Watch it once more.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2320 - 15/08/2021 22:43:08 2371757 Link 0 |
I'm delighted for Lee Keegan that he has another chance to win an AI medal.He has been such a wonderful player for Mayo over the years,a real skilful wing back,tenacious in tackling and defending and so often joining the attack and scoring and yesterday from full back he went forward and scored a point showing he has not lost his attacking flair. ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 15/08/2021 22:46:05 2371758 Link 1 |
Lane lost control. I'm biased but my opinion is he was taken out. He has a double fracture and will be eating through a straw for the next few weeks. His jaw is now is literally hanging off his face. A disgraceful hit. If Cillian O Connor done that the dubs would be calling for him to be strung up. Diarmuid O Connor was hit off the ball after the equalizer. But back to the MacLoughlain hit....I thought we got a few soft frees after it so it worked in our favour. The ref lost control of the game...a joke he done both teams. But at the end did the day Mayo drove on and ran over Dublin in extra time. Just like they did to Galway in the 2nd half of the Connacht final. It's only another step though. We simply have to win the final and I believe we will. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11636 - 15/08/2021 22:46:10 2371759 Link 5 |
Ref done nothing so I'm guessing Small will miss a game next season when powers that be look at incident.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2320 - 15/08/2021 22:47:14 2371761 Link 0 |
So it's alright to send a fella to hospital with his jaw broken in two places, he must undergo surgery tomorrow and will miss out on playing in an All Ireland, Sept 11. You're ok with that?
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 15/08/2021 22:49:01 2371763 Link 1 |
I agree,a ref making bad refereeing calls is bad but so blatantly failing in his duty of care to an injured player is unforgivable,surely anyone that saw the "tackle" and the way the player was felled would know that he risked very serious injury.
ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 15/08/2021 22:50:31 2371764 Link 0 |
Mayo player seen the tackle coming and left himself wide open for the hit, he won't do that again. Never a red card, not even a free. shoulder tackle is part of the game, Mayo man wasn't fit to take it, simple as.
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3236 - 15/08/2021 22:50:39 2371765 Link 2 |
Just make sure ye keep any John Small like shoulders away from David Clifford.
Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 15/08/2021 22:57:32 2371767 Link 1 |
you can tell the McLoughlin 'tackle' was bad by the length of time it took rte to show it again, they were bricking it. They hate showing their cash cow in a bad light. A montage of their glory years too apparently on the Sunday Game tonight and barely a mention of Offaly winning u20. kick-it (Leitrim) - Posts: 33 - 15/08/2021 23:13:43 2371773 Link 1 |
National league final Id put it on par, even ahead of the super 8s game given both counties were more or less certs to qualify from that group anyways. Either way there's no getting away that kerry /Mayo isn't a 1 horse race. Said i before, there's too many posters on here still stuck in the 90s and 00s BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 15/08/2021 23:22:48 2371776 Link 1 |
Refreshing to see Dublin's antics called out tonight compared to the cop out we saw on the same programming yesterday. bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 15/08/2021 23:27:07 2371778 Link 0 |
John Small committed another red card offense in extra time.And in most of his games. Dublin players know they will get away with it and that nobody can retaliate in case their sent off. Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 575 - 15/08/2021 23:40:39 2371781 Link 2 |
same as s walsh for galway not fit for the hit everyone knows it was a red even you mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 15/08/2021 23:54:53 2371783 Link 0 |
I'm sorry but there's no comparison with the richie hogan one. His was completely mistimed and also both Paudie and joe went off and blood subs came on after that tackle so yes there was head today head contact. I had not realised the severity or mcloughlins injury until this evening and it's hugely tough and unfortunate on him. Hopefully he makes a quick recover. Small should not be slated. He actually should have been sent off later as should his two starting ballymun team mates - so maybe he should but def not for an incident like that. tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/08/2021 23:56:25 2371784 Link 0 |
tiobraid I presume you are stirring here. Paudie Maher did not shoulder Joe Canning in the head. So Small's was the opposite of a clean hit . Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 980 - 16/08/2021 00:48:11 2371790 Link 2 |
Clearly should have been a red. Shoulders to the head = red card. Why on earth is this even debatable?
jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 16/08/2021 01:41:51 2371802 Link 1 |
Are you actually serious? His shoulder connected with his face and he requires surgery to fix a jaw broken in two places. How on earth is that a clean hit? If a lad on my team that did that I would be disgusted. Why would you put someone's health at risk so unnecessarily. I've had 4 concussions and they're no joke. A hit to the head can be very serious. I can't believe people on here think that shoulders to the head are fair game. Seriously bad attitude. Sickens me to think I would be coming up against opponents who think like that. jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 16/08/2021 01:47:02 2371803 Link 2 |
We could still easily go and lose final but it's hilarious when lads talk in complete absolute terms like this and make a show of themselves. Would you have a caveat to your previous comment?
the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 497 - 16/08/2021 02:09:31 2371804 Link 0 |
Truth hurts.
CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 16/08/2021 02:52:28 2371806 Link 0 |
So your argument against conor lane being a bad ref for mayo is that he gave wrong decisions against Dublin aswell?.......... so did he get any decisions right?
richardcrowe (Mayo) - Posts: 61 - 16/08/2021 03:04:15 2371808 Link 1 |