Dubs V Mayo

Replying To bennybunny:  "Mayo are in no position to be whinging about Conor Lane . You should be hoping ye get him for the final again. Dublin couldn't buy a free in the second half and Basquel black card was very wrong and a key bearing on the outcome of the match.

Well done on the win. People say it was deserved. Maybe they want that to be true as people are sick of Dublin winning. I am not so sure though. You need luck I suppose but for that Mayo team to stay within 20 points of Kerry in the final they are going to have to get to another level."
I'd say Kerry need to get to a level of intensity they haven't got to since the first half of the 2019 all ireland final to stay with Mayo. With all due respect to Munster teams Kerry haven't really had a match this year going into a final against a team who have had 1 tough match and a touch half in the last month. Hopefully they can get to championship pace without Mayo getting too far ahead. If not they'll be relying on the old Mayo traits of failing to close out finals to return.

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 15/08/2021 12:17:11    2371435

a lot of ppl gloating at dublins demise, mayo on their 1st half performance will be done and dusted by kerry by half time { yes don't expect tyrone to beat them even with a full squad, they'll not get to full fitness this season } at the end of the day dublin like all great teams were due to be beat, it was only a matter of by whom and when they were, hard to listen to the gloating on their loss just like it's hard to listen or watch all the keyboard warriors gloating at tyrones predicament and all those who think the tyrone county board should have sent them the full facts, hearsay, gossip speculation made up stories and begrudgery seems to be an ongoing trait of irish ppl now and it certainly isn't a good look

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 15/08/2021 12:20:32    2371436

Replying To bennybunny:  "Mayo are in no position to be whinging about Conor Lane . You should be hoping ye get him for the final again. Dublin couldn't buy a free in the second half and Basquel black card was very wrong and a key bearing on the outcome of the match.

Well done on the win. People say it was deserved. Maybe they want that to be true as people are sick of Dublin winning. I am not so sure though. You need luck I suppose but for that Mayo team to stay within 20 points of Kerry in the final they are going to have to get to another level."
Bunny as I said I think Conor Lane is the best ref & has been for a few years now but yesterday wasn't one of his best days. Conor made mistakes both ways. He wasn't in control of the game at all. I agree totally that that black card was wrong but that doesn't make Conor's day any better. Stating an opinion isn't whining it's just stating an opinion. I would have no problem with Conor Lane reffing the final, one bad game doesn't destroy a career and in my opinion he had a bad day yesterday.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 542 - 15/08/2021 12:21:52    2371437

Replying To gatha:  "I don't know enough about football to disagree with you. You are probably right about the drectness and how their shape broke down. One thing I do know from watching Kilkenny is that a lot of young players come on with established stars and look great. When the stars leave and the younger players have to take the lead they are exposed as not being as good as we thought. I don't know if this is the case with Dublin but in the past when Dublin needed something special Brogan, Connolly or someone else would step to the front. Again Dessie might be part of the problem but I think the cycle may have run its course and Dublin have come back to the pack."
Paul Mannion should not be retiring from Intercounty football. The fact he did and couldn't be persuaded to stay is on the manager. You can only lose so man marquee scoring forwards and when you look at Dublin's starting forward line yesterday you realise they were relying on a player proven over and over again to not be good enough. Mannion leaving was the straw that broke the camel's back.

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 15/08/2021 12:23:15    2371439

Another troll to add to the list. This isn't 2006 lad and this Mayo team are going to be around for a few years yet. People who write them off year after year are now having their heads melted coming up with new excuses as to why Mayo made the final again. This is a team that only had 4 starters from the 17 team. It's almost like a new team. And they are brilliant.

And your last line? Within 20 points of Kerry? Lol. It's a 50/50 game that's a fact. Kerry favourites and rightly so but don't there won't be any hammerings handed out to this Mayo team.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8438 - 15/08/2021 12:31:29    2371443

I don't think your comment will go down well here but you're correct. There were plenty of sinners on both teams yesterday. I've no idea why Basquel saw the line. I still think Small's shoulder was square on. McStay saw it several times and thought likewise. The Mayo player was unlucky. I'm not sure why a sub, AOS, was on the pitch starting fights. Imagine Connolly doing that in his day, 3 month ban. There were a couple of high tackles from both teams, including Diarmuid O'Connor's clothes line but you'd expect this in the heat of championship. It was hard to see the McCarthy incident on camera. Looked as though Mayo players was pulling his jersey and McCarty swung an arm back to release. I've no problem with any player doing that on any team. It's instinctive. When all is said and done, it was a great and well deserved Mayo win. Let's hope that wasn't their AI final. With all of our financial doping that is bearing so much fruit at minor and U20 level??, the Dubs should be back in 12 months God willing.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4746 - 15/08/2021 12:35:57    2371446

Come within 20 points of Kerry. Lol! It's not Cork that Kerry are playing in the final.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 15/08/2021 12:39:14    2371448

Replying To Joxer:  "Are you referring to his close lime that nearly decapitated a Dublin player or something else?"
Im talking about stopping the ball going wide in the build up for McLaughlins point, any taughts on the McCarthy and Small incidents?

