Jack Grealish (AVFC) GAA Career

Replying To AfricanGael:  "To be fair they did pick their countries with their hearts, they are English regardless of where their parent/s or grandparent/s came from.

If Ireland was any good their families wouldn't have had to emigrate in the first place.

So they owe Ireland absolutely nothing.
"
The Irish had to emigrate due to the carry on by the English over centuries and obviously you know little about Irish history. Do you know where these players were born, or are you just guessing- have you seen their birth certs?
The education system in most parts of the north of our country and in England does not not allow the teaching of Irish history for obvious reasons. On the issue of playing soccer- it is supposed to be a sport so who anyone plays for is their own business, just like all professions and I wish them the best of luck.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 03/07/2021 10:44:50    2355542

Replying To AfricanGael:  "To be fair they did pick their countries with their hearts, they are English regardless of where their parent/s or grandparent/s came from.

If Ireland was any good their families wouldn't have had to emigrate in the first place.

"
I agree they should be playing for the nationality (and now are) they feel affinity for and good luck to them. But the difference between Kane + Maguire in comparison with Grealish + Rice is that the first pair made their loyalties clear and didn't use the Irish underage system to aid development. Some people may say what G + R did was quite cynical, planned and that they never intended to play senior for Ireland from a long way back. This denied Ireland the chance to play and develop other young players.

ROI of course has pilfered players from the North and Scotland, so can never cry foul too loudly without looking like hypocrites. In the good times we also got the likes of Townsend, Lawrenson and Aldridge who all definitely would have been capped for England, plus Houghton and McGeady who would have walked into the Scotland team. It's a two-way street.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 03/07/2021 11:02:09    2355551

Replying To galwayford:  "With respect I think just as England gave us Jack Charlton and Mick McCarthy, who were not labelled as traitors by the Uk media. We should give England, Jack Grealish and Declan Rice. And close the account."
When Ireland had a team, they could have had John Barnes but england asked first. He went to the first country that asked.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 03/07/2021 11:37:46    2355557

"
This thread was made for you lol

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 03/07/2021 15:29:31    2355603

"
If Ireland is so bad why's the British government squatting in 6 countries of the 32?

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 03/07/2021 17:43:42    2355672

Cmon Ukraine :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 03/07/2021 19:16:48    2355707

Replying To realdub:  "Cmon Ukraine :D"
Doh!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 03/07/2021 20:06:47    2355729

Twas a wise man that proclaimed that if a dog was born in a stable that didn't make him a horse!

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 03/07/2021 20:43:56    2355749

Replying To realdub:  "Doh!"
Did you forget to sign out LOL,
Ukraine are a tired looking outfit, England very lucky with the draw so far, won't meet a good team till the final,
Hope Italy win it, or Denmark. ABE.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 03/07/2021 20:45:45    2355752

My overriding impression of the Irish soccer team is that most of them (the likes of Duff excepted) struggle to execute the basic skills of the game. Do they not teach dribbling any more? The fear of taking on your marker runs through every Irish team. Safety first passes and set plays. And I struggle to take any partitionist team seriously. If Rugby can do it, why not soccer? Let's face it, neither Irish team is good enough to justify having 2 teams on the island.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 03/07/2021 20:49:56    2355757

Is Jim McGuinness managing England, 7-2-1 formation.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 03/07/2021 20:52:15    2355759

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Is Jim McGuinness managing England, 7-2-1 formation."
They playing Total snooseball

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 03/07/2021 20:58:21    2355762

Replying To essmac:  "My overriding impression of the Irish soccer team is that most of them (the likes of Duff excepted) struggle to execute the basic skills of the game. Do they not teach dribbling any more? The fear of taking on your marker runs through every Irish team. Safety first passes and set plays. And I struggle to take any partitionist team seriously. If Rugby can do it, why not soccer? Let's face it, neither Irish team is good enough to justify having 2 teams on the island."
Republic of Ireland have had some great successes. For example that Denmark team just squeezed us out in the Nations league. Italia 90, USA 94, Euro 88, Euro 2012 Robbie Keane, Euro 2016, Robbie Brady, they have covered the country in glory.
Northern Ireland, Spain '82, Gerry Armstrong, Mexico 86, George Best, Derek Dougan, Norman Whiteside, great players.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 03/07/2021 21:02:11    2355765

I do believe that like the GAA, Irish soccer should have an all Ireland league. Two small leagues don't make sense to me. But an all island league- that is the way to go.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 03/07/2021 21:03:17    2355768

Replying To essmac:  "My overriding impression of the Irish soccer team is that most of them (the likes of Duff excepted) struggle to execute the basic skills of the game. Do they not teach dribbling any more? The fear of taking on your marker runs through every Irish team. Safety first passes and set plays. And I struggle to take any partitionist team seriously. If Rugby can do it, why not soccer? Let's face it, neither Irish team is good enough to justify having 2 teams on the island."
Well you had lads that would try to take on markers like McGeady (trip over himself), Kilbane (kick the ball and chase but it alway went too far ahead) and McClean (kicks the ball into the stands trying to kick the ball ahead). It is like the gaelic, the football is being coached out of lads these days, all about systems and processes and make sure ya read the diet plan. Two Irish soccer teams is perfectly fine with me, wouldn't be cheering for anyone playing in Windsor Park anyway.

the_creeler (Leitrim) - Posts: 119 - 03/07/2021 21:03:27    2355769

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "Twas a wise man that proclaimed that if a dog was born in a stable that didn't make him a horse!"
Twas the Duke of Wellington that said that. Born in Dublin. Reared in Meath. But identified as a Brit

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 03/07/2021 21:06:47    2355772

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Is Jim McGuinness managing England, 7-2-1 formation."
Naw, you should know, ye love them enough.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 03/07/2021 21:17:23    2355778

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Did you forget to sign out LOL,
Ukraine are a tired looking outfit, England very lucky with the draw so far, won't meet a good team till the final,
Hope Italy win it, or Denmark. ABE."
Yeh feck this for a game of soldiers I'm outta here

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 03/07/2021 21:18:59    2355779

Well in fairness they have put the opposition to sleep.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 03/07/2021 21:43:33    2355795

If big Jack was still in charge half those feckers would be playing for Ireland.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 03/07/2021 21:57:43    2355804