Kildare Vs Dublin

Replying To avonali:  "That was an unmitigated BOREFEST! Why did I waste my time watching that? An error strewn, flaccid pointless affair. Sick of looking at footballers getting into possible goal scoring positions and then taking the "safe option" and fisting it over the bar top "keep the scoreboard turning over". This lateral, backward passing is an utter blight on the game. The nature of and spirit of Gaelic football has changed dramatically!!! How can a team win by that much and yet be soooo boring.

It's plain the folk in RTE have a pain in their collective h*le with the Dubs. Poor old Marty and Dessie can't throw on the emotional turbo chargers and get excited anymore. Oisin McConville is in danger of falling asleep and falling out of the media crow's nest -Cora, who is a gifted footballer but my God listening to her is like watching paint dry. They didn't even show the presentation of the trophy. Or if I missed t I must have been asleep. Marty and Dessie now confine themselves to praising individual Kildare players who were playing well. Is this the first time a MOTM award went to a teams that lost by 8 or 9 points??

I used to love watching Dublin win but at this stage is like a watching a cat toying with a mouse it knows it's going to kill.
I long for the days Dublin went at teams and tried to put them to the sword. Players were expressing themselves and plainly enjoyed what they were doing.

This phrase "game management"- where did that come from??? It's ruining our game."
Well said. Painful to watch. Not the free flowing Dublin i saw since 2011 onwards.

GreenAndGold74 (Kerry) - Posts: 194 - 01/08/2021 19:23:15    2366552

Replying To Galway9801:  "The Munster championship isn't dead imo, I don't know what the hell happened to that Cork team last weekend but no way are they that bad,, it was such an outrageously bad performance that hopefully it might jolt someone into action behind the scenes, shake them out of whatever apathetic funk they're in, maybe take a look at the set up, underage development etc, Cork football, if prepared properly, have bar the last decade always historically been a strong team, only kerry and Dublin have won more all Irelands."
Your own county has 9 All Irelands .Meath have 7 the same as Cork

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 01/08/2021 19:24:28    2366556

Replying To realdub:  "I'm deadly serious, if either yourselves or Mayo don't beat this Dublin team forget it.
The football is shite, but we just don't have the players we had so we play to our strengths. Ask Jim McGuinness, he'll explain it to you better than I can."
Couldnt agree more realdub but your just wasting your time with that eejit. Have you noticed how quiet all the daycent kerry posters are gone? Different times! In the past they'd all be yerraing out the door but times have changed! They know it's coming but you'll still have the odd eejit trying to play it down!

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 203 - 01/08/2021 19:25:46    2366559

Replying To Bon:  "That was awful stuff to watch, it would bore you to tears. Kildare never believed for one second they could beat the dubs and the dubs just strolled around for fun and still won so easy.
Poor advertisement for Gaelic football."
It was, but Dublin and the other good teams both at county and club level - Corofin be good example - exposed the blanket 7/8 years ago. The good underage teams like Offaly yesterday play a very exciting style. Indeed, Kildare people might ponder the fact that the excellent Kildare under 21s who won the All Ireland played nothing like the team O'Connor sent out today.

The current reversion to the blanket by some teams suits Dublin as they neither have the lethal force alluded to above anymore, and they have the experience, the patience, physicality and shooters to always win a negative game. Not great to watch but no dominant team is going to cater to the blanket by reverting to catch and kick.

Mayo will not be camping behind the ball, and Dublin will need to bring a far better game to the semi final. It will be nothing like today.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2519 - 01/08/2021 19:26:23    2366560

Yeah sorry everyone, thought it was the other way round,

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1697 - 01/08/2021 19:26:31    2366561

Replying To avonali:  "That was an unmitigated BOREFEST! Why did I waste my time watching that? An error strewn, flaccid pointless affair. Sick of looking at footballers getting into possible goal scoring positions and then taking the "safe option" and fisting it over the bar top "keep the scoreboard turning over". This lateral, backward passing is an utter blight on the game. The nature of and spirit of Gaelic football has changed dramatically!!! How can a team win by that much and yet be soooo boring.

