Monaghan V Galway

Galway could end up in division 3 with the rate of regression since joyce took over. So many basic errors by players and why did Joyce replace the full forward line who were doing ok

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 13/06/2021 19:23:21    2350400

Replying To Trump2020:  "While I fully agree with you I am very happy with the team overall. After getting embarrassed by Kerry they were very competitive in every match against quality opposition. I believe this League campaign will stand to us in the Championship."
Yes and no. From the shambles against Kerry the team has got better. But still not good enough in the backs or ruthless enough up front to put a game away when it's there for the taking.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 13/06/2021 19:39:13    2350412

Fair play to Monaghan. They deserved it.
We were a shambles at times. So many poor options taken when we had opportunities, especially in the 2nd half. Heaney's goal chance would have probably finished the match. How does an intercounty player not have a left foot to roll a ball in from 2 yards out? Going with the right from there was so strange to see. There was a free man to tap it in too, if he'd passed it across.
The longer it went on, the more we started playing for ourselves instead of as a team. The ball given away right at the end too for the winning score, summed up the day for us.
All that said, the effort was there at least. It'll be tough to pick ourselves up for the championship, but we have no other choice.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 13/06/2021 19:50:53    2350424

Replying To galwayford:  "Galway were unlucky to have to go to Clones Monaghan to play. There was not 5 minutes of added time either. How much heartbreak can Galway and the West take."
Don't worry we here in monaghan are well accustomed to giving away last minute goals!!!! We have to get one every now and then.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 13/06/2021 19:56:29    2350428

Replying To galwayfball:  "Well done . Better team won"
Thank you. Fairly equal I would think but a few changes made by Galway were questionable. Ye should have won but when it went to extra time, I think Monaghan had the momentum & belief. Good luck in the championship

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 13/06/2021 20:00:18    2350433

Replying To P.Mckenna:  "Shocking refereeing but Monaghan showed great grit. Some sickener for the tribesmen. They could've had it but threw it away."
All over the place, think I heard him shout "it's a maul" at one time. Is there no course or seminar these fellas can go to

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 13/06/2021 20:01:22    2350434

Division 1 isn't about moral victories or performances, its about results and today monaghan showed that cuteness and division 1 pedigree that keeps them there.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 13/06/2021 20:12:55    2350443

Management taking off two lads playing well near the end of normal time thinking we had the game won is a pretty horrific mistake to make. The arrogance of management rubbed off on some of the players who instead of talking the selfless option decide to take ridiculous shots with others in better positions and screaming for the ball and with the lack of crowd even we could hear them from our armchairs

Management being blind to McCarron causing us major issues. Id Dublin were playing Monaghan and were winning by double digits theyd still put a stop to a lad who was poping scores over from all over the field

Liam Kerins wanted the job but no PJ put his hand up and that was the end of it.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 13/06/2021 20:23:49    2350454

Replying To Ailteoir:  "Yes and no. From the shambles against Kerry the team has got better. But still not good enough in the backs or ruthless enough up front to put a game away when it's there for the taking."
I believe they'll learn from this though. Plus get all their guys back by the time the Championship starts.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 13/06/2021 20:48:02    2350479

PJ unavailable to speak to the media.

It's part of the job. Man up

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 13/06/2021 20:50:47    2350483

Great game to watch and the way it turned out with the comeback was vital monaghan won as first win since Feb 20 ends league on good note going into summer although lots to work on ahead of championship which is coming up soon. On a side note did anyone find gough awful today blew up on absolutely everything and for large parts was pretty tough on monaghan although we don't do ourselves many favours with amount of free kicks and black cards we invite.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 13/06/2021 21:47:26    2350515

Well done to Monaghan just pipped it, really enjoyable game. Galway will be kicking themselves over that result. Btw Conor McManus for me is the real deal. A lot of hyperbole about some otger forwards but he is tops.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 13/06/2021 22:08:05    2350530

Replying To arock:  "Well done to Monaghan just pipped it, really enjoyable game. Galway will be kicking themselves over that result. Btw Conor McManus for me is the real deal. A lot of hyperbole about some otger forwards but he is tops."
He is, mind you Jack McCarron had him in the shade today !!! One of those days for Jack, and not long back again from another serious injury.

