Munster Hurling Final

A performance for the ages....capped by a goal for the ages by Kyle Hayes, well done to both teams on serving up a classic

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 920 - 18/07/2021 22:51:59    2361443

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Did you see the hurley around the neck of Cian Lynch at all or the dirty pull on Hegarty over under the far stand or the missed foul on Hayed when he was in the danger area in the first half - Peter Casey was binned for less against Cork. . Canuck, Hegarty took the belt and stayed on his feet when he could have thrown himself down and rolled around the ground for nothing. Maybe if Barret had not made such a meal of it, as he did with Ritchie Hogan two years ago, Gullane might have been put off, but perhaps the ref did not appreciate such an onslaught on his intelligence."
Ah will you go and enjoy the win. Hegarty did roll around and barely got a clip. The lynch high tackle was a free but a nothing incident. There was no danger of him being hurt. It's amazing that it's the limerick people justifying the incidents here and the Tipp people are saying we were beaten by a better team. Don't be bitter in victory.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 19/07/2021 07:05:46    2361485

To have grown up for years following Limerick all over the country to tough defeats and to now witness action like that third quarter, it is the stuff dreams are made of.

This is a golden era for Limerick. We have a team to be proud of. These players are a credit to our county. Our Management are a credit to hurling.

Outstanding.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 19/07/2021 07:33:21    2361490

Just my few facts

Brilliant display from Tipp in first half. Forde was phenomenal. It will be hard to pick up from that second half though.

Limerick need to look carefully at what happened them in this first half as other teams may not let them back. Eg KK 2019

I do agree with a earlier poster that if Barrett didn't go balling on the ground it might have been a red. Yes Gillane was very lucky and needs to cop on but the antics out of Barrett were more embarrassing for me. And obviously Paud O'Dwyer.

Limerick were just awesome in the 2nd half. I was stunned so can't imagine what Tipp felt. It is the best comeback I have ever seen. We were 2 or 3 points up at the water break. That's a 12 point swing in 17 min. Just brilliant.

Kyle Hayes goal is going to be talked about for a long time. Of course it was Cian Lynch who spotted the run and laid off an amazing pass. Hayes is just about 23 and is just a phenomenal hurler and athlete. Although only for SOK brilliant double save in the All Ireland last year he could have got an even better goal.

There is a lot of media talk about Liam Sheedy and his back room team. But what about John Kiely and his team. To lift the lads and get get it tactically so right at the same time is some achievement.

Some great teams left in the qualifiers. Of course it depends on the draw but I fancy Galway and Clare to get through if they are kept apart. Clare to draw Cork, then get Tipp and Limerick in a semi!!! Galway to draw Waterford, then Dublin and KK in semi final. Of course this will all change with the draw in a few min.

Roll on the summer and Luimneach Abu!

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 19/07/2021 08:24:19    2361493

Look the majority of limerick Gaa supporters are enjoying this time..I don't think to many of us could have imagined we,d ever see a day and a performance like that from limerick,we,ve known to many bloody bad days..these days are great..we will have bad ones again but we,ll still keep following..thanks again to all involved on making it a brilliant Sunday..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2230 - 19/07/2021 09:44:50    2361521

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Barrett may do this or that and everything else but that doesn't justify gillane not getting a red red card. Strike with the hurl is red end of story"
How many times in a game will a defender just straight on hit a forward while "trying to get the ball" we all know it happens so if we were to go back and look half the team would be gone. Im sure Barrett does too and once play moved on im sure he didnt fell too aggrieved that Gillane stayed on and there is no point dwelling too much on it.

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 19/07/2021 09:49:09    2361527

Replying To tiobraid:  "Ah will you go and enjoy the win. Hegarty did roll around and barely got a clip. The lynch high tackle was a free but a nothing incident. There was no danger of him being hurt. It's amazing that it's the limerick people justifying the incidents here and the Tipp people are saying we were beaten by a better team. Don't be bitter in victory."
It is always 'a nothing incident' when Limerick players are on the receiving end.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4342 - 19/07/2021 10:17:23    2361534

Replying To Oldtourman:  "It is always 'a nothing incident' when Limerick players are on the receiving end."
Congrats on a great comeback, enjoy the win! Tipp played a mighty brand of hurling in the first half, to be fair to them. It made up for the other poor games in Munster this year.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1823 - 19/07/2021 11:09:50    2361554

