Come On Engerland.....Peoples' Views???

I heard Ferdinand the other night saying that England would smash either Spain or Italy, & that it didn't matter who they faced in the final. All this before a ball had been kicked against Denmark. Another reason not to want them to win. Even their more reserved pundits simply will not be able to contain themselves.

The ideal scenario is for Italy to edge ahead around the 75th minute. Then use every trick in the book to see the game out. Then, as a coup de grace, reveal pro EU T-shirts after the final whistle has blown. That would do nicely.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 08/07/2021 15:35:44    2357733

I know lads would be happy enough if England win once the players from 'their' club of choice plays well or scores etc.
An absolute joke, c'mon Italy!!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 08/07/2021 15:37:48    2357735

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Chiellini's oul boy was from enniskillen. Met his father at mass the other week."
Yeah a real Fermanagh hame. The Maguires and the Chiellini s lol.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 08/07/2021 15:42:45    2357737

No mention now of Sterling's gun tattoo in the media, it'll not be long again if their beat.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 08/07/2021 15:43:01    2357738

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "In fairness Avon I think his point was that hoganstand is a gaa site"
IN fairness Mick, my question was less about the sport of soccer than OUR attitudes, as GAA folk, towards our the English football team. Historically GAA folk have a particular view on England and it's sports. I was interested to see if those views had shifted or changed. I wish people would read posts a little more carefully.
A favourite insult in here is to compare the respective fans some counties to English football fans. People on here are quick to invoke English soccer in an insulting when it suits them. There are threads here about members of the English football team etc. It's silly to think GAA exists in a vacuum.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 08/07/2021 15:44:24    2357739

Replying To yew_tree:  "The vast majority of their fans booed the Danish national anthem again last night. The English media are obnoxious and arrogant when it comes to the national team.

On Talksport one of the presenters said he didn't care that it was a dive....that same presenter tore into Mo Salah two years ago for diving....so they can never slate a player for diving again.

Italy to win the final."
That is what I got from it. It is absolutely horrible to hear anyone booing the national anthem of any country. It will be said it is their right but it is another dagger in the heart of respect, tolerance and what is the real reason these people are there. I hope our games are not going that way. Both teams at GAA games used to be cheered on to the field by both set of fans in prior recognition of their contribution.
On an occasion many years ago in Thurles a group of so called Waterford supporters (recognizable from another sport) were kicking out the sheeting on the back of the stand. Some real Waterford supporters went back up to them and told them they would be going down the short way if they did not stop.
I would not begrudge England a win but that dis respect probably will make me biased.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 08/07/2021 15:46:39    2357740

come on the British & Irish Three Lions

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 08/07/2021 15:52:06    2357744

Replying To Galway9801:  "Hmmmm... You lecture others on your progressive virtues, then coincidentally decide to single out one of Englands most powerful politicians, who just happens to be one of the few powerful women of colour there, for your little dig. Freudian slip perhaps?

In any event those two eejits on talksport, cundy and Goldstein have been unbearable throughout this tournament, them, and the fact I love the Italians pride in their anthem and their jersey has me hoping for an italy win. I think they'll do it too, maybe 2-1."
Not sure how I am lecturing on my progressive virtues by saying I have good English friends and don't like the hooligan mob who still hang around supporting England!
Priti Patel despite being the daughter of an immigrant whose family have thrived since moving to the UK is keen to ensure that as Home Secretary others wishing to move to the UK are not allowed in and get opportunities her family received. She also approved of those booing players taking the knee.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 08/07/2021 15:58:28    2357745

Replying To avonali:  "IN fairness Mick, my question was less about the sport of soccer than OUR attitudes, as GAA folk, towards our the English football team. Historically GAA folk have a particular view on England and it's sports. I was interested to see if those views had shifted or changed. I wish people would read posts a little more carefully.
A favourite insult in here is to compare the respective fans some counties to English football fans. People on here are quick to invoke English soccer in an insulting when it suits them. There are threads here about members of the English football team etc. It's silly to think GAA exists in a vacuum."
OK Avon fair enough. Anyway as you can see things don't change that much and yes some people will always compare to suit themselves. I mean our Irish fans carry themselves with pride and honour abroad but at home when certain clubs meet in Daly mount there is fighting and disgraceful carry on on more than a few occasions. On people comparing stuff with faa supporters. I'm afraid all counties have sinners.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 08/07/2021 16:02:41    2357747

Soccer is so boring.... I watched The Repair Shop instead.... horrible to see some idiot with a laser... saying that didn't a Mayo footballer throw his gps tracter at Rock in the All-Ireland a few ago... but this is a GAA site, plenty of places to talk soccer if you desire.

captainshamrock (Kerry) - Posts: 23 - 08/07/2021 16:14:34    2357751

Replying To Horsebox77:  "I'm not a soccer man, but I do find it the height of hypocrisy where soccer fans will cheer and idolize a club player for the entire season then boo them for their national side."
That's sport. I've seen county players getting abuse from people who would normally cheer them when playing for their clubs.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1337 - 08/07/2021 16:14:42    2357752

Replying To KillingFields:  "No im not but have far more affiliation with England than Italy and would be same for majority of people here
All those who comment calling Man utd, arsenal etc "we" are utter hypocrites if they will then just go against England in this especially with no ireland team even competing in the tournament
There is also fact that Grealish, Rice represented Ireland at age grade level then Kane, Harry Maguire were also eligible to play for Ireland means the ties are far greater than anything within italian set up...."
You're happy enough to call half the globe an 'utter hypocrite' then because they watch the PL, but aren't fussed on the England national side? On top of that us Irish are meant to rally behind a group of players who chose England over Ireland lol why not ask Spurs to give Sol Campbell a testimonial while your at it! Sporting rivalries exist at all levels and for many a reason, but there's a big difference between supporting a club from the most viewed league in the world and each individual's national identity or preference. Are all NBA fans across the globe meant to be backing the stars and stripes of America through the Olympics next month?