It's plain the folk in RTE have a pain in their collective h*le with the Dubs. Poor old Marty and Dessie can't throw on the emotional turbo chargers and get excited anymore. Oisin McConville is in danger of falling asleep and falling out of the media crow's nest -Cora, who is a gifted footballer but my God listening to her is like watching paint dry. They didn't even show the presentation of the trophy. Or if I missed t I must have been asleep. Marty and Dessie now confine themselves to praising individual Kildare players who were playing well. Is this the first time a MOTM award went to a teams that lost by 8 or 9 points??

I used to love watching Dublin win but at this stage is like a watching a cat toying with a mouse it knows it's going to kill.
I long for the days Dublin went at teams and tried to put them to the sword. Players were expressing themselves and plainly enjoyed what they were doing.

This phrase "game management"- where did that come from??? It's ruining our game."
I think, if there's such a thing , that players are too fit and they run the legs off other teams. Less ball skills and more running , less 50/50 passes and always take the safe option. Nothing wrong with it if you haven't won the All-Ireland in years but maybe Dublin fans want something different.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2005 - 01/08/2021 19:35:45    2366564

Replying To Galway9801:  "The Munster championship isn't dead imo, I don't know what the hell happened to that Cork team last weekend but no way are they that bad,, it was such an outrageously bad performance that hopefully it might jolt someone into action behind the scenes, shake them out of whatever apathetic funk they're in, maybe take a look at the set up, underage development etc, Cork football, if prepared properly, have bar the last decade always historically been a strong team, only kerry and Dublin have won more all Irelands."
Cork are that bad they haven't a clue a county getting beaten by 22 points if that's not bad I don't know what is ?How come no one is shouting that they don't belong in the race for Sam like they do when the so called weaker counties take a hammering like Cork got.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 01/08/2021 19:36:34    2366565

Replying To Greengrass:  "You're absolutely right when you say the essence of sport is competition. The Leinster championship is dead. However the Ulster championship most certainly is not. It's the most competitive and best championship in either hurling or football at senior level. Look at yesterday's Ulster Final in Croke Park. Three of the five counties involved in Connacht have won Connacht in the last six seasons. Tipp won Munster last year. Do you get rid of the other three championships because of what is happening in Leinster?"
Tipp's brilliant Munster title In 2020 aside, Munster is usually farcical. Since Tipp won the title in 1935, Cork and Kerry have won all but two Munster titles since, hardly worth keeping a championship going for that level of dominance. In Connacht, it's semi competitive, Galway, Mayo and Roscommon are competitive but this year alone we had Mayo beating Sligo by 20 points and Leitrim by 24 points. Ulster is the exception but any format that keeps the Leinster championship is bad for the game. I got bored and switched off today, a boring game with an inevitable outcome Is bad for the sport.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1653 - 01/08/2021 19:39:55    2366566

Hard to disagree with that. At the same time, any supporter that boos a team for probing around a blanket defence, simply doesn't understand the game. Why should any team go crashing into an opposition defence when protecting a lead? It's up to the opposition to press higher. We saw this in the game yesterday also where Tyrone just passed the ball around for the past 2m and wound the clock down while Monaghan recoiled into their blanket. The thing that is bugging me with Dublin right now is that when they turn the ball over in their own half with the other team committed forward, instead of breaking forward and punishing the opposition, they allow them to reset to the blanket and play the ball backwards. Frustrating to watch and not entertaining. I don't doubt their ability to beat any team but, like most teams now, it seems to be all about risk levels when it comes to passing (so hand pass now dominates) and shot taking (keep probing for the low risk option). The days of the Kevin Mcs of this world seem to be numbered.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/08/2021 19:47:18    2366570

