Kerry Vs Tyrone

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I thought Spillane - who i have good time for - was a bit mean spirited today.

Not so much begrudging Tyrone, as in some of his comments on the Kerry players.

He seemed to be questioning their character, which is a cheap shot against any team, but especially your own. Reminded me of a certain former Tipp man who made a habit of that and is not as fondly remembered as his achievements might merit."
Kerry were favourites to win this even before tyrone had to stop training due to covid.
In some ways this was a worse result than last year against Cork.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1720 - 28/08/2021 20:30:52    2375686

Replying To Curlew66:  "A novel final pairing with no All Ireland senior medal winners on either team.
Mayo have never been beaten by Tyrone in the senior championship but it's 50:50 ,
Expect huge demand for the anti Covid medication used by Tyrone in the past three weeks,
Seriously though , what a performance by Tyrone. Not many would have forecasted that after league semi in Tralee. They defended with so much courage as typified by Peter Harte's block and broke intelligently. Referee did well although I felt Tyrone had to work much harder for frees. Kerry were awarded 2-3 soft frees from scoring positions, need to review it later."
You're right about the frees. Sort of odd, as he was generally letting stuff go. He was even handed with the non-scoring frees, but def gave a couple of handy scorable ones to Kerry. Overall though, he was much better than I expected. For me, there's never since been a ref as sensible and impartial as McEnaney

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 28/08/2021 20:30:52    2375687

Replying To Curlew66:  "A novel final pairing with no All Ireland senior medal winners on either team.
Mayo have never been beaten by Tyrone in the senior championship but it's 50:50 ,
Expect huge demand for the anti Covid medication used by Tyrone in the past three weeks,
Seriously though , what a performance by Tyrone. Not many would have forecasted that after league semi in Tralee. They defended with so much courage as typified by Peter Harte's block and broke intelligently. Referee did well although I felt Tyrone had to work much harder for frees. Kerry were awarded 2-3 soft frees from scoring positions, need to review it later."
You're right about the frees. Sort of odd, as he was generally letting stuff go. He was even handed with the non-scoring frees, but def gave a couple of handy scorable ones to Kerry. Overall though, he was much better than I expected. For me, there's never since been a ref as sensible and impartial as McEnaney

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 28/08/2021 20:30:55    2375688

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I thought Spillane - who i have good time for - was a bit mean spirited today.

Not so much begrudging Tyrone, as in some of his comments on the Kerry players.

He seemed to be questioning their character, which is a cheap shot against any team, but especially your own. Reminded me of a certain former Tipp man who made a habit of that and is not as fondly remembered as his achievements might merit."
Kerry were favourites to win this even before tyrone had to stop training due to covid.
In some ways this was a worse result than last year against Cork.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1720 - 28/08/2021 20:30:59    2375689

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 28/08/2021 20:31:06    2375690

You're right about the frees. Sort of odd, as he was generally letting stuff go. He was even handed with the non-scoring frees, and sensible throughout, but def gave a couple of handy scorable ones to Kerry. Overall though, he was much better than I expected. For me, there's never since been a ref as sensible and impartial as McEnaney

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 28/08/2021 20:33:13    2375692

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Can't put into words at the moment after a game that.

Extremely proud, exuberant, wrecked, winners. All Ireland final.

Thank you Kerry for a great game."
Fair play to ye fridge and can I say that Niall Morgan showed great sportsmanship when he helped the 2 Clifford brothers with their leg cramps, and his free kick just before half time has to be the best kick iv seen since Maurice Fitzs sideline against dublin in 01.

Niall is my all-star goalkeeper for 2021.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/08/2021 20:38:52    2375695

I'm in Kerry. Shocked. And that's just me :) There's a real sense of wtf just happened here. Silence in the pub. Huge congratulations to Tyrone and commiserations to Kerry. A novel final is a shot in the arm the GAA badly need.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/08/2021 20:58:54    2375704

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Fair play to ye fridge and can I say that Niall Morgan showed great sportsmanship when he helped the 2 Clifford brothers with their leg cramps, and his free kick just before half time has to be the best kick iv seen since Maurice Fitzs sideline against dublin in 01.