Replying To baire:  "Congrats on a great comeback, enjoy the win! Tipp played a mighty brand of hurling in the first half, to be fair to them. It made up for the other poor games in Munster this year."
Thanks Baire. I still regard Galway as a huge threat this year, despite their below performance against Dublin.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4342 - 19/07/2021 13:05:07    2361663

while and Offaly man, I have always had a soft spot for Limerick, I think as a child in early 1980s and Limerick having a great team but Galway and Cork having top teams too and with no back door, Limerick were fierce unlucky with a good team, and the National Hurling League was a massive competition back then for which Limerick competed in and won in mid 80s twice..I dont mind Tipp and equally was delighted when they freshened things up from 1987 onwards having been involved in great games in Munster from 1984 munster final upto 1987...this game yesterday brought me back to 1996 when I think Limerick were equally down around 10 points in a drawn game with Tipp in Munster only to come back and draw and win a replay I think...talk of a game of two halfs yesterday...it had it all...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 19/07/2021 13:16:41    2361673

Going back to another famous Tipp/Limerick battle...what games these were too...The 1996 Munster Senior Hurling Championship Finals were two hurling matches played in July 1996. The first game was played at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick and finished in a draw 0-19 to 1-16 after Tipperary at one stage had a ten-point lead. The replay was played a week later on 14 July at Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork, County Cork, and saw Limerick claim their second first Munster Championship of the decade, winning on a scoreline of 4-7 to 0-16. Overall, this was Limerick's eighteenth Munster Senior Hurling Championship title.[1]

Tipperay had defeated Waterford in the quarter-final by 1-14 to 1-11 and Kerry in the semi-final by 4-19 to 2-11 to reach the final, while Limerick had defeated Cork by 3-18 to 1-8 in the quarter-final and All-Ireland Champions Clare by 1-13 to 0-15 in the semi-final to reach the final.[2] Both matches were screened live by RTÉ as part of The Sunday Game programme.

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 19/07/2021 13:19:53    2361678

What a comeback!!!! A great win and real leadership was shown throughout the field o
and on the line. We will enjoy and savour this

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 19/07/2021 13:21:11    2361682

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I think you ré being very harsh on him today. He got good bang of a Hurley across the legs. I'm sure even Tyson Fury would be hurt after that."
Of course he got a bad bang, there's no denying that. Go down and hold ypur leg like everybody else would, not put on extra theatrics to do your best to make up the refs mind.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1915 - 19/07/2021 13:22:44    2361685

Replying To Bon:  "Of course he got a bad bang, there's no denying that. Go down and hold ypur leg like everybody else would, not put on extra theatrics to do your best to make up the refs mind."
I hate feigning injury or theatrics and there is plenty of it going on in both codes but Barrett deserves the benefit of the doubt here. It was a very hard bang and looked like it was the edge of the Hurley he got hit with so I would say it was fairly painful

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 19/07/2021 15:41:14    2361760

Lads can I mention something,the way he went down I really thought there was serious damage down,however he got to his feet and had no problem finishing the rest of the game.feigning injury has become a problem in hurling and football,players holding helmet and opening it as if it has been interfered with..players in football going down holding their face no matter what part of body they get hit in..I'm looking forward to refs penalizing players for play acting,horrible to see..ive Sean it happen in a few club games recently to..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2230 - 19/07/2021 16:08:35    2361776

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Going back to another famous Tipp/Limerick battle...what games these were too...The 1996 Munster Senior Hurling Championship Finals were two hurling matches played in July 1996. The first game was played at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick and finished in a draw 0-19 to 1-16 after Tipperary at one stage had a ten-point lead. The replay was played a week later on 14 July at Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork, County Cork, and saw Limerick claim their second first Munster Championship of the decade, winning on a scoreline of 4-7 to 0-16. Overall, this was Limerick's eighteenth Munster Senior Hurling Championship title.[1

Tipperay had defeated Waterford in the quarter-final by 1-14 to 1-11 and Kerry in the semi-final by 4-19 to 2-11 to reach the final, while Limerick had defeated Cork by 3-18 to 1-8 in the quarter-final and All-Ireland Champions Clare by 1-13 to 0-15 in the semi-final to reach the final.[2] Both matches were screened live by RTÉ as part of The Sunday Game programme."]All of Limerick's games were televised live that year. It was the first year of real live coverage. And who will forget Sunday 14th of July when the Munster final replay and the Leinster final were both shown live.

