Kildare Vs Dublin

Dreadful stuff. Games like this are killing football. Kildare tried manfully and can't really be faulted but they were up against a professional Gaelic football side in all but name. It isn't a level playing field and hasn't been for quite a while. Dublin are a big powerful, robotic like outfit who have been conditioned to go through the gears when they have to. They went up into second gear in the second half and that was enough. Likewise when they meet Mayo they will do the same and against Kerry in the final. Kerry will maul a very poor Tyrone team. Gaelic football is Groundhog Day, the same outcome this year, next year and 10 after that. The GAA and media should stop the patronising and insulting guff by pretending there is an All Ireland Gaelic Football Championship. There isn't; just the yawning, mind numbing annual Dublin coronation.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 02/08/2021 01:15:45    2366713

Replying To Daith:  "Dublin played at 50%, Kildare lads battled manfully and played beyond themselves and we are still talking about an 8 point deficit. The sport is a joke.

What was the difference today? Conditioning and fitness. What helps with conditioning and fitness? Funding.

End this farce. Boycott before the sport dies out completely."
Pulling the plug on this life supported sport would be an act of mercy....

murrax (Wexford) - Posts: 90 - 02/08/2021 02:02:24    2366719

Replying To Daith:  "Dublin played at 50%, Kildare lads battled manfully and played beyond themselves and we are still talking about an 8 point deficit. The sport is a joke.

What was the difference today? Conditioning and fitness. What helps with conditioning and fitness? Funding.

End this farce. Boycott before the sport dies out completely."
Rubbish.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 02/08/2021 07:52:04    2366730

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Any supporter that boos at a team for keep ball is unsporting same as supporters who boo or whistle free takers or goalkeepers taking kickouts. I hate all booing. I understand supporters booing a very dirty tackle or a bad ref decision. I understand but don't like it. I agree keep ball is frustrating for opposing fans but cest lá vie. It's not entertaining but it's successful."
I agree, but the hill have booed a few teams over the years for doing exactly that

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 02/08/2021 09:13:11    2366738

Replying To NorthKildare:  "Congrats to Dublin, I think we set up too defensively today to have a real chance of winning the game, it is a learning curve for us and playing Div 1 next year should bring us on, Hope the dubs go on and win the all Ireland now, they are the best team to watch!"
I agree - the set-up was a bit too defensive but still managed to concede 20 points. I was a bit deflated after the game - as a fair bit did go right from a Kildare Perspective.

Dan Flynn's interview after the game seemed to show a bit of the mid set and lack of belief in taking the big step yesterday. When the goal went in to bring it back to 5 points with about 10 mins left Kildare didn't manage to build on the momentum even though Dublin looked a little shaky.

Kevin Feely was definitely missed in the middle and probably would have won a bit more ball from the long kick outs.

From a tactical point of view Kildare and Dublin were actually setup very similarly meaning that neither team could make the fast breaks up field that people want to see with both teams getting stuck going forward in Midfield. If you can slow the progression of the ball through the middle the inevitable consequence will be teams being able to funnel players back and making it difficult to score.

The real killer for Kildare was the 8 times the ball was dropped into Comerford's arms through rushed and poor shots to try and beat Dublin's defensive setup - compare this to how Dublin recycled the ball back out and across multiple times holding a single possession up to 4 mins before getting a good percentage shot off. That composure will come with experience but my biggest concern is that the Dublin level of ball retention comes from serious strength and conditioning work and the Kildare lads are still a bit off that level.

brianb (Kildare) - Posts: 282 - 02/08/2021 09:28:00    2366743

Disappointed that we didn't drive at Dublin more often but have to say enjoyed the trip to Croker a lot more than I expected. We couldn't ask for more from our guys in terms of effort, every one of them. Ben McCormack getting a bit of a slating over the wides but the man probably prevented more scores than he missed. Put in some huge tackles and shoulders to boot!

Think the Hill is a huge factor on Dublins recent performances. Far, far less intimidating and Dubs definitely get plenty of energy from it. Are tickets 50/50 for it ?

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 02/08/2021 10:05:12    2366750

Great day out in Corker yesterday, big Kildare crowd - fair play.

Kildare well prepared had done their homework, had spent the last few weeks putting in place a blanket structure and to be fair executed it really well. Of course there was no real balance between defense and attack and it was just about keeping the score down really. Were never going to win. I think for Kildare they mentally had the boxes ticked, promotion, Leinsetr final - job done.

Dublin looked utterly boad by the whole affair - Another team showing up with 14 men behind the ball, hurrah, victims of their own success really. Teams show them far to much respect and play fear ball or as managers like to say "coming up with a plan against the Dubs" - elsewise your big standard blancket.

I was looking at yesterday, Dublin were trying something, they would only commit 10 to try and beat the blanket, its like they set themselves up that challenge or maybe they were afraid of the wonderful Daniel Fllynn - all star for that lad i think.

But yeah double marking Con, double sweepers, 14 men behind the ball, keep the score down. We look utterly bored of games like this, hopefully as the championship goes on and opens up a bit more - i can see why lads like Jack and Mannion have taken time out, these games are utterly boring one carbon copy of one to the next trying to break down human shields in front of a packed defense.

