Come On Engerland.....Peoples' Views???

Replying To AfricanGael:  "For some on here Sunday will be like the begrudging neighbour peeking out through the curtains hoping to see the guy next door crash his brand new merc.

Wasting his life away concerned by someone else, that's not living at all.

I hope Italy win on Sunday, and if they don't, I wont be losing any sleep over it.

If Ireland was any good it would have been there competing with the best of them, look at Denmark, a country with less than 6 million people, that's the country to be envious of, not England.

Whatever about the vaccines, but it's time a good dose of cop on was administered around the country, North and South."
That's only because the guy next door is a d**khead who stole the Merc from somebody else.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 09/07/2021 15:37:08    2358077

Replying To supersub15:  "For a start I think we're a little bit hypocritically, a little bit begrudging and a little bit disagreeable.

I'm really not into soccer very much, however I tuned in to the England / Denmark game thinking that Denmark had a lad playing called Thomas Delaney so for some reason I thought he may have had close Irish connections, sadly no, the closest being was his great grandfather emigrated from here during the Famine.

On the game itself, 3 goals over 120 mins including extra time is not nail biting stuff, the equalising goal for England was imo an "og" the second goal was from a disputed penalty, I was willing Schmeichel on to stop it from going in, he did indeed stop it but was scored from the rebound, and then Denmark had to play with 10 men during extra time as all substitutions were used, perhaps I'm one of those that's a little begrudging.

When Jack Charlton created a carnival atmosphere here and had us all on a high for a few good years we made him an honouree Irish man whether he liked it or not, we were forever talking about his performance with his native England in the 1966 world cup victory over Germany. Does that make us a little bit hyprotical.? Someone said in passing, should England defeat Italy on Sunday it will be their first International victory / success since 1966, I don't know, I didn't check it out as I'm not that interested.

People have pointed out that all but one of England's games including the final will have been played in Wembley on home soil, some saw nothing wrong with that and some did, it could be argued that we are now a bit disagreeable.
By the way, my choice of MOTM in the England / Denmark game was Kasper Schmeichel.

May the best team win. - - -"
The only thing I would disagree with you on supersub15 is your MOTM selection, surely it has to go to the man who single handedly won it for England, referee Danny Makkelie.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 09/07/2021 15:46:23    2358079

Replying To Jackeen:  "People use "woke" as if its an insult. Bizarre."
It's terrible grammar.

"Awake" or "woken" surely.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 09/07/2021 15:48:38    2358081

Replying To avonali:  "That's only because the guy next door is a d**khead who stole the Merc from somebody else."
Maybe his little peeking moralist neighbour would be better off putting his time and energy into buying his own merc rather than torturing himself with envy, regardless of how his neighbour got his.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 09/07/2021 15:58:32    2358084

I hope England wins. Partially because it'll be a first time for them, partially because I like some of the Liverpool players on the team, and partially because I don't mix politics and sports despite the handle I use. Am I disgusted by the English Governments atrocities of the past? Of course I am. Just like I'm disgusted with current governments such as Chinas or whatever but the current players or fans in the crowd have nothing to do with that so yes I'll be hoping for an England victory.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 09/07/2021 16:01:07    2358085

Replying To kick-it:  "Southgate seems like a nice man, however the booing of the anthems etc is deplorable behaviour so therefore I want Italy to win and I think they will. They are too cute for England in terms of play. I echo others saying it is amusing to have devotees of English club football turning on their national team and finding multiple excuses why it doesn't matter. Like those who say Celtic are an Irish club and it slap bang in the Empire's second city."
Actually there is a great clip on YouTube of fella giving out about the queen coming to Ireland and fellas who support English teams he says we should support Irish teams like St. Pats. He was asked who is his favourite player for St. Pats and he said "the fella in the green" he then says we should nt support English teams just irish teams and Celtic of course
Wgat a muppet! You can google it by typing in "St Pats fan"

