Where Have The Characters Gone

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I'm afraid it was nt Kerrymen that pulled all those Mayo players down in the dying seconds of an all ireland final in one of the most dramatic collective synical passage of play ever witnessed in an all ireland final. I don't think it was organised though. It was probably off the cuff and won them the game."
True Mick, I wouldn't deny it, we're as gamey as they come. Though as it goes I'd we're on the lower end of the gamey spectrum, naively sometimes. What a day that was, one of the great finals, the feel in the ground was weird, it felt like anything could happen after the GPS was thrown and did really, young Cormac messing with Clarke to.

But yeah we live in reality up here, we can mix it and be gamey if we have to be. We don't do drag back to set up a blanket though, in the heat I sometimes shout for it, but they always let me down. Jamesy on occasion, doesn't let me down, but then he rarely does. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/06/2021 20:34:59    2352224

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I'm afraid it was nt Kerrymen that pulled all those Mayo players down in the dying seconds of an all ireland final in one of the most dramatic collective synical passage of play ever witnessed in an all ireland final. I don't think it was organised though. It was probably off the cuff and won them the game."
Would you stop..

Few seconds before that you had a household known Mayo player intentionally throw an object at a fellow player on his run up to kick the most important score of his life... absolutely extraordinary circumstance

It's funny what gets ignored to suit a certain agenda.

Yeah the Dublin lads should have stood 5 feet away from the holier than thou poor ickle Mayo players on the restart

Vaughan deciding to elbow Small just before his red card had nothing to do with anything sure..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/06/2021 20:42:54    2352226

Hmm was BJ Keane's kicking away of the goalkeeper's tee in the 71st minute of the 2014 All-Ireland not just as cynical??? Was it off the cuff too????

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/06/2021 21:18:16    2352231

Replying To jimbodub:  "Would you stop..

Few seconds before that you had a household known Mayo player intentionally throw an object at a fellow player on his run up to kick the most important score of his life... absolutely extraordinary circumstance

Yeah the Dublin lads should have stood 5 feet away from the holier than thou poor ickle Mayo players on the restart

Vaughan deciding to elbow Small just before his red card had nothing to do with anything sure.."
It's amazing the frame some things get really. The GPS thing, was seen as a bit of hi jinks bordering on ingenuity, ultimately it was really cynical. Then the Kerry Maor spraying water bottles at Dublin players when they were competing for a phase of plat for the ball, really it's horrible cynical, very unsporting stuff that's creeping in, the water spraying thing was particularly nasty I think as it's from a mentor, trying to outside influence open play by interacting with it. Then the Kerry style of play at the moment, it's akin to Jim McGuinness's greatest hits, yet wouldn't get the bad press Donegal or Tyrone on the 00s get. She's a funny old game. Maybe it's lads working really hard pushing the off the cuff angle, most wouldn't watch Kerry unless it was a Munster final at a push or All Ireland semi up.

That said we break Covid rules, so we're not angelic either. Fair cop mind.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/06/2021 21:25:08    2352234

Replying To avonali:  "Hmm was BJ Keane's kicking away of the goalkeeper's tee in the 71st minute of the 2014 All-Ireland not just as cynical??? Was it off the cuff too????"
No that was very cynical. A horrible act replicated again in 2017 by Cormac Costello against David Clarke before the mass drag down of the Mayo players. I see all sides.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 20/06/2021 21:26:51    2352235

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya it'll all be just part of the process, win the allireland and plug back in to their PCs for debriefing, the tracker will have become part of their bodies by then so they'll be hooked back into the matrix.

Universal soldiers."
Ahh lads will ye lay off the sci-movies for a while......Jesus wept!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/06/2021 21:27:01    2352236

Replying To jimbodub:  "Would you stop..

Vaughan deciding to elbow Small just before his red card had nothing to do with anything sure.."
Keegan was wrong too but it was an act of desperation. Wrong is wrong always though. Vaughan s was more of a push but very silly and he and Nayo were punished big time. Dublin lost Kilkenny to a black with the mass drag down but the other got off scot free. I notice that a few of you only ever see wrong on one side.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 20/06/2021 21:31:09    2352237

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "No that was very cynical. A horrible act replicated again in 2017 by Cormac Costello against David Clarke before the mass drag down of the Mayo players. I see all sides."
Aren't you just great

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/06/2021 21:31:25    2352238

Replying To TheUsername:  "It's amazing the frame some things get really. The GPS thing, was seen as a bit of hi jinks bordering on ingenuity, ultimately it was really cynical. Then the Kerry Maor spraying water bottles at Dublin players when they were competing for a phase of plat for the ball, really it's horrible cynical, very unsporting stuff that's creeping in, the water spraying thing was particularly nasty I think as it's from a mentor, trying to outside influence open play by interacting with it. Then the Kerry style of play at the moment, it's akin to Jim McGuinness's greatest hits, yet wouldn't get the bad press Donegal or Tyrone on the 00s get. She's a funny old game. Maybe it's lads working really hard pushing the off the cuff angle, most wouldn't watch Kerry unless it was a Munster final at a push or All Ireland semi up.

