Kerry Vs Tyrone

Replying To essmac:  "I'd love to be able to say I was just doing a béal bocht routine, with all my pre-match pessimism, but I wasn't. Surprised by the result; did not see that coming, reckon I'll leave off the predictions for a while. But obviously very happy to be proved wrong"
Enjoy it man!

Like yourself I did not see that coming but bloody brilliant character shown from your lads.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 28/08/2021 19:12:13    2375603

Replying To ponger:  "i think it was the second water break and o'Shea is on the ground getting his legs massaged. One of the team passes him a little/tiny bottle. Any guess or anyone know what's in that bottle at that would be beneficial at that stage of the game?"
Awful that my first post after a game like that his to be negative.

But what are you seriously on about? A lot of players get sport drinks/energy gels to give them a bit of energy.

Nothing to see here

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 28/08/2021 19:22:47    2375613

Replying To kick-it:  "Another terrible display of football just like the other semi final. David Clifford was puffing and panting in the team huddle before the game even started which was a bad sign. Overwhelming pressure on Mayo now as favourites, they just may buckle again in a final."
And that's something from a Leitrim man.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 28/08/2021 19:25:46    2375615

Fine margins, a poor kick for a point and then an unfortunate assist from Barry the 5 points was always going to be hard got back. Fair play to kerry they got very close and better walsh missing than doing a derry against donegal on it.

It's not like tyrone got everything right. Kerry really dominated their kickout. Morgan did not have a great game. Maybe that wonder point in the first half went to his head as he missed everything after that and made some poor decisions. Canavan did great initially but then started turning over the ball. Mccurrys black card was very illdisciplined and no way was there ten mins of actual play for his time on the sidelines. Gaa also really need to redefine it to be body check any cynical foul. I didn't really think the first one warranted a black card.
The tyrone defending and effort was immense and very reflective of Brian dooher as a player.

Clifford was great til the injury, possibly his best game as his support of other players to that point was not great.

The great and the good of kerry will have knives out now for keane and would not wish that hassle on anyone. Strangley though no obvious new candidates (to the outside world anyway)

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 697 - 28/08/2021 19:29:54    2375622

Replying To Saynothing:  "And that's something from a Leitrim man."
What has that got to do with anything?

kick-it (Leitrim) - Posts: 33 - 28/08/2021 19:31:14    2375623

Is this Kerry team a bit like Galway hurlers for a good few years? Too dependent on one man having an exceptional day every day?

Might be good idea to take him off the frees altogether rather than sharing them with the other fella who is questionable first team choice without the frees.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2584 - 28/08/2021 19:33:47    2375626

I know Tyrone players had Covid a few weeks ago but did the Kerry team have to do social distancing during the game, it looked like Tony Houlihan was managing them rather than Keane.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 28/08/2021 19:35:14    2375627

A big thank you to Pat Spillane for kick up the backside Tyrone needed before match, RTÉ on in the Tyrone changing room..

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 28/08/2021 19:35:29    2375628

T for tackling. T for tenacious. T for Tigerish. T for Tyrone! Ulster champs flying the Ulster flag with pride. Delighted. Sam is coming north.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 28/08/2021 19:37:19    2375630

My heartiest congratulations to Tyrone on their victory today , ye were the better team hands down and I wish ye all the best now in the final against Mayo.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/08/2021 19:37:51    2375632

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Fine margins, a poor kick for a point and then an unfortunate assist from Barry the 5 points was always going to be hard got back. Fair play to kerry they got very close and better walsh missing than doing a derry against donegal on it.

It's not like tyrone got everything right. Kerry really dominated their kickout. Morgan did not have a great game. Maybe that wonder point in the first half went to his head as he missed everything after that and made some poor decisions. Canavan did great initially but then started turning over the ball. Mccurrys black card was very illdisciplined and no way was there ten mins of actual play for his time on the sidelines. Gaa also really need to redefine it to be body check any cynical foul. I didn't really think the first one warranted a black card.
The tyrone defending and effort was immense and very reflective of Brian dooher as a player.

Clifford was great til the injury, possibly his best game as his support of other players to that point was not great.

The great and the good of kerry will have knives out now for keane and would not wish that hassle on anyone. Strangley though no obvious new candidates (to the outside world anyway)"
Danny Healy Rae would do a better job!

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 203 - 28/08/2021 19:44:59    2375639

Can't put into words at the moment after a game that.

