2021 Hurling Championship

Replying To carlowman:  "Have you ever officiated as an umpire ? Before asking about training as an umpire, try it out, especially an evening game and go for the side that is against the sun, that will test you !
Umpires are picked by the referee himself. They are the fellas that are themselves available and go to the games with the referee. They may be related, from the same ckub but usually loke doing it.
I have done umpire a few times and it's no easy job, but I know fellas that do it for a few referees as they like it and they are very good at it too!
Having a referee do umpire sounds good but he might be totally useless and a liability
Referees and officials discuss how the match went and that is basically their training as referees will demand that correct calls based on good positioning are the norm."
What a ridiculous reply. I asked a straight forward question, and you start babbling on about "Have you ever officiated as an umpire" and other nonsense.

So I can take it there are no qualifications required to be an umpire. No need to, at the very least, prove that your eyesight is sound (whether you wear spectacles or not).

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 21/07/2021 19:46:16    2362634

Replying To bricktop:  "Not sure where hurling is going in relation to refereeing..

In all there could have been at least three red cards in the Munster final, the lad who hit Lynch in the throat neck area, the more public flanagan and Gillane incidents were all reds IF the rules were applied but referee's aren't doing that and whilst we all want a manly game, cheap slaps nowhere near the ball is far from manly or brave and need punished.

Also,
What is it with Kilkenny defenders driving their heads into oncoming opponents, Young Carey got away with one on Saturday against Dublin and might have picked up a yellow and was dismissed sort of by Cummins in commentary that he'd got his tackling technique all wrong..Say what?
This was preceded by the Kilkenny fullback in the 2020 Minor final a week before doing something similar to the Galway forward and the referee gives a hop ball FFS...."
I agree with you,on the three incidents in the Munster final and the other two incidents involving KK players.I was astounded with that decision in the minor game.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 21/07/2021 19:47:36    2362635

Only 500 permitted for the weekends qualifiers at the moment, hopefully this madness doesn't ensue and county boards, croke park etc. apply the appropriate pressure to the powers that be.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 21/07/2021 22:36:21    2362688

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Oldtourman. Interesting as this may be, why are you telling me? It has nothing to do with my comment."
Sorry CC. I should have addressed that comment to some one else. I was just highlighting what I now feel is becoming a disgusting feature of our games. In my day if you behaved like that you would be considered some kind of a hysteric.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 21/07/2021 23:30:39    2362704

Replying To tiobraid:  "Why is everyone still talking about the "antics"? Antics or no antics those incidents would hurt any man. I havent heard one Tipp man say the incidencts cost us the game but also I havent heard one Limerick man say Gillane and Flanagans antics are getting worrying. They both have been involved in multiple sending off incidents over the last couple of years. Is that not a worry? If you're going to keep dragging up these incidents then discuss them as a whole and not concentrate on the opposition."
What multiple sending off incidents. Flanagan was sent once against Waterford in the League, when the Wateford player also made a big meal out of it, and Gullane was sent off three years ago in an incident in which his opponent got a yellow card for his part in the affair (and a few minutes later was left on the field after a very reckless tackle on Lynch). Please check your facts before you make absurd statements. Two did not constitute multiple the last time I checked the definition

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 21/07/2021 23:47:36    2362706

Replying To UtahBlaine:  "Ahem! Colin Fennelly,Richie Power,Eoin Larkin, Richie Leahy, John Donnelly and even Tj wouldnt be slouches in drawing the refs attention if they thought they were being fouled.Plenty of them in Galway too in case you might think I'm blinkered"
Huw Lawlor has also mastered the theatrical fall as well, wait until the opponent is close enough to cod the ref, then straight to ground.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 22/07/2021 09:56:28    2362744

Replying To UtahBlaine:  "Ahem! Colin Fennelly,Richie Power,Eoin Larkin, Richie Leahy, John Donnelly and even Tj wouldnt be slouches in drawing the refs attention if they thought they were being fouled.Plenty of them in Galway too in case you might think I'm blinkered"
I am talking about a player rolling around trying to get a player carded or put off. Kilkenny do not try to get players put off. Tommy Walsh hit across the face in '09 right back up, JJ Delaney hit across the face in '12 right back up both offending players put off. Michael Rice hand destroyed by a wild pull in '12 was never the same player after walked straight off the field no theatrics. TJ Reid knee cap broken on a wild pull '12 no theaterics, Richie Hogan pile drived in '19 against Cork right back up. None of these offending players were put off. Big difference between trying to draw a foul and having someone put off. Cody has been on record saying as long as he is in charge Kilkenny will never play into that nonsense.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 22/07/2021 10:34:48    2362762

