Come On Engerland.....Peoples' Views???

I'm off to Djibouti tomorrow, feck this place.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 14/07/2021 14:39:46    2359807

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I'm off to Djibouti tomorrow, feck this place."
Yeah you'd better hurry before the Chinese take it over. Then it will be a real shambles....

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 14/07/2021 14:58:35    2359820

Replying To Galway9801:  "Why single out England and Russia? Immigrants are treated fine everywhere else yeah?
African peoples for example are very welcoming to migrants yeah? (when they're not setting them on fire in Broad daylight of course), and Brazilians, well they just love all those fleeing Venezuelans coming into their country don't they?
If you really cared about immigrants you'd be calling this out but instead you're just using "xenophobia" as a stick to beat the British with."
In fairness I know where your coming from with some comments, I would guess other countries have bigger issues with racism and xenophobia than England.
But the English national team really seems to bring out these issues in some English people more than is the case with other national teams.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1338 - 14/07/2021 14:59:56    2359821

Replying To AfricanGael:  "We could be on the verge or in a civil war by 2030 or still in some form of lock down, there will be no football World cup in Ireland, ever.
"
Ah yeah sure look I'm just idly pontificating here on a midweek afternoon. Ireland will never be in a position to host the World Cup. We don't have enough hotels or infrastructure to cope, never mind what it would cost to bring stadia up to the required level. I think one city can provide two stadiums, certainly in the Euros - Lisbon had games in Sporting and Benfica's in 2004 as far as I can remember.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 14/07/2021 15:30:19    2359834

Replying To Lockjaw:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "We could be on the verge or in a civil war by 2030 or still in some form of lock down, there will be no football World cup in Ireland, ever.
"
Ah yeah sure look I'm just idly pontificating here on a midweek afternoon. Ireland will never be in a position to host the World Cup. We don't have enough hotels or infrastructure to cope, never mind what it would cost to bring stadia up to the required level. I think one city can provide two stadiums, certainly in the Euros - Lisbon had games in Sporting and Benfica's in 2004 as far as I can remember."
would the country be able to host a World athletics championship, I guess maybe we would have to look at maybe using Croker, rather than building a brand new athletics stadium which would be rarely used afterwards.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 14/07/2021 16:23:24    2359856

It seems to me that more and more, Rugby and it's female equivalents, eg Hockey. Are becoming the national sports. If you don't follow it, according to the media and political elites, you are somehow less "Irish". Makes a change from when not following the GAA or Irish soccer team you stood out.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 14/07/2021 17:11:07    2359876

Replying To galwayford:  "It seems to me that more and more, Rugby and it's female equivalents, eg Hockey. Are becoming the national sports. If you don't follow it, according to the media and political elites, you are somehow less "Irish". Makes a change from when not following the GAA or Irish soccer team you stood out."
Hockey is the female equivalent of Rugby ?

Sure you're not thinking of Women's Rugby ?

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 14/07/2021 18:15:02    2359891

Replying To Rosineri1:  "
Replying To Lockjaw:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "We could be on the verge or in a civil war by 2030 or still in some form of lock down, there will be no football World cup in Ireland, ever.
"
Ah yeah sure look I'm just idly pontificating here on a midweek afternoon. Ireland will never be in a position to host the World Cup. We don't have enough hotels or infrastructure to cope, never mind what it would cost to bring stadia up to the required level. I think one city can provide two stadiums, certainly in the Euros - Lisbon had games in Sporting and Benfica's in 2004 as far as I can remember."
would the country be able to host a World athletics championship, I guess maybe we would have to look at maybe using Croker, rather than building a brand new athletics stadium which would be rarely used afterwards."]It was looked at and would involve building a temporary track over some of the seats which is easily doable but I don't think any major push was ever made

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 14/07/2021 19:51:41    2359910

Replying To lionofludesch:  "Hockey is the female equivalent of Rugby ?

Sure you're not thinking of Women's Rugby ?"
No, women are more suited to hockey than rugby.
More feminine game.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 14/07/2021 20:44:26    2359927

Replying To catch22:  "No, women are more suited to hockey than rugby.
More feminine game."
More feminine! More suited to hockey? Have you just landed here in a time machine from 60 years ago?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 14/07/2021 21:54:50    2359949

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "More feminine! More suited to hockey? Have you just landed here in a time machine from 60 years ago?"
Sometimes I think the USA is about 60 years behind when you look at all them lads who voted Trump

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 14/07/2021 23:22:43    2359974

Hmm..can we get back to your "England as the next neighbour with the shining Merc" analogy sometime??
If your neighbour is so happy, why is he kicking in his own doors , or fighting with policemen in his own garden ?? Why is he urinating all over the front lawn and abusing members of his own family who have tried hard but tragically failed on this occasion to bring home the bacon? Your neighbour actually doesn't seem happy at all and is quite happy to stagger around shirtless, displaying his enviable mammaries while trying to head a traffic cone???
Why are all his own shops boarded up and most of his property now owned by wealthy Russian property developers??
You have the cheek to call us a "shambles" in comparison to a nation whose image abroad is in the gutter and whjoare led by a tow headed buffoon who flip flops on every serious policy issue.?? C'mon England...................gimme a break!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 15/07/2021 01:05:29    2359985

More feminine game."
Now now, sexism equality and all that, hope Breezy doesn't see your post, our women in particular are multi skilled, multi adaptable, multi talented and can mix it with the very best at all sports, etc,etc,etc.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 15/07/2021 10:42:01    2360028

Replying To supersub15:  "Now now, sexism equality and all that, hope Breezy doesn't see your post, our women in particular are multi skilled, multi adaptable, multi talented and can mix it with the very best at all sports, etc,etc,etc."
yeah, my wife is a great mixer right enough. MInd you, she has to get me to mix the Christmas cake for her once so I got her an electric mixer for Christmas. She was delighted.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 15/07/2021 11:03:08    2360037

More feminine game."
Yeah, just imagine if Katie Taylor had chosen hockey instead of boxing!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 15/07/2021 11:18:30    2360047

"Soccer is a game for gentlemen played by thugs.
Rugby is a game for thugs played by gentlemen"
Right or wrong?

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 339 - 15/07/2021 11:52:21    2360061

Replying To avonali:  "
Yeah you'd better hurry before the Chinese take it over. Then it will be a real shambles...."
They wont get near Djibouti, I can guarantee you that !

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 15/07/2021 12:24:46    2360082

Replying To worple:  ""Soccer is a game for gentlemen played by thugs.
Right or wrong?"
I hate that stupid saying

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 15/07/2021 12:52:01    2360096

Right or wrong?"
That's a very old saying, first time I heard it it was bowsies, not thugs. Depends who's playing. Plenty play both and hurling and gaelic football. Generally anyone playing sports, especially team sports, for any length of time play the games hard and fair and shake their opponent's hands sportingly like ladies and gentlemen when the game finishes.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 15/07/2021 13:04:06    2360104

Right or wrong?"
A cliché and silly generalisation.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 15/07/2021 13:47:56    2360117