Come On Engerland.....Peoples' Views???

Replying To Rolo2010:  "It's the biggest sport in Liverpool and Manchester as well."
It's the biggest sport in England of course especially amongst all the major cities. Clubs are number 1, 2 and 3 in England amongst your commited soccer fans though!

There is a passing interest in the national team when they're doing well but the vast majority of those that get excited or follow England at major tournaments are either people jumping on the bandwagon who don't follow soccer normally or fans of lower league/non league clubs who see the national team as an opportunity to attend big games/events.

If you scan the England flags at their games there aren't many big clubs named on those flags. This is because there aren't many English fans of big PL or bigger Football League clubs that give much interest to the England team; in fact all this coming home, and soccer frenzy irritates them from I have heard and there is a different type of "fan" following England than would follow club sides which puts the more commited soccer fan off.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 09/07/2021 12:06:02    2357997

Replying To REDANDBLACK30:  "Maybe hate was too strong a word more dislike. I really dislike England as a country. Even in the Brexit negotiations they believed that Ireland was having too much say and causing difficulties. They have an ill founded sense of superiority. I have relatives in England I don't hate them but some of them are a bit full of themselves. The Nationalist people in the six counties continue to suffer under the yoke of British oppression."
Illfounded sense of superiority? No. They have a sense of superiority based on their country having ruled most of the world at some stage(rightfully or wrongfully in some cases)
Oh you have relatives in england who are bit full of themselves... well of course that means we must dislike the english then..... well i hate to tell you this but you most likely have family in ireland that are a bit full of themselves as well. that isnt a trait determined by nationality...

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3496 - 09/07/2021 12:06:21    2357998

Couple of posts marvelling at how well Italy can close down a game when they go 1-0 up yet cry at the Dubs for doing the same.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 09/07/2021 12:30:23    2358001

Replying To KillingFields:  "Except this team of players and the coach are far from arrogant, far more respectful of others than many previous teams etc etc"
Is that because 8 of the starting 11 have parents/grand parents who were not from England including 4 from Ireland (Maguire, Kane, Rice and I forget the other fellas name).

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 09/07/2021 12:32:28    2358002

Replying To Saynothing:  "Couple of posts marvelling at how well Italy can close down a game when they go 1-0 up yet cry at the Dubs for doing the same."
NOw you're talking....good point.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 09/07/2021 12:32:52    2358003

Replying To KillingFields:  "Illfounded sense of superiority? No. They have a sense of superiority based on their country having ruled most of the world at some stage(rightfully or wrongfully in some cases)
Oh you have relatives in england who are bit full of themselves... well of course that means we must dislike the english then..... well i hate to tell you this but you most likely have family in ireland that are a bit full of themselves as well. that isnt a trait determined by nationality..."
Is ruling most of the World at some stage something to proud of?? Is colonising the planet a badge of honour?? Probably the worst thing about the English is how they have no remorse over their evil history. They are not taught about the evils of the British empire and give out awards MBEs/OBEs etc glorifying it. Until such point they say that the British empire was an evil incarnation they will be irredeemable as people. They instead go on about bringing civilisation to these countries instead of how they stole all their resources and brought great misery. They staged a horrifying massacre on the hallowed ground of Croke Park. They have never made a full apology for their treatment of Ireland over hundreds of years. They key point being they do not care, they are not sorry.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 09/07/2021 12:37:02    2358006

May the best team win, thats all there is to it

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 09/07/2021 12:45:42    2358011

Replying To captainshamrock:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "How did you see the idiot with the laser if you were watching the repair shop ?

:-).
"
I can read the newspapers mate.... multitasking, I guess!"
I take my hat off to anyone who can watch the Repair Shop and read the paper at the same time about a game that's still in progress !

That Kerryman is some paper !

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 09/07/2021 12:45:42    2358012

Replying To avonali:  "Well spotted. I've heard that too and assumed that that was just the soccer way of singing things. I remember going to a Bohs match 2 years ago and seeing men in their 30s and 40s sporting the style and haircuts of mods and Brit rockers and chanting with English accents. Most of the songs and chants are based on English bands. They have a parody of Spandau Ballet's 'Gold", where they replace Gold with Bohs in the chorus. You couldn't make it up."
I know Avon you could nt make it up. I actually work with lads that after a few drinks start singing in English accents along to their club songs. I don't think it mattera who England play tbh. I think the majority will support the other team.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 09/07/2021 13:08:50    2358017

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I don't know actually, but I'd guess there's a higher percentage of drunken hooligans roaming every Irish town every weekend and I would also guess they are carrying much more than lasers in their pockets.

Note: The above view was only relevant when the Irish were allowed out, which at the time of writing is no longer the case. They must stay at home and watch the rest of Europe party.

Shambles of a country."
Ahhh would you ever give over with oul "Shambles of a country" sh*te!! Your worse than my oul lad was!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 09/07/2021 13:20:33    2358023

Replying To Saynothing:  "Couple of posts marvelling at how well Italy can close down a game when they go 1-0 up yet cry at the Dubs for doing the same."
You obviously don't get the drift of my post, I thought a Tyrone man might understand. By the way I think Dublin with Mayo are the most entertaining teams in the country.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 09/07/2021 13:26:21    2358025

The only time a culchie would cheer for England is if they were playing the Dubs ;)

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 09/07/2021 13:31:55    2358027

