Tyrone Red Card Appeal

Replying To rorysboys:  "We're big underdogs but hopefully we'll have it a good shot. Anyone know what is the attendance capped at this week."
Think it's 500 fans allowed in or is it a percentage of the grounds capacity like in the 26 counties?
weather forecast looks very good so it's going to be a good day for football but the heat will test the fitness out big time, Tyrone looked very fit against Cavan but then again maybe Cavan weren't used to the pace of div 1.
I think Tyrone are favs in my book with the patchy form we've been in, Derry really should have beaten us but that scare will hopefully jolt us into life, we'll see on Sunday anyway, not long to wait.
If this was a Donegal player looking to get a red card rescinded I suppose we'd be hoping he was let play so I won't be a hypocrite, I'd rather see players banned for diving tbh.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2737 - 14/07/2021 11:39:19    2359727

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Whether it's overturned or not it was a stupid thing for McNamee to do, think I said on that thread that the Cavan man done himself and his county proud by staying on his feet and not trying to get the man sent off,
now that the Michael McKernan incident is brought up I'd add McKernan dived on the ground and spent a while then getting checked by medical staff for concussion? if he felt the wind from Paul Brennan's hand that was about the height of it, (Brennan was stupid too for raising his hand)
Raheem Sterling could take lessons from McKernan and Tiernan McCann, maybe he could have got that Danish defender sent off if he'd followed Michael McKernan's example?
Tyrone have bad form for this diving and play acting"
Problem is consistency, 2016 qualifier Murphy hit Fenton with a closed fist to the jaw, no provocation except Murphy couldn't take his beating, yellow card. Then O'Gara gets a red for tapping McGee in the stomach when two of them were at it!
McNamee's red, borderline enough, could easily get off.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 14/07/2021 12:06:43    2359739

Replying To sligo joe:  "Problem is consistency, 2016 qualifier Murphy hit Fenton with a closed fist to the jaw, no provocation except Murphy couldn't take his beating, yellow card. Then O'Gara gets a red for tapping McGee in the stomach when two of them were at it!
McNamee's red, borderline enough, could easily get off."
Ah here. The Michael Murphy incident was just a badly measured tackle. Did he deserve to be red carded - yes, probably so but we are talking about a player striking another player on the face during some argy bargy. O Gara punched McGee on the stomach. Yes McGee made the most of it but to compare Murphys challenge with both McNamee and O'Gara cannot be compared.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 14/07/2021 13:00:39    2359754

Replying To sligo joe:  "Problem is consistency, 2016 qualifier Murphy hit Fenton with a closed fist to the jaw, no provocation except Murphy couldn't take his beating, yellow card. Then O'Gara gets a red for tapping McGee in the stomach when two of them were at it!
McNamee's red, borderline enough, could easily get off."
That happened when the score was 2 points to 1, 10 minutes into the game. Maybe you're misremembering?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 14/07/2021 13:02:21    2359756

Replying To greatpoint:  "That happened when the score was 2 points to 1, 10 minutes into the game. Maybe you're misremembering?"
Yes it was early in the game, probably a bit later than 10mns, but Murphy started around the middle as is his way, and young Fenton was cleaning up, when he won the ball again a frustrated Murphy lashed out and caught him, closed fist to the jaw. Fenton's jaw was well swollen after it.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 14/07/2021 14:48:51    2359814

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Ah here. The Michael Murphy incident was just a badly measured tackle. Did he deserve to be red carded - yes, probably so but we are talking about a player striking another player on the face during some argy bargy. O Gara punched McGee on the stomach. Yes McGee made the most of it but to compare Murphys challenge with both McNamee and O'Gara cannot be compared."
I agree, no comparison, Murphy's strike was the only one of the three that could be described as a punch and the only closed fist, of the three most definitely deserved red.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 14/07/2021 14:53:03    2359815

Replying To MurphBalls:  "You've just proven why McNamees appeal shouldn't be overturned. Compare the two incidents. Are you telling me they are comparable from a force point of view. If so, you need a reality check."
How have I done that. The Donegal player slapped a tyrone player in the face and got a yellow. A tyrone players pushes a player in the face and gets a red. I have literally proveny point that he should get it taken back as it seems a blast slap in the face is a yellow card offence. Pretty straight forward.

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 14/07/2021 17:02:42    2359870

Replying To sligo joe:  "I agree, no comparison, Murphy's strike was the only one of the three that could be described as a punch and the only closed fist, of the three most definitely deserved red."
Yes, red card but you couldn't argue against it if it was red and go appeal it. But at the same time there was mitigating factors in it whereas there are none when someone blatantly and intentionally strikes someone in the face with force. Brennan on McKernan was a tap. There was absolutely no force in it at all. McNamee pushed the Cavan player on the face initially and you could argue that there was no force in it but to do it a second time with more force would say he hasn't a leg to stand on when it comes to an appeal. At the end of the day if the GAA overturns this then what's to stop boys going about hitting other boys in the face with force with an open palm. If this becomes the case then God help our game because if most people think it's gone to the dogs now then wait until you see what happens it then.

