Dubs V Mayo

Replying To wexico15:  "Given the blatant ignorance some of your former players and managers have shown to your obvious unfair advantages what do you expect."
Like I said, your time to shine.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/08/2021 08:27:55    2371332

Replying To gatha:  "Galvin had Brogan, Connolly etc. You don't replace that kind of talent too easily."
I agree to an extent with that yes, no doubt those players were marquee forwards. But Dublin's directness, willingness to kick the ball inside, support in numbers and pace in attack have all regressed in terms of a tactical approach. I suspect it has more to do with the manager's approach than personnel. 4 points from nearly an hour of football isn't enough from Rock, Kilkenny, Costello, O Callaghan and co. It's not as if they're poor forwards. The Basquels, Scully. The entire attacking shape broke down last night and it was visible in other games where they were rudderless for long periods. Farrell seems to be more concerned with turning ball over and then handpassing it for long periods and killing the opposition momentum. It's actually killing their own forward momentum. Their tackling and shape is excellent but it's more about containment than hunting a game and killing it.

Mayo's ferocity all over that pitch from the start of the second half last night was awesome. They hunted Dublin into the ground. It was incredible to see Dublin struggle to come out with the ball in defence. Well done again Mayo. Dublin have cemented their place in history regardless of last night.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1433 - 15/08/2021 09:24:39    2371348

Replying To Mac&Cheese:  "Where's Mailman98 now?"
Oh never fear I'm still here. Great display of intensity by Mayo yesterday. I don't suppose ye'd accept that a year away from fans has done them good but it most certainly has done them no harm. The problem now is it starts again while Sam is still in residence in the capital. In the words of the great Mayo man John o'mahony in a boisterous dressing room after a Galway win in 98 (not the final); "I'm looking around the dressing room under the tables and benches and I can't see a cup". O'Hora said yesterday was the best day of his life, well that can soon change around if he and the rest of the Mayo players allow themselves to think the job is even half done. Still, congratulations for ending Dublin's run and note throughout all my critiques of Mayo I never said they would lose yesterday because I feared the new breed have not been softened by the hero worship yet. I'm hoping it can happen before the final.

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 15/08/2021 09:46:30    2371356

Replying To Jackeen:  "Like I said, your time to shine."
Your probably part of the brigade that still claims Parnell Park is the Dublin footballers home ground (I'd agree it's the Dublin Hurlers home ground).

There not hiding it either leaving the hill closed for the hurling semi finals and having it open today. At least your team went down with grace and didn't resort to dirty tactics...oh wait.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 15/08/2021 09:58:41    2371360

Ran some stats on the third quarter of the Mayo v Dublin game yesterday:

https://limerickhurling.blogspot.com/2021/08/all-ireland-semi-final-q3-stats.html

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 15/08/2021 10:01:28    2371362

Any word on Eoghain McLaughlin. Hope he is Ok and makes a full recovery.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 967 - 15/08/2021 10:38:07    2371377

Anybody know why the Hill was opened yesterday and closed for hurling semifinals?

Fkd12 (Louth) - Posts: 199 - 15/08/2021 10:51:37    2371383

Replying To wexico15:  "Your probably part of the brigade that still claims Parnell Park is the Dublin footballers home ground (I'd agree it's the Dublin Hurlers home ground).

There not hiding it either leaving the hill closed for the hurling semi finals and having it open today. At least your team went down with grace and didn't resort to dirty tactics...oh wait."
You have so many chips on your shoulder I'm not sure which one to address first. So I'll just leave you rant.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/08/2021 10:55:31    2371385

Just goes to show no matter how good a team is you just can't rock up with any manager and expect success. Dublin got it wrong in more ways than one. Horan's experience was telling in the second half. He deserves huge credit for coming back.
On a related issue was good to see Cora Staunton calling Dublin's cynicism as it was, even when the biased Cantwell accused her for "putting her Mayo hat on". Keep calling it as it is and pander to no one . Best of luck in the Final

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1068 - 15/08/2021 11:05:16    2371390

Congrats Mayo, Lee Keegan up there with the best big game players around. Many had began to question his position in the mayo team. Cant believe the game wasn't stopped when McLaughlin was clearly badly injured. Wish him a speedy recovery.

maximus02 (Longford) - Posts: 211 - 15/08/2021 11:05:17    2371391

Dublin have regressed hugely under Dessie Farrell. The whole pace has gone out of their play. Last night confirmed what was obvious all Summer but no team in Leinster could take advantage. How long of a term was Dessie Farrell given as Dublin Manager and if he goes, who are the likely candidates to take over the Dublin job.?

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2459 - 15/08/2021 11:13:18    2371393

Congrats to my nearest and dearest...
But nothing won.... In all honesty Dublin were a shambles yesterday..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 15/08/2021 11:28:36    2371401

Well I'll put my hand up and say I was wrong, I didn't see Mayo giving the dubs any kind of a game but fair play to them they brought the chaos needed to beat the dubs system.

I was only half watching the game as I was in the pub but at half time it was business as usual for dublin and it was 10-4 over and out or so I thought, then the second half it looked like the dublin players just pulled plant and wanted to go home.

Anyway well done to Mayo and commiserations to dublin.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/08/2021 11:38:14    2371409

Rte's attempts to downplay some of the Dublin tackles was as predictable as it was bewildering. Cora Staunton mentioned their cynical play...and was immediately shot down by Joanne Cantwell who consistently forgets she is there to present and not offer opinions, she's a terrible presenter. I understand they don't want to upset their meal ticket by criticising their play but it gets very tiresome.