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 09/07/2021 16:07:06    2358086

Replying To Saynothing:  "So they sing rule Britannia and it doesn't get on your wick? As for WW2, it's like 66, they're still going on about it. Most wars they were involved in were invasions of countries. Not bring family into discussion as people might make accusations, give me the Germans anyway."
I get your point of course. Past history fine but in recent history as in 16 years give me the English any day. The Germans and Angela Merckal tried to ruin us with over the top interest rate loans and restrictions. The English gave us a cheap loan.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 09/07/2021 16:11:13    2358088

Why has this kept going on a Gaa forum..I havnt watched any full English game yet but probably will on Sunday..this has been set up in my opinion that everything is in their favour including only one match away from wembley..I'll be shouting for our European neighbors and the main reason is when I see the reaction of their supporters,I just can't take to them at all..on what happened the other night,can't figure out why technology wasn't used properly for penalty decision..we want it for Gaa but it has to be used properly..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2215 - 09/07/2021 16:14:59    2358089

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Unfortunately you don't have to go over to England to help the British economy Mick. Whether I stay in Belfast and support a local club (which would be Linfield) in a backwards sectarian hotbed of an amateur league or armchair support a team across the water owned by an Italian, managed by an Argentine and captained by a Scotsman its not a big pile of difference to any economy from the 6 counties really. Antrim GAA is my first port of call but they are hopeless and packing after a week or two most seasons. If they were on a level that Dublin or Kerry were I might not have the same desire to follow a PL club, but its a long boring winter in our part of the world and the summers are worse again! What I wouldnt give to be heading to Croker every other week to cheer on my county in a meaningful match. Hopefully thats a bit of perspective for you."
I get you indeed. Well scripted Saffron.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 09/07/2021 16:16:45    2358090

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Maybe his little peeking moralist neighbour would be better off putting his time and energy into buying his own merc rather than torturing himself with envy, regardless of how his neighbour got his."
Who would envy a neighbour who is reviled and regarded as a common thief and bully by the rest of the neighbourhood???? He only has the Merc until Sunday when he and his wife will stand in tears as it is towed away by the friendly Italian repoman. :-D

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 09/07/2021 16:17:55    2358091

People also forget our most successful soccer teams had plenty of English on their team. The Irish team was like an English B team. Without their help we d never have qualified. There was one high profile player than had never even been to Ireland before he got the Irish call up. It is after all an English game so good luck to them.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 09/07/2021 16:22:03    2358094

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Only for the pair of clowns over the Irish soccer team at the time ( O Neill and Nob Keane ) Rice and Grealish would not be there to help England make their way to the Final…. Let's not forget we missed out on Kane as well …!!!!"
What's with this we stuff? You mean Ireland soccer team. Maybe you were on the panel at the time.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2013 - 09/07/2021 16:31:07    2358096

Replying To AfricanGael:  "
Replying To supersub15:  "For a start I think we're a little bit hypocritically, a little bit begrudging and a little bit disagreeable.

I'm really not into soccer very much, however I tuned in to the England / Denmark game thinking that Denmark had a lad playing called Thomas Delaney so for some reason I thought he may have had close Irish connections, sadly no, the closest being was his great grandfather emigrated from here during the Famine.

On the game itself, 3 goals over 120 mins including extra time is not nail biting stuff, the equalising goal for England was imo an "og" the second goal was from a disputed penalty, I was willing Schmeichel on to stop it from going in, he did indeed stop it but was scored from the rebound, and then Denmark had to play with 10 men during extra time as all substitutions were used, perhaps I'm one of those that's a little begrudging.

When Jack Charlton created a carnival atmosphere here and had us all on a high for a few good years we made him an honouree Irish man whether he liked it or not, we were forever talking about his performance with his native England in the 1966 world cup victory over Germany. Does that make us a little bit hyprotical.? Someone said in passing, should England defeat Italy on Sunday it will be their first International victory / success since 1966, I don't know, I didn't check it out as I'm not that interested.

