Come On Engerland.....Peoples' Views???

Replying To Saynothing:  "Man last night put it this way, "it's the Pope v the Queen " Come on you boys in blue."
The Pope is Argentine.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 11/07/2021 17:13:18    2358657

Replying To essmac:  "McGregor is a shrewd operator who's making millions off being a clown. Fake slobbering, does it for money. He's a lot smarter than eejits like us who work for a living! No I think there's a major difference that you're missing. The anti foreigner aspect of Englishness doesn't come from having a competitive football team. Face it, England have been poor for decades anyway. It's not about football. Football is just a convenient place for a very English attitude to show itself. There is a contempt for foreigners that doesn't exist in Ireland. Unless you've lived there - and I don't mean "stayed in a flat in Kilburn with lads from Mayo and went to Irish pubs in Kentish town" - I mean really lived there, maybe got married, had mainly English friends, tried to play cricket, etc, integrated with ordinary English people at all levels of society, then it's hard for Irish people to get past the polite mask to the superiority complex underneath. It's why so many in Ireland were surprised by the Brexit vote. I wasn't - that undercurrent of sniggering contempt for Johnny foreigner exists, and I'm not talking white blokes iin sink estates - it's rife among well heeled City boys that I worked among too. Look, we're talking a significant minority. There are millions of decent English fans, of course. But their boot boys don't exist in a vacuum. If Ireland gets more right wing - if some of those anti immigrant anti EU anti lockdown fringe parties gain support - quite likely that in a decade or so, we'll have plenty of our own muppets to be embarrassed by. I agree no room for complacency, but we're culturally not quite there - yet."
I'll give you an example, and on my life this was a genuine conversation with a workmate

He slagged off trump for not allowing South American migrants into his country, but when I suggested that any Latin migrant denied entry to the states should be given automatic citizenship here in Ireland , he shot me a look and replied, and I quote, "we've enough of the c**t's".

I think that's a microcosm of irish attitudes today.
We play the part of good European citizens, and do and say what we think we're supposed to, but I'm not convinced we're being totally honest with ourselves.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 11/07/2021 17:16:33    2358660

Replying To realdub:  "Rangers or the Dubs? :D"
Stand on hill 16 and tell me there's a difference!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 11/07/2021 17:32:47    2358667

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "The Pope is Argentine."
And he resides in where? Well done if ye got it .

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 11/07/2021 17:36:20    2358670

Replying To Saynothing:  "And he resides in where? Well done if ye got it ."
I reside in England, but don't support them. That's your logic out the window.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 11/07/2021 17:41:05    2358672

Replying To Saynothing:  "And he resides in where? Well done if ye got it ."
The Vatican, which incidentally isn't part of Italy either. .

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 11/07/2021 17:44:59    2358677

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I reside in England, but don't support them. That's your logic out the window."
Wouldn't have known that with the Cockney UK thing.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 11/07/2021 17:48:22    2358681

Replying To Saynothing:  "Man last night put it this way, "it's the Pope v the Queen " Come on you boys in blue."
You couldn't get it better on the eve of the 12th, Italy to win 3.0 and it pours rain all day 2moro.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 11/07/2021 18:01:54    2358697

Replying To cavanman47:  "Stand on hill 16 and tell me there's a difference!"
Not many rangers fans on the hill, plenty of celtic clowns though!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 11/07/2021 18:09:22    2358702

Some scenes in leicester square today, making a show of themselves again!

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 11/07/2021 18:22:14    2358711