As for Italy, I've been there more times than I've visited England. I love their food, drink and culture as well as enjoying the company of many locals I've met through the years. Especially now with Brexit and the knock on implications it will have at home and across the continent I don't think your sweeping statement of the majority of people have a closer affiliation to England has much truth to it.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 08/07/2021 16:28:44    2357758

Replying To SaffronDon:  "You're happy enough to call half the globe an 'utter hypocrite' then because they watch the PL, but aren't fussed on the England national side? On top of that us Irish are meant to rally behind a group of players who chose England over Ireland lol why not ask Spurs to give Sol Campbell a testimonial while your at it! Sporting rivalries exist at all levels and for many a reason, but there's a big difference between supporting a club from the most viewed league in the world and each individual's national identity or preference. Are all NBA fans across the globe meant to be backing the stars and stripes of America through the Olympics next month?

As for Italy, I've been there more times than I've visited England. I love their food, drink and culture as well as enjoying the company of many locals I've met through the years. Especially now with Brexit and the knock on implications it will have at home and across the continent I don't think your sweeping statement of the majority of people have a closer affiliation to England has much truth to it."
That's pretty much it in a decent sized nutshell.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 08/07/2021 16:33:33    2357760

Replying To SaffronDon:  "You're happy enough to call half the globe an 'utter hypocrite' then because they watch the PL, but aren't fussed on the England national side? On top of that us Irish are meant to rally behind a group of players who chose England over Ireland lol why not ask Spurs to give Sol Campbell a testimonial while your at it! Sporting rivalries exist at all levels and for many a reason, but there's a big difference between supporting a club from the most viewed league in the world and each individual's national identity or preference. Are all NBA fans across the globe meant to be backing the stars and stripes of America through the Olympics next month?

As for Italy, I've been there more times than I've visited England. I love their food, drink and culture as well as enjoying the company of many locals I've met through the years. Especially now with Brexit and the knock on implications it will have at home and across the continent I don't think your sweeping statement of the majority of people have a closer affiliation to England has much truth to it."
They support english clubs filled with all these players and totally disregard/dismiss the clubs in their own country and its mainly the top english teams that irish people support and then will not in any way support the english national team. its very hypocritical.

There is extensive connections with the english team with players of irish heritage and yes some chose england over ireland but they have/had more significant ties with england.
On the point you make about NBA its irrelevant and totally different.
You may have visited italy more than England but that certainly isnt the case for about 99% of irish people
In no way can you say more irish people have a closer affiliation to italy though

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 08/07/2021 16:36:13    2357762

Replying To captainshamrock:  "Soccer is so boring.... I watched The Repair Shop instead.... horrible to see some idiot with a laser... saying that didn't a Mayo footballer throw his gps tracter at Rock in the All-Ireland a few ago... but this is a GAA site, plenty of places to talk soccer if you desire."
The last thing a Repair Shop needs is an idiot with a laser. Hope they got him to leave in the end

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 08/07/2021 16:47:22    2357766

Replying To captainshamrock:  "Soccer is so boring.... I watched The Repair Shop instead.... horrible to see some idiot with a laser... saying that didn't a Mayo footballer throw his gps tracter at Rock in the All-Ireland a few ago... but this is a GAA site, plenty of places to talk soccer if you desire."
How did you see the idiot with the laser if you were watching the repair shop ?

:-).

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/07/2021 16:48:14    2357769

Like Killing Fields above, the schizophrenic attitude of those who spend their lives watching EPL rubbish and thinking some English team is "us" or "youse" is funny to behold.

Wouldn't watch it if it was in back garden, but wouldn't bother me if they won.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2521 - 08/07/2021 16:59:14    2357771

I would be for our EU team

Up Italy

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 08/07/2021 17:00:41    2357773

Its pizza and lasagne all week here. It will go down well with the left over Carlsberg in the fridge

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 316 - 08/07/2021 17:02:30    2357774

Replying To KillingFields:  "They support english clubs filled with all these players and totally disregard/dismiss the clubs in their own country and its mainly the top english teams that irish people support and then will not in any way support the english national team. its very hypocritical.

There is extensive connections with the english team with players of irish heritage and yes some chose england over ireland but they have/had more significant ties with england.
On the point you make about NBA its irrelevant and totally different.
You may have visited italy more than England but that certainly isnt the case for about 99% of irish people
In no way can you say more irish people have a closer affiliation to italy though"
Many Polish people have an 'affiliation', to use your word, with Germany due to emigration for employment going back decades. It's also a neighbouring country and one many Polish people have visited.
German clubs have a good following in Poland, especially Bayern and more recently Dortmund who had a number of Polish players in the last 10 years.
I can assure you though that the vast majority of Polish people don't support the German international team. You can have guess as to why.
I don't get the hypocritical argument either. Some English clubs have more players representing other countries at the Euros than England itself.
I know people who travel to Barcelona regularly (pre-Covid obviously) to attend Barca games. They have zero affinity for the Spanish national team.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 08/07/2021 17:31:34    2357778