Replying To gatha:  "I am talking about a player rolling around trying to get a player carded or put off. Kilkenny do not try to get players put off. Tommy Walsh hit across the face in '09 right back up, JJ Delaney hit across the face in '12 right back up both offending players put off. Michael Rice hand destroyed by a wild pull in '12 was never the same player after walked straight off the field no theatrics. TJ Reid knee cap broken on a wild pull '12 no theaterics, Richie Hogan pile drived in '19 against Cork right back up. None of these offending players were put off. Big difference between trying to draw a foul and having someone put off. Cody has been on record saying as long as he is in charge Kilkenny will never play into that nonsense."
Cody is a gret manager but he can be blinkered too. For instance, I don't remember him commenting on the KK player who ran to the referee in the 2014 final trying to convince the ref that his helmet had been deliberately dislodged by Paddy Stapleton. He had already been awarded a free so what was he at?

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 542 - 22/07/2021 11:05:50    2362772

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "I agree with you,on the three incidents in the Munster final and the other two incidents involving KK players.I was astounded with that decision in the minor game."
Some of the refereeing that Galway u20 sides have experienced since their 'acceptance' in the Leinster u20 championship has been fiendishly biased. Alfie Devine. John O'Brien. Patrick Murphy the last night v KK. All performing like Dads taking the whistle in the local pitch, with 2or3 of their own young lads lining out against the parish rivals.

Maybe it's a bit much to expect your average Joe from Carlow, to be balanced reffing neighbours against refugees. It's a regularly tiresome issue for Galway now though in that particular championship competition.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 22/07/2021 11:10:46    2362775

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Some of the refereeing that Galway u20 sides have experienced since their 'acceptance' in the Leinster u20 championship has been fiendishly biased. Alfie Devine. John O'Brien. Patrick Murphy the last night v KK. All performing like Dads taking the whistle in the local pitch, with 2or3 of their own young lads lining out against the parish rivals.

Maybe it's a bit much to expect your average Joe from Carlow, to be balanced reffing neighbours against refugees. It's a regularly tiresome issue for Galway now though in that particular championship competition."
Oh would ya stop. Nobody in Leinster cares about Galway being involved. If anything, they should be in at every level and I think most in Leinster would think this.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 22/07/2021 12:06:36    2362797

Replying To gatha:  "I am talking about a player rolling around trying to get a player carded or put off. Kilkenny do not try to get players put off. Tommy Walsh hit across the face in '09 right back up, JJ Delaney hit across the face in '12 right back up both offending players put off. Michael Rice hand destroyed by a wild pull in '12 was never the same player after walked straight off the field no theatrics. TJ Reid knee cap broken on a wild pull '12 no theaterics, Richie Hogan pile drived in '19 against Cork right back up. None of these offending players were put off. Big difference between trying to draw a foul and having someone put off. Cody has been on record saying as long as he is in charge Kilkenny will never play into that nonsense."
That strike on Tommy Walsh was one of the most dangerous pulls I've ever seen at that level. Tommy being Tommy jumped up, shook himself off, not a bother to him. All in a day's work for the great man.
No slapping the ground there.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 22/07/2021 12:33:58    2362811

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Oh would ya stop. Nobody in Leinster cares about Galway being involved. If anything, they should be in at every level and I think most in Leinster would think this."
You are joking you might think that but not all have done. We only got our first home game in 2018. How did this take so long if we were that welcome. And what about all the funds that Galway generated in gate receipts ? This was very slow to filter back to Galway! Us being there makes it harder for other teams to make the break through so naturally counties were against it.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 22/07/2021 13:12:58    2362837

