Kerry Vs Tyrone

Replying To AfricanGael:  "If it had been an All-Ireland semi final , the slaying of the dragon and watched by nearly a million people of course there would have been the same response.

Morgan doesn't have Smalls form, sent off in two consecutive All-Ireland's.
"
How would a goalkeeper have the form of a tough steely centre half back? The fact is that Andrews had his jaw smashed, it barely made the press and Dublin didn't make a big deal about it. You'd almost think it wasn't a contact sport these days.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2021 11:15:26    2372651

Replying To Joxer:  ""If a Tyrone player broke a player's jaw…". Get over your martyrdom. Niall Morgan broke Paddy Andrews' jaw and got a yellow card. There was nothing like the hysteria surrounding Small's challenge. It was a league game in Croke Park. Do you only support Tyrone in the championship perhaps?"
Although club means far more to me than county, I have been attending county games all over the country (including Parnell Park) from the late '70s, since you ask - some great memories too. Often, the day out was better than the result!

The issue is the fact that no action was taken - not even a free awarded. If you could (rightly) book Morgan for his mis-timed hit, hard to see why you couldn't do the same for Small's obviously mis-timed hit. Small even made it easier for the referee by lifting his elbow as he followed through. Amazingly, the RTE commentary, even with the benefit of slo-mo replays, was of the "nothing to see here" variety". Even if the ref and the linesmen saw no foul, it was disgraceful that the game wasn't stopped purely on player welfare grounds. When a man falls like that, he's hurt. Lane's inaction was unbelievable.

The Morgan hit was when both players were moving at speed. No debate about it being a card though, and should have been a red - intent not matter - accident or not, if a man is busted up after a shoulder, regardless of intent, the guy who did the shoulder has to walk. A properly executed shoulder never breaks your jaw. You might have thought that McLaughlin being stretchered off might have alerted the ref, but no. In terms of intent though, McLaughlin collected the ball in a fairly static position with his chest facing Small and Small did him. Small's state of mind may be judged form the fact that, a few minutes later, he assaulted another Mayo player. Oisin McConville summed it up perfectly: "It was an horrendous tackle. One of the things for me, John Small sizes him up as you can see. He sizes him up to shoulder him, I have no doubt about that. … He hits him down the middle. How Conor Lane, Maurice Deegan both 10, 15 yards away weren't able to see that?"

And yes, of course the media reacts to what is publicly highlighted - low profile games are not reacted to primarily because most people don't know about them. But you also ignore the fact that, in that 2019 match, there was plenty of niggle on both sides and a couple of incidents that Dublin didn't want highlighted either, such as McCarthy's kick at a Tyrone man on the ground, so it was in their interests to stay quiet:
https://www.otbsports.com/football/dont-want-see-people-getting-hurt-wexford-legend-matty-forde-dublin-tyrone-clashes-839430

Dublin could have won the game from that incident though, had the follow-on goal chance been taken. It reminds me of what happened in the 1984 semi. When Dublin beat Tyrone in a semi-final in 1984, the game turned on a good goal that Dublin worked from a free. That free came from an incident when Dublin knocked out the Tyrone midfielder with a rabbit punch. Not only was the Dublin guy not carded, Tyrone didn't even get a free. Instead, the ref awarded Dublin a free(!), from which Dublin worked an admittedly well-taken goal.

The media bias against Northern teams is good crack and is great for motivation. I hope it continues, frankly. But don't go kidding yourself it doesn't exist. Remember Cavanagh's yellow card, a week later got a *full page spread in the Sunday Business Post* - an Irish financial newspaper(!). About a yellow card! It'd be as if a yellow card for Suarez was being talked about in the Financial Times a week later. Remember when, in 2015, The Sunday Game's official Twitter profile 'favourited' a tweet that read: "I hope Kerry knock seven shades out of these Tyrone lads." I liked that tweet - at least they were honest about it. And it's not just Tyrone people saying that there is an anti-Tyrone / anti-Ulster bias in the Irish sporting media. On occasion, the Irish media itself says it! The Irish Times stated that: "Some of the commentary about Tyrone last week went beyond general sports chatter and veered mightily close to less comfortable territory, some of it borderline xenophobic." See: http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/tipping-point-tyrone-are-the-bogeyman-and-it-s-not-a-pretty-place-to-be-1.2319836

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 18/08/2021 11:18:09    2372652

Replying To essmac:  "Although club means far more to me than county, I have been attending county games all over the country (including Parnell Park) from the late '70s, since you ask - some great memories too. Often, the day out was better than the result!

