U20 All Ireland

Serious talent coming through in Cork from the u20 sides. If Ricken is given the Senior job, I can see them becoming a top 4 team again. Ricken's sides always play good football and have great spirit and he's also very good player selection wise. A forward line with Corbett from the last night and Cathail O'Mahony, Mark Cronin and Blake Murphy from the 2019 winning side will worry any defence. Sean Meehan, Daniel O'Mahony, Paul Ring, Maurice Shanley and Darragh Cashman are very good backs. What's badly needed due to the size of the county is the right manager and I think Cork will go places if they've Ricken in charge.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 958 - 17/07/2021 00:15:09    2360552

The ref in the game was OK. He gave us a handy few frees in first half and evened out in 2nd half. Had we lost we would have only ourselves to blame. It should never have gone to the wire like that.

Not sure about Ricken for senior job. He has found his level. He is a coach as such. He is comfortable at developmental levels. We need to look after and nurture these crop of players though. Need to bring them on and have patience. We might (probably will) get a hammering at senior level next week and that might dent confidence a bit but if we keep developing, we will get to Division 1 football which has to be the aim.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 17/07/2021 09:39:17    2360578

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Congratulations on Corks win last night baldy badger, ye were the better team nó doubt, ye looked the hungrier team as well.

Dispite all the mistakes and rustiness from both teams I found it to be a good game to watch (end to end and good off the cuff football from both teams) yer lad Corbet will be a star for the seniors in the future and ye have plenty to build on.

Anyway best of luck for the rest of the competition and I hope ye go on to win it out."
Thanks Kingdomboy. Only a kick between the teams as it should be. If that game was in Tralee/Killarney the result would probably be reversed as it was so tight, small margins matter.
Cork need to be pushing Kerry more, and more often when it comes to senior. With the players you have, we may lose more often than win, but should at least be making you sweat for it. I worry for us this year, but if the underage can compete regularly, which we have the last decade at this level, it may drip feed through.
The step up is massive to senior and Kerry, along with other counties are far better bringing lads on. This is where Cork need to build and create an environment that promotes potential.
Anyway, I enjoy watching lads play in a more off the cuff style, so hope somehow we see this coming through the senior game again.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 17/07/2021 09:54:49    2360581

Did ye see the Interview with Ricken on tg4
It was brilliant the way about young lads having to step up

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 17/07/2021 12:09:20    2360607

Replying To BaldyBadger:  "Thanks Kingdomboy. Only a kick between the teams as it should be. If that game was in Tralee/Killarney the result would probably be reversed as it was so tight, small margins matter.
Cork need to be pushing Kerry more, and more often when it comes to senior. With the players you have, we may lose more often than win, but should at least be making you sweat for it. I worry for us this year, but if the underage can compete regularly, which we have the last decade at this level, it may drip feed through.
The step up is massive to senior and Kerry, along with other counties are far better bringing lads on. This is where Cork need to build and create an environment that promotes potential.
Anyway, I enjoy watching lads play in a more off the cuff style, so hope somehow we see this coming through the senior game again."
I'm always told by relatives in the rebel county that ye have an unusual set of circumstances when it comes to Gaa where nearly all yer great footballers are also great hurlers so they end up being pulled in different directions, I know some counties like Galway and Tipp have a semilar situation to a point but not as much as Cork by all accounts .

I said it over on the Kerry page yesterday that we need a strong Cork football team to drive us on in Kerry and in fairness yer minors and U20s always give us enough of it, if ye could sort the manager at senior level ye'll be back fighting for allirelands in the football in no time because ye have the talented players.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/07/2021 12:11:35    2360609

Terrible news about Monaghans U-20 captain , Brendán Óg Duffy, God rest the boy.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 17/07/2021 12:19:45    2360613

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Congratulations on Corks win last night baldy badger, ye were the better team nó doubt, ye looked the hungrier team as well.

Dispite all the mistakes and rustiness from both teams I found it to be a good game to watch (end to end and good off the cuff football from both teams) yer lad Corbet will be a star for the seniors in the future and ye have plenty to build on.

