Derry V Donegal

Replying To sam1884:  "Kerry will win this year's All Ireland; you can screenshot this and come back to the post in September ;). Kerry have been planning for a number of years, Dublin have dipped just slightly but enough to allow an outstanding Kerry to come through. There won't be an All Ireland winner outside Kerry and Dublin for the next 10 years."
Planning? Well given that they conceded four goals to the Dubs in Killarney only a matter of weeks ago, perhaps some adjustments should be made to their plans.

Kerry have a class forward line (as is usually the case with the Kingdom) but IMO they still haven't learned to defend. Maybe they can fix this over the next few months but I'm sceptical that they'll beat the Dubs this year.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/07/2021 13:26:54    2359380

Replying To Gleebo:  "Well actually, we have some way to go in amassing the record number of All-Ireland losses, which is held by Kerry at 23 (in addition to their having the record number of wins at 37). Even Cork are above us on 16.

I imagine those losses in 2013, 2015 and 2019 must have been really painful for you, judging by your scribblings here. Being relegated by us up in Ballybofey in 2018 must have also been an especially sore one for you, that last point from Kevin McLoughlin came from the next parish.

Don't worry Sham, at some point Donegal will beat us again in championship football and you'll be here to crow, no doubt. Maybe next year in the league even? Looking forward to greeting you in MacHale Park."
You really are setting yourself up to fail here. We won the one that mattered the most in 2012. We then lifted Sam in front of you. We then proceeded to take Sam back to the Hills. We then kept Sam in the hills for 12 months. Sam travelled all over Donegal. The Donegal people got to witness something 99% of Mayo folk haven't yet witnessed and may never witness. But yes, that one hurt that one day in Ballybofey in 2018.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 13/07/2021 13:32:27    2359383

Replying To MurphBalls:  "You really are setting yourself up to fail here. We won the one that mattered the most in 2012. We then lifted Sam in front of you. We then proceeded to take Sam back to the Hills. We then kept Sam in the hills for 12 months. Sam travelled all over Donegal. The Donegal people got to witness something 99% of Mayo folk haven't yet witnessed and may never witness. But yes, that one hurt that one day in Ballybofey in 2018."
"The one that matters most?" They all matter; that's the nature of knockout championship football. I'm sure Donegal took all of those subsequent games as seriously as Mayo did in 2012.

Would you believe that I actually travelled to that final (2012) with a good friend of mine from Ballyshannon, we were both based abroad at the time and got the two tickets issued to our GAA club abroad. He asked if I'd swap a ticket with him so that he could sit and watch the game with his father, no problem. I was actually somewhat glad of that decision in the first ten minutes of the game!

At the end of the game, I shook hands with him and went out for the evening. No issue with Donegal folk enjoying their win back then, which was fully deserved. Although you had a couple of guys with Mayo roots in that side (Papa Durcan and Murphy) now that I think of it...

What I reiterate is that one or two trolls on here are a little cheeky with some of the anti-Mayo slagging. To a certain point we have to accept jibes from the Dublins and Kerrys of this world, who are regularly lifting Sam. But if you come from a county that's actually won less than us than you have to expect some crossfire back in your direction.

As for eternity...it's a long time. I'm sure people once thought that Armagh and Tyrone might never win an All-Ireland, that Limerick or Galway wouldn't win Liam again, that Tipp or Clare wouldn't win a Munster SFC title.

And I don't really worry about what people might say on here too much, it's not too big a deal in the great scheme of things.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/07/2021 14:04:14    2359405

Replying To Gleebo:  ""The one that matters most?" They all matter; that's the nature of knockout championship football. I'm sure Donegal took all of those subsequent games as seriously as Mayo did in 2012.

Would you believe that I actually travelled to that final (2012) with a good friend of mine from Ballyshannon, we were both based abroad at the time and got the two tickets issued to our GAA club abroad. He asked if I'd swap a ticket with him so that he could sit and watch the game with his father, no problem. I was actually somewhat glad of that decision in the first ten minutes of the game!