Replying To Oldtourman:  "What multiple sending off incidents. Flanagan was sent once against Waterford in the League, when the Wateford player also made a big meal out of it, and Gullane was sent off three years ago in an incident in which his opponent got a yellow card for his part in the affair (and a few minutes later was left on the field after a very reckless tackle on Lynch). Please check your facts before you make absurd statements. Two did not constitute multiple the last time I checked the definition"
Oldtourman Most of the time I agree with you but that is a lie. The Waterford player was hurt. If he faked it I would call him out. Gillane was a reactionary wild swing but still a red. Flanagan was facing his opponent and went straight for him two hands on the hurley head high.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 22/07/2021 13:40:33    2362845

Replying To ecad123:  "You are joking you might think that but not all have done. We only got our first home game in 2018. How did this take so long if we were that welcome. And what about all the funds that Galway generated in gate receipts ? This was very slow to filter back to Galway! Us being there makes it harder for other teams to make the break through so naturally counties were against it."
Well ecad, we welcomed ye, with open arms, at all grades in Munster back in '59, including U21, when it came a few years later, and what did ye do. Ye threw over generosity back in our faces ten years later. I would not mind but Galway was starting to improve in '69 and I often wonder would ye have actually won more All Irelands if ye had stayed with your more generous Southern neighbours. Imagine twelve years after entering Leinster and they won't let your minor teams in. Time to Galway to realise who their real friends are and come back home.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 22/07/2021 16:00:19    2362900

Replying To wexico15:  "Yes agreed Limerick are a fantastic team at the moment but this post proves your either a **** taker or delusional or both."
You have bloodyban summed up nicely wexico…****taker, delusional and yes also to your earlier comment..he hopes people will forget and when they do cane back at him he takes off on a random tangent to deflect . He even has - or 2 cronies chip in to give him the semblance of ""authority on the subject". Your comments are spot on.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1358 - 22/07/2021 16:22:21    2362910

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Huw Lawlor has also mastered the theatrical fall as well, wait until the opponent is close enough to cod the ref, then straight to ground."
It's nothing new to the game. My dad told me about a game he was at between Galway and Cork and the great Christy Ring walked out on the field with his head wrapped in a bandage. Any time a Galway player as much as looked at him, down he went clutching his head, and was awarded a free every time.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 22/07/2021 16:40:52    2362916

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well ecad, we welcomed ye, with open arms, at all grades in Munster back in '59, including U21, when it came a few years later, and what did ye do. Ye threw over generosity back in our faces ten years later. I would not mind but Galway was starting to improve in '69 and I often wonder would ye have actually won more All Irelands if ye had stayed with your more generous Southern neighbours. Imagine twelve years after entering Leinster and they won't let your minor teams in. Time to Galway to realise who their real friends are and come back home."
Maybe we will thanks for the invite. Limerick tipp and Clare are all closer to us but would not fancy the trip to cork or waterford. I think it's still a joke that the lenister championship is not renamed to something different but sure maybe in 100 years.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 22/07/2021 17:31:29    2362926

Replying To Oldtourman:  "What multiple sending off incidents. Flanagan was sent once against Waterford in the League, when the Wateford player also made a big meal out of it, and Gullane was sent off three years ago in an incident in which his opponent got a yellow card for his part in the affair (and a few minutes later was left on the field after a very reckless tackle on Lynch). Please check your facts before you make absurd statements. Two did not constitute multiple the last time I checked the definition"
Well said Oldtourman. Some of these propaganda peddlers will have their r own men on a cross unless they are "called " on their bs and held in check, with NIcky English feebly trying to feed their frenzy with his subtle suggestions aimed at keeping Limerick in the ref's sights. Ditto re "ourgame" narrative.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1358 - 22/07/2021 18:16:12    2362939

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Oldtourman. Interesting as this may be, why are you telling me? It has nothing to do with my comment."
His point is there, there should be a yellow card for an obvious dive. If you could not see that, please don't ever take up reffing. Or were you just looking to take a cheap shot.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1358 - 22/07/2021 18:33:25    2362943

Replying To gatha:  "Tipp seem to be the worst offenders of playing for a foul. Any tap and they are rolling around on the field. I don't know if they are told to do i tbut, watching the U-20 last night they are at it also. If a player needs medical attention on the field for more than a few seconds he shoul have to go off for a 10 minute proper evaluation."
Great point! Cathal Barrett, for one, would not see more than 3 minutes of actual playing time.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1358 - 22/07/2021 18:37:29    2362944