Anyhow 11 Leinsters on the trot and on we go. Dublin will be beaten this year, but i cant help but feel its less about other teams being good and more about Dublin just loosing the luster and honestly just getting bored - call it lack of hunger or whatever, but they have to face a groundhog day of dirge one game to the next - no other county has to face. Dublin are different to some other counties we dont like shooting fish in a barrel and winning all irelands - we need competitiveness and challenge - its our way.

Next up Mayo, be a battle, we might fall on the wrong side of it, but so be it, the Mayo team are worthy warriors.

As always up the Du6s.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/08/2021 10:08:06    2366752

Replying To avonali:  "That was an unmitigated BOREFEST! Why did I waste my time watching that? An error strewn, flaccid pointless affair. Sick of looking at footballers getting into possible goal scoring positions and then taking the "safe option" and fisting it over the bar top "keep the scoreboard turning over". This lateral, backward passing is an utter blight on the game. The nature of and spirit of Gaelic football has changed dramatically!!! How can a team win by that much and yet be soooo boring.

It's plain the folk in RTE have a pain in their collective h*le with the Dubs. Poor old Marty and Dessie can't throw on the emotional turbo chargers and get excited anymore. Oisin McConville is in danger of falling asleep and falling out of the media crow's nest -Cora, who is a gifted footballer but my God listening to her is like watching paint dry. They didn't even show the presentation of the trophy. Or if I missed t I must have been asleep. Marty and Dessie now confine themselves to praising individual Kildare players who were playing well. Is this the first time a MOTM award went to a teams that lost by 8 or 9 points??

I used to love watching Dublin win but at this stage is like a watching a cat toying with a mouse it knows it's going to kill.
I long for the days Dublin went at teams and tried to put them to the sword. Players were expressing themselves and plainly enjoyed what they were doing.

This phrase "game management"- where did that come from??? It's ruining our game."
When I said this exact same thing a month ago on the Meath thread I got it in the neck Avon but I'm glad that ye dubs are all starting to see what I and others have seen for along time.

I said dublin will dish out 6-8 point HAMMERINGS to everyone left in the championship and they will, did you see when ye were 8 points up yesterday and kildare scored the goal the way ye put the boot down and got the 8 point lead back again and then just sat back, very boring and I only watched the highlights (if you could even all them that) on the Sunday game.

What dublin do is seriously patronising to the teams they play, like a cat toying with a mouse,

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/08/2021 10:18:28    2366753

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "When I said this exact same thing a month ago on the Meath thread I got it in the neck Avon but I'm glad that ye dubs are all starting to see what I and others have seen for along time.

I said dublin will dish out 6-8 point HAMMERINGS to everyone left in the championship and they will, did you see when ye were 8 points up yesterday and kildare scored the goal the way ye put the boot down and got the 8 point lead back again and then just sat back, very boring and I only watched the highlights (if you could even all them that) on the Sunday game.

What dublin do is seriously patronising to the teams they play, like a cat toying with a mouse,"
Dont fret Kerry will sort that out -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/08/2021 10:23:35    2366755

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "When I said this exact same thing a month ago on the Meath thread I got it in the neck Avon but I'm glad that ye dubs are all starting to see what I and others have seen for along time.

What dublin do is seriously patronising to the teams they play, like a cat toying with a mouse,"
Better to talk your opponent up beforehand and them obliterate them by 20 something points.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 02/08/2021 10:29:36    2366757

Replying To superbluedub:  "Dont fret Kerry will sort that out -:)"
If they dont beat us this year both Kerry and Mayo, can both switch the light off on their way out.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/08/2021 10:36:02    2366762

You see lots of teams now trying to run down the clock. It is admittedly more evident now, and Dublin excel at it. Tyrone did very good job in same vein at end of Ulster final and it was impressive to watch.

I really do not see what the alternative is. No sport should award negativity which is fundamentally the mindest displayed by ultra defensive teams.

Anyone who enjoys NFL will know that one of the greatest ever teams - and most hated!! - was Brady era Patriots. They were masters of getting a lead and running down the clock and ruthlessly nipping offence by the other team. As Dublin did several times in last quarter yesterday.

I might also remind you, that there is a school of thought that your own county were caught by Dublin when trying to play keep ball in 2011. As they were perfectly entitled to. And if Kerry have a 3/4 point lead against Tyrone or if they get to the final against Dublin or Mayo, you may be full certain they won't be launching heroic attacks in the last ten minutes!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 02/08/2021 10:43:35    2366771

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "You see lots of teams now trying to run down the clock. It is admittedly more evident now, and Dublin excel at it. Tyrone did very good job in same vein at end of Ulster final and it was impressive to watch.

I really do not see what the alternative is. No sport should award negativity which is fundamentally the mindest displayed by ultra defensive teams.

Anyone who enjoys NFL will know that one of the greatest ever teams - and most hated!! - was Brady era Patriots. They were masters of getting a lead and running down the clock and ruthlessly nipping offence by the other team. As Dublin did several times in last quarter yesterday.