The issue is the fact that no action was taken - not even a free awarded. If you could (rightly) book Morgan for his mis-timed hit, hard to see why you couldn't do the same for Small's obviously mis-timed hit. Small even made it easier for the referee by lifting his elbow as he followed through. Amazingly, the RTE commentary, even with the benefit of slo-mo replays, was of the "nothing to see here" variety". Even if the ref and the linesmen saw no foul, it was disgraceful that the game wasn't stopped purely on player welfare grounds. When a man falls like that, he's hurt. Lane's inaction was unbelievable.

The Morgan hit was when both players were moving at speed. No debate about it being a card though, and should have been a red - intent not matter - accident or not, if a man is busted up after a shoulder, regardless of intent, the guy who did the shoulder has to walk. A properly executed shoulder never breaks your jaw. You might have thought that McLaughlin being stretchered off might have alerted the ref, but no. In terms of intent though, McLaughlin collected the ball in a fairly static position with his chest facing Small and Small did him. Small's state of mind may be judged form the fact that, a few minutes later, he assaulted another Mayo player. Oisin McConville summed it up perfectly: "It was an horrendous tackle. One of the things for me, John Small sizes him up as you can see. He sizes him up to shoulder him, I have no doubt about that. … He hits him down the middle. How Conor Lane, Maurice Deegan both 10, 15 yards away weren't able to see that?"

And yes, of course the media reacts to what is publicly highlighted - low profile games are not reacted to primarily because most people don't know about them. But you also ignore the fact that, in that 2019 match, there was plenty of niggle on both sides and a couple of incidents that Dublin didn't want highlighted either, such as McCarthy's kick at a Tyrone man on the ground, so it was in their interests to stay quiet:
https://www.otbsports.com/football/dont-want-see-people-getting-hurt-wexford-legend-matty-forde-dublin-tyrone-clashes-839430

Dublin could have won the game from that incident though, had the follow-on goal chance been taken. It reminds me of what happened in the 1984 semi. When Dublin beat Tyrone in a semi-final in 1984, the game turned on a good goal that Dublin worked from a free. That free came from an incident when Dublin knocked out the Tyrone midfielder with a rabbit punch. Not only was the Dublin guy not carded, Tyrone didn't even get a free. Instead, the ref awarded Dublin a free(!), from which Dublin worked an admittedly well-taken goal.

The media bias against Northern teams is good crack and is great for motivation. I hope it continues, frankly. But don't go kidding yourself it doesn't exist. Remember Cavanagh's yellow card, a week later got a *full page spread in the Sunday Business Post* - an Irish financial newspaper(!). About a yellow card! It'd be as if a yellow card for Suarez was being talked about in the Financial Times a week later. Remember when, in 2015, The Sunday Game's official Twitter profile 'favourited' a tweet that read: "I hope Kerry knock seven shades out of these Tyrone lads." I liked that tweet - at least they were honest about it. And it's not just Tyrone people saying that there is an anti-Tyrone / anti-Ulster bias in the Irish sporting media. On occasion, the Irish media itself says it! The Irish Times stated that: "Some of the commentary about Tyrone last week went beyond general sports chatter and veered mightily close to less comfortable territory, some of it borderline xenophobic." See: Well" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/tipping-point-tyrone-are-the-bogeyman-and-it-s-not-a-pretty-place-to-be-1.2319836"
Well it's not just the media. Some HS posters regard Tyrone as the North Korea of Inter County football. Have a read of this from Kerry poster who clearly thinks it's possible that the outbreak. "up there" in the Tyrone squad is. a diversionary tactic. You couldn't make it up.

"All these delays are of course regrettable and no way ideal for our team preparations. The Tyrone cynic in me also still wonders if all is what it seems up there. That might be very unfair but the reality is no one knows what's really gone on up there up to this point."

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/08/2021 11:40:32    2372658

Replying To Joxer:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "If it had been an All-Ireland semi final , the slaying of the dragon and watched by nearly a million people of course there would have been the same response.