The excitement of the game masked the fact that play wise it was a terrible spectacle. Farrell can't be there next year, he has turned a great footballing team into a defensive cautious backpassing nightmare, which is good for the rest of the country I suppose. You can tell all isn't well there by all the players walking away.

It was a master stroke by Horan taking off O'Shea, he was as is consistently the case in croke Park offering absolutely nothing and slowing everything down for Mayo. They started motoring once he was off.

I think Kerry will take it now.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 15/08/2021 11:40:11    2371411

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "Cillian O Conmor is one of the top forwards in the game and has been for a good few years, the stats don't tell lies."
Stats don't tell lies?? I won't even go there..... Cillian is good at taking frees, and good at 'buying' frees to put it in the modern pc language,
again like big Aidan he's good against some of the competition they have in Connacht, Sligo Leitrim London New York, that's what's skewing your stats, let him play in Ulster and see what his stats are, Conor McManus is 10 times the footballer imo.
Looking back on it not playing the league final done harm to Dublin, a trimming from Kerry would have woken them up, the coasted through Leinster and I have to admit I didn't look at any of their games, think I saw some of the final can't really rem it tbh.
Dublin have not been the same since Gavin went and so many key players retired, I think if Gavin is there though that controversy over breaking lockdown and the doubts about what Cluxton was at would not have happened,
if Kerry hadn't have got sucker punched by Cork last year they would have won the All Ireland,
now Kerry wait to see whether they play a semi or not and if they win that semi or get straight to the final they'll face a confident young Mayo team. That's a 50/50 game for me now, Mayo have their tails up and if Aidan O'Shea is suspended or dropped it will only be doing them a favour though some supporters may not see it like that.
Old Moore's Almanac says Mayo will win Sam this year, he might be right for once.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3230 - 15/08/2021 11:46:14    2371414

Replying To cluichethar:  "I've read a lot about Dirty Dublin but I wouldn't expect them to roll over. Dublin were actually still are great All Ireland champions & great champions don't just give up, they fight till the end. There was some nasty challenges out there today for sure but that was the domain of the referee to put a halt to, he didn't. I have regarded Conor Lane as the best football ref for a long time today was his worst job ever. Dublin outstanding over the last 10 years they will be back but it is up to Mayo now to put an end to this disastrous barren spell. Today was an epic battle between 2 teams that have had their fill of each other. Maigh Eo Abú"
Mayo are in no position to be whinging about Conor Lane . You should be hoping ye get him for the final again. Dublin couldn't buy a free in the second half and Basquel black card was very wrong and a key bearing on the outcome of the match.

Well done on the win. People say it was deserved. Maybe they want that to be true as people are sick of Dublin winning. I am not so sure though. You need luck I suppose but for that Mayo team to stay within 20 points of Kerry in the final they are going to have to get to another level.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 15/08/2021 11:59:46    2371421

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "I agree to an extent with that yes, no doubt those players were marquee forwards. But Dublin's directness, willingness to kick the ball inside, support in numbers and pace in attack have all regressed in terms of a tactical approach. I suspect it has more to do with the manager's approach than personnel. 4 points from nearly an hour of football isn't enough from Rock, Kilkenny, Costello, O Callaghan and co. It's not as if they're poor forwards. The Basquels, Scully. The entire attacking shape broke down last night and it was visible in other games where they were rudderless for long periods. Farrell seems to be more concerned with turning ball over and then handpassing it for long periods and killing the opposition momentum. It's actually killing their own forward momentum. Their tackling and shape is excellent but it's more about containment than hunting a game and killing it.

Mayo's ferocity all over that pitch from the start of the second half last night was awesome. They hunted Dublin into the ground. It was incredible to see Dublin struggle to come out with the ball in defence. Well done again Mayo. Dublin have cemented their place in history regardless of last night."
I don't know enough about football to disagree with you. You are probably right about the drectness and how their shape broke down. One thing I do know from watching Kilkenny is that a lot of young players come on with established stars and look great. When the stars leave and the younger players have to take the lead they are exposed as not being as good as we thought. I don't know if this is the case with Dublin but in the past when Dublin needed something special Brogan, Connolly or someone else would step to the front. Again Dessie might be part of the problem but I think the cycle may have run its course and Dublin have come back to the pack.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 15/08/2021 12:04:58    2371422

Replying To wexico15:  "That Diarmuid O'Connor magical peice of intervention could go down in folklore like the Nicky Quaid flick at the end of the Limerick Cork 2018 semi final."
Are you referring to his close lime that nearly decapitated a Dublin player or something else?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4746 - 15/08/2021 12:05:31    2371424

Have to call out the Dublin players and in particular their physio staff that consistently walked. Either in front of a Mayo free taker or across their eye line. Watch the game back, it's particularly disgusting of the darkroom team, wouldn't expect anything better from some of the Dublin players. Just because they are good at interviews doesn't hide their makeup. I thought they lost yesterday with little or no dignity with most.

offtheditch (Cavan) - Posts: 173 - 15/08/2021 12:13:15    2371431

I do think under a new management who the players are willing to believe in and respect that Dublin will return as good as they were, but who that management is I don't know. Would gavin return??
Let's make no bones about it. Dublin from 2012 to 2020 was the greatest ever team to play the game. They were phenomenal and at times even i as a Meath man could only sit back and appreciate their excellence.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/08/2021 12:13:22    2371432