Replying To REDANDBLACK30:  "Is ruling most of the World at some stage something to proud of?? Is colonising the planet a badge of honour?? Probably the worst thing about the English is how they have no remorse over their evil history. They are not taught about the evils of the British empire and give out awards MBEs/OBEs etc glorifying it. Until such point they say that the British empire was an evil incarnation they will be irredeemable as people. They instead go on about bringing civilisation to these countries instead of how they stole all their resources and brought great misery. They staged a horrifying massacre on the hallowed ground of Croke Park. They have never made a full apology for their treatment of Ireland over hundreds of years. They key point being they do not care, they are not sorry."
Agreed the English did barbaric things around the world as did the Americans. I have no problem with anti English or not but I just don't understand if someone is anti English how can they support an English club over an Irish club. Why go over and help the British economy by going to mathes in England.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 09/07/2021 13:45:53    2358031

Replying To avonali:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "I don't know actually, but I'd guess there's a higher percentage of drunken hooligans roaming every Irish town every weekend and I would also guess they are carrying much more than lasers in their pockets.

Note: The above view was only relevant when the Irish were allowed out, which at the time of writing is no longer the case. They must stay at home and watch the rest of Europe party.

Shambles of a country."
Ahhh would you ever give over with oul "Shambles of a country" sh*te!! Your worse than my oul lad was!"
You should have listened to your auld lad ! He was fecken right ! :-).

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 09/07/2021 13:52:03    2358032

Only for the pair of clowns over the Irish soccer team at the time ( O Neill and Nob Keane ) Rice and Grealish would not be there to help England make their way to the Final…. Let's not forget we missed out on Kane as well …!!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1899 - 09/07/2021 13:52:32    2358033

Replying To avonali:  "Well spotted. I've heard that too and assumed that that was just the soccer way of singing things. I remember going to a Bohs match 2 years ago and seeing men in their 30s and 40s sporting the style and haircuts of mods and Brit rockers and chanting with English accents. Most of the songs and chants are based on English bands. They have a parody of Spandau Ballet's 'Gold", where they replace Gold with Bohs in the chorus. You couldn't make it up."
Bohs are a bit of a joke in all fairness. A lot of their older fans are embarrassed by the downmarket woke creatures who have moved into D7 and seem to have turned the club into a leftie political thing.

As one of the old timers said of them "They wish they'd been born in some kip like Macclesfield and worked in a coal mine." Rather than serving lattes and grifting in NGOs :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2523 - 09/07/2021 14:28:27    2358049

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Agreed the English did barbaric things around the world as did the Americans. I have no problem with anti English or not but I just don't understand if someone is anti English how can they support an English club over an Irish club. Why go over and help the British economy by going to mathes in England."
Unfortunately you don't have to go over to England to help the British economy Mick. Whether I stay in Belfast and support a local club (which would be Linfield) in a backwards sectarian hotbed of an amateur league or armchair support a team across the water owned by an Italian, managed by an Argentine and captained by a Scotsman its not a big pile of difference to any economy from the 6 counties really. Antrim GAA is my first port of call but they are hopeless and packing after a week or two most seasons. If they were on a level that Dublin or Kerry were I might not have the same desire to follow a PL club, but its a long boring winter in our part of the world and the summers are worse again! What I wouldnt give to be heading to Croker every other week to cheer on my county in a meaningful match. Hopefully thats a bit of perspective for you.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 09/07/2021 14:36:58    2358057

For a start I think we're a little bit hypocritically, a little bit begrudging and a little bit disagreeable.

I'm really not into soccer very much, however I tuned in to the England / Denmark game thinking that Denmark had a lad playing called Thomas Delaney so for some reason I thought he may have had close Irish connections, sadly no, the closest being was his great grandfather emigrated from here during the Famine.

On the game itself, 3 goals over 120 mins including extra time is not nail biting stuff, the equalising goal for England was imo an "og" the second goal was from a disputed penalty, I was willing Schmeichel on to stop it from going in, he did indeed stop it but was scored from the rebound, and then Denmark had to play with 10 men during extra time as all substitutions were used, perhaps I'm one of those that's a little begrudging.

When Jack Charlton created a carnival atmosphere here and had us all on a high for a few good years we made him an honouree Irish man whether he liked it or not, we were forever talking about his performance with his native England in the 1966 world cup victory over Germany. Does that make us a little bit hyprotical.? Someone said in passing, should England defeat Italy on Sunday it will be their first International victory / success since 1966, I don't know, I didn't check it out as I'm not that interested.

People have pointed out that all but one of England's games including the final will have been played in Wembley on home soil, some saw nothing wrong with that and some did, it could be argued that we are now a bit disagreeable.
By the way, my choice of MOTM in the England / Denmark game was Kasper Schmeichel.

May the best team win. - - -

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 09/07/2021 14:43:02    2358060

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Bohs are a bit of a joke in all fairness. A lot of their older fans are embarrassed by the downmarket woke creatures who have moved into D7 and seem to have turned the club into a leftie political thing.

As one of the old timers said of them "They wish they'd been born in some kip like Macclesfield and worked in a coal mine." Rather than serving lattes and grifting in NGOs :-)"
People use "woke" as if its an insult. Bizarre.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/07/2021 14:45:48    2358061

For some on here Sunday will be like the begrudging neighbour peeking out through the curtains hoping to see the guy next door crash his brand new merc.

Wasting his life away concerned by someone else, that's not living at all.

I hope Italy win on Sunday, and if they don't, I wont be losing any sleep over it.

If Ireland was any good it would have been there competing with the best of them, look at Denmark, a country with less than 6 million people, that's the country to be envious of, not England.

Whatever about the vaccines, but it's time a good dose of cop on was administered around the country, North and South.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 09/07/2021 14:49:36    2358062