Derry V Donegal

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I know where you ré coming from Flaker but there are always banana skins like last year. I mean Cavan beat Donegal fair and square but Donegal would have done a better job v Dúin imo. Look at Mayo in 16 and 17 struggling through the championship and very lucky to get through the qualifiers and then come to Croke Park play brilliant football and very unlucky not to win the all ireland."
Oh and I absolutely get that but Mayo had plenty of credit in the bank at that stage from getting to the big stage and beating big teams. Mayo were barely surviving relegation as well year on year so they had a good knack of peaking late in the year. My point is this current Donegal team have done nothing as of yet to warrant the chat and losing to Cavan last year was bad. Losing to Derry would be inexcusable in my opinion especially after last year.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 06/07/2021 20:50:04    2357127

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I am making a genuine point. And in fairness there are a good few Donegal lads on here talking mince lately but I do believe on or two have multiple accounts.

Again my point is lots of people on here and in the media have said Donegal have a right good shot at Dublin. But suddenly Derry are a threat? Based on what? Division 3 results.

And also lads replying to me about my own county. I have already said Mayo are a fair bit off where they were in 2017 and on paper are in my eyes at best number 3, at best!"
There's definitely 1/2 lads talking mince alright but that's hardly a 'huge' amount nor is it representative of how the vast majority of Donegal fans feel.

It depends how you assess a team as a threat I suppose? Conor Glass has come back to play for Derry and is a really fine midfielder. McGuigan up top is very dangerous. They have some excellent defenders. As of now Derry are Division 2 as they're promoted. They walked over Offaly in the league final. Roscommon were Division 2 this year, would you dismiss them out of hand if playing them?

Are Derry better than Down? Absolutely and on that basis they're a threat. Are they as big a threat as say Tyrone, no but still a threat and not to be dismissed. Unlike most other provinces, most Ulster teams feel any game in the province is there for the taking, they're not beat before they take to the field.

I know some want to hype Donegal out of all proportions and then wait for us to fall on the sword but it's mostly people outside the county doing that. People inside, the majority, feel this team has a lot of potential but has yet to prove that outside Ulster. So excuse the non-dismissive attitude to Derry in another straight knockout year!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 06/07/2021 21:10:52    2357141

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "There's definitely 1/2 lads talking mince alright but that's hardly a 'huge' amount nor is it representative of how the vast majority of Donegal fans feel.

It depends how you assess a team as a threat I suppose? Conor Glass has come back to play for Derry and is a really fine midfielder. McGuigan up top is very dangerous. They have some excellent defenders. As of now Derry are Division 2 as they're promoted. They walked over Offaly in the league final. Roscommon were Division 2 this year, would you dismiss them out of hand if playing them?

Are Derry better than Down? Absolutely and on that basis they're a threat. Are they as big a threat as say Tyrone, no but still a threat and not to be dismissed. Unlike most other provinces, most Ulster teams feel any game in the province is there for the taking, they're not beat before they take to the field.

I know some want to hype Donegal out of all proportions and then wait for us to fall on the sword but it's mostly people outside the county doing that. People inside, the majority, feel this team has a lot of potential but has yet to prove that outside Ulster. So excuse the non-dismissive attitude to Derry in another straight knockout year!"
I know you are not one of them. Same for Lockjaw but jesus there are a few on here now.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 06/07/2021 21:40:01    2357161

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Oh and I absolutely get that but Mayo had plenty of credit in the bank at that stage from getting to the big stage and beating big teams. Mayo were barely surviving relegation as well year on year so they had a good knack of peaking late in the year. My point is this current Donegal team have done nothing as of yet to warrant the chat and losing to Cavan last year was bad. Losing to Derry would be inexcusable in my opinion especially after last year."
Derry have improved alright but I expect Donegal to win no doubt.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 06/07/2021 22:03:51    2357172

It's years since Derry beat a Division 1 team, never mind anything else, the way people are talking they'll be the next threat to Dublin ffs.