I might also remind you, that there is a school of thought that your own county were caught by Dublin when trying to play keep ball in 2011. As they were perfectly entitled to. And if Kerry have a 3/4 point lead against Tyrone or if they get to the final against Dublin or Mayo, you may be full certain they won't be launching heroic attacks in the last ten minutes!"
Well said BarneyGrant

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/08/2021 10:50:52    2366773

I reckon the confidence has been sucked out of the other Leinster counties. I didn't get a sense from the Kildare that they would be able to build on Flynn's goal and use as a kick start to go on and win the game.
Just imagine the Meath team of the eighties and nineties - they would have sensed the vulnerability in the Dubs and gone for the jugular.
Two reasons I reckon for this. First a lack of confidence after Dublin's success and dominance in recent years and secondly they were a bit out on their feet due to the efforts to keep their defensive play going and Dubs with better strength and conditioning

trim1 (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 02/08/2021 10:57:57    2366777

Replying To Joxer:  "Mayo 48 Connaught titles, Galway 46. Next closest is Roscommon with half of what Mayo have. This doesn't even take into account the number of times that Mayo and Galway were runners-up. If this isn't a two horse competition then I don't know what is. I don't know why you're comparing Kerry's scoring record with their defensive tactics. What has their defence to do with their scoring ability? Dublin deploy a blanket and scored 20 points today. Even Spillane has spoken about their defensive style. It's part and parcel of the game these days."
Cork 54, Tipperary 42. The next closest is Limerick. They have 22. Waterford have 9 and Clare have 6. Thanks Are you calling the Munster hurling championship a two horse race? I wouldn't.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 02/08/2021 11:03:37    2366779

Replying To murrax:  "Pulling the plug on this life supported sport would be an act of mercy...."
What a load of b****x.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 02/08/2021 11:16:49    2366783

Replying To Greengrass:  "Cork 54, Tipperary 42. The next closest is Limerick. They have 22. Waterford have 9 and Clare have 6. Thanks Are you calling the Munster hurling championship a two horse race? I wouldn't."
Well obviously not seeing as though one of Limerick, Tipp and Waterford have been in the AI final in the last 5 years. When was the last time Roscommon, or any other team in Connaught outside of Galway and Mayo, were in a AI final? Who would back against Galway or Mayo winning Connaught next year? It's as competitive as the Scottish PL in soccer.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/08/2021 11:57:23    2366799

Very boring second half, lent itself to multitasking.
Mayo can end this nightmare football and restore the game.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 02/08/2021 12:00:13    2366800

Replying To Joxer:  "Well obviously not seeing as though one of Limerick, Tipp and Waterford have been in the AI final in the last 5 years. When was the last time Roscommon, or any other team in Connaught outside of Galway and Mayo, were in a AI final? Who would back against Galway or Mayo winning Connaught next year? It's as competitive as the Scottish PL in soccer."
That's a different issue Joxer. The fact is that three different teams have won Connacht in the last six seasons. The exact same is true in the Munster hurling championship. Connacht is more than a two horse race. I agree that the structure of the championship needs to be examined but I also believe the provincial championships need to be central to that restructuring. The provincial structure was maintained as the core of a newly restructured hurling championship. A Champuons League type structure would be a disaster. It's a soulless format. It has also been manipulated to completely obliterate the chances of the vast, vast bulk of the competing leagues. We need to be very careful how we proceed.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 02/08/2021 12:20:55    2366809

Anyone from Kildare complaining about Dublin financial advantages should get over themselves. Kildare are getting plenty via the east Leinster project. They have a big population with players being based locally. They have much more advantages than say mayo have and mayo won't be coming in against Dublin with any kind of defeatest moaning attitude like that.

There's no point sugar coating up yesterday's match. It was a poor watch though a defensive Kildare ultimately dictate how Dublin are going to play, recycling and waiting for the perfect chance. Realistically there's kind of nothing else they can do though it is very tedious and boring to watch.

I understand why Kildare did it to a point. What frustrated me though was that when they got the goal they had to push out then to see could they rattle them a bit more but they didn't and I don't know why. Maybe they were too fatigued. Pushing up also forces Dublin to change.

Kildare will also have to be very disappointed with their shot selections and the interplay of their forwards. You can't be dropping that many shots into the keepers hand.

What earns Dublin the right to bore the life out of you is that they won their own kickout easily and won loads of Kildare kickouts. That straight away gives you a big advantage in possession. Their forwards work very hard and they put real pressure on the ball coming out. Their forwards can also all score when the chance is there and Kildare's couldn't. They also have very experienced key defenders in cooper, Byrne , small and Fitzsimmons and adding in McCarthy.

Dublin though have added no stardust to their team in a few years and it does look a little stale. I doubt mayo without O'Connor have the fire power to take them down but it won't stop giving it a right rattle. A young Kerry team got very close two years ago. That whole team bar say Moran should be equal or better players than two years ago and you can't say the same about Dublin.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 02/08/2021 12:39:49    2366819