At the end of the game, I shook hands with him and went out for the evening. No issue with Donegal folk enjoying their win back then, which was fully deserved. Although you had a couple of guys with Mayo roots in that side (Papa Durcan and Murphy) now that I think of it...

What I reiterate is that one or two trolls on here are a little cheeky with some of the anti-Mayo slagging. To a certain point we have to accept jibes from the Dublins and Kerrys of this world, who are regularly lifting Sam. But if you come from a county that's actually won less than us than you have to expect some crossfire back in your direction.

As for eternity...it's a long time. I'm sure people once thought that Armagh and Tyrone might never win an All-Ireland, that Limerick or Galway wouldn't win Liam again, that Tipp or Clare wouldn't win a Munster SFC title.

And I don't really worry about what people might say on here too much, it's not too big a deal in the great scheme of things."
Cheeky? You brought up the times you beat Donegal in a league game and Championship quarter finals. The fact of the matter is we beat you in 2012 FINAL when Sam was on the line. Donegal got over the line quite emphatically, on the day, where the scoreline actually flattered Mayo.

You go on as if you have won Sam recently. You may have won more than Donegal the last 130 years or so but you haven't won it in an age. So come off your high horse where you think you are entitled to be labelled as something you're not.

Also, cool story.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 13/07/2021 14:56:26    2359430

Replying To Gleebo:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "What is the roll of honour in all grades between Donegal and Mayo, I'd imagine it should be pretty similar surely ?"
In terms of the head to head record? No idea. Donegal didn't win their first Ulster SFC til 1972, so I imagine we didn't play them in the championship before that.

Mayo GAA Blog has a list of most of the games that Mayo have ever played if you fancy doing the research."
I mean overall , not head to head, including club etc, women's game , the lot.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 13/07/2021 15:17:31    2359440

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Cheeky? You brought up the times you beat Donegal in a league game and Championship quarter finals. The fact of the matter is we beat you in 2012 FINAL when Sam was on the line. Donegal got over the line quite emphatically, on the day, where the scoreline actually flattered Mayo.

You go on as if you have won Sam recently. You may have won more than Donegal the last 130 years or so but you haven't won it in an age. So come off your high horse where you think you are entitled to be labelled as something you're not.

Also, cool story."
I don't bring it up unless some galoot from your county goes on an anti-Mayo rant, which unfortunately happens on a regular basis from one particular poster. In those circumstances, I'm perfectly entitled to draw attention to it. Would you take sh*t from someone slagging your county? Your response here suggests not.

And you mightn't like it, but the fact that Mayo have won more across the board is still true, and won't be false til Donegal go on a winning spree through the grades. So fair play to you on winning in 2012, it was fully deserved as I've said. But that was almost a decade ago at this point and we've beaten ye three times in championship action since. I'm sceptical that anyone other than Dublin will be winning Sam in the near future, but let's see.

I'd also disagree that four points is emphatic (SOS also missed a goal chance in the last few minutes that would have made it a lot more interesting), but that's by the by.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/07/2021 16:01:39    2359455

Replying To AfricanGael:  "
Replying To Gleebo:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "What is the roll of honour in all grades between Donegal and Mayo, I'd imagine it should be pretty similar surely ?"
In terms of the head to head record? No idea. Donegal didn't win their first Ulster SFC til 1972, so I imagine we didn't play them in the championship before that.

Mayo GAA Blog has a list of most of the games that Mayo have ever played if you fancy doing the research."
I mean overall , not head to head, including club etc, women's game , the lot."]I'm not going to do your research for you. But Wikipedia has all the relevant info if you want to check it out, across all the grades.

What county are you from, btw?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/07/2021 16:12:03    2359461

Replying To Curlew66:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "Down have as many All-Irelands as Donegal and Mayo put together and they won them playing football with style and swagger so I wouldn't be getting too cocky with 2 All-Irelands in 130 years or whatever.