Replying To essmac:  "McGregor is a shrewd operator who's making millions off being a clown. Fake slobbering, does it for money. He's a lot smarter than eejits like us who work for a living! No I think there's a major difference that you're missing. The anti foreigner aspect of Englishness doesn't come from having a competitive football team. Face it, England have been poor for decades anyway. It's not about football. Football is just a convenient place for a very English attitude to show itself. There is a contempt for foreigners that doesn't exist in Ireland. Unless you've lived there - and I don't mean "stayed in a flat in Kilburn with lads from Mayo and went to Irish pubs in Kentish town" - I mean really lived there, maybe got married, had mainly English friends, tried to play cricket, etc, integrated with ordinary English people at all levels of society, then it's hard for Irish people to get past the polite mask to the superiority complex underneath. It's why so many in Ireland were surprised by the Brexit vote. I wasn't - that undercurrent of sniggering contempt for Johnny foreigner exists, and I'm not talking white blokes iin sink estates - it's rife among well heeled City boys that I worked among too. Look, we're talking a significant minority. There are millions of decent English fans, of course. But their boot boys don't exist in a vacuum. If Ireland gets more right wing - if some of those anti immigrant anti EU anti lockdown fringe parties gain support - quite likely that in a decade or so, we'll have plenty of our own muppets to be embarrassed by. I agree no room for complacency, but we're culturally not quite there - yet."
Good post, I do believe that beneath the veneer there is a residual antipathy towards foreigners in the UK. They are, despite their history of colonization and immigration, an insular enough people. Their long history of immigration has has actually highlighted the latent xenophobia that exists particularly in Island countries. I think we Irish have the potential to be just as xenophobic and racist. When immigrants start competing for jobs, when the economy seriously contracts or when foreigners begin to articulate anger at their perceived marginalisation then I think you will see that we have the capacity to be less welcoming than we have been. I think we are different in that we don't have that sense of superiority that is so evident in British cultural life: that clip of Kenneth Wolstensholme in 1966 referring to "the linesman who can only speak Russian and Turkish" sticks long in the memory.There are numerous examples of this in broadcasting. It's not just bias, it's a barely concealed feeling of being superior.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 11/07/2021 19:24:29    2358728

Replying To cavanman47:  "Stand on hill 16 and tell me there's a difference!"
Yes I've been on the hill occasionally over the years, haven't seen a Rangers top yet but plenty of Celtic ones.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 11/07/2021 19:26:41    2358730

Now tell me after witnessing that booing again , is their a more scummier nation than England? Don't think so.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 11/07/2021 19:57:38    2358740

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "You couldn't get it better on the eve of the 12th, Italy to win 3.0 and it pours rain all day 2moro."
Ah Jesus naw, I've hay down, harder on them oul boys if it's sweltering hot.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 11/07/2021 20:01:13    2358741

Replying To avonali:  "Good post, I do believe that beneath the veneer there is a residual antipathy towards foreigners in the UK. They are, despite their history of colonization and immigration, an insular enough people. Their long history of immigration has has actually highlighted the latent xenophobia that exists particularly in Island countries. I think we Irish have the potential to be just as xenophobic and racist. When immigrants start competing for jobs, when the economy seriously contracts or when foreigners begin to articulate anger at their perceived marginalisation then I think you will see that we have the capacity to be less welcoming than we have been. I think we are different in that we don't have that sense of superiority that is so evident in British cultural life: that clip of Kenneth Wolstensholme in 1966 referring to "the linesman who can only speak Russian and Turkish" sticks long in the memory.There are numerous examples of this in broadcasting. It's not just bias, it's a barely concealed feeling of being superior."
The difference being;

England as a nation have actively demonstrated their xenophobia as recently as this past 5 years.

Yes we, like every nation, have the potential to be xenophobic. But we haven't shown it.

In fact, in terms of tolerance, it should be noted that despite the huge Catholic influence still at play here, we were the first country in the world to vote for equal marriage by referendum. Given an exit Europe vote or an anti immigration one, I can guarantee we wouldn't vote the same way as the British did. (Northern ireland didn't, and we know 45% of their population are 'British', so it shows how Irish people feel)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 11/07/2021 20:57:48    2358758

They think it's all over, it is now. Oh what a night.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 11/07/2021 22:55:52    2358801

sta tornando a casa!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 11/07/2021 22:58:49    2358802

That's made my day...thank you Italy.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 12/07/2021 00:28:05    2358823

Poor auld Engerland

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 12/07/2021 03:32:24    2358833

Argentina won Copa America, Donegal beat Derry and Italy win the Euros, perfect weekend of sports results for me and the fact that all three were nail biters makes it so much sweeter. That's why I love sport so much.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 12/07/2021 09:52:48    2358870