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 19/07/2021 18:24:25    2361853

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "
Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Going back to another famous Tipp/Limerick battle...what games these were too...The 1996 Munster Senior Hurling Championship Finals were two hurling matches played in July 1996. The first game was played at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick and finished in a draw 0-19 to 1-16 after Tipperary at one stage had a ten-point lead. The replay was played a week later on 14 July at Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork, County Cork, and saw Limerick claim their second first Munster Championship of the decade, winning on a scoreline of 4-7 to 0-16. Overall, this was Limerick's eighteenth Munster Senior Hurling Championship title.[1

Tipperay had defeated Waterford in the quarter-final by 1-14 to 1-11 and Kerry in the semi-final by 4-19 to 2-11 to reach the final, while Limerick had defeated Cork by 3-18 to 1-8 in the quarter-final and All-Ireland Champions Clare by 1-13 to 0-15 in the semi-final to reach the final.[2
Both matches were screened live by RTÉ as part of The Sunday Game programme."]All of Limerick's games were televised live that year. It was the first year of real live coverage. And who will forget Sunday 14th of July when the Munster final replay and the Leinster final were both shown live."]it was probably the real start but the first provinicial hurling final that was televised was 1989 between Tipp and Waterford...Waterford had a few great hurlers around that time, be it some were aging abit....

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 19/07/2021 20:01:22    2361904

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "
Replying To johnocarroll17:  "[quote=Fairplayalways:  "Going back to another famous Tipp/Limerick battle...what games these were too...The 1996 Munster Senior Hurling Championship Finals were two hurling matches played in July 1996. The first game was played at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick and finished in a draw 0-19 to 1-16 after Tipperary at one stage had a ten-point lead. The replay was played a week later on 14 July at Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork, County Cork, and saw Limerick claim their second first Munster Championship of the decade, winning on a scoreline of 4-7 to 0-16. Overall, this was Limerick's eighteenth Munster Senior Hurling Championship title.[1

Tipperay had defeated Waterford in the quarter-final by 1-14 to 1-11 and Kerry in the semi-final by 4-19 to 2-11 to reach the final, while Limerick had defeated Cork by 3-18 to 1-8 in the quarter-final and All-Ireland Champions Clare by 1-13 to 0-15 in the semi-final to reach the final.[2
Both matches were screened live by RTÉ as part of The Sunday Game programme."]All of Limerick's games were televised live that year. It was the first year of real live coverage. And who will forget Sunday 14th of July when the Munster final replay and the Leinster final were both shown live."]it was probably the real start but the first provinicial hurling final that was televised was 1989 between Tipp and Waterford...Waterford had a few great hurlers around that time, be it some were aging abit...."]I remember that as a youngster, leinster final/munster final same day. What a days entertainment that was.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1915 - 19/07/2021 22:25:11    2361955

Replying To Bon:  "
Replying To Fairplayalways:  "[quote=johnocarroll17:  "[quote=Fairplayalways:  "Going back to another famous Tipp/Limerick battle...what games these were too...The 1996 Munster Senior Hurling Championship Finals were two hurling matches played in July 1996. The first game was played at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick and finished in a draw 0-19 to 1-16 after Tipperary at one stage had a ten-point lead. The replay was played a week later on 14 July at Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork, County Cork, and saw Limerick claim their second first Munster Championship of the decade, winning on a scoreline of 4-7 to 0-16. Overall, this was Limerick's eighteenth Munster Senior Hurling Championship title.[1

Both matches were screened live by RTÉ as part of The Sunday Game programme."]All of Limerick's games were televised live that year. It was the first year of real live coverage. And who will forget Sunday 14th of July when the Munster final replay and the Leinster final were both shown live."]it was probably the real start but the first provinicial hurling final that was televised was 1989 between Tipp and Waterford...Waterford had a few great hurlers around that time, be it some were aging abit...."]I remember that as a youngster, leinster final/munster final same day. What a days entertainment that was."]I accidentally deleted the match off my recording machine how do I get to a link to see the game on RTE player or is the game on utube?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4342 - 20/07/2021 08:27:03    2362008

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Barrett may do this or that and everything else but that doesn't justify gillane not getting a red red card. Strike with the hurl is red end of story"
So should the tipp player who struck Kyle Hayes at least three times on the way to scoring his goal also be sent off. he made no attempt to play the ball just the man. this was a sending off offence in some league matches but, once again different rules apply in championship.

over35hurler (Cork) - Posts: 36 - 20/07/2021 15:58:07    2362186