All this talking up inferior opposition is just a boring cop out in case their own team blow it.

The "I told ye" phenomenon.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 06/07/2021 22:12:05    2357176

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "There's definitely 1/2 lads talking mince alright but that's hardly a 'huge' amount nor is it representative of how the vast majority of Donegal fans feel.

I know some want to hype Donegal out of all proportions and then wait for us to fall on the sword but it's mostly people outside the county doing that. People inside, the majority, feel this team has a lot of potential but has yet to prove that outside Ulster. So excuse the non-dismissive attitude to Derry in another straight knockout year!"
Speaking of mince………..

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/07/2021 22:15:05    2357178

Replying To TheFlaker:  "We are talking about the change in tone here in relation to this game on paper. In 2021 yeah not 2017. Mayo were slaughtered for their performance that day. Same the day against Fermanagh.

It's gas how I make a valid point and you think I am having a cheap shot at Donegal. I absolutely am not. My point again is that if Donegal are the team to take down Dublin or beat Kerry or whoever then surely people should not be talking up Derry all of a sudden?"
Well it's Ulster. Anything can happen. And in fairness, Derry look impressive, that's why they've been "talked up."

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 06/07/2021 23:02:57    2357190

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Speaking of mince……….."
You would know all about it. What a brilliantly insightful reply there from you.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 06/07/2021 23:15:00    2357198

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Speaking of mince……….."
Are yiz getting enough mince with the protocol and all that.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 06/07/2021 23:29:09    2357206

Replying To gunman:  "Are yiz getting enough mince with the protocol and all that."
What a response!!!! Hahaha.

This is up there with the time that lad was drunk and typed complete gibberish!!!!

Not sure if you are trying to offend people but the protocol is the least of my worries lad

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 07/07/2021 10:04:14    2357252

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "You would know all about it. What a brilliantly insightful reply there from you."
I didn't mean to offend…..just can't stand this false modesty.

We have a Donegal posters on about minor games from years ago!!!!!

Donegal are massive favourites. They have far superior players. They are at home. Derry are a div 3 team. It would take a miracle for Derry to beat Donegal.

Just say it as it is.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 07/07/2021 10:08:10    2357253

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Oh and I absolutely get that but Mayo had plenty of credit in the bank at that stage from getting to the big stage and beating big teams. Mayo were barely surviving relegation as well year on year so they had a good knack of peaking late in the year. My point is this current Donegal team have done nothing as of yet to warrant the chat and losing to Cavan last year was bad. Losing to Derry would be inexcusable in my opinion especially after last year."
So your saying Donegal and Derry have won nothing and will not win anything, nice of you to come on a thread about the Donegal Derry game to share your opinion, at least we have a competitive Championship in Ulster.
why don't you start a thread on Mayo V Leitrim to see if anyone has any interest in it? your after beating the mighty Sligo now you have a big derby match with Leitrim this weekend, fascinating stuff in the whest alright.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 07/07/2021 10:10:36    2357254

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I didn't mean to offend…..just can't stand this false modesty.

Donegal are massive favourites. They have far superior players. They are at home. Derry are a div 3 team. It would take a miracle for Derry to beat Donegal.

Just say it as it is."
It's not false modesty… we aren't Dublin. 2 Ulster titles in 3 years doesn't make us the Harlem Globetrotters. If you read my posts you'll see I definitely agree we are favourites and if we are a serious outfit as I think we can be, then we will win. But do we have the track record in recent years to dismiss Derry? No. We lost to Cavan unexpectedly last year. So I feel most Donegal fans are on alert and not getting too excited; the sensible ones. Derry are improving. It's knockout. We definitely have the better players and a more advanced style of play so we should win but I wouldn't be outright dismissing an improving outfit. I doubt Tyrone will laugh off Cavan this weekend who are arguably now weaker than Derry.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 07/07/2021 10:26:11    2357261

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I didn't mean to offend…..just can't stand this false modesty.