Dublin are beginning to resemble the great Kilkenny hurling team who lost a large number of their quality players to retirement in a short period of time and eventually just ran out of quality players. The same thing is happening with Dublin. The difference, I don't think there are enough quality football sides take advantage. If I were a Kildare supporter today, I would be disappointed in the management's approach. How could Jack O'Connor leave Daniel Flynn up in the full forward line, pretty much on his own. Himself and Jimmy Hyland with no support for the full 70 minutes. Why not push a few forwards forward and get the ball in fast and direct. If it's not work then revert to playing defensive if required. Dublin don't seem to have the forward power or the substitutes to bring on. They don't have the extra gear or two to pull away from teams and their answer seems to keep ball to the death. This won't work against a team like Kerry, they may even have a problem with Mayo in a couple of weeks time especially if as I suspect that Mayo push forward onto the Dublin kick out. Dublin's style of play was a joy to watch for the last 10 years even if their domination has damaged the championship especially in Leinster. Having said that a lot of the other teams particular teams like Meath, Kildare, Cork (in Munster) don't seem to have the where with all to deliver when it counts even now.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 01/08/2021 19:48:21    2366572

Replying To Joxer:  "Munster is hardly competitive when the best team beat the second best team by 22 points in the final. Despite some people fancying Galway to cause an upset in what is a two team Connaught championship this year, Mayo were comfortable enough in strolling to their 48th title. I think 3 of the 4 provinces are dead at this stage. Ulster remains competitive as it doesn't have a team of the calibre of the champions from the other 3. I think the bigger problem for football right now is the all out defence deployed by every team now, regardless of whether they are 10 points up or 10 points down, as we saw today from both teams. The days of the inside forward line are almost numbered it seems. I used to love seeing Bernard Bogan making those sprints to the corner to pick up an arrow from Connolly, before jinking inside and bending one over from an acute angle. It's all about risk management and accuracy percentages these days."
Connacht isnt a two team championship. Roscommon has won it in recent years and is always there to cause an upset.

And what are you on about every team playing all out defence. That is simply not the case. Mayo, and most of ulster are the complete opposite with all out offence. While kerry can hardly be called a defensive team. There are far higher levels of scoring than ever before.

Sssthe (Mayo) - Posts: 57 - 01/08/2021 19:52:26    2366574

Replying To PK57:  "Tipp's brilliant Munster title In 2020 aside, Munster is usually farcical. Since Tipp won the title in 1935, Cork and Kerry have won all but two Munster titles since, hardly worth keeping a championship going for that level of dominance. In Connacht, it's semi competitive, Galway, Mayo and Roscommon are competitive but this year alone we had Mayo beating Sligo by 20 points and Leitrim by 24 points. Ulster is the exception but any format that keeps the Leinster championship is bad for the game. I got bored and switched off today, a boring game with an inevitable outcome Is bad for the sport."
Absolutely. But for a silly slip up by Kerry last year against Cork they would have strolled to their 82nd Munster title and their 10th in 11 years. Instead they won their 10th in 12 years this year and by 22 points. If that's not an uncompetitive competition then I don't know what is.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/08/2021 19:54:37    2366578

Replying To Sssthe:  "Connacht isnt a two team championship. Roscommon has won it in recent years and is always there to cause an upset.

And what are you on about every team playing all out defence. That is simply not the case. Mayo, and most of ulster are the complete opposite with all out offence. While kerry can hardly be called a defensive team. There are far higher levels of scoring than ever before."
Firstly Mayo and Galway have won 9 of the last 11 Connaught titles. That's a 2 horse raise competition in anyone's book albeit a little more competitive than Leinster and Munster. If you watched the game yesterday you would have seen mass defending and breaking. In fact look at the last 90 seconds of the game and you'll see Tyrone playing around with the ball and 14 Monaghan men in their own half. Kerry does it, Galway does it, Dublin does it. Mayo are one of the few teams who generally go man to man.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/08/2021 20:06:16    2366582

Great Post Avon. I have been saying this for a while. The swashbuckling Dublin team that I used to love watching have become a clone of a basketball team with keep ball the main tactic. It's no coincidence that Dublin style has changed over the last few years since former Irish basketball coach has come on board. Dublin's keep ball tactic is very effective but a hard watch. The first team I remember doing this were Dr Crokes in Kerry who were managed by Pat ó Shea who was an ex international basketball player. What can you do though? I'm not sure the provincial are the problem. One sided games will still happen under an open draw. I think rule changes are needed. 1.No passing back behind half way line once you cross it. 2.Goalies have to kick beyond the 45m line. This rule was on the agenda only for objectors saying it unfair on keepers if the wind was strong. Rubbish as keepers don't kick from the end line anyway. Dublin are playing within the rules so it's gard to blame them when up against a defensive wall. It is ironic thought that motm was the player from the team that lost by 8 points but in truth the closest anyone came to him was probably Kilkenny. This is not a criticism of Dublin as they are doing the job to perfection and its about winning. No point enthralling fans if you lose.Football can bé good when played under different circumstances as we have seen already this year especially underage. A large amount of blame has to go to the losing teams too. Hope is never far away though and I do think both football semi will produce good games. The problem with that though is it might mask over the bore fests.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 01/08/2021 20:18:08    2366586

On Dublin go..