That said we break Covid rules, so we're not angelic either. Fair cop mind."
Jaysus far from it..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/06/2021 21:35:29    2352239

Replying To avonali:  "Ahh lads will ye lay off the sci-movies for a while......Jesus wept!"
Sure that's only after hitting the cinemas in Kerry

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/06/2021 21:36:42    2352240

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Keegan was wrong too but it was an act of desperation. Wrong is wrong always though. Vaughan s was more of a push but very silly and he and Nayo were punished big time. Dublin lost Kilkenny to a black with the mass drag down but the other got off scot free. I notice that a few of you only ever see wrong on one side."
The heat of battle man..

Cherry pick away

But it doesn't tell the whole story at all at all

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/06/2021 21:38:13    2352241

Replying To jimbodub:  "The heat of battle man..

Cherry pick away

But it doesn't tell the whole story at all at all"
No in your eyes its always the other side in the wrong.Dublin players never do anything wrong. Innocent as the driven snow.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 20/06/2021 21:45:50    2352245

Replying To TheUsername:  "It's amazing the frame some things get really. The GPS thing, was seen as a bit of hi jinks bordering on ingenuity, ultimately it was really cynical. Then the Kerry Maor spraying water bottles at Dublin players when they were competing for a phase of plat for the ball, really it's horrible cynical, very unsporting stuff that's creeping in, the water spraying thing was particularly nasty I think as it's from a mentor, trying to outside influence open play by interacting with it. Then the Kerry style of play at the moment, it's akin to Jim McGuinness's greatest hits, yet wouldn't get the bad press Donegal or Tyrone on the 00s get. She's a funny old game. Maybe it's lads working really hard pushing the off the cuff angle, most wouldn't watch Kerry unless it was a Munster final at a push or All Ireland semi up.

Ah sure he was just cooling them down with pure mountain water extracted from a secret spring that runs into Lough Leane

Same way Vaughan just pushed John Small

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/06/2021 21:46:07    2352246

The water was sprayed by Peter Crowley not a mentor as you called him and he was banned for a month after it and rightly so, but it wasn't as bad as the dublin official blocking a quick free from a Kilkenny player, that was 100 times worse than spraying a bit of water.

As you say dublin breaking Covid rules, breaking the law of the land and putting peoples lives at risk now that's as low as it goes.

You say most wouldn't watch Kerry, but Sky sports have our game against Clare next Sat so they must think differently, they probably want to see some good old fashioned off the cuff football, and they'll get plenty of it from both Kerry and Clare.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/06/2021 22:01:36    2352249

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "No that was very cynical. A horrible act replicated again in 2017 by Cormac Costello against David Clarke before the mass drag down of the Mayo players. I see all sides."
Yes Mick, you have always struck me as fair minded but I'd hate to think you subscribe to. this notion that The Dubs have a monopoly on cynicism. The other laughable narrative that Dublin is team of programmed robots is so off the wall and so blatantly prejudiced that it hardly merits comment.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/06/2021 22:13:38    2352251

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The water was sprayed by Peter Crowley not a mentor as you called him and he was banned for a month after it and rightly so, but it wasn't as bad as the dublin official blocking a quick free from a Kilkenny player, that was 100 times worse than spraying a bit of water.

As you say dublin breaking Covid rules, breaking the law of the land and putting peoples lives at risk now that's as low as it goes.

You say most wouldn't watch Kerry, but Sky sports have our game against Clare next Sat so they must think differently, they probably want to see some good old fashioned off the cuff football, and they'll get plenty of it from both Kerry and Clare."
The same off the cuff football that ye deployed against Cork last year?? I'd prefer to watch a coffin warping.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/06/2021 22:36:20    2352252

Replying To avonali:  "Yes Mick, you have always struck me as fair minded but I'd hate to think you subscribe to. this notion that The Dubs have a monopoly on cynicism. The other laughable narrative that Dublin is team of programmed robots is so off the wall and so blatantly prejudiced that it hardly merits comment."
Likewise Avon and no I don't nor never subscribed to the idea that Dublin are the only team to have played with cynicism. A good few teams have done it including my own but I don't like snide comments being put out against my own county when the people doing it can't see their own doing the same. As the saying goes "there are none so blind as those that can't see". Also I never called the Dubs robots. Wrong is wrong no matter who is doing it. I'm merely pointing out that many wrongs have been done.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 20/06/2021 22:57:53    2352256

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ah sure he was just cooling them down with pure mountain water extracted from a secret spring that runs into Lough Leane

Same way Vaughan just pushed John Small"
#Ah Shure Look, it was probably the greatest off the cuff mountain water of all time.

There were a few incidents over the years, I remember Donaghey square punching big Aido, when Mayo were schiooling them in a semi a couple of years ago, shortly followed by Darren O Sullivan I think it was going ball headed after the linesman with abuse, all just high spirts though, passion you see. Not like those dirty multi All Ireland winning record breaking athletes, who made them play in the rain in 2015. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/06/2021 23:30:13    2352260

Jesus what do you know. Another thread totally taken over my the usual Kerry/Dublin bickering.

I have almost gave up on this forum as no matter what topic is discussed it escalates into the same sh*te from the same posters.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 21/06/2021 09:03:19    2352275

Watched Tyrone v Donegal in Ballybofey a few years ago. Tyrone were 5 points up and a big stocky lad (not a sub) was sent up to around the Donegal 35 metre line with a bunch of balls.

Every time the Donegal goalie was about to kick out the ball he kicked one of the balls onto the pitch in front of the goalie. He did it 3 times before the Donegal crew copped on, the linesman was alerted and Patton kicked one of the balls into the river.

Premeditated cynicism?

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 502 - 21/06/2021 09:03:58    2352276