"
How would a goalkeeper have the form of a tough steely centre half back? The fact is that Andrews had his jaw smashed, it barely made the press and Dublin didn't make a big deal about it. You'd almost think it wasn't a contact sport these days."
Contact sport excluding contact to the head, and if a player cannot execute a fair shoulder to shoulder and his mistimed tackle results in a head injury to an opponent then the referees guidelines are clear, the player gets a straight red card and rightly so .

Nobody should have an issue with that.

Maybe the shoulder to shoulder will be banned in the next few years because the strength and conditioning of the players makes the risk of serious injury much higher.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 18/08/2021 11:53:03    2372666

Replying To Jackeen:  "The fact that you didn't even know one of your own was involved in the exact same scenario speaks volumes. There was no outcry. That tackle by Morgan and the resulting injury to Andrews should have been the watershed moment."
Difference staring you in the face. Yellow card and no yellow card. Morgan didn't walk about like the hard man while player was down, Small didn't show no regret while Mayo players were calling out for medical assistance. But then again as an earlier poster says, Dubs are built hard, rest are easy pickings.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 18/08/2021 12:10:14    2372674

Replying To avonali:  "Well it's not just the media. Some HS posters regard Tyrone as the North Korea of Inter County football. Have a read of this from Kerry poster who clearly thinks it's possible that the outbreak. "up there" in the Tyrone squad is. a diversionary tactic. You couldn't make it up.

"All these delays are of course regrettable and no way ideal for our team preparations. The Tyrone cynic in me also still wonders if all is what it seems up there. That might be very unfair but the reality is no one knows what's really gone on up there up to this point.""
Massive stroke by Tyrone getting the extra 2 weeks to get players back from niggly injuries. They'll be bouncing come Aug 28th. Is that what ye want to hear.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 18/08/2021 12:20:47    2372676

Replying To AfricanGael:  "
Replying To Joxer:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "If it had been an All-Ireland semi final , the slaying of the dragon and watched by nearly a million people of course there would have been the same response.

"
How would a goalkeeper have the form of a tough steely centre half back? The fact is that Andrews had his jaw smashed, it barely made the press and Dublin didn't make a big deal about it. You'd almost think it wasn't a contact sport these days."
Contact sport excluding contact to the head, and if a player cannot execute a fair shoulder to shoulder and his mistimed tackle results in a head injury to an opponent then the referees guidelines are clear, the player gets a straight red card and rightly so .

Nobody should have an issue with that.

Maybe the shoulder to shoulder will be banned in the next few years because the strength and conditioning of the players makes the risk of serious injury much higher."]What makes you think anyone has an issue with it? As long as the rules are applied evenly I don't think anyone has a problem with it. John Small, Diarmuid O'Connor and O'Hora should all have seen red on Sat by the letter of the law but none did. That's sport for you. You seem to be the only one with a problem with that yet Africa weren't even playing.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2021 12:24:52    2372677

Replying To Saynothing:  "Difference staring you in the face. Yellow card and no yellow card. Morgan didn't walk about like the hard man while player was down, Small didn't show no regret while Mayo players were calling out for medical assistance. But then again as an earlier poster says, Dubs are built hard, rest are easy pickings."
Your issue is with John Small. You're fooling nobody. You didn't even remember the Morgan incident had happened for God's sake. That tells me all I needed to know.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/08/2021 12:44:51    2372685

Replying To essmac:  "Although club means far more to me than county, I have been attending county games all over the country (including Parnell Park) from the late '70s, since you ask - some great memories too. Often, the day out was better than the result!

The media bias against Northern teams is good crack and is great for motivation. I hope it continues, frankly. But don't go kidding yourself it doesn't exist. Remember Cavanagh's yellow card, a week later got a *full page spread in the Sunday Business Post* - an Irish financial newspaper(!). About a yellow card! It'd be as if a yellow card for Suarez was being talked about in the Financial Times a week later. Remember when, in 2015, The Sunday Game's official Twitter profile 'favourited' a tweet that read: "I hope Kerry knock seven shades out of these Tyrone lads." I liked that tweet - at least they were honest about it. And it's not just Tyrone people saying that there is an anti-Tyrone / anti-Ulster bias in the Irish sporting media. On occasion, the Irish media itself says it! The Irish Times stated that: "Some of the commentary about Tyrone last week went beyond general sports chatter and veered mightily close to less comfortable territory, some of it borderline xenophobic." See: Great" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/tipping-point-tyrone-are-the-bogeyman-and-it-s-not-a-pretty-place-to-be-1.2319836"
Great post Essmac... you have to respect any man (or woman or undecided) that can remember a goal as clearly as that from 1984!