Anyway best of luck for the rest of the competition and I hope ye go on to win it out."
Thanks Kingdomboy. Only a kick between the teams as it should be. If that game was in Tralee/Killarney the result would probably be reversed as it was so tight, small margins matter.
Anyway, I enjoy watching lads play in a more off the cuff style, so hope somehow we see this coming through the senior game again.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 17/07/2021 12:45:19    2360622

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Terrible news about Monaghans U-20 captain , Brendán Óg Duffy, God rest the boy."
This is tragic news. My condolences to his family, friends and team mates. May he RIP. Just terrible to have this happen so close to what was probably one of the best moments of his life.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 17/07/2021 12:56:42    2360629

Replying To BaldyBadger:  "Thanks Kingdomboy. Only a kick between the teams as it should be. If that game was in Tralee/Killarney the result would probably be reversed as it was so tight, small margins matter.
Anyway, I enjoy watching lads play in a more off the cuff style, so hope somehow we see this coming through the senior game again."
Ya the step up is massive baldy badger and hopefully ye'll get a senior management team that can harness all that brilliant youth coming through.

My Cork relatives are allways telling us how Cork are unique in that the majority of their great footballers are also great hurlers so they're being pulled in every direction, I know other counties like Galway and Tipp have a semilar situation but not as much as Cork by all accounts.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/07/2021 15:23:25    2360704

Cork losing two of their best u20 players as they got game time for their seniors. Madness.

Could the GAA please put the age grades back to u18 and u21 and get rid of the eligibility nonsense we've had the last few years please.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 19/07/2021 13:57:02    2361710

Replying To icehonesty:  "Cork losing two of their best u20 players as they got game time for their seniors. Madness.

Could the GAA please put the age grades back to u18 and u21 and get rid of the eligibility nonsense we've had the last few years please."
Yes it's very unfortunate for those players missing out, but has happened to others, Clifford and O'Shea stand out.

I see Cahalane is down to play tonight against Tipp and then Thursday against Tipp in the football final. Big ask for him really, especially as he could feature at the weekend against Clare for the seniors.

I'd say after this weekend, if somehow Cork got past Tipp tonight, they will have a couple more ineligible.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 20/07/2021 12:06:15    2362073

Replying To icehonesty:  "Cork losing two of their best u20 players as they got game time for their seniors. Madness.

Could the GAA please put the age grades back to u18 and u21 and get rid of the eligibility nonsense we've had the last few years please."
The more time goes on the change the gaa made to u21 looks worse
U17 maybe ok but you have very young lads playing in this grade too
But changing from U21 to U20 was not needed

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 20/07/2021 14:06:20    2362143

Needs to go back to what it was. Doesn't work.

Preventing 16 and 17 year olds from playing senior club football is very wrong. Clubs are losing players over it.

For intercounty too, I think it's sad that a 19 or 20 year old can't play both u20 and senior the same year.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 20/07/2021 15:54:15    2362185

Silly not allowing guys who played senior play in the U20. GAA need to rethink this pronto.
We're the sliotars rationed for the Clare/Limerick game last night? Had a mix of a yellow one and a white one. At one stage the Clare keeping had to go half way up the terrace behind him to get a sliotar.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 20/07/2021 16:54:20    2362201

Well done Galway in the victory over Kilkenny today. Kilkenny played an awesome 2nd half but lost by 5 points. Galway will meet Dublin in the Leinster Final. Dublin beat Offaly. Galway Abu.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 20/07/2021 20:59:45    2362282

Galway vs Dublin in Leinster. Cork vs Limerick in Munster. Should be some great matches. Galway Abu!!!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 20/07/2021 21:05:02    2362284

Great effort from Offaly against Dublin, bad first half cost them in the end. 2-15 to 1-15

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 20/07/2021 22:59:42    2362336

Two great finals lined up there, its a fantastic grade of competition. If they had only held onto the Cross of Cashel Trophy!!

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 20/07/2021 23:06:50    2362338

Cork fought back superbly in that second half. I was very sceptical at half time but fair play to the players and management for turning it around. It will be a very tough game against a strong Limerick next week. There is a real buzz around underage teams in Cork now. Players look like they want to represent the county and are well prepared. Not before time.
Special congrats to Galway and Dublin too. A couple of interesting finals to come.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 20/07/2021 23:23:15    2362350

First senior league club games in Down postponed; why do club players even bother anymore?

befair (Down) - Posts: 237 - 20/07/2021 23:41:57    2362358