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 15/08/2021 12:39:57    2371449

Replying To Joxer:  "Are you referring to his close lime that nearly decapitated a Dublin player or something else?"
"close lime"
Are you dictating this ?

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 15/08/2021 12:40:33    2371450

Replying To Fkd12:  "Anybody know why the Hill was opened yesterday and closed for hurling semifinals?"
The limit on attendance was the same irrespective of the terrace being used or not, none of the hurling counties requested the terrace to be opened preferring their full allocation to be seated, simple as that.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 929 - 15/08/2021 12:42:45    2371454

The flying outstretched leg that kept the ball in play... photo of it doing the rounds on my various media sources today

And that 'close line tackle'.... no worse than what Mccarthy did at the end.. and let's not even get into Small's challenge... It was an absolute thug challenge... disgraceful... If that was in rugby it would be a straight red card... anyway in the heat of the moment and the split second he had to make the decision on the hit I'm sure he didn't mean to wallop Eoin in the jaw as badly as he did...

nicko94 (Mayo) - Posts: 69 - 15/08/2021 12:43:34    2371455

Replying To royaldunne:  "I do think under a new management who the players are willing to believe in and respect that Dublin will return as good as they were, but who that management is I don't know. Would gavin return??
Let's make no bones about it. Dublin from 2012 to 2020 was the greatest ever team to play the game. They were phenomenal and at times even i as a Meath man could only sit back and appreciate their excellence."
Their core players are gone or in their early 30s, Connolly, Fitzsimmons, Cooper, McCarthy, Rock, McMahon, Cluxton.

It's Kilkenny minus JJ Delaney, Tyrell, Tommy Walsh, Shefflin, Eddie Brennan, Martin Comerford etc.

Dublin may be a very good team again but they will never totally dominate. As evidenced by the subs coming on, they are not as good as the predecessors.

Dublin are a bit like Napoleon after his Russian invasion. Kerry, Tyrone etc will smell blood in the years to come.

Jack O'Connor, with Kildare, lying down for Dublin and trying to lessen the margin of defeat should be removed. That was craven cowardliness. Have a go, best be beaten by 20 trying than 6 going into your shell.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 15/08/2021 12:47:57    2371458

Was a very entertaining game. Thought it was over at HT but fair play to Mayo. They just never give up do they? I dont get the keep ball tactics of the Dublin team. If they had continued on from what they were doing in the first half I think they would have won by 3 or 4. Kerry or Tyrone will be up against it in the final

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 668 - 15/08/2021 12:53:50    2371461

20 points? sorry what? Haha..

Tell me you don't watch intercounty football without telling my you don't watch intercounty football....

The kerry team who looked extremely poor last year and lost to a poor Cork team who went on to lose to a Tipp team demolished by Mayo... the kerry team who looked great for the past two seasons in division 1 where no team looked good between injuries to lots of big name playeds, covid, teams blooding lots of new players, players stepping away etc..

Without getting a chance to see Kerry vs a healthy Tyrone team in the semis no one can be sure where they really are when it comes to the business end of the championship. They have proven nothing yet.

nicko94 (Mayo) - Posts: 69 - 15/08/2021 12:54:05    2371462

Replying To nicko94:  "The flying outstretched leg that kept the ball in play... photo of it doing the rounds on my various media sources today

And that 'close line tackle'.... no worse than what Mccarthy did at the end.. and let's not even get into Small's challenge... It was an absolute thug challenge... disgraceful... If that was in rugby it would be a straight red card... anyway in the heat of the moment and the split second he had to make the decision on the hit I'm sure he didn't mean to wallop Eoin in the jaw as badly as he did..."
I don't think it was a red. I think his reputation precedes him and people are judging the incident on that. Paddy Andrews had his jaw broken by a Niall Morgan shoulder very similar to Smalls and got a yellow. Small should have got a yellow. It's a contact sport. What little contact that is allowed these days. I wish the lad well in his recovery.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 15/08/2021 12:55:17    2371463

Replying To Joxer:  "I don't think your comment will go down well here but you're correct. There were plenty of sinners on both teams yesterday. I've no idea why Basquel saw the line. I still think Small's shoulder was square on. McStay saw it several times and thought likewise. The Mayo player was unlucky. I'm not sure why a sub, AOS, was on the pitch starting fights. Imagine Connolly doing that in his day, 3 month ban. There were a couple of high tackles from both teams, including Diarmuid O'Connor's clothes line but you'd expect this in the heat of championship. It was hard to see the McCarthy incident on camera. Looked as though Mayo players was pulling his jersey and McCarty swung an arm back to release. I've no problem with any player doing that on any team. It's instinctive. When all is said and done, it was a great and well deserved Mayo win. Let's hope that wasn't their AI final. With all of our financial doping that is bearing so much fruit at minor and U20 level??, the Dubs should be back in 12 months God willing."
Are you actually serious? Smalls shoulder was square on?