I never bought into the "anti-Northern" bias thing myself in the past but now I fully agree that there is a bias against Northern teams - I am just not sure why.

Perhaps the "aristocrats" down here didn't like the fact that Northern teams, came down, tore up the history books and stuck it to the traditional counties.... unlike maybe my own county that in the past looked on in awe at Kerry as they bet us out the gate!

Regardless of all the commentary and distractions - do you think Tyrone have the stuff to win this match? Some positives I would take for Tyrone
- Clifford is not invincible. The Munster final showed that
- David Moran at midfield. Not the most mobile man
- Management. In 2019 they were criticized for being too open. In 2020 they shut up shop and lost to a Cork team that can't get out of D2. Doesn't fill me with confidence

On top of that we have no idea what kind of shape the Tyrone players will be in, come match day which creates a bit of uncertainty.

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 18/08/2021 12:59:28    2372696

Why do people have multiple accounts? Why do people try to hide their county allegiance??

Here it is obvious that the posters known as African Gael and The Hermit are one and the same poster. It's not just that exact same phraseology it's the same anti-Dublin diatribe. He reserves his Hermit handle for the Kerry forum but comes into the main forum and tries to conceal his county allegiance. Pathetic.

Main forum
"If it had been an All-Ireland semi final , the slaying of the dragon and watched by nearly a million people of course there would have been the same response."

AfricanGael

Kerry forum
We can switch of attention to Mayo if and when Tyrone are defeated. Let the hype machine wash over Mayo now and let them deal with the national narrative being constructed that after slaying the blue dragon Sam is surely destined for the west.
The Hermit

Again, why do posters try to his their county allegiance. Seems like they want to dish out nonsense about other counties and not have to get any back. African Gael is as Kerryman.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/08/2021 13:55:18    2372714

Replying To avonali:  "Why do people have multiple accounts? Why do people try to hide their county allegiance??

Here it is obvious that the posters known as African Gael and The Hermit are one and the same poster. It's not just that exact same phraseology it's the same anti-Dublin diatribe. He reserves his Hermit handle for the Kerry forum but comes into the main forum and tries to conceal his county allegiance. Pathetic.

Main forum
"If it had been an All-Ireland semi final , the slaying of the dragon and watched by nearly a million people of course there would have been the same response."

AfricanGael

Kerry forum
We can switch of attention to Mayo if and when Tyrone are defeated. Let the hype machine wash over Mayo now and let them deal with the national narrative being constructed that after slaying the blue dragon Sam is surely destined for the west.
The Hermit

Again, why do posters try to his their county allegiance. Seems like they want to dish out nonsense about other counties and not have to get any back. African Gael is as Kerryman."
I don't know what's sadder, having 2 accounts on an anonymous GAA forum to back yourself up against virtual strangers,, or going to the trouble of investigating posts on different forums in order to try and prove that someone is doing it....

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1721 - 18/08/2021 14:12:00    2372724

Replying To Jackeen:  "Your issue is with John Small. You're fooling nobody. You didn't even remember the Morgan incident had happened for God's sake. That tells me all I needed to know."
Jackeen, issue is with a player taking another player out. Ye can't meet a man shoulder to front with the two of them travelling in different directions. Gets away with it but if he only stood his ground he might get blew up for obstructing a player. Broken jaw could turn into a fractured skull just as quick. No player deserves that from any county.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 18/08/2021 14:13:28    2372725

Replying To avonali:  "Well it's not just the media. Some HS posters regard Tyrone as the North Korea of Inter County football. Have a read of this from Kerry poster who clearly thinks it's possible that the outbreak. "up there" in the Tyrone squad is. a diversionary tactic. You couldn't make it up.

