Usernames

Replying To slayer:  "I drank 12 or 17 cans of Linden Village when we lost the all Ireland semi final to Tipp in 2009 so my username is based on what LV did to me......

I think before that this board didn't have registration so people were posting as each other when debates got heated. Comical stuff :-)"
I joined in 2008 and there was registration. I don't remember that...Jesus carnage :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/08/2021 14:41:33    2367585

Replying To slayer:  "I drank 12 or 17 cans of Linden Village when we lost the all Ireland semi final to Tipp in 2009 so my username is based on what LV did to me......

I think before that this board didn't have registration so people were posting as each other when debates got heated. Comical stuff :-)"
You weren't the only one who drowned the sorrows after that.

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 04/08/2021 15:45:51    2367614

Replying To Southsham:  "I'm guessing Admin would block some usernames for various reasons, can you confirm?
Although letting SmellyBadger through is risky, could be mass protests form Badger conservation groups.
A public Tribunal may be required and Micheal D will be signing a raft of new Badger legislation into law."
I'd never complain to be honest.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 04/08/2021 16:35:11    2367636

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo is known as the Plain of the Yew Trees."
Maigh Eo as Gaeilge.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 04/08/2021 20:32:38    2367747

We did movember when I was hurling in college for a bit of craic. The lads were telling me in the last week that it looked a bit like Martin Storey's moustache and that if I had a mullet, I could have passed for Gerry McInerney (admit here I had to look him up at the time).
Anyway, we had a "GAA fancy dress" party at the end of the month and I arrived at the party in a Wexford jersey from the 90s, a pair of cycling shorts in under my hurling shorts and a white helmet with no face guard. I began every sentence with "I mean...." and talked in a hoarse voice for the night. Not certain it counts as fancy dress....but it was better than some of the efforts on show!
The name didn't stick, the moustache is long gone and unfortunately I don't have Martin's hurling ability.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 05/08/2021 10:27:11    2367859

Replying To StoreysTash:  "We did movember when I was hurling in college for a bit of craic. The lads were telling me in the last week that it looked a bit like Martin Storey's moustache and that if I had a mullet, I could have passed for Gerry McInerney (admit here I had to look him up at the time).
Anyway, we had a "GAA fancy dress" party at the end of the month and I arrived at the party in a Wexford jersey from the 90s, a pair of cycling shorts in under my hurling shorts and a white helmet with no face guard. I began every sentence with "I mean...." and talked in a hoarse voice for the night. Not certain it counts as fancy dress....but it was better than some of the efforts on show!
The name didn't stick, the moustache is long gone and unfortunately I don't have Martin's hurling ability."
that's a great .... storey

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 05/08/2021 15:53:08    2367989

I like the physical side of the game and ya can't beat a good clean shoulder

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 268 - 05/08/2021 21:21:53    2368119

My name comes from my love of Mayo football!

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 06/08/2021 11:31:42    2368207

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Maigh Eo as Gaeilge."
Interesting one. I thought "yew" was "an tIúr" as gaeilge. As in "Iúr cinn trá" = Newry (Yew tree at the head of the beach)

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 06/08/2021 21:54:17    2368341

Mine is easy. Literally my beloved county name and my last name. Funny thing is one of my daughters middle name is royal. I wanted it as her first name but her mom wasn't having it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/08/2021 08:44:17    2368410

Replying To Suas Sios:  "Interesting one. I thought "yew" was "an tIúr" as gaeilge. As in "Iúr cinn trá" = Newry (Yew tree at the head of the beach)"
Similar pronunciation for the iur/eo part.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2521 - 07/08/2021 10:29:41    2368422

I was named after my Grandfather

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 07/08/2021 11:08:56    2368430

Replying To royaldunne:  "Mine is easy. Literally my beloved county name and my last name. Funny thing is one of my daughters middle name is royal. I wanted it as her first name but her mom wasn't having it."
But you're a Westmeath man!!

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 268 - 07/08/2021 22:34:53    2368664

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Similar pronunciation for the iur/eo part."
Yea, it stands to reason that the pronunciation evolves across dialects and accents.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 07/08/2021 23:21:39    2368688

Replying To CleanShoulder:  "But you're a Westmeath man!!"
NEVER. I live in Westmeath. I am a Meath man with royal blood running through my veins. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/08/2021 09:04:35    2368725

Replying To royaldunne:  "NEVER. I live in Westmeath. I am a Meath man with royal blood running through my veins. :)"
The rumours going around the Bull Royaldunne is that you were born in the wonderful wee county of Louth.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 781 - 09/08/2021 14:00:22    2369113

On a train journey up through Guatemala around 2009 I met several poverty-stricken immigrants making the highly dangerous trek northwards in the hope of making it into the US. One was a very young single mother with her two small kids, hitching non-paying train rides all the way up from Honduras. The kids enjoyed a little game of peek-a-boo with me at a brief stop-over on the way. The older was a little girl of around three years, named Veronica.. As doubtlessly with everyone on such treks, there was, I felt, a deeper story than met the eye with this very young and vulnerable family, but it is one that will forever remain a mystery to me, as will their fate thereafter. At the next Internet cafe I found I was feeling a little homesick, and was interested in hearing what the banter was about the hurling championship. That was when I joined Hoganstand, and I took my username after my little amiga.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 298 - 09/08/2021 18:05:14    2369227

Replying To MiAmigaVERONICA:  "On a train journey up through Guatemala around 2009 I met several poverty-stricken immigrants making the highly dangerous trek northwards in the hope of making it into the US. One was a very young single mother with her two small kids, hitching non-paying train rides all the way up from Honduras. The kids enjoyed a little game of peek-a-boo with me at a brief stop-over on the way. The older was a little girl of around three years, named Veronica.. As doubtlessly with everyone on such treks, there was, I felt, a deeper story than met the eye with this very young and vulnerable family, but it is one that will forever remain a mystery to me, as will their fate thereafter. At the next Internet cafe I found I was feeling a little homesick, and was interested in hearing what the banter was about the hurling championship. That was when I joined Hoganstand, and I took my username after my little amiga."
Nice story

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 09/08/2021 18:15:28    2369237

Replying To Ollie2:  "Got my name from Oliver Plunkett. A Meath man's head resting in the Wonderful Wee County of Louth. Sounds good to me."
Haha brilliant

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/08/2021 18:33:40    2369244

Replying To Ollie2:  "The rumours going around the Bull Royaldunne is that you were born in the wonderful wee county of Louth."
That's just fake news Ollie. :). The bull is terrible place for them. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/08/2021 18:37:28    2369248