Eoin McLaughlin has a broken jaw in two places and seemed to be knocked out cold. Jesus f****** Christ. Are you literally not able to see what everyone else can see?

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 15/08/2021 12:56:19    2371464

Replying To yew_tree:  "I'm shell shocked. Wow. We looked out of it for 40 mins but then...bang. Completely took over. I'm drunk, tired and have a club game tomorrow so I'm not going to try an analyze the game now.

Many thanks to the Dublins fans for their gracious comments. Ye will be back soon. For us...a great evening but will be worth nothing unless we go on and win it now. Enough of the bull and hard luck stores. We need to assert ourselves and beat Kerry by any means possible. This is it."
Congrats Yewtree. A stunning second half performance and as usual a never say die attitude with no Cillian Oisín and AOS poor. I often think when big name players are missing it gives others extra strength. Anyway enjoy

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3961 - 15/08/2021 12:57:00    2371465

Replying To sam1884:  "An All Ireland is an All Ireland and you beat who is front of you to win it. However there will be a little shock and possible frustration in Kerry after this result. They badly wanted to end this Dublin run and that opportunity is gone. I'm sure if they win Sam though that won't matter too much. It is all set up for a period of Kerry dominance now."
I can't disagree with you. I for one would have preferred to play Dublin but hats off to Mayo.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3961 - 15/08/2021 12:58:47    2371466

Replying To nicko94:  "The flying outstretched leg that kept the ball in play... photo of it doing the rounds on my various media sources today

And that 'close line tackle'.... no worse than what Mccarthy did at the end.. and let's not even get into Small's challenge... It was an absolute thug challenge... disgraceful... If that was in rugby it would be a straight red card... anyway in the heat of the moment and the split second he had to make the decision on the hit I'm sure he didn't mean to wallop Eoin in the jaw as badly as he did..."
It wasn't rugby, which is a collision sport. It was late but a fair hit because he was committed to the tackle. Same in rugby once you're committed to the tackle the ref can see that.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8068 - 15/08/2021 13:01:40    2371469

Well now, many a wife and partner breathing a sigh of relief as weddings and holidays can be planned again with a little bit of hope while the sun is shining. Weeds will begin to worry and skip company's and lawnmower procurement will see an uptake in sales in the land of those raised on stories. O Neills will lament and crisp bags will blow across the hill.

We wake this morning with our first loss in Championship football is 7 years, an old friend we haven't met in a long long time. The feel is a mixture of being philosophical and pragmatic.

Not being beaten in 7 years and winning a 6 in a row, is frankly ridiculous, its not been done ever and many would say its unlikely ever going to happen again - its the greatest ever in the game and over the period we leave very few records not attained. We have been wonderful champions and holding the standards so high for so long in incredible a credit to Dublin GAA and all involved.

The feeling post era, i think Wayno best described it once as an old man sitting in his porch in the evening as the sun goes down, content with all in life and all he had achieved with a glow of happiness, pride and satisfaction. As i left the HIll last night i went around shaking as Mayo hands as i could - i was delighted for them, the joy, the hope of hopefully winning one, but also thinking to myself, that joy at getting close to one, we have had over 6 in a row every year and 8 in 10 years - incredible - we've been incredibly fortunate and blessed.

Pragmatically, those who eagle eyes centered on those raised and songs and stories and have followed them up and down the counrty have been saying all season, that we have regressed and that their were red flags all over the show, im not surprised and i wasn't confident going into the game. But more of that anon.

The day belongs to Mayo, taking the Dubs specs off is was brilliant performance by Mayo, you dont get to this stage of the championship with out good players, but Mayo reminded me yesterday of us, back in the last 10 mins of 2011. They just made their mind up yesterday that they wouldn't be beaten and they fought for everything, you make your own luck and from the second half onwards they fought for everything, were first to everything and they forced their own luck in the game. The momentum pendulum swung their way from the second half onward and were by far the hungrier team and made sure the momentum pendulum stayed with them through hunger and fight. Hugely fit team - they were fitter and more athelthic then us, had loads left in the tank and Horan used the bench brilliantly. Hes a good manager and has had a few skelps of us at this stage since his return and hes used that experience - fair play.