I think ye should both count yourselves very lucky to be even talking about contesting an All-Ireland, never mind winning it.
"
Would regret if this thread on Donegal v Derry deteriorates into a Connacht/Ulster squabble. After the glory years of Galway and Down in the 1960s both of us had a fallow period of 23 years before Down again showed the way in '91. I for one will be raising a glass or three should any one of the remaining Ulster or Connacht counties bring Sam home this year. It's anyone's guess who will win the Anglo Celt this year, a full strength Galway offer the only resistance to predicted outcomes in the other three provinces.
Getting back on topic to last Sunday's titanic struggle I think Donegal will be grateful they are not recovering from the demands of playing extra time especially with Tyrone having an extra day's rest. Derry are left to lament missing three goal chances and not even getting a point from any of them in such a tight contest. They seem to have a fine minor team to get behind this year.
Moving on from last Sunday Donegal will be working hard to decide on their best defensive formation for the semi final. They are all good footballers, comfortable in possession with some offering more going forward to attack than basic defending. They could do with a couple of touch tight defenders possessing the raw natural strength of a fully fit McGrath & Gillespie to stop a forward in their tracks without fouling. Paul Brennan made a good impact when introduced on Sunday and while he probably won't start next day I can see him getting 20 mins. Likewise Peadar Mogan is too gifted a footballer to spend 75mins on the bench assuming he is 100% fit. It's obvious that some players are carrying niggling injuries (Murphy and McNialis apart). We Rossies would be rooting for Thompson but he seems to be operating on the fringes a lot more this year content to get on the end of a movement to attempt a medium range shot from the left. He was much more involved before with high fielding, taking on defenders and tackling back. Could be a fitness issue or maybe operating under coaches instructions."
I re-watched the full match to try and understand or focus on mistakes by Donegal, and made the following key notes.

- The four Donegal subs (Murphy, MacNiallais, Brennan, McCole) introduced on the 48th minute resulted in a 5 point score turn around, proving that we finished the game with far stronger team. If management do that against Tyrone, we will be out on our arses next week.

- Donegal gave possession away easily 7 times (Non tackle/turnover), which combined with a couple of goalkeeping mistakes, resulted in 4 or 5 Derry points, which ordinarily should have resulted in a few Donegal points.

- The three easy Donegal wides in the first 10-15 minutes combined with a number of very sloppy passes, allowed Derry to take an early lead and implemented their defensive counter attacking game, and at no point did they have to chase the game until the 70th minute when Michael Murphy free finally gave us the lead.

- Derry half forwards were able to out muscle or get away from our defenders in the half back line a few times which resulted in scores, I believe this has been a common theme, leaves our full back line exposed and swamped, which has seen them take criticism for defensive lapses.

- Derry team has a strong spine the full length of the pitch, McGuigan, McFaul, Bradley/Glass, McKinless, Rogers and McKaigue are serious players by any standard. This quality enabled them to efficiently take full advantage of Donegal's mistakes and they were so close to winning it. The were the better team for 60-70% of the match.

In summary Donegal management got many of the match-ups wrong, underestimated the physical strength of Derry and fielded a weakened side for 47 minutes.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1106 - 13/07/2021 16:41:59    2359469

Replying To Commodore:  "
Replying To Curlew66:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "Down have as many All-Irelands as Donegal and Mayo put together and they won them playing football with style and swagger so I wouldn't be getting too cocky with 2 All-Irelands in 130 years or whatever.

I think ye should both count yourselves very lucky to be even talking about contesting an All-Ireland, never mind winning it.
"
Would regret if this thread on Donegal v Derry deteriorates into a Connacht/Ulster squabble. After the glory years of Galway and Down in the 1960s both of us had a fallow period of 23 years before Down again showed the way in '91. I for one will be raising a glass or three should any one of the remaining Ulster or Connacht counties bring Sam home this year. It's anyone's guess who will win the Anglo Celt this year, a full strength Galway offer the only resistance to predicted outcomes in the other three provinces.
Getting back on topic to last Sunday's titanic struggle I think Donegal will be grateful they are not recovering from the demands of playing extra time especially with Tyrone having an extra day's rest. Derry are left to lament missing three goal chances and not even getting a point from any of them in such a tight contest. They seem to have a fine minor team to get behind this year.
Moving on from last Sunday Donegal will be working hard to decide on their best defensive formation for the semi final. They are all good footballers, comfortable in possession with some offering more going forward to attack than basic defending. They could do with a couple of touch tight defenders possessing the raw natural strength of a fully fit McGrath & Gillespie to stop a forward in their tracks without fouling. Paul Brennan made a good impact when introduced on Sunday and while he probably won't start next day I can see him getting 20 mins. Likewise Peadar Mogan is too gifted a footballer to spend 75mins on the bench assuming he is 100% fit. It's obvious that some players are carrying niggling injuries (Murphy and McNialis apart). We Rossies would be rooting for Thompson but he seems to be operating on the fringes a lot more this year content to get on the end of a movement to attempt a medium range shot from the left. He was much more involved before with high fielding, taking on defenders and tackling back. Could be a fitness issue or maybe operating under coaches instructions."
I re-watched the full match to try and understand or focus on mistakes by Donegal, and made the following key notes.