The bonus territory continues

Severe first world problem syndrome for a few of my fellow Dubs ;)

#5 is in the bag and #6 is unheralded

We are playing against teams happy to be 10pts down and still sit deep with 14 behind the ball..

What do you want Du6lin to do exactly?

I hope they continue to highlight how useless the blanket is now, Previous swash buckling go nowhere Dublin sides couldn't beat it, in fact got humiliated and bullied. Very short memories..

Du6s are operating at a level never achieved in the game, they are in a completely unique position for a number of reasons.

The one that really stands out a mile is..

Unfortunately we have teams competing against Du6lin that don't want to give themselves any chance of winning whatsover.. that's the problem folks.

Imagine playing the game against teams with little to no real intention of trying to win the game..

Happy to be have limited offensive options and blanket defend a 10pt deficit.. it's baffling.

What would you do in such a position if you played on a side that almost continually faced such a scenario..

Its a credit to Du6lin that they are still so hungry.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/08/2021 20:29:23    2366591

I think Dublin are just beating what's in front of them and it's just too easy in Leinster, you won't see the best of Dublin until they are pushed and have to produce it, couple of great games coming up I hope, Dublin Kerry final still the most likely outcome.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2738 - 01/08/2021 20:36:43    2366593

If the leinster council are not ashamed of themselves they should be. Look at the last 20 years of dominance of dublin and what have they done, given more and more resources to dublin.
When are meath kildare laois etc going to stand up, why has croke park not created a plan to even the playing field.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 01/08/2021 20:41:08    2366597

Replying To Joxer:  "Firstly Mayo and Galway have won 9 of the last 11 Connaught titles. That's a 2 horse raise competition in anyone's book albeit a little more competitive than Leinster and Munster. If you watched the game yesterday you would have seen mass defending and breaking. In fact look at the last 90 seconds of the game and you'll see Tyrone playing around with the ball and 14 Monaghan men in their own half. Kerry does it, Galway does it, Dublin does it. Mayo are one of the few teams who generally go man to man."
Firstly roscommon have won 2 of the last 11 titles galway have also won 2 of the last 11 titles. That's a 3 horse race in anyone's book all be it with mayo being stronger than the other 2.

The ulster final was the exception not the rule in ulster. Both ulster semi finals ended with massive scores and were offensive games.

Kerry have scored over 30 points in half their games(league+championship) this year and over 20 in every game. It is absolutely ludicrous to call them defensive.

Sssthe (Mayo) - Posts: 57 - 01/08/2021 20:42:42    2366599

I think Kildare have huge potential. The unforced error count was unacceptable today,
but that can be worked on. Mayo can beat Dublin.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 01/08/2021 20:43:42    2366600

Replying To Joxer:  "Absolutely. But for a silly slip up by Kerry last year against Cork they would have strolled to their 82nd Munster title and their 10th in 11 years. Instead they won their 10th in 12 years this year and by 22 points. If that's not an uncompetitive competition then I don't know what is."
Agree croke park is not looking after the wider football counties dublin kerry that is there focus. What have they done to help the others nothing except give more resources to dublin and to try and create a mickey mouse compitetion. Created the super 8s to make sure nobody can challenge the top tier.
Go back and look at the provincial championship matches in the 70s and 80s and while tradition still held strong all the other teams where competitve but it the last 20 year gaa have made change after change to help the top teams.
Longer games which help the team with the best strength and conditioning facilities
Extra subs which again benefit the top counties with the deepest pockets.
Right now they are trying to get ride of the provisional championships.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 01/08/2021 20:52:29    2366605