People have pointed out that all but one of England's games including the final will have been played in Wembley on home soil, some saw nothing wrong with that and some did, it could be argued that we are now a bit disagreeable.
By the way, my choice of MOTM in the England / Denmark game was Kasper Schmeichel.

May the best team win. - - -"
The only thing I would disagree with you on supersub15 is your MOTM selection, surely it has to go to the man who single handedly won it for England, referee Danny Makkelie."
A different arguement for another day.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 09/07/2021 16:47:13    2358101

Replying To avonali:  "Just interested in what regular HS people have to say.
Do we retain our age old prejudice against the Sassanach???
This team have been cast as a more humble, likeable bunch. Southgate seems like a decent enough person.
Personally I hope the Italians beat them out the gate,
Sterling dived, fans shining lasers at Schmeichel etc. etc.
Forza Iralia..."
Who cares?

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 09/07/2021 17:00:48    2358104

Replying To Shocs07:  "Who cares?"
Evidently a lot of people are interested in the question. You clicked on the thread and were anxious to declare your general apathy; so, in a sense, you care too .

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 09/07/2021 17:24:19    2358110

Replying To Shocs07:  "Who cares?"
I was wondering that too.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 09/07/2021 17:47:30    2358113

Replying To avonali:  "Who would envy a neighbour who is reviled and regarded as a common thief and bully by the rest of the neighbourhood???? He only has the Merc until Sunday when he and his wife will stand in tears as it is towed away by the friendly Italian repoman. :-D"
He'll still have his big house and own a good chunk of yours though, the part you officially signed over to him in 1998, even thought he'd like to give it back to you , you can't afford to take it back because the part of the house you already have is a crumbling shambles.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 09/07/2021 18:04:27    2358114

If I'm honest, I actually don't have any real strong opinion on who I'd prefer to see winning.
I find some of the English commentators and media to be hopelessly unprofessional in their lack of ability to hide their bias. Do I have any affiliation to the Italians? No ,and find their antics when they go to ground off putting.
So, while the team themselves may be a bit more tolerable than some of their fans and media , I still wouldn't want to be listening to the stuff that I can only imagine would follow.
Let it go to penalties, that's probably the most exciting part.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 09/07/2021 18:28:21    2358118

Replying To REDANDBLACK30:  "Maybe hate was too strong a word more dislike. I really dislike England as a country. Even in the Brexit negotiations they believed that Ireland was having too much say and causing difficulties. They have an ill founded sense of superiority. I have relatives in England I don't hate them but some of them are a bit full of themselves. The Nationalist people in the six counties continue to suffer under the yoke of British oppression."
I would argue that the catholics up North of our island suffer more from Irish people than English people. The unionists up North are Irish bigots who think they are English. They were born and reared on the Island of Ireland. Anyway that's politics not sport. I could nt care less either way but as I say I don't understand if someone sings in an English accent and would suppor English teams over Irish teams then why not be glad if England win.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 09/07/2021 19:02:33    2358124

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I would argue that the catholics up North of our island suffer more from Irish people than English people. The unionists up North are Irish bigots who think they are English. They were born and reared on the Island of Ireland. Anyway that's politics not sport. I could nt care less either way but as I say I don't understand if someone sings in an English accent and would suppor English teams over Irish teams then why not be glad if England win."
Yes that is fair point. In the first 50 years after partition Catholics in the North were essentially second class citizens in terms of jobs/housing/votes etc. Yet the British have hardly been neutral during he last 100 years. I agree with you that Unionists are Irish people with a British heritage. Like the Irish Americans are Americans with an Irish heritage etc. Unionists therefore hate their own people. They were so used to having the ascendancy with the new Irish sea border they now think they are on the slippery slope to a United Ireland.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 09/07/2021 19:30:11    2358133