Thank God for that. The millstone that has been weighing heavily around our necks of having been "financially doped", population excuses, GPO advantages, home advantages…. is well and truly smashed. Heaven knows what our correspondent in Brazil and other begrudgers will talk about now. A shocking performance from the champs from the second half on but Mayo were brilliant and thoroughly deserved their win. So much hunger from them and so much tiredness and lack of creativity in in Dublin. Happy for Yew Tree and any other genuine Mayo supporters on here. Well done lads. We've had our fill of accolades. It's a good result for the game in general. For Mayo, the task remains uphill. This Kerry team are decent assuming Tyrone are dismissed, and I hope they aren't. Should be a cracking final. Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4746 - 15/08/2021 00:13:50 2371266 Link 6 |
What happens on the pitch between players fair enough but you cant have subs/backroom running on to the pitch to get involved in rows knowing they cant be sent off or punished. The GAA need to hit AOS or anyone else with long suspensions.
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 15/08/2021 00:15:45 2371268 Link 8 |
I've read a lot about Dirty Dublin but I wouldn't expect them to roll over. Dublin were actually still are great All Ireland champions & great champions don't just give up, they fight till the end. There was some nasty challenges out there today for sure but that was the domain of the referee to put a halt to, he didn't. I have regarded Conor Lane as the best football ref for a long time today was his worst job ever. Dublin outstanding over the last 10 years they will be back but it is up to Mayo now to put an end to this disastrous barren spell. Today was an epic battle between 2 teams that have had their fill of each other. Maigh Eo Abú cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 542 - 15/08/2021 00:40:07 2371281 Link 1 |
Well done Mayo. Unlucky Dublin. Never seen Kilkenny and Con as quiet. TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1208 - 15/08/2021 00:43:41 2371283 Link 0 |
Joxer, it doesn't change a thing in that regard. When you have 1-2 GPO per club and the rest of the country hasn't doesn't take long to figure it out. Anyhow, the bit i liked about today was that football won and its not that someone finally beat the dubs. It means that Mayo have to go for it . f**k system, defense and all that football won, Take the point the the Coen sub kick from under the stand on the far side in the middle of the second half. If he had asked the manager, he'd have be told to recycle etc. Instead he went for it and over it went. GAA is about giving players a base to allow them the best that they can be. Mayo were that and they went for the jugular. At the same time my thoughts are that if they don't go on an win it... It will probably mean f**k all... ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 573 - 15/08/2021 00:45:46 2371285 Link 3 |
Interesting from the 2019 semi final 4 changes to the Dublin starting 15 and 8 for Mayo, massive credit to James Horan to rebuild that team. bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 15/08/2021 00:57:57 2371291 Link 0 |
End of an era for this great Dublin team, their usual leaders like Fenton,Kilkenny,McCarthy,Scully seemed a little off color against the Green and Red. They looked disjointed with the Mayo resurgence in 2nd half and extra time. All credit to Horan for throwing young players into the fray, who carried the day. What an exciting talent young Conroy is! Big call to remove oShea. Was he trying to get himself suspended by his shenanigans. Could be doing Mayo a favor, Croke Park no doubt will be having a look. Kerry v Tyrone will have to be given time to get sorted. Last years final played at Christmas, surely the suits at Croker don't want to look bad and force anyone's hand with the COVID epidemic! thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 15/08/2021 01:09:12 2371294 Link 1 |
Load of nonsense. Offtheball10 (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 15/08/2021 01:10:21 2371295 Link 0 |
I'm shell shocked. Wow. We looked out of it for 40 mins but then...bang. Completely took over. I'm drunk, tired and have a club game tomorrow so I'm not going to try an analyze the game now. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11633 - 15/08/2021 01:17:02 2371299 Link 7 |
Congayrs to Mayo. Fantastic stuff but credit to Dublin and credit to their loya supporters who take defeat with dignity. You are a credit to the gaa. Every Dub can hold their head up high tonight. Great days were had. CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3961 - 15/08/2021 01:17:34 2371300 Link 2 |
I'm a happy man after that result and I didn't imagine it at half time. Was worried about the extra time as I felt the dubs could catch fire fortunately the you mayo lads did themselves proud and all of us proud. As they say an empire has fallen tonight but a bigger empire await I only hope it's not another false dawn as I'm a pessimist at the best of times. I felt that after last years final that Dublin may not be at the level they had been going into this year and especially after a number of retirements it wouldn't be easy to keep going at that level but I didn't believe mayo would manage to beat Dublin. Wasn't the greatest football on show today but I hope it only a stepping stone. Commiserations to dubs posters yer guys may have earned a good rest and could be a catalyst for another tilt at all ireland successes in the near future! Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 15/08/2021 01:30:13 2371303 Link 0 |
Joxer, Dublin won five in a row in Leinster and then lost to Meath. Since then they've won eleven in a row in Leinster. Leinster as a competitive championship is dead. Just because Mayo won tonight doesn't mean the inequities have gone away. They haven't. That needs to be addressed now.
Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 15/08/2021 02:22:15 2371308 Link 3 |
Today doesn't dispel that narrative, just look at the difference between the 2011-13 and 2019-20 version of your 'once in a generation' team.
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 15/08/2021 02:22:23 2371309 Link 1 |
That Diarmuid O'Connor magical peice of intervention could go down in folklore like the Nicky Quaid flick at the end of the Limerick Cork 2018 semi final. bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 15/08/2021 02:24:04 2371310 Link 1 |
His point to equalise in the final of 2016 was brilliant l.
Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 15/08/2021 02:33:34 2371312 Link 0 |
Just because a team of human beings lost one match in 7 years doesn't make all those points untrue.. No one said it was impossible for them to ever lose again.. All great teams lose sometimes.
blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 15/08/2021 04:14:56 2371313 Link 2 |
Well done mayo.. Jesus they never give up. As for Dublin they have been the best football team we probably will ever see but everything comes to an end. dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1258 - 15/08/2021 04:51:50 2371316 Link 1 |
Agree totally with you.
DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 117 - 15/08/2021 06:35:42 2371318 Link 1 |
I think the turning point and winning of the game for Mayo was getting Aidan O Shea off the field… Dublin looked spent in the second half as they have in all games this season… their much vaunted bench looks very weak and has done for a couple of years now… Comerford looked very rattled in goal when the tide turned and coughed up several kick outs…. Dublin were great champions but all runs end at some stage…! ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4030 - 15/08/2021 06:52:06 2371319 Link 0 |
See - this is what it's come to. Dublin fans actually happy to lose once in a blue moon, just so that nothing will be done to address the imbalance. cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5263 - 15/08/2021 07:12:31 2371322 Link 17 |