, McNamee in particular will be targeted as i expect Michael O'Neill will as well in the centre half back line. No doubt Tyrone are an up and coming team, but they are some way away from being able to challenge or beat any of the other semi finalists. Mayo's only chance of lifting Sam is if somehow Tyrone pull off an even bigger shock then they did on Saturday."
Thanks Galwayman - that really helped us!

redhandroar (Tyrone) - Posts: 59 - 29/08/2021 00:07:21    2375825

Replying To royaldunne:  "Nah neither will happen. Tyrone aren't near the level of Dublin mayo or particularly Kerry. If Tyrone can keep it to less than 10 point defeat that would be brilliant for their progress."
Thanks for that Royal Dunne, hope you didn't lump on to Kerry on the handicap - the quickest way to the poorhouse!

redhandroar (Tyrone) - Posts: 59 - 29/08/2021 00:15:10    2375829

Replying To DJMon:  "I thought Tyrone's management of Mc Curry's black card was masterful. Mc Cann avails of the first opportunity to go down feigning a head injury, referee has to stop play for 3/4 minutes. Any county could come up with that. But to then make the substitution of Mc Cann, bringing him off and then back on again not only shortened the amount of playing time Mc curry missed but added time to the end of the game. If ever croke park want to introduce a new rule, trial it in Tyrone for a year first. They won't be long exposing any flaws!!"
Looked to be a nasty enough head injury for which Adrian Spillane received a yellow card. Not sure how much he will remember of the final moments after being reintroduced. Almost three minutes lost for treatment to David Clifford as well during McCurry's absence.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 29/08/2021 00:17:16    2375830

Replying To plike:  "I was reading in the Indo about how the Tyrone have had to respond to Covid. I'm shocked that the rate of infection up there is so high. I'm appalled that half of their squad of young, fit and healthy men have been laid low- and some hospitalised- by this latter day plague.

At the risk of spouting heresy, this is just a game. Life isn't a game. It's great that it's going ahead. It wouldn't be the worst tragedy ever if the season was stopped in its tracks. Family, friends and health matter far more.

I hope that we all hold on to that sense of perspective here after as I honestly think that some of us tend to lose the plot entirely at this stage of the year. We shouldn't. You're a rooster this season. You'll be a feather duster the next. Life goes on!"
Great post and so true plike - it's a pity your fellow countyman couldn't show the same class and humanity as you after the game today - that was a complete embarrassment. I just hope COVID doesn't come back to punish him or his family (vaccinated or not) after those comments today - COVID does not discriminate. Vaccination will help protect but not guarantee.

redhandroar (Tyrone) - Posts: 59 - 29/08/2021 00:20:34    2375832

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Tyrone have handled their Covid protocols very poorly here. The more we hear the worse it gets."
You think? I hear numbers aren't great in Mayo in recent weeks. I really hope your guys aren't impacted in the next fortnight.

redhandroar (Tyrone) - Posts: 59 - 29/08/2021 00:22:58    2375834

Replying To mayomanic:  "what you reckon now?"
I'd say his comments aren't far off the mark!

redhandroar (Tyrone) - Posts: 59 - 29/08/2021 00:24:27    2375835

Replying To Galway9801:  "Kerry were favourites to win this even before tyrone had to stop training due to covid.
In some ways this was a worse result than last year against Cork."
Spillane was an amazing footballer … but as a pundit he has shown himself time and again to be a mean spirited, bad loser.

redhandroar (Tyrone) - Posts: 59 - 29/08/2021 00:32:11    2375838

Replying To Saynothing:  "KingdomBoy1, was it the longest free you've seen in football? I thought in 2020 Morgan was heading for an all-star but Covid put an end to that with going out to Donegal in first round. Couple of mistakes from him today but that free, your right, all-star."
The only frees I've seen going over from that distance were on the hurling field!

redhandroar (Tyrone) - Posts: 59 - 29/08/2021 00:35:06    2375839

Replying To Saynothing:  "KingdomBoy1, was it the longest free you've seen in football? I thought in 2020 Morgan was heading for an all-star but Covid put an end to that with going out to Donegal in first round. Couple of mistakes from him today but that free, your right, all-star."
It was the longest kick I've ever seen saynothing and I seen Brian Sheehan kick some monster frees in my time.

If ye win the final I'd give Mcgeary POTY.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/08/2021 01:26:40    2375848

Replying To Galway9801:  "Agree with most of that but I thought kerry tactics were brutal. It seemed that PK told them before the game, that if there's even a tiny chance of a goal, to go for it, had they taken their points when they were on offer I think they would have won by 5 or 6.
All immaterial now though , tyrone won fair and square."
Same, I lost count of the easy points Kerry turned down trying to walk the ball into net or even just over passing for no apparent reason. In contrast a couple of the Tyrone defenders sauntered up the field to knock points over from 30/40 yards out with no pressure on them.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 29/08/2021 08:01:03    2375856