- The four Donegal subs (Murphy, MacNiallais, Brennan, McCole) introduced on the 48th minute resulted in a 5 point score turn around, proving that we finished the game with far stronger team. If management do that against Tyrone, we will be out on our arses next week.

- Donegal gave possession away easily 7 times (Non tackle/turnover), which combined with a couple of goalkeeping mistakes, resulted in 4 or 5 Derry points, which ordinarily should have resulted in a few Donegal points.

- The three easy Donegal wides in the first 10-15 minutes combined with a number of very sloppy passes, allowed Derry to take an early lead and implemented their defensive counter attacking game, and at no point did they have to chase the game until the 70th minute when Michael Murphy free finally gave us the lead.

- Derry half forwards were able to out muscle or get away from our defenders in the half back line a few times which resulted in scores, I believe this has been a common theme, leaves our full back line exposed and swamped, which has seen them take criticism for defensive lapses.

- Derry team has a strong spine the full length of the pitch, McGuigan, McFaul, Bradley/Glass, McKinless, Rogers and McKaigue are serious players by any standard. This quality enabled them to efficiently take full advantage of Donegal's mistakes and they were so close to winning it. The were the better team for 60-70% of the match.

In summary Donegal management got many of the match-ups wrong, underestimated the physical strength of Derry and fielded a weakened side for 47 minutes."]There were people crying about Murphy starting against down. He was rested last week because he obviously not fit to last a game. Brennan was deemed a liability last year as was Mc Cole all of a sudden now they are better players than the team that started. As for Mc niallas listening to bonner he was only back training since the Tuesday after the down game so maybe management felt he hadn't a full game in him. The way I look at it the subs made a big difference and maybe bonner and rochford deserve a bit of praise for that itself. Hindsight is a great thing. So in other Words I don't agree with anything you say . A lot of teams tend to finish with a stronger side so in my eyes that was the winning of last Sunday's game. Another point that wasn't mentioned if Donegal lost last Sunday bonner and rochford would have been slated for not substituting Mc brearty but now because he scored that wonderful point it wasn't mentioned as the saying goes football is a funny old game. Last Sunday is over look ahead to next Sunday we all know last Sunday's display won't get us past Tyrone but we live in hope.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2391 - 13/07/2021 19:10:26    2359506

Excellent analysis lads .. sure was a game of close margins… best of luck in the semi final.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 13/07/2021 21:16:18    2359557

Replying To Gleebo:  ""The one that matters most?" They all matter; that's the nature of knockout championship football. I'm sure Donegal took all of those subsequent games as seriously as Mayo did in 2012.

And I don't really worry about what people might say on here too much, it's not too big a deal in the great scheme of things."
Your a great man for the stats Gleebo, those All Ireland final losses are well remembered by a man like yourself, I can appreciate that, I can't rem them all tbh but you seem to have a great memory for games from years ago,
I rem the 92 and 2012 finals very well though, I suppose certain games just stand out in the memory, Murphy's goal in 2012 was a fantastic moment, I think the Mayo crowd knew right then they were going to lose again that day. I think we beat Mayo in semi final in '92 as well? I suppose we haven't met that many times in Championship. won't happen again this year anyway, we'll look forward to meeting ye in the league next season anyway, plenty Ulster teams in div 1 to test ye out.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 13/07/2021 23:35:15    2359619