Just say it as it is."
Derry are div 2 and an improving team, not coming in under the radar like Cavan were last year, can't see us making the same mistake again but this is Ulster so if Derry do win it won't be that huge of a shock,
we have lots of injuries so that evens it up a bit too. think we are rightly favs given our record in Ulster this last few years and the fact we've been playing teams of a higher standard in div 1, should be a good game but could be very defensive if Derry drop everybody back as expected.
I'd be happy with a 1 point win and to pick up no more injuries.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 07/07/2021 10:31:18    2357264

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "It's not false modesty… we aren't Dublin. 2 Ulster titles in 3 years doesn't make us the Harlem Globetrotters. If you read my posts you'll see I definitely agree we are favourites and if we are a serious outfit as I think we can be, then we will win. But do we have the track record in recent years to dismiss Derry? No. We lost to Cavan unexpectedly last year. So I feel most Donegal fans are on alert and not getting too excited; the sensible ones. Derry are improving. It's knockout. We definitely have the better players and a more advanced style of play so we should win but I wouldn't be outright dismissing an improving outfit. I doubt Tyrone will laugh off Cavan this weekend who are arguably now weaker than Derry."
Derry just sailed through div 3 and are in div 2, Cavan just got relegated to div 4 after a dismal league campaign, there's not much argument in it I don't think, if they were playing each other Derry would be favs on form.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 07/07/2021 10:36:55    2357267

Replying To gunman:  "Are yiz getting enough mince with the protocol and all that."
Good one Gunman, protocol, Lmao!!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 07/07/2021 10:40:28    2357271

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I know you are not one of them. Same for Lockjaw but jesus there are a few on here now."
You are a sour old man.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 07/07/2021 10:44:21    2357277

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "It's not false modesty… we aren't Dublin. 2 Ulster titles in 3 years doesn't make us the Harlem Globetrotters. If you read my posts you'll see I definitely agree we are favourites and if we are a serious outfit as I think we can be, then we will win. But do we have the track record in recent years to dismiss Derry? No. We lost to Cavan unexpectedly last year. So I feel most Donegal fans are on alert and not getting too excited; the sensible ones. Derry are improving. It's knockout. We definitely have the better players and a more advanced style of play so we should win but I wouldn't be outright dismissing an improving outfit. I doubt Tyrone will laugh off Cavan this weekend who are arguably now weaker than Derry."
Tyrone won't laugh off Cavan but they will win, no doubt about it. That's my point. There shouldn't be a hint of a shock in either of these games.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 07/07/2021 10:55:25    2357283

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Tyrone won't laugh off Cavan but they will win, no doubt about it. That's my point. There shouldn't be a hint of a shock in either of these games."
The fact of the matter is Donegal should win and win easy at that. I can't see how Derry could have improved that much in 12 months. Yes, they have certainly improved, but being realistic, they should not be within 5 points of Donegal by the end of the game. However, the thing that has most Donegal fans cautious is the unknown of Derry. I don't think it's possible for them to have improved enough to beat Donegal but we don't know. They walked past everyone in Division 3 so who knows. I still think Donegal by 8, even without Murphy. We have seen a side to Langan we haven't seen before with Murphy off the field so it's very exciting for Donegal fans to see this lad coming of age. And McBrearty is really stepping it up.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 07/07/2021 11:13:26    2357290

Cavan were dreadful in the league, everyone agrees on that.

Yet Derry could only beat them by a point.

McGuigan is an outstanding young forward but overall Donegal's unit of Murphy, McBrearty, O'Donnell, Langan, Brennan and Thompson and the rampaging Ryan McHugh will do damage.

Apart from McGuighan and Niall Loughlin there are no other stand out forwards in that Derry team, Emmett Bradley and Conor Glass are very good players in the middle of the park who'll also get forward but Donegal have McGonagle and McFadden who can easily match them.

But Donegal v Derry is the North West derby so it'll take on a life of it's own.

I'd still expect Donegal to win by 5+ though.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 07/07/2021 11:13:50    2357293