Tyrone Red Card Appeal

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "I think any strike to the face should be red. Simple as. For anyone, don't care who you play for. This craic of saying 'this slap was worse than that slap' should be irrelevant. Keep your hands down, striking to the face should just be red and if there was more consistency in now this was viewed and dealt with, it wouldn't happen. Nearly everything can be appealed and overturned in the GAA."
I agree totally. Keep your hands down. A little push or slap to the face while not dangerous is very annoying and it's serious provocation.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 15/07/2021 11:11:44    2360042

Replying To The_Fridge:  "do you think it should have been a red? Considering the McNamee incident on Saturday?"
Could easily have been a red for stupidity alone, I think the fact McKernan made such a meal of it actually put the ref off, fellas have to learn to keep the hands down, anyway we'll see if McNamee gets off, not too worried either way tbh.
I'd rather the refs handed out cards for diving and feigning injury.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 15/07/2021 11:51:17    2360060

Replying To The_Fridge:  "There is a lot of sense in this comment - its why Tyrone fans are annoyed, there have been plenty of incidents where players have do the same thing and got away with a yellow or nothing an all.

Consistency is the issue here."
That's always the problem with refereeing in every sport, every ref does the job a bit different and they can't see everything so it's just part of the game, umpires seem to prefer to keep quite a lot of the time,
some will say the decisions usually favour the bigger teams etc who can put the pressure on refs, we've seen some ex players in the media putting pressure on refs before big games too. Tough oul job being a ref no doubt.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 15/07/2021 11:56:31    2360064

I felt Paul Brenann should have got a red last year and that's why I feel strongly about this incident. Examples need to be set before someone gets seriously hurt. A push to the face and a man falls and his head even worse. GAA need to be brave.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 15/07/2021 12:05:36    2360069

Replying To TheRock2121:  "I felt Paul Brenann should have got a red last year and that's why I feel strongly about this incident. Examples need to be set before someone gets seriously hurt. A push to the face and a man falls and his head even worse. GAA need to be brave."
100%! You lift your hand to another man's face it's a red card. Brennan was fortunate to get a yellow that today but this can't be a comparable action to whether McNamee's Red be overturned. The difference is McNamee struck the Cavan player twice. He got a red card for it. If overturned it opens the GAA to a lot of questions down the line. As a previous poster states it is a provocative action regardless of the force.

Personally, if McNamee plays or not, it won't have much impact on how the game will turn out so it doesn't make a difference whether he plays or not but it's the fact that the appeal decision could forever change the game in regards to striking someone on the face with an open palm. If overturned it means it is a yellow card offense at the very most which in my opinion is not a good example to set.

I hope we are in for a feast on Sunday and hopefully both teams can showcase their talent. Both teams have the potential to reach an AI final so it's a pity one of them will be dumped out after this weekend.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 15/07/2021 12:22:50    2360080

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "I think any strike to the face should be red. Simple as. For anyone, don't care who you play for. This craic of saying 'this slap was worse than that slap' should be irrelevant. Keep your hands down, striking to the face should just be red and if there was more consistency in now this was viewed and dealt with, it wouldn't happen. Nearly everything can be appealed and overturned in the GAA."
Well that is the rule, deliberately striking a player is a red card offence, not just to the face/head. Maybe there should be a separate rule i.e. deliberate "contact" with the face (red card), but it's not in the rule book. The fact that the rule includes the word "strike" is the issue because striking implies a hitting action, not a push.
Committee of appeal can only be guided by the rules, not by their own or anyone else's opinion of what should be in the rules.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 15/07/2021 12:25:52    2360084

Replying To sligo joe:  "Well that is the rule, deliberately striking a player is a red card offence, not just to the face/head. Maybe there should be a separate rule i.e. deliberate "contact" with the face (red card), but it's not in the rule book. The fact that the rule includes the word "strike" is the issue because striking implies a hitting action, not a push.
Committee of appeal can only be guided by the rules, not by their own or anyone else's opinion of what should be in the rules."
Am I watching a different McNamee incident? Just because his palm is open doesn't automatically make it a push. He struck the Cavan player on the face just like Brennan struck McKernan on the head. Only McNamee did it twice and got a red card and now finds himself in an appeal process. You can sugar coat it all you like but McNamee STRUCK him on the face, not once but twice and in no way deserves to play this game because of that red card.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 15/07/2021 12:31:39    2360086

Replying To sligo joe:  "Well that is the rule, deliberately striking a player is a red card offence, not just to the face/head. Maybe there should be a separate rule i.e. deliberate "contact" with the face (red card), but it's not in the rule book. The fact that the rule includes the word "strike" is the issue because striking implies a hitting action, not a push.
Committee of appeal can only be guided by the rules, not by their own or anyone else's opinion of what should be in the rules."
A strike to me is the raising of your hands to someone's face. It's not an opinion of what should be in the rules, it's simply the application of the rule consistently. This notion that you can distinguish the nature of the strike to the face is what causes the vagueness.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 15/07/2021 13:12:10    2360105