PearseBro (Monaghan) - Posts: 459 - 13/06/2021 23:21:45    2350576

Replying To arock:  "Well done to Monaghan just pipped it, really enjoyable game. Galway will be kicking themselves over that result. Btw Conor McManus for me is the real deal. A lot of hyperbole about some otger forwards but he is tops."
Was that ever in question ?

McManus is an absolutely unreal talent. Brains too which shouldnt be underestimated

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 13/06/2021 23:39:02    2350584

Replying To galwayfball:  "PJ unavailable to speak to the media.

It's part of the job. Man up"
It shows how he is struggling massively with the pressures of inter County management.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 14/06/2021 09:40:11    2350637

There is no question we should have been home and hosed but the main positive has to be is that we have to learn from it. Monaghan as i said before are a very decent side and have been for a good few years now. If you think about it the key forward on both sides was somewhat nullified yesterday (S Walsh and C McManus). I know McManus got the leveller in normal time but he was marshalled well i thought. We did not however check McCarron after his impressive first half cameo when he came on. We badly need Damo Comer back although not sure if he will be ready for the Rossies. John Daly at no.6 will certainly help and give us options in that line. I believe he is back in full time training so here is hoping. Season not over for us but we have to learn. Bouncing back next year in the league will be important as i feel we are Div 1 standard but of course there are no certainties and Div 2 can be unforgiving.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 14/06/2021 10:48:01    2350675

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I wonder did Gough ever play football? some very strange frees given here."
Yeah, Gough is a poor ref in my opinion. A flow killer. Very strange calls.
On the match itself, Galway completely mismanaged the last 10 mins of ordinary time. Pathetic time and game management, so naive. We've only ourselves to blame.
Letting McCarron run so loose throughout was insanity too. As was the defensive positioning and total lack of clean tackling ahead of veteran Darren Hughes's goal. Poor shot selection by some lads that should know better at this stage too. We've a lot to learn if we're to shape Galway into a top side. Three u-20 / 21 all Irelands in the last few years to our name, only Dublin have one more, and yet we still can't grind out wins at senior level. Hard to fathom what's happening.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 902 - 14/06/2021 12:24:37    2350720

While I have major issues with Galway ignoring the threat he was for the entire game I can still appreciate how fantastic it was for McCarron who has had such a run of serious injuries play the way he did yesterday.

I know theres probably several lads sitting at home with the same injuries who will be feeling a bit better about themselves and their return to play

Outstanding performance

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 14/06/2021 13:00:15    2350741

Replying To togoutlads:  "Yeah, Gough is a poor ref in my opinion. A flow killer. Very strange calls.
On the match itself, Galway completely mismanaged the last 10 mins of ordinary time. Pathetic time and game management, so naive. We've only ourselves to blame.
Letting McCarron run so loose throughout was insanity too. As was the defensive positioning and total lack of clean tackling ahead of veteran Darren Hughes's goal. Poor shot selection by some lads that should know better at this stage too. We've a lot to learn if we're to shape Galway into a top side. Three u-20 / 21 all Irelands in the last few years to our name, only Dublin have one more, and yet we still can't grind out wins at senior level. Hard to fathom what's happening."
Galway have massive potential, maybe you need a better manager, great players don't always make great managers,
a year in div 2 isn't the end of the world, your focus now is to win Connacht and get a crack at the Dubs.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 14/06/2021 13:17:14    2350759

Weirdly enough after a defeat i would be feeling a lot better about Galway than i would have a few weeks ago
Now while blowing a 5 point lead in injury time is hard to forgive i think there have been marked improvements since game 1 and cause for hope, they absoloutely should be eyeing up victory in connaught.

Plus points, peter cooke and tierney have come to the party and will be massive additions. Conroy and finnerty motoring well too so they have the attacking threat.
John Daly is essential and appears to be close to a return.

Goalkeeper and general naivete in defence remains a huge concern, unforgiveable allowing darren hughes to get turned for a shot on goal in the 74th minute

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 14/06/2021 13:22:18    2350765