Extremely proud, exuberant, wrecked, winners. All Ireland final.

Thank you Kerry for a great game.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 28/08/2021 19:46:18    2375641

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Best Team won it, referee was excellent IMO. There for either Mayo or Tyrone now, final should be a cracker"
I agree, think ref was fair and consistent. He'd do a good job in the final as well though unlikely he'll get it as he reffed the final last year.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 697 - 28/08/2021 19:47:08    2375642

A defeat that will badly hurt Kerry, it all looked set up for a period of dominance but their friends from Tyrone have come for them again; it is a massive win for Tyrone congrats but bad night for Kerry football. I didn't see it coming, but it did and this Tyrone set up are just starting; they showed they have no fear of Kerry football which may be significant over the next few years, the aim was catching Dublin but Tyrone may cause Kerry more problems going forward.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 28/08/2021 19:49:34    2375648

Replying To galwayford:  "Deep down will the Mayos be glad that they are not facing Kerry. That team has nearly always beaten them in finals over the last 30 years. Congrats Tyrone, hard luck Kerry.
I personally think Mayo will relish taking on Tyrone, more than Kerry. Who just seem to have an indian sign on them.
Mayos will need big Aidan O Shea to be at his best and playing to beat the Red hands."
I'd be thinking that too, Mayo don't have the mental baggage of multiple defeats to Tyrone like they do against Kerry. But then, watching Kerry today I was thinking, if they win then Mayo don't have anything to fear in the final. Disappointed in Kerry's performance, particularly in attack.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/08/2021 19:53:06    2375652

Replying To AfricanGael:  "The COVID-19 vaccines produce protection against the disease, as a result of developing an immune response to the SARS-Cov-2 virus.

Developing immunity through vaccination means there is a reduced risk of developing the illness and its consequences.

This immunity helps you fight the virus if exposed.

Getting vaccinated may also protect people around you, because if you are protected from getting infected and from disease, you are less likely to infect someone else.

This is particularly important to protect people at increased risk for severe illness from COVID-19, such as healthcare providers, older or elderly adults, and people with other medical conditions.

Self explanatory, if you choose not to reduce the risk then that's your fault, nobody else's but don't come whinging when it goes pear shaped."
Well it certainly didnt go pear shaped Tir Eoghain abu

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 28/08/2021 20:07:15    2375661

I thought Spillane - who i have good time for - was a bit mean spirited today.

Not so much begrudging Tyrone, as in some of his comments on the Kerry players.

He seemed to be questioning their character, which is a cheap shot against any team, but especially your own. Reminded me of a certain former Tipp man who made a habit of that and is not as fondly remembered as his achievements might merit.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2584 - 28/08/2021 20:08:12    2375663

Replying To Ulsterman:  "A wounded Tyrone with everyone against them are a dangerous beast as they showed today. I wrote them off but I should have known better."
We are back

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 28/08/2021 20:13:37    2375669

Replying To galwayford:  "Deep down will the Mayos be glad that they are not facing Kerry. That team has nearly always beaten them in finals over the last 30 years. Congrats Tyrone, hard luck Kerry.
I personally think Mayo will relish taking on Tyrone, more than Kerry. Who just seem to have an indian sign on them.
Mayos will need big Aidan O Shea to be at his best and playing to beat the Red hands."
A novel final pairing with no All Ireland senior medal winners on either team.
Mayo have never been beaten by Tyrone in the senior championship but it's 50:50 ,
Expect huge demand for the anti Covid medication used by Tyrone in the past three weeks,
Seriously though , what a performance by Tyrone. Not many would have forecasted that after league semi in Tralee. They defended with so much courage as typified by Peter Harte's block and broke intelligently. Referee did well although I felt Tyrone had to work much harder for frees. Kerry were awarded 2-3 soft frees from scoring positions, need to review it later.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 28/08/2021 20:17:55    2375672

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I thought Spillane - who i have good time for - was a bit mean spirited today.

Not so much begrudging Tyrone, as in some of his comments on the Kerry players.

He seemed to be questioning their character, which is a cheap shot against any team, but especially your own. Reminded me of a certain former Tipp man who made a habit of that and is not as fondly remembered as his achievements might merit."
Spillane can say what he likes as far as I'm concerned if Tyrone never had a Covid outbreak they would have still won, that's what he needs to worry about

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 28/08/2021 20:22:36    2375679