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "A strike to me is the raising of your hands to someone's face. It's not an opinion of what should be in the rules, it's simply the application of the rule consistently. This notion that you can distinguish the nature of the strike to the face is what causes the vagueness."
In reply to you and Murphballs, I don't give a fiddler's if McNamee gets off or not and it doesn't matter if you consider it a strike or not. There is no reference in the relevant rule to open hand or fist so that makes no difference, also there is no reference to face or head in the rule so that makes no difference. If an appeal goes ahead I presume the claim will be that he did not strike i.e hit forcibly and quickly and then the appeals cttee. will make their judgement. It makes no difference if we think his behaviour deserved sending off or not. The definition of strike is not simply to make contact with but to do so quickly and with force so I think he has a chance, nothing to do with whether he deserves a chance or not.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 15/07/2021 15:04:00    2360140

Replying To sligo joe:  "In reply to you and Murphballs, I don't give a fiddler's if McNamee gets off or not and it doesn't matter if you consider it a strike or not. There is no reference in the relevant rule to open hand or fist so that makes no difference, also there is no reference to face or head in the rule so that makes no difference. If an appeal goes ahead I presume the claim will be that he did not strike i.e hit forcibly and quickly and then the appeals cttee. will make their judgement. It makes no difference if we think his behaviour deserved sending off or not. The definition of strike is not simply to make contact with but to do so quickly and with force so I think he has a chance, nothing to do with whether he deserves a chance or not."
I don't care whether he gets off or not either as I stated in previous posts, I'm not on about his specific case but the whole area of striking someone in general.

So what I consider to be a strike or not is irrelevant but the appeals committee can make that judgment… so it's their interpretation of the rule as well?

If they would simply interpret a strike to the face of any nature as a red card then we wouldn't be in this ridiculous over and back appeals quagmire eternally.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 15/07/2021 15:23:14    2360143

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Am I watching a different McNamee incident? Just because his palm is open doesn't automatically make it a push. He struck the Cavan player on the face just like Brennan struck McKernan on the head. Only McNamee did it twice and got a red card and now finds himself in an appeal process. You can sugar coat it all you like but McNamee STRUCK him on the face, not once but twice and in no way deserves to play this game because of that red card."
Calm down man - the first hit his chest, the second was open handed to the neck/chin area. it was a brutal knockout punch like you are making out.

To be honest the isn't a hope in hell the red card will get overturned. They try not to go against the ref and it will set a prescient for future appeals.

Mark my words this will come again with a Donegal player some time. Hopefully you Donegal men remember some of these comments

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 15/07/2021 15:31:33    2360145

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "I don't care whether he gets off or not either as I stated in previous posts, I'm not on about his specific case but the whole area of striking someone in general.

So what I consider to be a strike or not is irrelevant but the appeals committee can make that judgment… so it's their interpretation of the rule as well?

If they would simply interpret a strike to the face of any nature as a red card then we wouldn't be in this ridiculous over and back appeals quagmire eternally."
Exactly, as I said earlier, new rule needed, "deliberate contact with the face" red card.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 15/07/2021 15:34:34    2360147

Replying To sligo joe:  "Exactly, as I said earlier, new rule needed, "deliberate contact with the face" red card."
New rule needed or just allow refs to apply the existing rules without various subsequent interpretations at appeals.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 15/07/2021 15:41:32    2360149

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Calm down man - the first hit his chest, the second was open handed to the neck/chin area. it was a brutal knockout punch like you are making out.

To be honest the isn't a hope in hell the red card will get overturned. They try not to go against the ref and it will set a prescient for future appeals.

Mark my words this will come again with a Donegal player some time. Hopefully you Donegal men remember some of these comments"
haha right Fridge. If it's Michael Murphy my stance will not change. You can't hit a player or push a player on the face and expect people to say "Ah here, sure there was nothing in it". The fact of the matter is McNamee hit the Cavan player twice on the face so for you to say the first one was on the chest is worrying me. It's worrying me because I fear that you don't know the anatomy of the body.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 15/07/2021 15:43:21    2360152

McNamee's red reduced to a yellow.

This will be interesting lol

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 15/07/2021 19:57:23    2360215

Replying To The_Fridge:  "McNamee's red reduced to a yellow.

This will be interesting lol"
I'm glad he's available, hope Canavan is too. Would love to see both teams fully fit and playing to their potential so I can look forward to another Ulster Final!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 15/07/2021 21:26:21    2360240

Replying To The_Fridge:  "McNamee's red reduced to a yellow.

This will be interesting lol"
I'm sure a sigh of relief in Tyrone tonight. Especially an Aghyaran man with Doochary connections who wouldn't want to miss this game above any.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 15/07/2021 21:41:12    2360245

Replying To rorysboys:  "We're big underdogs but hopefully we'll have it a good shot. Anyone know what is the attendance capped at this week."
It'll be a close game. No underdogs. Nobody's buying the beal bocht stuff.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 15/07/2021 21:41:50    2360246

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Ah here. The Michael Murphy incident was just a badly measured tackle. Did he deserve to be red carded - yes, probably so but we are talking about a player striking another player on the face during some argy bargy. O Gara punched McGee on the stomach. Yes McGee made the most of it but to compare Murphys challenge with both McNamee and O'Gara cannot be compared."
Reading your posts, it's a good job you're not a referee : )

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 15/07/2021 21:45:51    2360250

Let's hope Murphy is fit. If so I think it's 50/50.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 15/07/2021 22:17:31    2360264