Jack Grealish (AVFC) GAA Career

Replying To galwayford:  "Republic of Ireland have had some great successes. For example that Denmark team just squeezed us out in the Nations league. Italia 90, USA 94, Euro 88, Euro 2012 Robbie Keane, Euro 2016, Robbie Brady, they have covered the country in glory.
Northern Ireland, Spain '82, Gerry Armstrong, Mexico 86, George Best, Derek Dougan, Norman Whiteside, great players."
Sorry, where are these successes? Do they not hand out trophys for that?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 03/07/2021 22:00:53    2355806

Replying To galwayford:  "With respect I think just as England gave us Jack Charlton and Mick McCarthy, who were not labelled as traitors by the Uk media. We should give England, Jack Grealish and Declan Rice. And close the account."
I honestly have no issue with them picking England. But I do have an issue with how they messed us around.

As I said Harry Kane was very close to choosing us and his family are off Galway stock. He picked England and I'm delighted to see him doing well.

The other 2 used us. Stopped some young lads getting capped, caps that would have meant the world to them.

Michael Keane, Kalvin Phillips, Jude Bellingham all qualified for us. Keane even played underage for us but switched early, didn't mess us around so no issue their.

Grealish and Rice were adults when they did what they did.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1825 - 03/07/2021 22:14:33    2355816

Replying To Selwyn:  "Twas the Duke of Wellington that said that. Born in Dublin. Reared in Meath. But identified as a Brit"
That's actually bullshit. Daniel O'Connell, his arch political opponent, accused Wellington of saying that to discredit him. The man himself denied he ever said it and hugely admired his Irish Catholic troops, who he credited with having saved the day at the Battle of Waterloo. He also supported CE.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 03/07/2021 22:41:26    2355827

Replying To Mayonman:  "I honestly have no issue with them picking England. But I do have an issue with how they messed us around.

As I said Harry Kane was very close to choosing us and his family are off Galway stock. He picked England and I'm delighted to see him doing well.

The other 2 used us. Stopped some young lads getting capped, caps that would have meant the world to them.

Michael Keane, Kalvin Phillips, Jude Bellingham all qualified for us. Keane even played underage for us but switched early, didn't mess us around so no issue their.

Grealish and Rice were adults when they did what they did."
Strange 1 ok. Half their team could've played for us.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11714 - 03/07/2021 23:37:29    2355860

Replying To Mayonman:  "I honestly have no issue with them picking England. But I do have an issue with how they messed us around.

Grealish and Rice were adults when they did what they did."
There is no loyalty in soccer, can't blame them and reaction from us is very silly! They are english after all.

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 04/07/2021 00:02:14    2355866

Replying To Saynothing:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "To be fair they did pick their countries with their hearts, they are English regardless of where their parent/s or grandparent/s came from.

If Ireland was any good their families wouldn't have had to emigrate in the first place.

So they owe Ireland absolutely nothing.
"
If Ireland is so bad why's the British government squatting in 6 countries of the 32?"
I like the squatters analogy Saynothing, because squatters often take over properties and some of which are run down or derelict whether it be adversely or otherwise and squatters indeed do establish rights, so under the Statute of Limitations Act 1957 and given that the former rightful "owner" hereby known as "The Dublin Government" renounced all claims to the property in 1998 by signing a binding international agreement that Northern Ireland was part of the United Kingdom, I'm afraid you are stuck with your current landlord for the foreseeable future.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 04/07/2021 18:54:00    2356143

Replying To Saynothing:  "Naw, you should know, ye love them enough."
Thankfully I have more emotions than love or hate, do you really hate Harry Kane or Raheem Sterling just because they play for England ,

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 05/07/2021 15:56:49    2356607

Grealish was on the end of a fairly spiky tackle towards the end of extra-time last night. And Ricey boy shed a few tears at the final whistle.