Niall is my all-star goalkeeper for 2021."
KingdomBoy1, was it the longest free you've seen in football? I thought in 2020 Morgan was heading for an all-star but Covid put an end to that with going out to Donegal in first round. Couple of mistakes from him today but that free, your right, all-star.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 28/08/2021 21:50:07    2375737

Replying To lilylanger:  "Well well well. Take a bow Tyrone. Hopefully all the shit talk in the media was pinned to your dressing room door. Kerry only had to turn up it would seem. The level of disrespect shown was ridiculous. Kerry are a two man team and cynical AF. The end. Oh and McGeary was immense."
Ah you ré alive. You ré happy anyway. Enjoy

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 28/08/2021 21:51:20    2375740

For all the battles we've had with Tyrone over the years I am absolutely delighted for them and their supporters tonight, they did Ulster football proud, they have better football in them as well imo, things didn't go all that well today with the kick outs which are usually a lot better, they will give Mayo their fill of it in the final,
still think Mayo will be glad it's not Kerry they are facing, fascinating final in store, hope Tyrone can do it for Ulster.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 28/08/2021 21:52:17    2375741

I thought Tyrone's management of Mc Curry's black card was masterful. Mc Cann avails of the first opportunity to go down feigning a head injury, referee has to stop play for 3/4 minutes. Any county could come up with that. But to then make the substitution of Mc Cann, bringing him off and then back on again not only shortened the amount of playing time Mc curry missed but added time to the end of the game. If ever croke park want to introduce a new rule, trial it in Tyrone for a year first. They won't be long exposing any flaws!!

DJMon (Monaghan) - Posts: 2 - 28/08/2021 21:59:35    2375748

Well done Tyrone, it was masterful display and deserved, good luck in the final. Not so long ago neither Mayo or Tyrone were given a prayer. Well done.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 28/08/2021 22:12:48    2375756

I cant understand every year kerry favourites for all ireland they beat nobody it's the arrogance they have that they should win so it's great to see them out probably the worst defence in the top teams good riddance

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 28/08/2021 22:25:53    2375766

Replying To DJMon:  "I thought Tyrone's management of Mc Curry's black card was masterful. Mc Cann avails of the first opportunity to go down feigning a head injury, referee has to stop play for 3/4 minutes. Any county could come up with that. But to then make the substitution of Mc Cann, bringing him off and then back on again not only shortened the amount of playing time Mc curry missed but added time to the end of the game. If ever croke park want to introduce a new rule, trial it in Tyrone for a year first. They won't be long exposing any flaws!!"
Are ye forgetting a few years back in Omagh in the league, Monaghan player gets black card and the ball was in play for 3 minutes, so fair play to Tyrone for learning from our neighbors.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 28/08/2021 22:32:31    2375771

I think they have.....been beaten by Tyrone in championship. 2008 I believe.
Mayo did beat them in '89, '04, '13 & '16 though.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3454 - 28/08/2021 22:41:56    2375777

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Fair play to ye fridge and can I say that Niall Morgan showed great sportsmanship when he helped the 2 Clifford brothers with their leg cramps, and his free kick just before half time has to be the best kick iv seen since Maurice Fitzs sideline against dublin in 01.

Niall is my all-star goalkeeper for 2021."
Really? He had more assists for Kerry than any other player - missed some vital kicks also. But he did score that monster 70m kick but he needs to improve drastically for the final!!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 28/08/2021 22:44:53    2375780

Not sure why people keep harping on about the league game in Tralee!! Tyrone lads travelled down in cars played the game in the same day - how can any player do that? This is an AI semi and Tyrone were always going to be up for it even with Covid! Too much of this Kerry for Sam stuff going on even bookies had them favourites before Dubs were knocked out - Tyrone showed today they are not world beaters and the pack is now starting to reform - maybe the football championship will start being as enjoyable as the hurling again!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 28/08/2021 22:49:18    2375785

Replying To DJMon:  "I thought Tyrone's management of Mc Curry's black card was masterful. Mc Cann avails of the first opportunity to go down feigning a head injury, referee has to stop play for 3/4 minutes. Any county could come up with that. But to then make the substitution of Mc Cann, bringing him off and then back on again not only shortened the amount of playing time Mc curry missed but added time to the end of the game. If ever croke park want to introduce a new rule, trial it in Tyrone for a year first. They won't be long exposing any flaws!!"
Sour grapes my fellow County man. That match was won by team play, sheer determination, pure grit, men putting their bodies and heads where our county players would hardly put their boot. That was Dooher explosion. Kerry peaked too early this year. They were unable to keep that level of fitness up . Tyrone had far tougher battles to get to their semi final. This is brilliant for gaelic football. What a final its going to be now. Well done to our neighbours Tyrone and their management and backroom team in their first season.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 28/08/2021 22:53:25    2375791

Replying To border Gael:  "Sour grapes my fellow County man. That match was won by team play, sheer determination, pure grit, men putting their bodies and heads where our county players would hardly put their boot. That was Dooher explosion. Kerry peaked too early this year. They were unable to keep that level of fitness up . Tyrone had far tougher battles to get to their semi final. This is brilliant for gaelic football. What a final its going to be now. Well done to our neighbours Tyrone and their management and backroom team in their first season."
Agree with most of that but I thought kerry tactics were brutal. It seemed that PK told them before the game, that if there's even a tiny chance of a goal, to go for it, had they taken their points when they were on offer I think they would have won by 5 or 6.
All immaterial now though , tyrone won fair and square.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1720 - 28/08/2021 23:02:12    2375797