And to all the Tyrone people, if Neil McGee did that, and not McNamee, my stance would be the exact same. You can't say Brennans was the same with the same force applied as McNamee. It was a tap to the face from Brennan. Was it stupid from Brennan? Yes it was! Could it have been a red card? Arguably, yes. Could it have been appealed? Arguably yes, on the grounds there was no force and the magnitude at which McKernan play acted might have come into play.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 14/07/2021 17:18:23    2359880

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Yes, red card but you couldn't argue against it if it was red and go appeal it. But at the same time there was mitigating factors in it whereas there are none when someone blatantly and intentionally strikes someone in the face with force. Brennan on McKernan was a tap. There was absolutely no force in it at all. McNamee pushed the Cavan player on the face initially and you could argue that there was no force in it but to do it a second time with more force would say he hasn't a leg to stand on when it comes to an appeal. At the end of the day if the GAA overturns this then what's to stop boys going about hitting other boys in the face with force with an open palm. If this becomes the case then God help our game because if most people think it's gone to the dogs now then wait until you see what happens it then.

And to all the Tyrone people, if Neil McGee did that, and not McNamee, my stance would be the exact same. You can't say Brennans was the same with the same force applied as McNamee. It was a tap to the face from Brennan. Was it stupid from Brennan? Yes it was! Could it have been a red card? Arguably, yes. Could it have been appealed? Arguably yes, on the grounds there was no force and the magnitude at which McKernan play acted might have come into play."
Fair enough, we all have our own "views". As a neutral regarding the McNamee issue i.e I have no leaning towards Cavan, Tyrone or indeed Donegal, I do believe considering the wording of the rule he may get the benifit of the doubt and while he can have little complaint if his appeal fails, I don't think a successful appeal would be a travesty of justice either.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 14/07/2021 17:40:51    2359885

Replying To ulsterrules:  "If I hit you in the face with my fist open or closed I am still hitting you in the face. Hitting someone in the face is striking someone in the face.
If the gaa don't uphold this red card we should be embarrassed."
Paul Brennan vs Tyrone last year???

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 14/07/2021 19:10:40    2359901

If he gets away with that, more and more striking/pulling /pushing to the face will continue until someone gets seriously hurt. An example needs to be set.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1136 - 14/07/2021 21:48:38    2359945

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Paul Brennan vs Tyrone last year???"
Paul Brennan got a yellow card so he didn't have to appeal anything.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2737 - 14/07/2021 22:28:10    2359959

Ah come on now. Paul's was far more forceful than ronan. It was a forceful slap

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ipDJNLuEyvA

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 15/07/2021 09:55:10    2360006

Replying To TYE08:  "Ah come on now. Paul's was far more forceful than ronan. It was a forceful slap

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ipDJNLuEyvA"
I'm no wild fan of Mac namee but in fairness he deserves to play if shoe was on other foot I would be annoyed if one of the Donegal players got a ban for it. Let him play.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2389 - 15/07/2021 10:08:13    2360010

Replying To TYE08:  "Ah come on now. Paul's was far more forceful than ronan. It was a forceful slap

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ipDJNLuEyvA"
Brennan's was more of a red, A cowardly hit from behind.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1142 - 15/07/2021 10:16:12    2360017

I think any strike to the face should be red. Simple as. For anyone, don't care who you play for. This craic of saying 'this slap was worse than that slap' should be irrelevant. Keep your hands down, striking to the face should just be red and if there was more consistency in now this was viewed and dealt with, it wouldn't happen. Nearly everything can be appealed and overturned in the GAA.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 15/07/2021 10:30:56    2360023

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Paul Brennan got a yellow card so he didn't have to appeal anything."
do you think it should have been a red? Considering the McNamee incident on Saturday?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 15/07/2021 10:37:57    2360026

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "I think any strike to the face should be red. Simple as. For anyone, don't care who you play for. This craic of saying 'this slap was worse than that slap' should be irrelevant. Keep your hands down, striking to the face should just be red and if there was more consistency in now this was viewed and dealt with, it wouldn't happen. Nearly everything can be appealed and overturned in the GAA."
There is a lot of sense in this comment - its why Tyrone fans are annoyed, there have been plenty of incidents where players have do the same thing and got away with a yellow or nothing an all.

Consistency is the issue here.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 15/07/2021 10:39:55    2360027