Hard to feel pity for them as opposed to the likes of Rashford and Saka, who were on the end of some fairly vicious (and predictable) racial abuse via cyberspace.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 12/07/2021 16:24:11    2359086

Replying To Gleebo:  "Grealish was on the end of a fairly spiky tackle towards the end of extra-time last night. And Ricey boy shed a few tears at the final whistle.

Hard to feel pity for them as opposed to the likes of Rashford and Saka, who were on the end of some fairly vicious (and predictable) racial abuse via cyberspace."
If it was Grealish and Rice who missed the pens they'd be "Thick Paddies" today, isn't that the reality.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 12/07/2021 16:41:20    2359095

Replying To Gleebo:  "Grealish was on the end of a fairly spiky tackle towards the end of extra-time last night. And Ricey boy shed a few tears at the final whistle.

Hard to feel pity for them as opposed to the likes of Rashford and Saka, who were on the end of some fairly vicious (and predictable) racial abuse via cyberspace."
Ya horrible abuse. Rashford should get a kick in the behind for what he did. Pressure or no pressure a penalty taker in the pubs league would not do it. He just about tripped himself.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 12/07/2021 17:13:36    2359106

I have not got too much sympathy for Bakayo Saka, he had a terrible game and should not have been put on. I have a small sympathy for M.Rashford, in that both himself and Sancho were not given time to warm up. And that is important, as any sports physio would tell you. Mr Rashford should have hit the target though, a poor peno. Sancho and Sako both were saved by a great keeper.
Why was Henderson and Walker taken off, they are peno takers at Liverpool and Man city. Grealish was terrific, as usual when he came on. And if on earlier, England would have scored no doubt in my mind.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 12/07/2021 18:56:06    2359126

Replying To AfricanGael:  "If it was Grealish and Rice who missed the pens they'd be "Thick Paddies" today, isn't that the reality."
Have to totally agree, years ago when F1 driver Eddie Irvine was doing well he was described as super Brit Irvine, couple of races later he wrote off Senna and was then described as mad Irish man. That's the English media for you. They are partly to blame for all this shite with black players.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2005 - 12/07/2021 19:20:26    2359131

Replying To Viking66:  "Strange 1 ok. Half their team could've played for us."
You know what it is hard to be enthusiastic it until we have all Irish born players on the team. That is not likely to happen any time soon. Some of those Italians were born in Brazil. Watched with the Italian in-laws. They were mute for a long time. Just swearing at Kane consistently diving which is true. Though their boys can do that also. Anyway when Italy scored they jumped off the couch and spilled my beer. I was swearing then because no soccer goal is worth that.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 12/07/2021 19:36:47    2359139

Replying To AfricanGael:  "If it was Grealish and Rice who missed the pens they'd be "Thick Paddies" today, isn't that the reality."
Maybe, maybe not. A lot of England fans gloated when they chose to go with England over us, saying that they were fully English and whatnot. It would be somewhat contradictory if they went the other way now.

What I will say is that these days, there is clearly a hierarchy of victimhood for such things. If a non-white footballer got a fraction of what James McClean had received in recent years, there would have been a far bigger outcry IMO.

That said, it's all objectionable and those abusing people online for whatever reason need to feel the force of the law, IMO.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/07/2021 11:01:41    2359300

Biggest problem with social media is that people can create anonymous accounts and send abuse to people without showing their face. Cowards that wouldn't say it face to face in a million years but do it online because they know they can get away with it. Don't know what the solution would be. Maybe having to produce ID when creating a social media account? Don't know how feasible that would be though.

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 13/07/2021 11:38:02    2359321

Jack Grealish signed by Man City for UK record 100 million pounds!

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 05/08/2021 13:52:36    2367943

Replying To galwayford:  "Jack Grealish signed by Man City for UK record 100 million pounds!"
last week I see he lent his support to an appeal to Sollihull council to build a new clubhouse at Pairc na hEireann on the outskirts of Birmimgham. Its the home of UK GAA and there is a new motorway is being built that will go through part of the grounds.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 05/08/2021 14:36:02    2367948