Kerry Vs Tyrone

Colm O Rourke called out "Dr. O Shea" on the Sunday game for questioning how the virus spread also.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1671 - 17/08/2021 16:46:06    2372471

Replying To Saynothing:  "As the solider would say, " hands up" got that wrong. I'll definitely admit it. What I noticed on Saturday was can Mayo afford to shoot from distance against Kerry. Everything went over v the Dubs."
Mayo had their worse shooting performance since the lockdown against Dublin last week. Not everything went over.

Sssthe (Mayo) - Posts: 57 - 17/08/2021 17:58:44    2372488

Replying To lilylanger:  "I see John Fogarty has some Tyrone fans up in arms on Twitter with an article he wrote. It's really inflammatory and questions what they did wrong. Mentions Cork, Kerry, Limerick and most of Mayo teams are fully vaccinated so why aren't they. There's a nasty tone to it imo.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/columnists/arid-40360751.html?type=amp&__twitter_impression=true"
Yeah, I'd agree - bitter wee article. Not sure how you manage to get young guys vaccinated ahead of their turn tbh - up here anyway, you wait your turn, you certainly can't jump the queue just because you play Gaelic football ...

Have to laugh too about this statement: "to facilitate Tyrone a second time was a major ask."

How so? It suits the GAA - more € from fans; and it suits Kerry who get a game of some sort. Mayo took a fair few hits in the Dublin game and a couple of extra weeks to get rd of the knocks and to get re-focussed after a mad game at the weekend won't harm them either. Hardly the end of the world.

It's almost as if he thinks the Tyrone co board should be like the Taliban and impose curfews on people who are, after all, amateurs with lives to lead. Covid rate in the North is 2-3 times higher than in the South anyway; and all it takes is for one squad member to get it tbh.

I can tell you one thing though - if a Tyrone player had broke someone's jaw in several places, it'd be on Liveline and some of the country's pundits would have become so puffed up with indignation that they'd have floated out over the Irish Sea by this stage. But there is more anger about the nasty Tyrone lads "getting covid on purpose" than there is about that. From the tone of the article, you'd swear Tyrone somehow was going to benefit. Remember, Tyrone wants to play football too, and one thing's for sure, regardless of how slim their chances were before this, Tyrone has no chance now.

Next up: Tyrone GAA to blame for global warming!

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 17/08/2021 18:15:22    2372491

Replying To plike:  "I was reading in the Indo about how the Tyrone have had to respond to Covid. I'm shocked that the rate of infection up there is so high. I'm appalled that half of their squad of young, fit and healthy men have been laid low- and some hospitalised- by this latter day plague.

At the risk of spouting heresy, this is just a game. Life isn't a game. It's great that it's going ahead. It wouldn't be the worst tragedy ever if the season was stopped in its tracks. Family, friends and health matter far more.

I hope that we all hold on to that sense of perspective here after as I honestly think that some of us tend to lose the plot entirely at this stage of the year. We shouldn't. You're a rooster this season. You'll be a feather duster the next. Life goes on!"
Your 100percent spot on there. There's a new spake that's not known around the border....you'll be a rooster one season and a feather duster the next....Brilliant.
As you see it wouldn't have been the end of the line if Tyrone had pulled out altogether as nothing is as important as your health.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 17/08/2021 18:35:07    2372494

Replying To lilylanger:  "I see John Fogarty has some Tyrone fans up in arms on Twitter with an article he wrote. It's really inflammatory and questions what they did wrong. Mentions Cork, Kerry, Limerick and most of Mayo teams are fully vaccinated so why aren't they. There's a nasty tone to it imo.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/columnists/arid-40360751.html?type=amp&__twitter_impression=true"
Maybe a case of younger Tyrone lads waiting their turn to get the jab. No jumping queues pretending they are careers or having underlying health problems.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 17/08/2021 18:46:52    2372499

Some people seem to have serious gripe about our Ulster Champions. I cant figure it out. I love to see the team representing Ulster doing good as they move forward. Anyway so many people questioning....how did Tyrone get covid??? ( including T O Shea) Well it's very easy to get it. The carrier can walk into a dressing room full vaccinated non symptomatic carrying the deadly virus and if he's in that room more than 15 minutes he could have given covid to anyone that came within a yard of him. Theyre not going to be sick or show symptoms for 5 to 7 days. Vaccinated or not. By that time they too will have spread it.
Its why many people who have been infected call it ...the plague..

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 17/08/2021 18:49:16    2372500

Replying To essmac:  "Yeah, I'd agree - bitter wee article. Not sure how you manage to get young guys vaccinated ahead of their turn tbh - up here anyway, you wait your turn, you certainly can't jump the queue just because you play Gaelic football ...

Have to laugh too about this statement: "to facilitate Tyrone a second time was a major ask."

How so? It suits the GAA - more € from fans; and it suits Kerry who get a game of some sort. Mayo took a fair few hits in the Dublin game and a couple of extra weeks to get rd of the knocks and to get re-focussed after a mad game at the weekend won't harm them either. Hardly the end of the world.

It's almost as if he thinks the Tyrone co board should be like the Taliban and impose curfews on people who are, after all, amateurs with lives to lead. Covid rate in the North is 2-3 times higher than in the South anyway; and all it takes is for one squad member to get it tbh.