I said all season that if a team opened up against Dublin they would get joy. Mayo had 14 men behind the ball for the first 35 mins and we were just going through the motions. It was only when Mayo went man to man we struggled and its so long since that happened it completely fluxamted us , we didnt have a plan B. We looked like we didnt have a plan B and we tried to manage the game out, Mayo got a bit of luck i felt, with ref decisions a couple of soft ones in front of the post and the Hennelly retaken 45, but that not taking anything away as i say you force the luck and they were the best team. There was only one team in it going into extra time after Basquels black and when you see the likes of Fenton, Kilkenny and Con hit hail Marys and long aimless ball into the square you know your goosed. And so it was Mayos day and i really hope they go on and win it now. They have all the attributes to knock either Tyrone of Kerry of Kilter and have a real chance. I wish them all the luck and like most counties in Ireland i suspect ill be supporting them to get over the line. Congrats again lads, our bug rivals and im delighted for yee- scenes on the hill would warm the heart and im sure the day will live long in the memory.

So where do we go now for those raised on songs and stories?

I think we knew this was coming all year, we could see our performance level was 60-70% of what it used to be and our standards had dropped. Its actually incredible we have maintained it for so long. But finally our hunger has run out. We weren't hungry yesterday, we were second to everything, no real support play of note, too many times a lad was left isolated. We arent a hungry team anymore, we dint want this All Ireland enough - you have to. Its probably not even a conscious thing. Many of these lads have never lost a championship game before - which is incredible.

Taking it part, the retirements and lads stepping away took their toll i think their is over 50- All Ireland medals gone out of the panel in 12 months and of course that a huge impact to anyone.

I think Dessie, put a lot of trust in faith in lads that hast been repayed - he said to the likes of Paddys Small and Costello this year you are my men and they didn't produce with the game in the melting pot yesterday. when you get the chance you need to stand up. To be fair you could say that of a few established players to.

Looking on the pitch we miss line breakers and we need to look at half forwards, we miss Jack hugely and we have missed Murch - who i think has been asked not to break forward. We struggle, to drive into the space the way we used to. We also dont have a half forward line like we used to with Kilkenny, Flynn and Cononnlly. For me id bring Kilkenny back out to half forwards, put Brain Howard back in at that line and we have a lovely footballer id like to see get some League mins there in Jan - in Mark Lavan coming through. We need ball and transition into the forward line, no point having some of the most deadly forwards in the game if you cant get ball to them.

Looking at Dessie, he should get next year, but questions need to be asked, perhaps there is argument there that he tried to hard to be his own man, lads he put trust in let him down, Small, Basquel and Costello yesterday i thought and we seemed to lack a plan B when Mayo went man to man. we just continued our game plan. But lets see hes a young coach has one in the bag and should be given next year. Someone mad the point to me last night that our decline co-incided with the training breach during Covid, so who knows, some would say that caused a divisiveness in the camp - someone said Cluxton ws furious, who knows could be lads talking guff.

Jamsie and i thought Cooper looked a little bit tired yesterday i dont know if its father time, but ive noticed it more and more with a few of the more senior panel members. But your knit picking there the lads own Dublin footballl nothing.

Its not all doom and gloom mind, we have developed a lot of lads this year and are somewhat in transition, I think Even Comeford is a real gem and worthy successor to the living legend i think hes brilliant and continues the proud lineage of exceptional Dubln goalkeepers, we produce exceptional goalkeepers. We have strong underage talents coming through and we need to nurture and cultivate that.

In all honesty i think Dublin have needed this challenge, i think they have needed a motivation and they have a goal now next season of getting back to the summit. I think they have needed that for a while. Frankly i think they had become board of it all and that has shown in hunger and motivation probably not eve consciously. A new and refreshed hungrier Dublin needs to come from the ashes of yesterdays defeat and that must come from this group. We will loose a few over the close season, thinking Macker and Philly in particular. But who knows now there is a challenge there, i wouldn't be surprised to see Jack and Mannion back next year, which would be huge for us. I think teams now be a bit more adventurous against us now and open up a bit more - which will make games more enjoyable for us.

But the day itself belongs to Mayo, worthy winners and great warriors and fully deserve there chance to take Sam out of the home of the six in a row. I hope they go all the way and ill be supporting them. Hoe all get sorted with tickets - it will be mental.

For us its the winter wellie son and coaching the youth we've swen these incredible years with the these incredible teams and heros, wel look to our own its our way and we will back come Jan, to go again, really looking forward to a league programme being able to go to the games, win or loose we be there. Its been a pleasure and lifetime experience - likely no one else on here from another county will experience supporting Dublin these incredible years - couldn't be prouder and more satisfied with our lot. But best of luck to everyone else this year, when you think of the excitement of a one - in-a-row for other counties, you cant help but feel blessed of all we've lived through, won and achieved in this decade of the Dubs. See you all in January!!!

As always,

Up The Dub6s.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4517 - 15/08/2021 13:16:08    2371478