Dubs V Mayo

Congrats to Mayo, better team won, wanted it more, showed more guts, togetherness, imagination and took some lovely scores.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 384 - 14/08/2021 21:28:20    2371117

Like the fall of all great empires. Dublin a shambles at the end.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2457 - 14/08/2021 21:29:22    2371119

Well done to Mayo on a great win. The Dublin hoodoo is ended Of course, the job is only half done. A little matter of Kerry to overcome before Sam Maguire is gained! You will have to come down to earth quickly after this victory. I saw no hope for you at half time and Paddy Power didn't either and he had you at 28/1 to win the AI. An hour later, you are 6/4! Best of luck in the final.

TippRed (Tipperary) - Posts: 42 - 14/08/2021 21:31:29    2371123

Replying To MesAmis:  "Writing has very much been on the wall for awhile now.

Too much talent having left the squad and not enough coming through.

There's still a basis of a good side that can challenge for an All-Ireland but it'll need a lot of work imo."
Yeah agree you could see it last year, lots of players leaving panel. And tge laws of spirting gravity is, what goes up must come down. But at least the splitting Dublin in four have had a bad day out too.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 14/08/2021 21:32:42    2371124

Brilliant intensity and doggedness from Mayo in the last 50 odd minutes. As always gave it everything to the end.

While so many are already seeming to write them off against a rampant Kerry in the final, would Kerry be able to match that intensity if they come straight into the final without playing Tyrone?

maccoscair (Mayo) - Posts: 10 - 14/08/2021 21:34:08    2371125

Where are the kerry boys must be in shock lol

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 14/08/2021 21:34:31    2371126

Replying To midlands:  "Isn't that what all teams do after games? Why should Dublin be given credit for doing what is expected of all players?"
They were so great and tackling with closed fists. Great champions my arse.

HighStoolBandit (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 14/08/2021 21:35:21    2371128

Replying To Onion_Sack:  "You're some closet Dub for a Westmeath man!"
True though. Farrell has to go.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/08/2021 21:35:52    2371130

Replying To GreenAndGold74:  "Massive congrats to Mayo. Never say die attitude. Hard luck Dublin but 6 in a row will NEVER be done again. My own view is Dublin actually forgot how to play attacking football with the sideways and backwards nonsense. Dublin Won 6 in a row with attacking football. Hopefully tonight is a wake up call for them to go back to it. If kerry v Mayo goes ahead then it;s a win win occasion as if my beloved Kerry win fantastic but if Mayo beat us i'd be gutted but thrilled for the millions of Mayo fans wordwide as it would be a historic day for them."
We haven't gone away ye know. Still hope there'll be a semifinal yet.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2312 - 14/08/2021 21:36:00    2371131

Replying To endgame:  "Like the fall of all great empires. Dublin a shambles at the end."
Would have to agree. But what a run.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2021 21:39:34    2371134

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "Well done mayo brilliant stuff, hard luck dublin, Farrell's keep ball tactics cost yee the game hopefully for the good of the game in general they abandon that tactic now"
Totally agree

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2021 21:40:28    2371135

Replying To pidge:  "Great stuff..Dublin have been unbelievable champions, I remember watching them lose vs donegal in 2014 as a young man in college...unbelievable to think they would not lose a championship game until tonight..and for that, nothing but admiration..they've had a lot of stick from funding and perceived favouritism from the GAAetc...but they were just an incredible bunch of players who I have no doubt will have a big say in where Sam goes in 2022 and beyond..big congratulations to mayo this evening..this is their night and I hope they savour it too"
Well said.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2021 21:41:52    2371136

Replying To HighStoolBandit:  "They were so great and tackling with closed fists. Great champions my arse."
It's time the tackle was clearly defined and player welfare and protection to be paramount! As it is what's given as a foul by one ref is ignored by another.

Mayfair (Galway) - Posts: 68 - 14/08/2021 21:42:29    2371138

It is clear since Gavin has gone how disjointed the Dublin attack has become. They were spellbinding under Gavin. They are now highly functional under Farrell at tackling and suffocating teams, but lacking flair and fluidity up front.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1433 - 14/08/2021 21:45:13    2371141

Replying To royaldunne:  "Surely now the inquest into management of Dublin must begin, it appears the wheels came off with the breaking of lockdown rules , the cluxton farce (although comerford is a able replacement) so many walking away , I may be wrong but I can't see Dessie been on the sideline next year."
Says the man who still thinks that ------ should be managing Meath please don't embarrass yourself anymore.

johnsee (Meath) - Posts: 389 - 14/08/2021 21:46:08    2371143

Congratulations Mayo. Best of luck in the Final.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2531 - 14/08/2021 21:46:14    2371144

Dublin have set standards, won All Irelands and established records. They deserve the plaudits and history will mark these achievements. I doubt six in a row will repeated in my lifetime.

Mayo have turned in a performance that few would have predicted during the first half. Congratulations Mayo Gaels. You have underlined what our sport is about. Enjoy.

My brother and I had the privilege of a couple of pints in Mick Byrne's pub in Castlebar after a 2019 national league game. He made us Farney folk most welcome, and was starting a list for a bus the following week to the National League final.

I can only imagine what the craic is like in there now.
Am raising a pint to yous.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 371 - 14/08/2021 21:46:52    2371146

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Well done Mayo a hell of a performance in the second half, better team without Aidan O'Shea I've been saying it for years, what the hell is he doing on the pitch in the middle of that pushing match?
Ref is not up to the job at all, that was a black card all day long.
Great to see Philly on, got to love this guy what a dog of war to have on the bench,
the Dubs will find their feet again after that shocking 2nd half and close this out though I think,
great oul entertainment though since half time."
"Great to see Philly on, got to love this guy"

I'd say he'd be your type of "guy" alright, he's trending well on twitter, you should look at that and see what real people think about him.

I had the great pleasure of putting manners on him, he's as soft as butter when it comes to it.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 14/08/2021 21:49:16    2371148

We all know Dublin were an exceptional team but they were always going to be beaten by someone. Great second half performance by Mayo and I hope they go all the way and bring Sam across the Shannon. I think that they are well capable in beating Kerry.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 14/08/2021 21:55:30    2371155

Well done Mayo, where would Gaelic football be without you?

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 400 - 14/08/2021 22:00:00    2371161