"All these delays are of course regrettable and no way ideal for our team preparations. The Tyrone cynic in me also still wonders if all is what it seems up there. That might be very unfair but the reality is no one knows what's really gone on up there up to this point.""
I think you're trying to stir the pot there Avon, posting stuff from the Kerry forum.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/08/2021 14:16:49    2372728

Replying To avonali:  "Why do people have multiple accounts? Why do people try to hide their county allegiance??

Main forum

AfricanGael

Kerry forum
The Hermit

Again, why do posters try to his their county allegiance. Seems like they want to dish out nonsense about other counties and not have to get any back. African Gael is as Kerryman."
There's literally 100s of Dublin supporters who have been registered and are posting on Mayo fourms for nearly 10 years now,
Talking football, building friendships, there was meet-ups for games, accommodation sorted for travelling dubs during the league games organised because of this forum an the way it is moderated,

HS forums are full of Lu'Las, living in the past, in denial about their own counties achievements , and have the audacity to mock teams that have being at the fore-front of the GAA calendar season for the past 10 years.

Mods are too nice here, a system needs to be introduced where yellows and reds should used to cut out the aggressive stigma approach being used by these posters.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 18/08/2021 14:18:26    2372729

Replying To Saynothing:  "Jackeen, issue is with a player taking another player out. Ye can't meet a man shoulder to front with the two of them travelling in different directions. Gets away with it but if he only stood his ground he might get blew up for obstructing a player. Broken jaw could turn into a fractured skull just as quick. No player deserves that from any county."
Every player who executes a shoulder does so with the intention of taking the player off the ball right? I am not disputing the severity of the injury to McLoughlin at all. I said that we have had an injury like this already recently enough and that should have set the wheels in motion for a rule change to protect against incidents like this where there is a mistimed shoulder (intent or no intent). As a result of two such mistimed shoulders we have 2 players with broken jaws who both had to have surgery and both had to drink their food from straws. I don't want to see a a third.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/08/2021 14:24:25    2372732

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I think you're trying to stir the pot there Avon, posting stuff from the Kerry forum."
How is he trying to stir the pot ? that's what was posted was it not ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 18/08/2021 14:34:57    2372737

Replying To Jackeen:  "Every player who executes a shoulder does so with the intention of taking the player off the ball right? I am not disputing the severity of the injury to McLoughlin at all. I said that we have had an injury like this already recently enough and that should have set the wheels in motion for a rule change to protect against incidents like this where there is a mistimed shoulder (intent or no intent). As a result of two such mistimed shoulders we have 2 players with broken jaws who both had to have surgery and both had to drink their food from straws. I don't want to see a a third."
Just wondering...
Will i invade this semi final thread become antagonistic and Mock the "Nordies" and they're lack of influence at the business end, and let the kerry lads know they still have no backbone or kickout strategy , and proceed into turning
this thread into a Mayo Dublin topic ..and bask in the glory over something controversial that happened in hurling or football over 25 years ago.....

A
K
A
Derailing.....

You know.... a bit like the other semi final thread from page1 to 40.

Tyrone by 4.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 18/08/2021 14:44:06    2372742

Main forum

AfricanGael

Kerry forum
The Hermit

I think you might be jumping the gun Avon. Imo there are not the same poster and while Hermit and I do not get on I would guess he has only one account. On African Gael he is very headstrong but criticises alot of counties including Kerry. He stated before he has never even seen the sky over Kerry. Now of course that might be untrue but without proof we cannot be sure. I agree that there are posters on here that are nasty and many are not being truthful but without proof then we can't say for sure. I mean one there s one poster on constantly who is always trying to stick the boot in on Kerry who s gone to ground at the mó but I'm sure will appear again if Kerry are beaten. Now I'm fairly confident where that poster is from (although they deny same) but cest lá vie. I do understand your frustration though. Also some posters in here throw out comments that are false but when taken to task they also disappear.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 18/08/2021 14:52:48    2372750

All this talk of multiple accounts and whatnot is a pretty easy one for the Admins to sort out if they wanted to.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 18/08/2021 15:06:33    2372754

Replying To JoeSoap:  "All this talk of multiple accounts and whatnot is a pretty easy one for the Admins to sort out if they wanted to."
100% agreed

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 18/08/2021 15:17:23    2372760