I can tell you one thing though - if a Tyrone player had broke someone's jaw in several places, it'd be on Liveline and some of the country's pundits would have become so puffed up with indignation that they'd have floated out over the Irish Sea by this stage. But there is more anger about the nasty Tyrone lads "getting covid on purpose" than there is about that. From the tone of the article, you'd swear Tyrone somehow was going to benefit. Remember, Tyrone wants to play football too, and one thing's for sure, regardless of how slim their chances were before this, Tyrone has no chance now.

Next up: Tyrone GAA to blame for global warming!"
If a Tyrone player had broke someone's jaw in several places, it'd be on Liveline and some of the country's pundits would have become so puffed up with indignation that they'd have floated out over the Irish Sea by this stage.

A Tyrone player did break someone's jaw and there was no national outcry like there is now. Awkward.

https://streamable.com/dlxd8v

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/08/2021 19:20:03    2372510

Replying To essmac:  "Yeah, I'd agree - bitter wee article. Not sure how you manage to get young guys vaccinated ahead of their turn tbh - up here anyway, you wait your turn, you certainly can't jump the queue just because you play Gaelic football ...

Nothin bitter about article, he asked a few straightforward questions which I,m sure Tryone CB will be well able to answer. As for Liveline, no shortage of callers from your county in 96.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 17/08/2021 20:28:44    2372526

Awful lot of nonsense being talked about Tyrone here. Anyone with any bit of sense would want Tyrone and Kerry A) to play the game and B) have both teams in good shape to do so. I have to wonder at what motivates some people in their comments about Tyrone.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 17/08/2021 21:09:26    2372538

Anyone know what time the game is throwing in at?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1721 - 17/08/2021 21:18:46    2372541

I'd add in that there'd be an outcry if it was any one of the Ulster teams not just Tyrone. As people have said on other forums Donegal gets more mentions on news from BBC Ulster than RTÉ. Tyrone could have asked for 3 weeks and got them, money talks.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 17/08/2021 21:40:31    2372545

Lads it's not all wild conspiracies against Tyrone. Read the actual comments from Logan about vaccinations within the squad. It's quite clear it wasn't anything to do with lads waiting their turn. Let's deal with the facts here in a calm and sensible way instead of saying the world is out to get Tyrone.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 17/08/2021 21:49:00    2372548

I think it was the right decision to give Tyrone the extra couple of weeks. These are unprecedented times and only right that they get the extra time to recover and prepare. Surely everybody wants to see a great game with both sides at full strength.

Do posters think the delay will help or hinder Mayo? I am thinking it will be an advantage as it will give them 4 weeks to recover and prepare. Or is 4 weeks too long between games?

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 17/08/2021 22:20:50    2372557

Replying To Joxer:  "Well KB, what's the prognosis now that the blue juggernaut is in the ditch? Will the green machine now lay waste to all and sundry to set the platform for their own drive for five? It seems as though it's the likely outcome."
Hi jock there is only 1 green machine laying waste to all and sundry and that's limerick :-)

Joking aside I don't know what happens now that dublin were bate, I never thought it would happen but I still think ye hold all the aces what with finance population and home advantage, I'd say this will just be a break that the team needs and a stick for dessie to bate em with.

As for ourselves we're still alive but it's hard to know where exactly we are going into the Tyrone game, a big part of me wants to believe we're brilliant like we've shown at times throughout the league and Munster championship but when I coldly analyse it we got no games with any real intensity bar 40 minutes against yer selves and that could bite us hard.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/08/2021 23:27:41    2372574

"If a Tyrone player broke a player's jaw…". Get over your martyrdom. Niall Morgan broke Paddy Andrews' jaw and got a yellow card. There was nothing like the hysteria surrounding Small's challenge. It was a league game in Croke Park. Do you only support Tyrone in the championship perhaps?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2021 00:06:21    2372581

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Think Tyrone are a lot better than that RD, they haven't hit their potential yet at all, serious team when and if they hit form, covid probably has scuppered their chance this year but we'll see Sat wk."
Maybe. I just can't see it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/08/2021 08:39:05    2372595

Replying To Joxer:  ""If a Tyrone player broke a player's jaw…". Get over your martyrdom. Niall Morgan broke Paddy Andrews' jaw and got a yellow card. There was nothing like the hysteria surrounding Small's challenge. It was a league game in Croke Park. Do you only support Tyrone in the championship perhaps?"
If it had been an All-Ireland semi final , the slaying of the dragon and watched by nearly a million people of course there would have been the same response.

Morgan doesn't have Smalls form, sent off in two consecutive All-Ireland's.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 18/08/2021 09:44:20    2372612

just a thought, what happens if kerry get a couple of players down with covid not as if you can put a screen up to stop it, or if tyrone kerry or mayo lads come down with an outbreak prior to the final

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 18/08/2021 10:23:07    2372625

Replying To Saynothing:  "I'd add in that there'd be an outcry if it was any one of the Ulster teams not just Tyrone. As people have said on other forums Donegal gets more mentions on news from BBC Ulster than RTÉ. Tyrone could have asked for 3 weeks and got them, money talks."
The fact that you didn't even know one of your own was involved in the exact same scenario speaks volumes. There was no outcry. That tackle by Morgan and the resulting injury to Andrews should have been the watershed moment.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/08/2021 10:36:31    2372628

Replying To Jackeen:  "The fact that you didn't even know one of your own was involved in the exact same scenario speaks volumes. There was no outcry. That tackle by Morgan and the resulting injury to Andrews should have been the watershed moment."
What did Small learn about the dangers of Morgan's mistimed tackle on Andrews.

Sweet FA.

Or perhaps he did learn something.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 18/08/2021 11:12:30    2372650